COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Numb3r4

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13122 cases, 203 deaths, 3783 active, 9126 recovered in T&T

Postby Numb3r4 » May 9th, 2021, 6:40 pm

mero wrote:Wonder if roll-on/joint passing and men coughing down the place bunning weed played any significant role?

Have any studies on this?

Been rolling personals for a while but I sure everybody think they bun it crew safe

Nah bro you have to "bun it" via Zoom, Google Meet, Skype or Whatsapp Video call.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13122 cases, 203 deaths, 3783 active, 9126 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » May 9th, 2021, 6:43 pm

Jajaajjajajajajajja

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 9th, 2021, 6:52 pm

Always knew it was man made event.
[youtube]https://youtu.be/kuKPBur_TiI[/youtube]

Postby paid_influencer » May 9th, 2021, 6:57 pm

Habit7 wrote:All you are basically showing there is that there's no consensus. We are still learning and our local health authority recommends a 6mth wait which is 2x the amount CDC recommends. If you believe that this recommendation was created specifically for KCR, then you need to go burn down a 5G tower because you getting into conspiracy.

no. There is definitely consensus. They all agree that people who have been infected still need to take the vaccine, because the natural immunity will wane after a few months. They all agree people need to take it after releasing from quarantine or no later than 6 months after infection.

Our local MoH is the only health authority that twisted it to say you are ineligible for the vaccine until after 6 months.
Last edited by paid_influencer on May 9th, 2021, 7:06 pm, edited 2 times in total.

carluva

Postby carluva » May 9th, 2021, 6:57 pm

Can the government tap into private hospitals to supplement the national healthcare system? Is that even possible and how would that work?

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 9th, 2021, 7:00 pm

According to the MOH, all ICU patients on Friday night died. As of the 4 PM update that evening, that’s 11 people.

We currently have 15 patients in ICU and 56 patients in HDU in Trinidad - highest figures yet.

Postby adnj » May 9th, 2021, 7:24 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
Habit7 wrote:All you are basically showing there is that there's no consensus. We are still learning and our local health authority recommends a 6mth wait which is 2x the amount CDC recommends. If you believe that this recommendation was created specifically for KCR, then you need to go burn down a 5G tower because you getting into conspiracy.

no. There is definitely consensus. They all agree that people who have been infected still need to take the vaccine, because the natural immunity will wane after a few months. They all agree people need to take it after releasing from quarantine or no later than 6 months after infection.

Our local MoH is the only health authority that twisted it to say you are ineligible for the vaccine until after 6 months.

Probably not.

Spain’s government has ordered individuals who have been infected with the virus to wait for six months before being vaccinated, based on growing evidence that antibodies developed in response to Covid offer long-lasting immunity.

In its updated vaccination strategy, due to be presented to the country’s regional authorities on Wednesday, Spain’s health ministry said cases of reinfection were “exceptional”, and recommended that those who have had Covid be put at the back of the queue.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2021/0 ... tion-says/

“Getting Covid is like at least getting a vaccine dose,” said Kang. “We recommend waiting at least four to eight weeks after recovery before taking the vaccine as you have naturally made antibodies during infection. Since you would still be responding to the infection, vaccinating at that time would be a waste of the vaccine,” she explains. “WHO’s guidance of waiting up to six months is based on evidence that infection provides reasonable protection.”

Allowing the body to build up the maximal natural immunity before getting a shot to further boost one’s immune response makes more sense, she adds.

https://theprint.in/health/i-had-covid- ... re/652913/
Last edited by adnj on May 9th, 2021, 7:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 9th, 2021, 7:28 pm

Anybody know what's the backstory on this ?
IMG-20210509-WA0015.jpeg

Postby Habit7 » May 9th, 2021, 8:05 pm

paid_influencer wrote:

no. There is definitely consensus.

I think you don't understand what concensus means. If they don't agree... that is not consensus. In T&T we do it how our medical authority advises us. This has nothing to do with KCR or the PNM. Not everything is a political conspiracy.

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2021, 8:10 pm

allyuh read martin daly column in papers today
he highlight the fact that parasarm say he raised alarm since march and nobody take him on

Lou Screuz

Postby Lou Screuz » May 9th, 2021, 8:55 pm

Habit7 wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

no. There is definitely consensus.

I think you don't understand what concensus means. If they don't agree... that is not consensus. In T&T we do it how our medical authority advises us. This has nothing to do with KCR or the PNM. Not everything is a political conspiracy.

i hear

that exact same line

this morning

on diesel racket radio

since the last press conference

they have alyou working overtime oui :lol:

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 9th, 2021, 9:03 pm

Parallel Health System at its breaking point..
Screenshot_20210509-210021_Facebook.jpg
Screenshot_20210509-210105_Facebook.jpg
Last edited by widdyphuck on May 9th, 2021, 9:08 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby paid_influencer » May 9th, 2021, 9:07 pm

adnj wrote:Probably not.

Spain’s government has ordered individuals who have been infected with the virus to wait for six months before being vaccinated, based on growing evidence that antibodies developed in response to Covid offer long-lasting immunity.

In its updated vaccination strategy, due to be presented to the country’s regional authorities on Wednesday, Spain’s health ministry said cases of reinfection were “exceptional”, and recommended that those who have had Covid be put at the back of the queue.

I checked on this further, and that guidance only applies to those under age 55 and without co-morbidity. Older persons or those with co-morbidity are being directed to get a dose of vaccine for their protection. Spain's guidance is aimed at distributing vaccines to the most needy first, in a vaccine-limited situation.

A key point I'd like to make is that there is no contra-indication to getting a vaccine after being infected, with the only exception being after monoclonal antibody treatment or convalescent plasma (being given blood from a recovered COVID patient, as a way of putting their antibodies in your body to help fight your infection).

Plenty people locally have this belief you goh dead if you have covid and get the vaccine. Not the case, no health authority is saying that. You can safely get the vaccine regardless of your covid status

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 9th, 2021, 9:18 pm

wtf wrote:Parallel Health System at its breaking point..

I would believe this. What's scary is that infections are still increasing and next week might be the peak! New infections need to slow down dramatically to ease up the parallel heath care system.

Postby Habit7 » May 9th, 2021, 9:29 pm

Last Monday when they said the system going to collapse in 10days, you all thought it was going to happen in the stroke of midnight?

Postby paid_influencer » May 9th, 2021, 9:35 pm

MoH (not the PM, so no buffing/crying antics) to have a press conference tomorrow at 11am.

may or may not watch it, depending on how scary it is.

Might switch to "The Price is Right," which also airs at 11am on a weekday. It has many happy people on that program. Much better imo

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 9th, 2021, 9:38 pm

This week will determine if the Parallel Health Care System makes it or breaks.
Thursday is the 10 day limit they set for collapse.
Screenshot_20210509-213555_Facebook.jpeg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 9th, 2021, 9:45 pm

Honestly, screw 2nd doses, give these 33.6k vaccines to new persons and same with Sinopharm.

We need to vaccinate as much people as necessary.

Postby adnj » May 9th, 2021, 9:47 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
adnj wrote:Probably not.

I checked on this further, and that guidance only applies to those under age 55 and without co-morbidity. Older persons or those with co-morbidity are being directed to get a dose of vaccine for their protection. Spain's guidance is aimed at distributing vaccines to the most needy first, in a vaccine-limited situation.

A key point I'd like to make is that there is no contra-indication to getting a vaccine after being infected, with the only exception being after monoclonal antibody treatment or convalescent plasma (being given blood from a recovered COVID patient, as a way of putting their antibodies in your body to help fight your infection).

Plenty people locally have this belief you goh dead if you have covid and get the vaccine. Not the case, no health authority is saying that. You can safely get the vaccine regardless of your covid status

Irrespective of what "plenty people locally" believe, my point was with respect to your statement:

paid_influencer wrote:Our local MoH is the only health authority that twisted it to say you are ineligible for the vaccine until after 6 months.

Whether an outgrowth of incompetence, nefarious objectives or political maneuvering in Trinidad or not, at least Spain instituted a similar protocol 90 days ago. Therefore, Trinidad is not alone in the broad strokes of the directive.
Last edited by adnj on May 9th, 2021, 9:47 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2021, 9:48 pm

Agreed, and don’t vaccinate anybody who got a mask,liming ticket, put them low priority
Let them dead

Dohplaydat wrote:Honestly, screw 2nd doses, give these 33.6k vaccines to new persons and same with Sinopharm.

We need to vaccinate as much people as necessary.

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13355 cases, 211 deaths, 3907 active, 9237 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » May 9th, 2021, 10:04 pm

To all "Essential" workers, be safe out there tomorrow. If you feel your safety will be compromised in the workplace, frig it and leave because with this new variant, you may not get a second chance.
Take all precautions and Stay Safe!!

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 13355 cases, 211 deaths, 3907 active, 9237 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » May 9th, 2021, 10:10 pm

Given the larger and larger numbers of ppl going for tests

Testing places should be moved out of health centers as it really not serving any purpose to have scores people under a tent waiting a few hours in many cases. It is not a good situation to have very sick persons in proximity with persons who are likely negative but only came for a test based on a contact situation.

Use one of the stadiums or such for testing.

Postby zoom rader » May 9th, 2021, 10:16 pm

pugboy wrote:allyuh read martin daly column in papers today
he highlight the fact that parasarm say he raised alarm since march and nobody take him on
The red government has been covering up covid since last year carnival plus they did a con job for elections.

Take bull

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 114 cases, 8 deaths, 20 discharged in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2021, 10:21 pm

bomp for ole time sake. moar that didnt age well.

Gladiator wrote:I say let them come home man... just manage it well and there would be nothing to fear. Put some rules down for them; they must have on masks on disembarking, send a maxi on the runway to pick them up and drop them off straight into quarantine for a mandatory 14 days.

I sure more than 33 Vene come in via pirogue for the month so far...

Hello Gladiator,

A good suggestion but let them come yes, but not now.

Lets manage inside T&T first and save our resources for any possible developments.

And yes, alot more than 33 Vene are coming in, but no one can answer where are their Covid 19 cases?
They are entering illegally, yes, but are acting quite responsibly and adhering to SD.

Are you able to answer why the Govt appears to be unconcerned with the continued Venezuelan influx?

Postby sMASH » May 9th, 2021, 10:24 pm

pugboy wrote:allyuh read martin daly column in papers today
The red government has been covering up covid since last year carnival plus they did a con job for elections.

Take bull

not really coviing up, just side stepping. but the waste of time repeaters we have here supposed to press the issue and dig it out from them.

Postby Kenjo » May 9th, 2021, 10:26 pm

a20516b5-c465-43c3-b1ab-76422a0c866d.jpg

Wow express

Postby redmanjp » May 9th, 2021, 10:38 pm

wtf wrote:To all "Essential" workers, be safe out there tomorrow. If you feel your safety will be compromised in the workplace, frig it and leave because with this new variant, you may not get a second chance.

thinking of sending a strongly worded email to my boss - it still have ppl in the office maskless and talking to each other within 3 feet. the CDC just confirm this thing airborne and they still doing it.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 9th, 2021, 10:46 pm

redmanjp wrote:
wtf wrote:To all "Essential" workers, be safe out there tomorrow. If you feel your safety will be compromised in the workplace, frig it and leave because with this new variant, you may not get a second chance.

thinking of sending a strongly worded email to my boss - it still have ppl in the office maskless and talking to each other within 3 feet. the CDC just confirm this thing airborne and they still doing it.
Why subject yourself to the possibility of persecution?

Instead, take a video of what goes on and anonymously make it go viral. Will have a much bigger impact due to embarrassment and eliminate the possibility of any uncomfortable situation for you personally in addition to maintaining job security.

Postby redmanjp » May 9th, 2021, 10:59 pm

killercow wrote:
redmanjp wrote:

Why subject yourself to the possibility of persecution?

Instead, take a video of what goes on and anonymously make it go viral. Will have a much bigger impact due to embarrassment and eliminate the possibility of any uncomfortable situation for you personally in addition to maintaining job security.

either scenario might cause that somebody go remember me holding up my phone and filming- OK when i say strongly worded i don't mean cussing him eh. im just probably saying i don't feel comfortable given this situation and ppl need to follow MOH protocols.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 10th, 2021, 5:25 am

Pugboy...link to the daly article?