Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

HondaB20B

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby HondaB20B » September 2nd, 2010, 9:18 pm

nah, ah realy dont know which one quiet nah. guess you know who i will tell you to check.

Postby UML » September 2nd, 2010, 9:23 pm

oh well jus give meh ah brand then

btw how much custom tax do u pay on lighting and a chiller?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 2nd, 2010, 9:36 pm

remember you need a license due to the refrigerant for the chiller.
Check Sea Line chillers. ask about warranty

Postby UML » September 2nd, 2010, 10:04 pm

HondaB20B wrote:remember you need a license due to the refrigerant for the chiller.
Check Sea Line chillers. ask about warranty

oh sheit i didnt think of that

what is the process of getting the license?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 2nd, 2010, 10:26 pm

i have no clue. santoo, raj and others online might know. not too sure about if you need any for lighting and stuff though.................. any body know? bad thing with lights and hoods if you bring it in yourself is in case it not working. yuh screwed

Postby UML » September 2nd, 2010, 10:34 pm

HondaB20B wrote:i have no clue. santoo, raj and others online might know. not too sure about if you need any for lighting and stuff though.................. any body know? bad thing with lights and hoods if you bring it in yourself is in case it not working. yuh screwed

but i thought u brought in ur stuff urself?!!
I always got the impression that u did.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 2nd, 2010, 10:45 pm

Nope. told raj what i wanted and he bought it in. the protein skimmer and pump he also bought in. just payed extra on S/H

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 3rd, 2010, 12:30 am

where can i get cheap pot scrubbers to buy. want to put in d filter area.

The differance in bioballs & nylon pot scubbers.

1 cubic ft of nylon type pot scrubbers have on average about 4 to 5 times the surface area of average sized bioballs.

http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/9/8/8/4/ ... 2739_o.jpg

shivanan101

Postby shivanan101 » September 3rd, 2010, 8:12 am

heavy rollers wrote:My Present Cichlid Tank & My Past Koi, Pacu and Gouramis:

Use link to go to gallery.

http://img203.imageshack.us/f/cimg7294s.jpg/

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 3rd, 2010, 3:28 pm

HondaB20B wrote:where can i get cheap pot scrubbers to buy. want to put in d filter area.

The differance in bioballs & nylon pot scubbers.

1 cubic ft of nylon type pot scrubbers have on average about 4 to 5 times the surface area of average sized bioballs.

http://img.auctiva.com/imgdata/9/8/8/4/ ... 2739_o.jpg

If for salt stay away from both. They just end up raising your nitrates.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 3rd, 2010, 3:37 pm

Anyone into SPS and wants to trade some frags?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 3rd, 2010, 5:16 pm

yeah, but isnt that if you have it fully submerged. i just want to put a top layer so as to break down the water splash going into the sump also noise. whats the best thing to use. Just use the filter pads then................................ just asking since you running one

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 3rd, 2010, 6:22 pm

HondaB20B wrote:yeah, but isnt that if you have it fully submerged. i just want to put a top layer so as to break down the water splash going into the sump also noise. whats the best thing to use. Just use the filter pads then................................ just asking since you running one

I actually dont use anything in my sump. The water goes straight from the drains into the skimmer section, then through the baffles to the return section where some goes to the refuge and the rest to the display. I used to use filter socks on the drains which is essentially filter pad material, but found that if i did not clean them every day my nitrates would rise. I keep a ULNS so i could not tolerate the rise in trates.

The noise of the water going into the sump is not too loud. The pipes are about quater inch below the water surface.

What is your sump design?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 3rd, 2010, 7:04 pm

i made it in 2 peices. the 1st pc is 18"W X 28"L X 18"H. this has the section for the filter pads (12"L) and section for the skimmer (16"L). The 2nd pc is 18"W X 30"L X 18"H and this has the refugium (22"L) and the area for the pump (8"L). it has 2 - 1.5" holes drilled on on each one and is connected by pvc fittings. had to do it this way because of the large supporting legs of the stand. built it into the wall. both sides can be viewed - the livingroom an library. Ariff in chaguanas built it for me.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 3rd, 2010, 7:15 pm

What about using live rock rubble in the filter pad area. Do you think that it might help with the noise? I have seen it done where basically its a chamber below the drain pipes and the bottom of the chamber is slotted. The chamber is the filled with liver rock.

I am not sure if it will work as I have never done it myself though. You can also do the filter pad material if you want, just make sure to regularly clean it so that it does not become a nitrate factory. Filter socks will also work but will have to be regularly cleaned like the pad.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 3rd, 2010, 7:27 pm

Fishman wrote:What about using live rock rubble in the filter pad area. Do you think that it might help with the noise? I have seen it done where basically its a chamber below the drain pipes and the bottom of the chamber is slotted. The chamber is the filled with liver rock.

I am not sure if it will work as I have never done it myself though. You can also do the filter pad material if you want, just make sure to regularly clean it so that it does not become a nitrate factory. Filter socks will also work but will have to be regularly cleaned like the pad.

i even thought about that. like coral fingers. the noise should be reduced. your way also good. guess you running a fairly big skimmer. Knew someone years before raj even started that had a 3ft wet/dry under his 4ft mai tank and he had coral fingers. it worked real good. i talking about 20 yrs ago. his name was patrick choo-foon. used to go by him often.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 3rd, 2010, 8:25 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
Fishman wrote:What about using live rock rubble in the filter pad area. Do you think that it might help with the noise? I have seen it done where basically its a chamber below the drain pipes and the bottom of the chamber is slotted. The chamber is the filled with liver rock.

i even thought about that. like coral fingers. the noise should be reduced. your way also good. guess you running a fairly big skimmer. Knew someone years before raj even started that had a 3ft wet/dry under his 4ft mai tank and he had coral fingers. it worked real good. i talking about 20 yrs ago. his name was patrick choo-foon. used to go by him often.

Yeah i have a needlewheel skimmer rated for 250 gallons on a 120 gallon system. I need an oversized skimmer because of the vodka dosing.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 3rd, 2010, 9:26 pm

also bought a needlewheel skimmer rated to 250gal. when i calculated the filtration area, its about 39gal. the main tank is 200+

Postby pugboy » September 3rd, 2010, 9:30 pm

people,
I have 2 brand new Supreme Superking oldschool outside box filters, they use siphon tubes.
600gph
If anybody interested in them pm me.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 3rd, 2010, 9:44 pm

HondaB20B wrote:also bought a needlewheel skimmer rated to 250gal. when i calculated the filtration area, its about 39gal. the main tank is 200+

Nice. What brand did you go with? Reef octopus?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 3rd, 2010, 10:16 pm

ASM G-3

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 4th, 2010, 7:38 am

HondaB20B wrote:ASM G-3

Good stuff!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 9:54 am

Fishman wrote:

Good stuff!

the base footprint is 12" X 14" and 24" tall. d pump alone is 500gal/hr

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 4th, 2010, 10:43 am

HondaB20B wrote:
Fishman wrote:

Good stuff!

the base footprint is 12" X 14" and 24" tall. d pump alone is 500gal/hr

Yeah i know the asm's well. They are a good brand. I use the reef octopus extreme modded with a bubble blaster pump. Theoretically it is supposed to do 800gph with 50 scfh. I get some nasty stuff coming out of this thing :D

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 11:06 am

now google the reef octopus extreme. looks real good. you running any reef controllers?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 4th, 2010, 11:32 am

HondaB20B wrote:now google the reef octopus extreme. looks real good. you running any reef controllers?

Yeah I am running a Reef Keeper Elite. It turns on and off my halides, dims my T5's for dawn dusk, controls the moonlights in tune with actual moon phase. Controls calcium reactor, pumps, skimmer, vodka dosing, fans, ATO and reports on PH, Temp etc. The best part is I can log on from anywhere and get the status of anything on it and it also sends emails if something is going wrong. Here are some pics of my equipment and a full tank shot.

Postby sharkman121 » September 4th, 2010, 11:48 am

ohh

emm

geee

**cums in pants** :|

Postby sharkman121 » September 4th, 2010, 11:55 am

what does the vodka do?

Fishman

Postby Fishman » September 4th, 2010, 12:04 pm

sharkman121 wrote:what does the vodka do?

The vodka is to keep phosphates and nitrates at or close to zero. Keeping these parameters low brings out the colour in the coral. The vodka is a carbon source basically that fuels bacteria to break down the phosphates and nitrates. You need a powerful skimmer to do it though to export the nutients and to keep oxygen levels up as the bacteria depletes oxygen.

If you are thinking of trying it, do plenty research first cause overdosing can cause problems.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 4th, 2010, 12:12 pm

looks good. all that stuff came with the reefkeeper? need something like that cause when i not here de wife does get frustrated sometimes. she find it have to mush ting to maintain