Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby wagonrunner » January 16th, 2017, 7:00 pm

pugboy wrote:Is it true that the speeding ticket has been increased ? and to what ?

Is it this 2015 from facebook, you are enquiring about?
http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Biggers-fines-for-drunk-drivers-street-racers-291075441.html

TTPS isn't serious about speed enforcement. It's just a "citizen" tax.
On many occasions between gasparillo and golconda, I'm doing 80 in the left and there are trucks passing me at around 100, and buses are riding the trucks' bumpers.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 17th, 2017, 9:50 am

pugboy wrote:Is it true that the speeding ticket has been increased ? and to what ?

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/Biggers-fines-for-drunk-drivers-street-racers-291075441.html

On many occasions between gasparillo and golconda, I'm doing 80 in the left and there are trucks passing me at around 100, and buses are riding the trucks' bumpers.

I was home the first two weeks in January and had lots of errands to run central and south, was on the highway a lot during the day and saw 0 speed traps in that time. In fact Sunday there was one west bound on the CRH around the Pan Trinbago building in Trincity which was the first I saw in a long time.

Postby Chimera » January 17th, 2017, 9:54 am

I was home the first two weeks in January and had lots of errands to run central and south, was on the highway a lot during the day and saw 0 speed traps in that time. In fact Sunday there was one west bound on the CRH around the Pan Trinbago building in Trincity which was the first I saw in a long time.

nah man it always have speed traps

in the last week, i've seen them on wednesday, thursday and sunday. they does only do it for a hour or so and roll out though, i assume to go somewhere else

tourniquet

Postby tourniquet » January 17th, 2017, 9:55 am

When are the other guns getting here?

Postby Dizzy28 » January 17th, 2017, 9:56 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:

nah man it always have speed traps

in the last week, i've seen them on wednesday, thursday and sunday. they does only do it for a hour or so and roll out though, i assume to go somewhere else

Ahhh scene. I was almost becoming complacent hitting 90 and thing. I'll have to remember to keep myself in check.

Postby Les Bain » January 17th, 2017, 10:36 am

Hadn't seen this thread updated in a while so I thought they were getting more money from the online purchase tax and stopped with the speed traps.

But being in the east last week, there was a trap past Piarco lights heading west (Thursday) then one around Golden Grove lights (Friday).

ADONI

Postby ADONI » January 17th, 2017, 10:43 am

Yup they were there Saturday evening as well, right before the bend.

Postby pugboy » January 17th, 2017, 3:49 pm

yesterday they were westbound beetham just before clearwater plant.
cop car was parked next to a regular car pretending to offer assistance.
Cars were pulled over just before the sealots traffic lights.
Three in front of me were pulled over, incl an M3 who was gunning

Drivers will often see the cop car(non speeding gun) parked by the dump entrance and assume it is
safe to mash down the rest of the beetham.....

Untitled.jpg

Postby wagonrunner » January 17th, 2017, 4:06 pm

well, HCM 641 (ptsc deluxe coach) and other heavy vehicles were at it again this morning just after 10 in the vicinity of couva on the southbound. only TTPS "presence" was around 3pm for the jusamco extra heavy to climb the hill after indian walk. That caused traffic to ato boldon stadium.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 17th, 2017, 5:22 pm

pugboy wrote:yesterday they were westbound beetham just before clearwater plant.
cop car was parked next to a regular car pretending to offer assistance.
Cars were pulled over just before the sealots traffic lights.
Three in front of me were pulled over, incl an M3 who was gunning

Drivers will often see the cop car(non speeding gun) parked by the dump entrance and assume it is
safe to mash down the rest of the beetham.....

Untitled.jpg

M3 driving fast? Nah according to some tuners people with ludicrously fast cars does only drive slow.

Postby Morpheus » January 21st, 2017, 12:28 am

This afternoon was the first time I've ever seen them after the bend, westbound in Trincity. I was in the eastbound heading home.
That is definitely a nice spot...

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » January 21st, 2017, 7:23 pm

Plus the police actually requested that the street lights are turned off on the emergency turning point( police location) so drivers can't see them...

Yes, it is a citizen tax.
Ask yourself what the police are know for today?
-Giving tickets
-Commiting crime

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 21st, 2017, 8:55 pm

They were on the highway northbound after the swamp this am by the scrap dealers. Saw a white Porsche (could have been a 911) geh ketch.

screwbash

Postby screwbash » January 22nd, 2017, 5:23 am

they should convert all the IATF, GEB,PSB,MOPS,Mounted Branch, Task Force, CID, Homicide, FIU,CGIU and the rest to TRAFFIC POLICE cause that is all police seem to be good at, only jumby men on the bus route, on the hiway and certain round abouts for seatbelt, head light, tint, speeding and other motor vehicle issues, they cyah investigate an crime scene, they cyah ketch a criminal, they cyah find Ria kidnappers or Shannon murders but they wah jumbie men for driving on the hiway when them selves does use the siren to get tru traffic an drop they chirren to school., then does drive with crack windshield, dem does drive illegally on the bus route, them does drive marked police vehicle when not in uniform, them does take the marked police vehicle to go rob people and commit crimes.

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » January 22nd, 2017, 7:50 am

screwbash wrote:they should convert all the IATF, GEB,PSB,MOPS,Mounted Branch, Task Force, CID, Homicide, FIU,CGIU and the rest to TRAFFIC POLICE cause that is all police seem to be good at, only jumby men on the bus route, on the hiway and certain round abouts for seatbelt, head light, tint, speeding and other motor vehicle issues, they cyah investigate an crime scene, they cyah ketch a criminal, they cyah find Ria kidnappers or Shannon murders but they wah jumbie men for driving on the hiway when them selves does use the siren to get tru traffic an drop they chirren to school., then does drive with crack windshield, dem does drive illegally on the bus route, them does drive marked police vehicle when not in uniform, them does take the marked police vehicle to go rob people and commit crimes.

True. the only thing the police ever brag about is how much ticket them give out and how they want to raise de fine. The police behave as if they're above the law, but what do you expect when you give such small minded people soo much power. Police officers can bearly read and write, let alone protect a country. This is one of the few jobs where being an incompetent buffoon with zero performance gets you a raise in pay, and they always want a raise in pay.
I really believe its time for the police, army, coast guard and all other so called protect services to be put on the highways to give out tickets.

Joshie23

Postby Joshie23 » January 22nd, 2017, 3:44 pm

vaiostation wrote:
screwbash wrote:they should convert all the IATF, GEB,PSB,MOPS,Mounted Branch, Task Force, CID, Homicide, FIU,CGIU and the rest to TRAFFIC POLICE cause that is all police seem to be good at, only jumby men on the bus route, on the hiway and certain round abouts for seatbelt, head light, tint, speeding and other motor vehicle issues, they cyah investigate an crime scene, they cyah ketch a criminal, they cyah find Ria kidnappers or Shannon murders but they wah jumbie men for driving on the hiway when them selves does use the siren to get tru traffic an drop they chirren to school., then does drive with crack windshield, dem does drive illegally on the bus route, them does drive marked police vehicle when not in uniform, them does take the marked police vehicle to go rob people and commit crimes.

True. the only thing the police ever brag about is how much ticket them give out and how they want to raise de fine. The police behave as if they're above the law, but what do you expect when you give such small minded people soo much power. Police officers can bearly read and write, let alone protect a country. This is one of the few jobs where being an incompetent buffoon with zero performance gets you a raise in pay, and they always want a raise in pay.
I really believe its time for the police, army, coast guard and all other so called protect services to be put on the highways to give out tickets.

I like trouble you know..it's ironic that you can criticize the police about their inability to spell but..bearly?? The red line under the word (if you're at a computer and now you're going to say auto correct on your phone :roll: ) didn't tell you or screwbash something? I asked before..are you all aware that there are different sections of the Police Service?? I hear you about the lack of efficiency in other areas, but understand..crime is crime..the mentality that you should get a bligh for exceeding the speed limit by 15 km/h or not get wrecked for parking in a No Parking Zone or partaking in whatever shenanigans ninety percent of the people who bought their licenses partake in, simply because people are getting away with murder (literally :( ) is so backwards (Google the 'Broken Windows' Theory). Again, I understand that 100% in one area and 1% in another isn't the best approach especially when families are broken what not but oh gosh..

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 23rd, 2017, 11:25 pm

Almost got caught in this tonight....but lucky I was driving at 80......north bound under Charlie Ville walk over...9pm.....they had d box or camera on the shoulder..on d ground.....in d utter dark....then stopping cars further up.....

Postby DVSTT » January 23rd, 2017, 11:33 pm

*$kїđž!™ wrote:Almost got caught in this tonight....but lucky I was driving at 80......north bound under Charlie Ville walk over...9pm.....they had d box or camera on the shoulder..on d ground.....in d utter dark....then stopping cars further up.....

What box?

Postby *$kїđž!™ » January 24th, 2017, 7:03 pm

I just saw a black box on the shoulder.with a small light facing oncoming cars and the police standing behind it.....maybe one of those officers here could shed some light on what this device is ...

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 24th, 2017, 10:15 pm

Box supposed to be for flash, to illuminate your number plate so its clear on the print out.

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2017, 12:08 am

Prob infrared illuminated like on Cctv cameras which have a bunch of infrared leds

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 25th, 2017, 1:03 am

yah
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-01- ... uns-coming

Now all the police force will be out on the roads conducting speed traps so bandits, rapists and other no good would be free to go around raping and pillaging

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » January 25th, 2017, 2:49 am

LTI truflash... Most likely was the unit you saw... Google it for more information

bossmann

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bossmann » January 25th, 2017, 6:27 am

kamakazi wrote:LTI truflash... Most likely was the unit you saw... Google it for more information

Yup, that's it self
download.jpg
download.jpg (9.11 KiB) Viewed 3396 times

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 25th, 2017, 7:58 am

hong kong phooey wrote:yah
http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2017-01- ... uns-coming

Now all the police force will be out on the roads conducting speed traps so bandits, rapists and other no good would be free to go around raping and pillaging

Not really ... If the Bandits and Rapists speeding then they won't be free to "go around raping and pillaging".

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 25th, 2017, 9:35 am

no most of them escape via foot and it down some drain.

Postby pugboy » January 25th, 2017, 1:35 pm

Saw them hiding by the corner cafe by dhl/kaleidoscope
Pulling over drivers just before excited to roundabout plaza

Postby Dizzy28 » January 25th, 2017, 4:40 pm

Hearing rumours the fixed speed cams by El Socorro are now in use for the purposes of ticket sharing. Any body else hearing this?

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 25th, 2017, 8:30 pm

hong kong phooey wrote:no most of them escape via foot and it down some drain.

According to Gyalis Al wari most crimes involve cars.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170122 ... volve-cars

drchaos

Postby drchaos » January 25th, 2017, 8:39 pm

I am glad if they switch to more traffic cams on the highways. Easier to beat the system, since they fixed we will find out where they are. Also simple things like obscuring a number or letter on your number plate with a splash of mud or dirt should prevent you from being ticketed.