COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13454 cases, 215 deaths, 3858 active, 9381 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2021, 12:12 pm

carluva wrote:People blame the government. People blame the PM for saying go to Tobago. People blame the candlelight vigils. People blame the illegal immigrants.

Fundamentally, the ones to blame are people. By flocking to Tobago, individuals consciously made that decision to "lime-up" during a pandemic. By going to a candlelight vigil, individuals made that decision to congregate during a pandemic. People put themselves at risk by coming into contact with illegal immigrants. People did not have to follow the PM's call to go to Tobago. People did not have to heed the calls to congregate for candlelight vigils. As hard as it is to ignore a fellow human being who is trying to survive, people still interact with the illegal immigrants.

Yes, the authorities are to blame in many regards (e.g. porosity of borders, health care system, state of economy, etc.) but people are largely to blame for the spread of this virus. However, the ignorance of people to disregard the "Three W's" is the major contributor to where we are today with these alarming numbers.

We just need to hunker down, limit unnecessary movements, practise the "Three W's" while out and about and for a short while, set aside our desires for liming, alcohol, partying, zessing and socialising and one will be surprised how quickly this can be brought under control. This however is too difficult for many to comprehend and worse, much easier said than done.

The thing about blaming people is that you literally have to blame everyone and then simply just living life normally becomes something to be blamed.

You can definitely blame the government, Rowley Faris and company certainly didn't set the best examples and citizens would have thought if they relaxed, then I can be too. Pandemic fatigue is a real thing and trinis behave quite well up until late March and April when we had a false sense of complacency.

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13454 cases, 215 deaths, 3858 active, 9381 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » May 11th, 2021, 12:20 pm

COVID-19 victims being dumped in the Ganges in India because families have no money to pay for a proper disposal.
Screenshot_20210511-121342_Facebook.jpeg

carluva

Postby carluva » May 11th, 2021, 12:21 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
You can definitely blame the government, Rowley Faris and company certainly didn't set the best examples and citizens would have thought if they relaxed, then I can be too. Pandemic fatigue is a real thing and trinis behave quite well up until late March and April when we had a false sense of complacency.

Agreed - but that my friend is a problem we have as a society. We never hold our leaders accountable. So these leaders can do as they please but without the population and those who have elected them holding them accountable to their words and actions, nothing will change and the mentality of "if it is good enough for him then it is good enough for me" sets in. Unfortunately the divide between the "hims" and the "mes" is so huge that "him" is not equal to "me".

But let me not derail this thread. Back on topic, we need to continue to push through a bit harder to overcome this. Just a little more sacrifice and this disaster can be over. To coin a tone from my fellow tuner MaxPower: Trinis lets get serious! :)

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2021, 12:23 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Lou Screuz wrote:
Habit7 wrote:Image

From https://www.acpjournals.org/doi/10.7326/M20-0504

according to that

more than 97 percent of people who contract SARS-CoV-2

show symptoms within 11.5 days of exposure.

and the average incubation period seems to be around 5 days.

from what the red machine is desperately churning out there

and alyou desperately sharing like mad all over social media

shouldn't we have started to see the big climb

5 to 12 days after February the 12th

5 to 12 days after those hundreds of candlelight vigils ? :cry:

really and truly

instead we seeing the big climb starting

about 2 weeks after sharon was wining dong hard

on the beach in tobago

but you have a job to do

Dude I saw this and had to steups.

Firstly, we all know by now outdoor spread of covid is minimal. Secondly, I went to 3 of these protests/vigils....all of them were were (1) quiet (2) every single person was wearing masks, and covid rules were consistently mentioned by organizers (3) had little to no shouting.

They were somber occasions, nothing like the BLM protests in the US that many (though I partially disagree) analysts said didn't contribute to the spread.

It's quite clear what happened here and in India.

New variants that were much more viral (especially in our climate compared to the original strain) took ahold and spread like wild fire......right at the time when both populations were becoming far more lax in adherence.

Nobody talks much about this chart where we see mask usuage trending downward from January.
Screenshot 2021-05-11 at 11.36.03 am.png

No body looks at this graph and asks why suddenly has the Rnaught changed so drastically in March, especially when early March had the lowest number of cases detected.
Screenshot 2021-05-11 at 11.38.58 am.png

To me it's quiet obvious what happened. We got the Brazilian strain from illegal immigrants, they mixed within the population probably as early as Jan/Feb. It spread to Trinis who spread it amongst each other. And then literally went viral toward the end of March.

You can't blame Rowley per se, for easter weekend. Even if people didn't go Tobago, the amount of liming that happened that weekend created the perfect storm for this thing to accelerate and reach exponential growth.

You can blame the CMO and Deyalsingh for not (1) Doing enough testing to get data to understand the calamitous situation that was brewing and (2) The CMO did state on March 23rd they were seeing a dangerous growth in cases - so why weren't any lockdown measures taken? You need to be proactive to avoid situations, not reactive.

You can't have you cake and eat it too.

If "outdoor spread of covid is minimal" then don't say BLM contributed to the spread. I agree with you that BLM did contribute to the spread in the US likewise, vigils contributed here.

While outdoor spread is minimal, ppl close to each other not social distancing, over an extended period of time and breathing (not necessarily shouting) can cause spread. There are also other considerations at the event. Such as travel to the event with ppl from different households, ppl sharing shelter during the rain, using restrooms and at nighttime in February adds no great climatic inhibitor to spread. While the Brazilian variant is present in some of the sample, the majority is still the wild type of the virus.

You cannot acknowledge that the CMO warned in March and not look at the activities leading up before, that lead to the most amount of congregation.

You cannot claim that Carnival 2020 caused some significant spread when subsequently we had 90 days of ZERO local cases. But in Vigil 2021 was the same outdoor gatherings and we saw the cases skyrocket subsequently.

"The CMO did state on March 23rd they were seeing a dangerous growth in cases - so why weren't any lockdown measures taken? "
Wrong
http://www.looptt.com/content/change-co ... nned-again
http://www.looptt.com/content/pm-rise-c ... s-alarming
http://www.news.gov.tt/content/confirma ... JqssLVKiHs

Finally, there is no such thing as "enough testing." Testing that is not targeted gives ppl a false sense of safety. It was done in the US and they faired no better. Ppl believe they are negative and they let down there guard or they are really positive with low viral load and they prance around the place. Our testing is targeted and our epidemiological data is accurate enough to predict trends in the first place. There is no secret big group of cases we don't know about as you all have been claiming since March 2020. We measure those at risk and when the risk is high we can predict it as we have experienced the last few weeks of true high numbers.

Stop comparing us to countries that rely primarily on inaccurate rapid tests, we trust PCR.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 11th, 2021, 12:24 pm

So lets say you have a gyal , she don't have no job so she home but her family large like 5 + people , they mostly home but once or twice a week they'd have to head out , would it be a bad idea to still see her in person?

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2021, 12:28 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:The thing about blaming people is that you literally have to blame everyone and then simply just living life normally becomes something to be blamed.

"you literally have to blame everyone"
"You can definitely blame the government"
"Pandemic fatigue is a real"

You are offering contradictory and inclusive blames here. If we are to blame, nothing govt can do. If govt is to blame, we are innocent. If Pandemic fatigue is real, then there is nothing govt or ppl can do but face the inevitable.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 11th, 2021, 12:33 pm

KM_2NR wrote:So lets say you have a gyal , she don't have no job so she home but her family large like 5 + people , they mostly home but once or twice a week they'd have to head out , would it be a bad idea to still see her in person?

TBH - I would say relax off all contact for the while. Remember a person can also be asymptomatic. So even though a person may not be exhibiting symptoms, another person can still contract the virus.

In this case, hold strain for a short while to protect the GF and her family from you (in case you could be asymptomatic) and to protect yourself (in case the GF is asymptomatic). You can never tell just how good the other persons are following the guidelines when they go out.

Postby redmanjp » May 11th, 2021, 12:34 pm

KM_2NR wrote:So lets say you have a gyal , she don't have no job so she home but her family large like 5 + people , they mostly home but once or twice a week they'd have to head out , would it be a bad idea to still see her in person?

zoom for ah next 3 weeks nah. in person when cases go down. unless u can resist hugging and kissing and both of u just wear your mask and stay outdoors

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2021, 12:35 pm

Habit7 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:The thing about blaming people is that you literally have to blame everyone and then simply just living life normally becomes something to be blamed.

"you literally have to blame everyone"
"You can definitely blame the government"
"Pandemic fatigue is a real"

You are offering contradictory and inclusive blames here. If we are to blame, nothing govt can do. If govt is to blame, we are innocent. If Pandemic fatigue is real, then there is nothing govt or ppl can do but face the inevitable.

Read between the lines my man. We are all to blame but some need to be blamed far more than others.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2021, 12:36 pm

:bday:

Define 'see' her? Do you mean a short meet up while you guys wear masks outdoors? That's safe. If you mean brush or at the very least make out, then you're taking a risk. Keep in mind you could be the asymptotic person that infects her.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 11th, 2021, 12:42 pm

Dohplaydat wrote::bday:

Define 'see' her? Do you mean a short meet up while you guys wear masks outdoors? That's safe. If you mean brush or at the very least make out, then you're taking a risk. Keep in mind you could be the asymptotic person that infects her.

:D What you tryna tell the man?

"The definition of asymptotic is a line that approaches a curve but never touches. A curve and a line that get closer but do not intersect are examples of a curve and a line that are asymptotic to each other".

You tryna tell him not to approach his curvy gyul? How do you know her shape and curves?

:D

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2021, 12:43 pm

the govt still has to set the example
you lead from the top not by double standard

otherwise slackness is amplified many many times by the regular folks in the street

when ferris bawl after arm wrestling
“oh gawd we does all slack off at home and ting” it sends the wrong, double standards always result in the wrong result.
carluva

Postby carluva » May 11th, 2021, 12:44 pm

^^^^^ This.

Pretty much similar to what I stated earlier.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 11th, 2021, 12:45 pm

Nah Dan this rounds different.
Take no chances. Solo movements is the safest thing right now.

Postby MaxPower » May 11th, 2021, 12:51 pm

wtf wrote:COVID-19 victims being dumped in the Ganges in India because families have no money to pay for a proper disposal.
Screenshot_20210511-121342_Facebook.jpeg

Better we dump some bodies at the KFC lines, groceries, beaches, zesser parties and weddings.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2021, 12:52 pm

just think of each of those 5 and the possible number of ppl they could come in contact with and the ppl that those ppl come in contact with

wtf wrote:

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 11th, 2021, 12:55 pm

I appreciate the advice fellas , I'll probably stay home and hit the hub. Best to treat everyone like the potentially have covid so y'all be safe it there.

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2021, 1:05 pm

pugboy wrote:the govt still has to set the example

otherwise slackness is amplified many many times by the regular folks in the street

“oh gawd we does all slack off at home and ting” it sends the wrong, double standards always result in the wrong result.
Didn't the PM publicly bouff the AG and AG wrote a mea cupla and apologise? Are big ppl really going to use this road march for their lack of social distancing until the pandemic done?

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2021, 1:17 pm

too little too late

Postby gastly369 » May 11th, 2021, 1:17 pm

Hardest ting to do... But keeping active home... Lil home gym and foodie experiments.. Chook meh hand in the car etc... Year + now... And as of recent closed business until even after the 23rd till I see the light on the horizon of this pandemic
Haven't seen and social with good friends since the start

Is a mental toll but the safe choice
Fedup see social media and my WhatsApp ppl status with "private lime private zess" and then they go home to their parents, kids etc and then what...
wtf wrote:

Postby goalpost » May 11th, 2021, 1:28 pm

Wah shakes say today?

Postby sMASH » May 11th, 2021, 1:31 pm

Habit7 wrote:
pugboy wrote:the govt still has to set the example

Didn't the PM publicly bouff the AG and AG wrote a mea cupla and apologise? Are big ppl really going to use this road march for their lack of social distancing until the pandemic done?

oh, its massa. its alrite.

lie down like guana on the beach only good for black children.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2021, 1:41 pm

when folks see a double standard
all it does is further encourage them to do the wrong thing

it is a concept many do not grasp
and think that a lil apology will fix

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 11th, 2021, 1:48 pm

goalpost wrote:Wah shakes say today?

That another Dr died and is real bachannal in EWMSC with some other cases

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2021, 1:55 pm

pugboy wrote:when folks see a double standard
all it does is further encourage them to do the wrong thing

it is a concept many do not grasp
and think that a lil apology will fix

I don't think you understand double standard. Double standard is if he did wrong, his boss didn't condemn him and he was not apologetic. Then he and his boss told you to do the right thing.

However his boss laid down a standard, he violated it. His boss condemned him and he apologised for violating the standard.

You may not like him or his boss but to represent what happened incorrectly and act like it justifies somebody else's wrong doing is exactly what we don't want. You are creating leeway by spreading misinformation and claiming that ppl are acting in light of that misinformation. Tell the truth first.

Postby pugboy » May 11th, 2021, 1:57 pm

you missing my point totally
which has nothing to do with ferris or his boss

but simply about human behavior when observing those in authority.

i not bothering to get in a debate with you as i am not a wind up toy.

Postby Habit7 » May 11th, 2021, 2:12 pm

pugboy wrote:you missing my point totally
which has nothing to do with ferris or his boss

but simply about human behavior when observing those in authority.

i not bothering to get in a debate with you as i am not a wind up toy.

Well listen snowflake. If you can't put out your thoughts without fear of somebody disagreeing with you then be silent.

You are making a claim that is wrong and when I point out the error you are deferring to some heartfelt sentiment that you have that nobody can invalidate. I deal with fact, if you can't, go write in your diary.

We all have a personal responsibility. If you could see a politician do wrong and not see yourself do wrong then you are a hypocrite. Hypocrites spread the virus just as well as bad politicians.

Observe the protocols and stop the spread. What Faris, Keith, Kamla or PEA do, doesn't stop you from doing that.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 11th, 2021, 2:26 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
goalpost wrote:Wah shakes say today?

That another Dr died and is real bachannal in EWMSC with some other cases

What bacchanal? tell we shakes

Postby gastly369 » May 11th, 2021, 2:31 pm