Petrotrin refinery shut down

Numb3r4

Re: Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby Numb3r4 » October 15th, 2018, 12:43 am

hydroep wrote:Talk about profiting off of people's misery. Mr. Man wasn't a former Pee oN deM MP?...:|

Petrotrin workers suffering in 2018, to be honest everyone else has been suffering since what 2014..

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 15th, 2018, 12:47 am

hydroep wrote:1 week yes. Dem probably dun know who they hiring, this is just for show...

They are asking for 15 years experience....brilliant....

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 15th, 2018, 12:48 am

What I want to know though, you got rid of 1 nationalized oil and gas company only to create 2-3 more?

Postby tr1ad » October 15th, 2018, 8:34 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
hydroep wrote:1 week yes. Dem probably dun know who they hiring, this is just for show...

They are asking for 15 years experience....brilliant....

ah have 18... feel I taking a toosh

Postby sMASH » October 15th, 2018, 1:54 pm

spoke to some petrotrin employees today.. petrotrin was bringing in a lot more foreign currency SPECIFICALLY because of the refinery products than we was touted in public. a lot of it is confidential company business, so hence why u may not be seeing that being published....but it is a state company, so who its confidential too, is somewhat debatable.

neilsingh100

Postby neilsingh100 » October 15th, 2018, 2:25 pm

sMASH wrote:spoke to some petrotrin employees today.. petrotrin was bringing in a lot more foreign currency SPECIFICALLY because of the refinery products than we was touted in public. a lot of it is confidential company business, so hence why u may not be seeing that being published....but it is a state company, so who its confidential too, is somewhat debatable.
Can you elaborate? It is is clear case of volume x price to work out the amount of foreign dollars earned. Aside from the high sulphur content in the diesel were they adding cocaine to it?

Postby sMASH » October 15th, 2018, 6:55 pm

plain and simple, there was sufficient market for the products of the refinery . the impression that the govt gave was that they had little market for what they produced.
whom i had a casual conversation today, said that what ever was being produced was of sufficient grade and price to have continued business.

when that is gone, it gone.
the person was an officer worker, so i didnt think to ask about the sulfur content. but what ever it was, it wasnt a problem.

Postby gastly369 » October 15th, 2018, 7:17 pm

Saw a worker crying today 2nrs..asked the man what happened....they told him that he wouldn't get anything "as how they calculated the packages" altho he made 18 years service for them

Big man ting ah real feel it for the man and with others in that situation

Then I just remembered how the PM telling the public how they would be treated well and bs "advanced packages" and they clapped...

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » October 15th, 2018, 7:20 pm

gastly369 wrote:Saw a worker crying today 2nrs..asked the man what happened....they told him that he wouldn't get anything "as how they calculated the packages" altho he made 18 years service for them

Then I just remembered how the PM telling the public how they would be treated well and bs "advanced packages" and they clapped...

Temporary?

Postby sMASH » October 15th, 2018, 7:22 pm

Postby tr1ad » October 15th, 2018, 7:54 pm

gastly369 wrote:Saw a worker crying today 2nrs..asked the man what happened....they told him that he wouldn't get anything "as how they calculated the packages" altho he made 18 years service for them

Sounds like a casual worker

Postby gastly369 » October 15th, 2018, 7:59 pm

Yep...a human who gave 18 years of his life service also sir

Sry but I don't look down on ppl based on job position like the company

car

Postby car » October 15th, 2018, 8:00 pm

Well they did put aside 1.8m for temps and casual. Well at least they said so.
I suppose this is similar to the what they said about the enhanced package.
One of them workers going to trip before November 30th. Ah cya wait to see what he or she does.

Postby Redman » October 15th, 2018, 8:01 pm

It's a tough situation for any one.

Why would someone one stick in a job ... a temporary position...for 20 years?

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » October 15th, 2018, 8:03 pm

MITTAL 2.0...

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 8:04 pm

It is alleged that Stuart Young Senior is a Board member.

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 8:09 pm

Redman wrote:It's a tough situation for any one.

Because permanency around the corner or they thought so.
Bills
Mortgage
Loans
Family

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 8:11 pm

gastly369 wrote:Yep...a human who gave 18 years of his life service also sir

Contract workers not getting any severance.

Some of these Temporary and Casual employees have more qualifications then the people who look down on them. People with Degrees, Masters and PhDs.

Postby hydroep » October 15th, 2018, 8:15 pm

Boy, there's a lot to be said for NOT being a "company man" yes. Look at some of these people, work hard, go the extra mile, show your loyalty and for what...to get royally f#cked up the arse?

By all means give your best to your employer but don't live to work for them nuh because — as this situation has shown — they'll buss your throat when it suits them...:|

Postby Redman » October 15th, 2018, 8:21 pm

kstt wrote:

Bills
Mortgage
Loans
Family

Sounds like all the reasons I (and probably many here ) decided to make changes and get better employment.

Being in a tough situation does not always equate to being a victim.

car

Postby car » October 15th, 2018, 8:45 pm

kstt wrote:

Bills
Mortgage
Loans
Family

3 months on and 3 months off. 3 months pay usually equate to 6 months pay on the outside. So add better pay to your list.

Postby K74T » October 15th, 2018, 8:48 pm

kstt wrote:It is alleged that Stuart Young Senior is a Board member.

Wrong

Please stop believing everything you see on Facebook.

Petrotrin refinery to shut down

Postby tr1ad » October 15th, 2018, 9:00 pm

Not looking down on anyone (take the feelings out of it)... I spent majority of my career as a casual ...

The law is set for only permanent... So anyone really at fault for abiding ? That's the reality of the situation

It couldn't be a case of that's all it had in the job market to stick it out for 18 years casual

Postby alfa » October 15th, 2018, 9:31 pm

tr1ad wrote:

Not looking down on anyone (take the feelings out of it)... I spent majority of my career as a casual ...

The law is set for only permanent... So anyone really at fault for abiding ? That's the reality of the situation

It couldn't be a case of that's all it had in the job market to stick it out for 18 years casual

Just the fact that they'll keep someone as temporary or casual for 18 years, breaking their service every ten weeks just not to get permanent should be an labor offence in itself

kstt

Postby kstt » October 15th, 2018, 10:00 pm

^^^^waste of resources and money monitoring when to send ppl on break. We talking about hundreds of employees.

Postby tr1ad » October 15th, 2018, 10:06 pm

Again.. I'm aware of how it's done ...

So the market has been so bad in 18 years that ...anyhow never mind ... Carry on

Postby alfa » October 15th, 2018, 10:29 pm

tr1ad wrote:Again.. I'm aware of how it's done ...

So the market has been so bad in 18 years that ...anyhow never mind ... Carry on

You won't understand unless you're in the situation... anyhow never mind....Carry on

Postby tr1ad » October 15th, 2018, 11:31 pm

I have been in the past ... But you're assuming ...

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » October 16th, 2018, 12:56 am

Quite a lot of folks went into the company with an expectation of being made permanent or at least securing some kind of stable long term contract.

Let's face it many were attracted to it by the salary that was being paid.

To be honest sometimes I used to question who got employed there, it seemed that the system really only employed "yes men" or folks they thought they could push around, as someone mentioned before some of the temps were better qualified than the permanent staff....couldn't understand that.
Last edited by Numb3r4 on October 16th, 2018, 6:07 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby tr1ad » October 16th, 2018, 7:09 am

Ah yes ... Someone says it ...