The Religion Discussion

marlener

Re: The Religion Discussion

Postby marlener » October 25th, 2013, 4:44 pm

Well that would dependson howvyou look at it,idolatry is worshipping or replacing something other than God. I don't believe they worship the Kaaba rather use it as a reference point for unity and uniformity. AdamB might want to shed more light on this for you.

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » October 25th, 2013, 5:18 pm

God is omnipresent, there is no logic that i can see for having to face the kabba, it is a form of idolatery.
Also the fact that they seperate male and female in their mosques whilst worshipping to promote pure thoughts and what have u. Yet jihad is carried out, in the hope of receiving virgins on the after life.
But then again, i'm one idiot with a viewpoint.

marlener

Postby marlener » October 25th, 2013, 6:09 pm

I don't think that they are denying his omnipresence,they are trying to be united in prayer.Christians do something similar when they meet at church for prayer meeting. Explain to me why you think it's idolatry. A person praying to a dead saint to intercede on their behalf is a clear case of idolatry but maybe if you explain why you say so I may understand you better. I do think that you need to use the rewind button though as some of these questions may have been dealt with already. I am still interested in your point of view though.

Postby bluefete » October 25th, 2013, 6:56 pm

marlener wrote:I don't think that they are denying his omnipresence,they are trying to be united in prayer.Christians do something similar when they meet at church for prayer meeting. Explain to me why you think it's idolatry. A person praying to a dead saint to intercede on their behalf is a clear case of idolatry but maybe if you explain why you say so I may understand you better. I do think that you need to use the rewind button though as some of these questions may have been dealt with already. I am still interested in your point of view though.

I don't know why these institutions do not teach their people the truth!!!

Consider the following:

Bowing Down Before Statutes

Question: A Catholic friend told me that it is all right to bow down before statues. She said that bowing is an expression of honour and that God told people like Judah that others would bow down to him (Genesis 49:7). She also said that the Bible talks of men praising men and even of God praising men (Romans 2:29). She concludes that it is reasonable to bow down before statues of Mary and the saints.

Answer: There is nothing wrong with giving and showing honour to fellow men and women, and this is exemplified and commanded in the Bible. The problem arises when this innocent truth is stretched to justify idolatry practiced in the Catholic religion, for "honour" and "bowing" could also be expressions of that kind of reverence that belongs to God alone, and not to fellow creatures.

Thus when Cornelius met Peter, he fell at his feet in reverence. Peter would not allow this kind of "honour" and he made him get up: “Stand up; I myself am also a man” (see Acts 10:25,26). Similarly, when John fell down to worship at the feet of an angel, the angel rebuked him: "See that you do not do that. For I am your fellow servant, and of your brethren the prophets, and of those who keep the words of this book. Worship God" (see Revelations 22:8,9). Clearly the honour and praise we should give to men and angels could easily deteriorate into idolatry.

So, what is the dividing line between legitimate honour to fellow creatures and idolatry? Rather than relying on our opinion, we should turn to God for an answer. He told us what we should and should not do in the second commandment:

“You shall not make for yourself a carved image, or any likeness of anything that is in heaven above, or that is in the earth beneath, or that is in the water under the earth; you shall not bow down to them nor serve them. For I, the LORD your God, am a jealous God” (Exodus 20:4,5).

God defines idolatry as the making of images, bowing down and serving them. God does not prohibit art or sculpture. For example, God commanded the making of golden cherubims and a bronze serpent (Exodus 25:18-20, Numbers 21:8-9). But the people of Israel were not called to bow down before them or serve them. God never intended that the cherubims should be venerated by praying and bowing down before them, and indeed they were hardly ever seen by the people of Israel as they were hid in the Holy of Holies. Similarly the bronze serpent was a picture of Christ dying on the cross (Numbers 21:8,9; John 3:14,15), but the people of Israel were never told to pray or bow down before it. When in course of time they did that, the godly king Hezekiah smashed it to pieces (2 Kings 18:3,4).

God is not interested in our worship unless it is done in obedience to His Word. If you are a devout Catholic, I implore you to meditate on the second commandment. May God give you the wisdom to see the veneration of statues and saints for what it really is, that you may repent from idolatry and begin to worship God in spirit and truth.

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » October 26th, 2013, 11:54 am

Praying to a saint is idolatry. Praying to anything is idolatry. I think true christians unite to benefit from fellowship.
I have no religion. But i have only encountered one religious group who actually are a logical, plausible thinking organization.
They are not hindus, muslims, pentecostal, roman catholic, seven days or presbeterian or mormons, i don't know of any other religions that teach the truth and can back up all their teachings with the bible. I have not mentioned their name. But if i had to choose a path, it would be theirs.

Let me ask anyone involved in this thread. Answer from ur heart and answer truthfully.

What is the reason for you to want to believe in a higher power?

And if you had one thing that could be given to you what would it be.

Think carefully.

marlener

Postby marlener » October 26th, 2013, 1:33 pm

Still didn't say why you think that they were committing idolatry though,care to share with us what this group believes maybe we can be enlightened.With me it's not a case of me to want to believe in a higher power,it's a case of having enough proof and experience personally to acknowledge that there is a higher power. For those who wish not to, that their choice since my experiences are mines. I like Solomon would ask for wisdom. There are many one this thread who have never said what they believe when it comes to that higher power but enjoy askingnabout and attempting to debunk the faith of others though.

Postby bluefete » October 26th, 2013, 8:41 pm

i am an idiot wrote:Let me ask anyone involved in this thread. Answer from ur heart and answer truthfully.

What is the reason for you to want to believe in a higher power? This life cannot be all that there is. Life is too short. There must be something else to look forward to. A belief in God validates that concept. It is better to believe and end up with nothing than to not believe and end up somewhere else.

And if you had one thing that could be given to you what would it be. Eternal life!

Think carefully.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » October 27th, 2013, 3:42 pm

i'm just going to leave this here

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 27th, 2013, 3:48 pm

i am an idiot wrote:God is omnipresent, there is no logic that i can see for having to face the kabba, it is a form of idolatery.
Also the fact that they seperate male and female in their mosques whilst worshipping to promote pure thoughts and what have u. Yet jihad is carried out, in the hope of receiving virgins on the after life.
But then again, i'm one idiot with a viewpoint.

Why do you say that GOD is omnipresent? What is your proof?

When you go to church, do you face in the same direction as the entire congregation? Is that idolatry too?

Or do you face the stone statue of Jesus on the Cross? This one is certainly not idolatry...how could it possibly be?

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » October 27th, 2013, 5:40 pm

I don't follow a religion, but yes praying to a statue of jesus is idolatry.

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » October 27th, 2013, 5:45 pm

marlener wrote:Still didn't say why you think that they were committing idolatry though,

You can pray to god anywhere, in any position or direction.

care to share with us what this group believes maybe we can be enlightened.

Nope, since i am not a member of their faith i would not want to offend them in any fashion.

With me it's not a case of me to want to believe in a higher power,it's a case of having enough proof and experience personally to acknowledge that there is a higher power.

Don't you have a desire to live eternally?

For those who wish not to, that their choice since my experiences are mines. I like Solomon would ask for wisdom. There are many one this thread who have never said what they believe when it comes to that higher power but enjoy askingnabout and attempting to debunk the faith of others though.

I am not debunking anybody's faith bro, like i said earlier, i an just arguing logic. Don't go biting my head off just yet.

marlener

Postby marlener » October 27th, 2013, 10:53 pm

Lol that reference of debunking had nothing to do with you bro,as I said you need to rewind and read from the start. I went through from the beginning.It took about two months to catch up but it was worth it. The reason I would choose wisdom is because it would lead to the knowledge and obedience to the one true God,which in turn would lead to eternal life.
All Christian faiths have the same commission to share the word of God and point man to him,why would they be offended if they are doing what the bible encourages. Seeing that their teaching are backed by the bible?

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » October 27th, 2013, 11:49 pm

I like how u think. ^^

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 28th, 2013, 8:19 am

i am an idiot wrote:I don't follow a religion, but yes praying to a statue of jesus is idolatry.

Do Christians PRAY TO the statue of Jesus?

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 28th, 2013, 8:22 am

marlener wrote:Lol that reference of debunking had nothing to do with you bro,as I said you need to rewind and read from the start. I went through from the beginning.It took about two months to catch up but it was worth it. The reason I would choose wisdom is because it would lead to the knowledge and obedience to the one true God,which in turn would lead to eternal life.
All Christian faiths have the same commission to share the word of God and point man to him,why would they be offended if they are doing what the bible encourages. Seeing that their teaching are backed by the bible?
Obedience based on corrupted knowledge would lead to eternal damnation...

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 28th, 2013, 8:23 am

I repeat: Why do you say that GOD is omnipresent? What is your proof?

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » October 28th, 2013, 9:13 am

AdamB wrote:I repeat: Why do you say that GOD is omnipresent? What is your proof?

Do u pray?

rocknrolla

Postby rocknrolla » October 28th, 2013, 11:16 am

AdamB wrote:
marlener wrote:Lol that reference of debunking had nothing to do with you bro,as I said you need to rewind and read from the start. I went through from the beginning.It took about two months to catch up but it was worth it. The reason I would choose wisdom is because it would lead to the knowledge and obedience to the one true God,which in turn would lead to eternal life.
Obedience based on corrupted knowledge would lead to eternal damnation...

the trick is in discovering whether the sign and message that comes to a man of such wise words, are meant for others.. or themselves..

or perhaps both.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 28th, 2013, 11:29 am

i am an idiot wrote:
AdamB wrote:I repeat: Why do you say that GOD is omnipresent? What is your proof?

Do u pray?

Yes and I know:
1. To whom I pray.
2. Where HE (ALLAH) is.
3. How to pray.
4. Why I pray to HIM.
5. What would exceed the limits in the 4 above.

I know these 5 things because HE (ALLAH) has informed us (muslims).

Postby Sky » October 28th, 2013, 11:36 am

i am an idiot wrote:

To have some behaviour. To take care of ourselves and each other.
All religions suggest that, even Satanism.
But no. People head hard like banga seed nah, and dey hadda misbehave and justify it with whichever deity threaten them. Justifying awful human nature.

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » October 28th, 2013, 11:43 am

AdamB wrote:
i am an idiot wrote:

Do u pray?

Yes and I know:
1. To whom I pray.
2. Where HE (ALLAH) is.
3. How to pray.
4. Why I pray to HIM.

U missed the point of the question u asked.
Where do u pray?

Sky wrote:
i am an idiot wrote:

But no. People head hard like banga seed nah, and dey hadda misbehave and justify it with whichever deity threaten them. Justifying awful human nature.

Who head hard like banga?
Wtf is banga?
Bro was ah question i asked to make a point. No deity eh threatnin me, scene, dem ting dead, cyah do me nunn.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » October 28th, 2013, 11:49 am

i am an idiot wrote:
AdamB wrote:
i am an idiot wrote:

Do u pray?

Yes and I know:
1. To whom I pray.
2. Where HE (ALLAH) is.
3. How to pray.
4. Why I pray to HIM.

U missed the point of the question u asked.
Where do u pray?

Sky wrote:
i am an idiot wrote:

Wtf is banga?
Bro was ah question i asked to make a point. No deity eh threatnin me, scene, dem ting dead, cyah do me nunn.

Does this statement mean that you believe / believed in the existence of some deities or one deity?

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » October 28th, 2013, 12:18 pm

Wtf is banga?
Bro was ah question i asked to make a point. No deity eh threatnin me, scene, dem ting dead, cyah do me nunn.[/quote]
Does this statement mean that you believe / believed in the existence of some deities or one deity?[/quote]

No bro. I never had a religion in my entire life. Neither have i ever believed in any deity.

You just arguing needlessly yes boi.
You asked me for proof of god's omnipresence. But i doe have a religion, so i don't have any proof.

I asked you where you pray, so that you could prove my point for me with your answer. But you did not respond. Maybe because u realized why i asked it.

Once you knw your buisness with your god and where he is. You continue on your path bro.

marlener

Postby marlener » October 28th, 2013, 10:06 pm

There is a difference between knowledge and wisdom.If an explanation is needed let me know.Not belonging to a religious group does not mean that someone cannot believe in God. If you truly don't believe in God I think it would be hypocritical of you to reference the Bible and it's contents as you don't believe in it's author,validity,or it as a moral guide.
Another thing the Bible encourages us to point out the sins of others as well as our own and point all to the source of saving grace,so the priest and the gay if we close our eyes are going to affect us,because that is part of the commission. That is the message.

Postby pioneer » October 30th, 2013, 10:22 pm

Hey adamb

Postby bluefete » October 30th, 2013, 11:09 pm

mamoo_pagal wrote:
BTW anyone heard fopm dSpike or mega lately?

Have not heard from dSpike in quite a while. I really miss his contributions.

Mega is probably recharging his batteries.

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 1st, 2013, 10:43 am

LOL @ Pioneer

AdamB

Postby AdamB » November 1st, 2013, 10:48 am

marlener wrote:There is a difference between knowledge and wisdom.If an explanation is needed let me know.Not belonging to a religious group does not mean that someone cannot believe in God. If you truly don't believe in God I think it would be hypocritical of you to reference the Bible and it's contents as you don't believe in it's author,validity,or it as a moral guide.
Another thing the Bible encourages us to point out the sins of others as well as our own and point all to the source of saving grace,so the priest and the gay if we close our eyes are going to affect us,because that is part of the commission. That is the message.

According to the Bible, are we supposed to live by the Law of God or the law of man?

i am an idiot

Postby i am an idiot » November 1st, 2013, 11:13 am

Which do u live by?

marlener

Postby marlener » November 1st, 2013, 2:26 pm

Once the laws of man does not go against the laws of God then we can abide,but the Laws of God is first. Does that answer the question you asked?