Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby The_Honourable » June 7th, 2017, 12:27 pm

So submitting forms are now voluntary... no $500 charge for not submitting.

10-01

Postby 10-01 » June 7th, 2017, 12:46 pm

K74T wrote:Image

i wonder how muc of tax payers money was used to hire lawyers in this matter :idea:

Postby De Dragon » June 7th, 2017, 12:46 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Never see people so happy to pay more money to somebody else than in the Facebook comments to that story.
Sheep will sheeple

Wait, the red and ready crew eh reach to extoll their sudden affirmation of the courts and their ruling. All dem imps who was crying it down recently go jump out 'jes now.

Postby matr1x » June 7th, 2017, 12:52 pm

And this is where it all goes downhill

airuma

Postby airuma » June 7th, 2017, 1:57 pm

Who paying the legal fees for these injunctions that should not have been granted? What a fine bunch of legal professionals we have!
Next we go hear that they win because we won't be fined for non-submission!

Postby sMASH » June 7th, 2017, 6:37 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Never see people so happy to pay more money to somebody else than in the Facebook comments to that story.
Sheep will sheeple

Wait, the red and ready crew eh reach to extoll their sudden affirmation of the courts and their ruling. All dem imps who was crying it down recently go jump out 'jes now.

They still jumping up with the rasta minister...jess now they will roll up with their holier than thou tone

Postby RedVEVO » June 8th, 2017, 3:29 am

RedVEVO wrote:
hydroep wrote:What stood out in the Newsday article was the "explain yourself to a court of law" bizness, meaning you'd be forced to retain legal counsel unless you're capable of defending yourself.

They're setting the stage fuh lawyers tuh dig out people eye.

Thats one possibility. not likely, but possible. seems there's more to it than that. but lawyers hadda eat ah food too

so if a female works nowhere, but has a dozen bf's that finance her lifestyle, how they want her to prove she get all she have from takin beat out from all dem different piggy? they want she to call all dem man to show up in court on d same day? is trouble fuh she after. the court accepting used condoms as evidence? that proposed piece of legislation is a joke. It's an outright disregard for people's right to privacy.

buh wait, i now remember, it wasn't too long ago some one of them politicians say that we as citizens have no right to privacy? who say dat again?

.. Faris

And he also say he is a direct descendant from Moses.

Not Moses but Mohammed. Faris say he is a descendant of Mohammed.

Not that Moses .. Moses his Syrian family .. or rather in-Laws :roll:

His father Husam Al Rawi is from Iraq - everybody there is a descendant .

Iraq had the Babylonians, Chaldeans, Medes, Persians, Parthians, Scythians and Cimmerians -
Mohammed had many wives to make peace as was common in those glorious days :wink:

So it is possible - He is a descendant .

Wonder who is Rowley's ?

But we strayin ..

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 8th, 2017, 5:50 am

how does rowly plan to move ahead with this tax thing...court indicated that citizens are not mandated and it is purely voluntary...most likely 75% of the population will not submit forms and well seeing that there is no fine attached to not submitting how would the PM persuade people to do so??

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 8th, 2017, 7:25 am

dan wham to you??????

you dont see the best work this govt doing?

you can check to see if you actually own your own vehicles on the internet

Postby toyolink » June 8th, 2017, 10:30 am

The recent appeal court allows for voluntary submission of VRF, however no sanctions nor penalties can be attached for non submission (this is therefor a kind of off- the- record thing).
I am still unsure of how Govt plans to proceed with timely implementation since the formal notices of assessment have to determined and properly posted/presented to property/home owners.
This exercise looks like at least 2019.
Are we going to have to pay maybe 4 years property tax in one shot (since retro to 2016).
I would really like to see the Minister's in-house plans to operationalize this thing including deadlines.

Postby sMASH » June 8th, 2017, 1:33 pm

Yuh vote for dat!

Postby De Dragon » June 8th, 2017, 2:21 pm

toyolink wrote:The recent appeal court allows for voluntary submission of VRF, however no sanctions nor penalties can be attached for non submission (this is therefor a kind of off- the- record thing).
I am still unsure of how Govt plans to proceed with timely implementation since the formal notices of assessment have to determined and properly posted/presented to property/home owners.
This exercise looks like at least 2019.
Are we going to have to pay maybe 4 years property tax in one shot (since retro to 2016).
I would really like to see the Minister's in-house plans to operationalize this thing including deadlines

Enough dotishee PNM sheep go fill out enough forms to keep dem busy until then :lol:
I'm not sure that you can retroactively apply a tax that was not on the statute books and was being challenged in the courts.

Postby 88sins » June 8th, 2017, 2:56 pm

De Dragon wrote:Enough dotishee PNM sheep go fill out enough forms to keep dem busy until then :lol:
I'm not sure that you can retroactively apply a tax that was not on the statute books and was being challenged in the courts.

well, sinister clong inbutt did state recently that they'd collected 90k vrf's at one point, and later said they collected an additional 60k forms. He was using these figures to say that ppl want to pay property tax. I seriously doubt they collected even 20k vrf's tho. Politicians around the globe have been known to lie to manipulate people, I seriously doubt those we have here are averse to such tactics.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 8th, 2017, 3:57 pm

De Dragon wrote:Enough dotishee PNM sheep go fill out enough forms to keep dem busy until then :lol:

well, sinister clong inbutt did state recently that they'd collected 90k vrf's at one point, and later said they collected an additional 60k forms. He was using these figures to say that ppl want to pay property tax. I seriously doubt they collected even 20k vrf's tho. Politicians around the globe have been known to lie to manipulate people, I seriously doubt those we have here are averse to such tactics.

It easy to verify how many forms has been collected up to a particular date.
Just get an Opposition MP to raise it in Parliement under question time.
And get Fitzzzzie to answer or he may very well be getting a fittttttttsssssssssssssss ............................

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 8th, 2017, 4:06 pm

implementing property tax in 2019 is suicide...

Postby RedVEVO » June 8th, 2017, 5:32 pm

Of course he lie - under Parliament Privilege .

The Bill will go back to Parliament and will need a 2/3 majority vote to pass.

But meanwhile, he will try to raise his $500M in taxes some other way.

Sell Petrotrin . Sell back Clico . Sell Land to squatters . Sell Couva Hospital .

Allow private enterprise to flourish - " the invisible hand "

Again,

Axe the Tax .

Postby adnj » June 8th, 2017, 6:03 pm

toyolink wrote:I am still unsure of how Govt plans to proceed with timely implementation since the formal notices of assessment have to determined and properly posted/presented to property/home owners.

I doubt that there will be a delay. An inferred estimate of the value of a particular home's value based on the square footage and on neighborhood homes is how an evaluation is made in general.

I would expect that a value will be assigned, a tax assessed and the owner mailed a notice.

Postby 88sins » June 8th, 2017, 7:00 pm

adnj wrote:
toyolink wrote:I am still unsure of how Govt plans to proceed with timely implementation since the formal notices of assessment have to determined and properly posted/presented to property/home owners.

I doubt that there will be a delay. An inferred estimate of the value of a particular home's value based on the square footage and on neighborhood homes is how an evaluation is made in general.

I would expect that a value will be assigned, a tax assessed and the owner mailed a notice.

Can't assign/assume a value of a property based solely on what houses look like in a given area, without at least a successful site visit, or a plan of the building. Any such assessment is prone to be erroneous. Can't use aerial photography to assess a value either. And they can't walk around taking images of ppl houses without their consent either. That's a serious invasion of privacy, any citizen could put the valuation division on court for that. That's why they ask you for a picture of your house, and not say they will send people to take images.

I want to see what that midget burro & he BF gonma try to get this $$$. It go be interesting,

Postby RedVEVO » June 8th, 2017, 7:19 pm

They will get the $$$ from another scam on the TT citizens.

They are desperate . Treasury have money . Plenty .

But Rowley needs traveling money.

PGA Golf starting soon.

Again,
Axe the Tax

Postby Redman » June 8th, 2017, 9:25 pm

Dais uml twin. Sure sure

Postby eliteauto » June 8th, 2017, 9:30 pm

Surprised at how much the government " can't" do according to some posters. I wonder how much door to door occurred under the land and building taxes?

Postby 88sins » June 8th, 2017, 9:53 pm

eliteauto wrote:Surprised at how much the government " can't" do according to some posters. I wonder how much door to door occurred under the land and building taxes?

Iirc, the old system was based on an assessment that was gathered by using data collected by WASA. Info such as property location, land/building square footage, number of bathrooms, etc. So they had that then.

I got no idea what data they gonna use if nobody gives them any info, since it's all voluntary & no penalty. But I can think of at least 2 places they can get info on properties, but plenty of that data may well be outdated & inaccurate.

The most we can do is wait & watch to see what they try next

Postby RedVEVO » June 9th, 2017, 2:00 am

eliteauto wrote:Surprised at how much the government " can't" do according to some posters. I wonder how much door to door occurred under the land and building taxes?

Iirc, the old system was based on an assessment that was gathered by using data collected by WASA. Info such as property location, land/building square footage, number of bathrooms, etc. So they had that then.

I got no idea what data they gonna use if nobody gives them any info, since it's all voluntary & no penalty. But I can think of at least 2 places they can get info on properties, but plenty of that data may well be outdated & inaccurate.

The most we can do is wait & watch to see what they try next

Where are the 2 places ?

The VRF made you a valuator and held you legally responsible - since you sign on the dotted line.

It was a legal threat to the TT citizens. TT is not a communist society .

Rowley is trying to out smart the judges by saying that his " executive " supersedes the Courts.

Dangerous thinking people and dangerous times.

Manning warned us (the TT Citizens) about this rouge.

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2017, 6:05 am

RedVEVO wrote:
Where are the 2 places ?

I'll give you 2, try to guess the others

T&C planning
The electrical inspectorate

Postby matr1x » June 9th, 2017, 6:08 am

Hey, look. Pnm blogger came out. I am hearing an appeal against the decision is planned. Who wants the guess the corruption involved in hiring the "extra" auditors?

Postby sMASH » June 9th, 2017, 6:37 am

The powers u think they don't have, they do; the powers u think they have, they don't.

Like they can arrest u for whistle blowing on their corrupted contracts, but they can't pave roads or ease up the hospitals work load.

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2017, 7:06 am

Or account for expenditure

Postby toyolink » June 9th, 2017, 12:46 pm

adnj wrote:

This approach might work and would certainly speed-up the process.
The critical issues would be;
Determining the properties and owners to be assessed if VRF fails (the old scrolls wont help much).
The real dollar value of the assessed tax since, if prohibitive, significant numbers of owners may file objections.
The ability to process all prerequisite transactions necessary for actual collection of payments.
The possible need to negotiate outstanding court proceeding and amend legislation if necessary.
This where The Minister's implementation process seems to have been ill conceived.

car

Postby car » June 9th, 2017, 5:27 pm

RedVEVO wrote:

Of course he lie - under Parliament Privilege .

The Bill will go back to Parliament and will need a 2/3 majority vote to pass.

But meanwhile, he will try to raise his $500M in taxes some other way.

Sell Petrotrin . Sell back Clico . Sell Land to squatters . Sell Couva Hospital .

Allow private enterprise to flourish - " the invisible hand "

Again,

Axe the Tax .

This is exactly what going to happen. They will make up the money some other way. Just some suggestions on what they might do: vat back to 15%, income tax to 30%, all fuel subsidy to 0.
And this can happen in the next budget.
If this really happens then is best the property tax had come through.

Postby 88sins » June 9th, 2017, 5:43 pm

Yuh feel so car?
Yuh Kno there's a provision in the act that allows for routine re-evaluations iirc every 2 years.

So potentially, every 2 years your assessed rental value could go up, according to what ppl renting their apt/house for in your area.