Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

AGENT RORO

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby AGENT RORO » August 26th, 2010, 2:38 pm

heavy rollers wrote:come nah man ............ ah know everybody does read papers

i was just bringing it to some people attention

I know buddy, Was merely making a joke

netsket

Postby netsket » August 26th, 2010, 6:25 pm

so who went? wah allyuh get? price?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 26th, 2010, 7:15 pm

Any of you guys every made / used a Moving Bed filter before?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 27th, 2010, 7:31 am

smurf, i'm back. pm me your email so i can send u d pics. have to move it ASAP.
roro, will check u this wkend. heading back out next wk.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 27th, 2010, 5:18 pm

HondaB20B wrote:smurf, i'm back. pm me your email so i can send u d pics. have to move it ASAP.

Call before you pass

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 27th, 2010, 11:11 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:smurf, i'm back. pm me your email so i can send u d pics. have to move it ASAP.

Call before you pass

yeah, ah know yuh doh want meh pass

Postby UML » August 28th, 2010, 10:15 am

Where in Trinidad can I buy Actinic bulbs? (night light)

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 28th, 2010, 10:38 pm

i bought some from raj just 2wks ago.

Postby UML » August 28th, 2010, 11:14 pm

HondaB20B wrote:i bought some from raj just 2wks ago.

price? size? wattage? lighting setup or bulb?

when does raj return?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 28th, 2010, 11:43 pm

150 a peice. bulbs only good for 6 mths. 39W, 33 inch (this fits in d 4ft hoods) raj came back but going again wed

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 29th, 2010, 1:44 pm

sharkman and smurf, check e-mail

Postby sharkman121 » August 29th, 2010, 5:00 pm

Consider it sold. check email.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 29th, 2010, 5:17 pm

ok sharkman. pm me your no. will meet tom.

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 29th, 2010, 6:35 pm

was dat u sellin so?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 29th, 2010, 7:21 pm

Is the wet/dry sharkman buying dey? cuz it lil small for my needs.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 29th, 2010, 7:23 pm

ryan99tt wrote:was dat u sellin so?

Had a new 30" X 12" X 12" wet/ dry filter. cant use it on the 6ft cause it was too small. the protein skimmer along with pump cant even fit. ended up getting a 40 gal refugium made for it.

Postby UML » August 30th, 2010, 5:58 pm

Do I need a chiller for soft corals or is it only needed for hard corals?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 30th, 2010, 7:03 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:Is the wet/dry sharkman buying dey? cuz it lil small for my needs.

smurf, what size tank (GALLONS) you want to run a wet/dry filter on. when men running 3000gal+ ponds, they run some filters that dont even hold 15 gal. You have to get a pump that can push alot of gal/hr. Experts recommend turning aquarium water over 5 to 10 times per hour in a fish-only system. In a reef tank, it is recommended the water be turned over a minimum of 10 to 20 times per hour (although many hobbyists prefer a turnover of 40 to 50 times per hour). For example, a 30 gallon reef aquarium should have the water turned over 300 to 600 gallons gallons/hour.
your turnover should be less because of it being a freshwater setup. Also once you have sufficient bio-media then your surface area will increase. if you thinking that way then men with big ponds go have 2000gal filters then. My tank upstairs is over 200gal and it was recommended that i use a submersible pump of about 1600-1800 gal/hr. I ended up buying a 2400 gal/hr pump. i could of used that wet/dry filter with the pump i now have, but i needed a large refugium added in so i can grow copepods, algae along with plants. also the skimmer' footprint was too large to even fit. the base is 12" X 14". go and look at wet/dry filters for 200gal tanks and see they are not big at all. what you looking for for your tank................................... ah bathtub or ah jacuzzi?
check the size of this wet/dry filter for a 200 gal tank.
CPR_CR2000

* Recommended Tank Size: Up to 200 Gallons
* Media Capacity: 1 Cubic Foot
* Dimensions (L x W x H): 24" x 12.5" x 20"
* Inlet / Outlet (Bulkhead): 1" / 3/4"
* Internal Sump (L x W): 11.75" x 10"

http://www.marinedepot.com/ps_searchIte ... s&parsed=1

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 30th, 2010, 11:10 pm

UML wrote:Do I need a chiller for soft corals or is it only needed for hard corals?

if you check Temp requirements for most corals, they are 72 to 78 degrees Fahrenheit or 22 to 26 degrees Celsius. anything to much over that and they gradually start to close up and die within weeks or few mths. If you have your tank in an air-conditioned house or room and you can keep water temp under 30C, you just might get away with it surviving. and the cooler the water, the more oxygen molecules you have, which is better for you fish and coral on the whole. what temps your tank getting to

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 31st, 2010, 11:46 am

Something like this:

Not quite finished. still have some additions / changes to make.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 31st, 2010, 6:24 pm

why you putting 4 baffle plates/bubble traps in a freshwater wet/dry. that dont make any sense at all. To much overkill. You will never get so much bubbles at the return secton. salt water gets alot of bubbles, but not fresh water. And in any case you will have filterfloss or some sort of heavy filter media before the pump. In saltwater setups, you cant use filterfloss because its too fine and it traps all the stuff that has to grow to feed the main tank

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 31st, 2010, 11:12 pm

^i know saltwater has a much higher surface tension than freshwater hence the micro bubbles, but those baffles arent there to serve as bubble traps
the 1st section is the return from the tank, the 2nd section is my mechanical/chemical filtration, 3rd section is going to be a moving bed filter, 4th is the wet/dry filter, then through the foam block and into the sump area.

Realistically having both moving bed AND wet/dry is overkill, but i just liked the idea of having both. Also i wanted to go a lil extra on the size of the sump just to ensure theres no chance of flooding in case of a power outage.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 31st, 2010, 11:35 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:^i know saltwater has a much higher surface tension than freshwater hence the micro bubbles, but those baffles arent there to serve as bubble traps
the 1st section is the return from the tank, the 2nd section is my mechanical/chemical filtration, 3rd section is going to be a moving bed filter, 4th is the wet/dry filter, then through the foam block and into the sump area.

Realistically having both moving bed AND wet/dry is overkill, but i just liked the idea of having both. Also i wanted to go a lil extra on the size of the sump just to ensure theres no chance of flooding in case of a power outage.

that statement realy made no sense there.
then two things you have to do is put a check valve on the outlet from the pump, and just put the baffle plate a bit lower, or leave it the same height but increase the filter height. remember the water is just going to be about 1/4 inch over de plate.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 31st, 2010, 11:43 pm

another thing you can do is just drill a small hole at the water level mark on the return piping in the main tank. when current goes, it automatically breaks the suction and stops any water heading back down to the tank towards the pump in the filter. no rocket science there.

Postby sharkman121 » September 2nd, 2010, 6:29 pm

wey alyuh guys :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 2nd, 2010, 8:44 pm

rite here

Postby sharkman121 » September 2nd, 2010, 8:52 pm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 2nd, 2010, 9:01 pm

looking good

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » September 2nd, 2010, 9:09 pm

Postby UML » September 2nd, 2010, 9:11 pm

HondaB20B wrote:http://current-usa.com/nova_extreme_pro

das d one ah decide on buying :twisted:

who say group buy?

BTW wahs ah good brand chiller?!! (quietness is important also)