Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby RedVEVO » June 6th, 2017, 2:05 am

USA had pressured China to re-value it's RMB. It was artificially kept low to increase exports .
However China's GDP remains positive - it increased approx. 7 % in the first 1/4 of 2017.

In TT the TT $ de-valued against US, Euro, Pound etc. - BUT we have nothing of value to export
to increase GDP - only Oil and Gas -but now low prices .

So GDP declines - So Mr. Gov't decides to give manufacturers special Forex treatment.

In TT that will not work - What you will have is " capital flight " and increase of " black market "
transactions for Forex.

There is NO PLAN to increase revenue other than to tax, tax, tax.

If anybody know of any "secret plan" - talk.

New gas and oil finds ? We have to wait for the price to increase or produce more .

Again it is back to squeeze the TT citizens via increased taxes - via fear and mayhem policies.

Again

Axe the Tax

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 6th, 2017, 6:37 am

^explain how giving the manufacturing sector 'special forex treatment' just gives way to capital flight and blackmarkets in your view.

In my view black markets rise anywhere there is a demand that cannot be or is not facilitated sufficiently by government. Doesnt matter what the item is. And i can see how local manufacturers can cause a drain if their products are not designated for export but local consumption. That is not a case of 'that wont work in trinidad'.... it wont work ANYWHERE. Lol

This is why i does say pnm destroying the country on purpose because it is quite clear that the decisions and direction they take with policy are known beforehand to fail at solving the problem they were supposed to be tackling.. and goes against every grain of thought put behind understanding how economies thrive. If raising the price of bodhi will make things better, pnm will come with a bodi price bill to help make bodhi cheaper. Yuh supposed to mash gas to go and brakes to stop... pnm will rewire yuh car and put the brakes on the gas pedal and tell yuh 'mash out, we fix it.'

Postby adnj » June 6th, 2017, 8:27 am

"GOVERNMENT is bringing anti-fraud legislation where people with multiple gold chains, multiple vehicles and living in a mansion but cannot explain their wealth, will have their assets forfeited to the State, Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi says .

He said this package of legislation will include a completely renovated system for land registration that features making not registering a deed a criminal offence, subject to jail and penalty ."

http://www.newsday.co.tt/news/0,244640.html

Postby 88sins » June 6th, 2017, 9:34 am

Fagis AssWari at it agian

I want to know, what the intended purpose of said RFID tag on a persons vehicle?
Possibly for the electronic monitoring of the whereabouts all vehicles on all the nations roadways?
If so, why do they want to know where ppl going to/coming from? smells like an invasion of privacy.
How much this gonna cost John Taxpayer, when these asses braying they have to tax ppl to get the finances to run the country & get things done? It don't have more important things to tend to than that?
Who gonna maintain this?
Who will have access to this?

Postby adnj » June 6th, 2017, 11:17 am

88sins wrote:Fagis AssWari at it agian

I want to know, what the intended purpose of said RFID tag on a persons vehicle?
Possibly for the electronic monitoring of the whereabouts all vehicles on all the nations roadways?
If so, why do they want to know where ppl going to/coming from? smells like an invasion of privacy.
How much this gonna cost John Taxpayer, when these asses braying they have to tax ppl to get the finances to run the country & get things done? It don't have more important things to tend to than that?
Who gonna maintain this?

Passive RFID has a range of about 6 ft. It's more likely that it would be used for automated payment of parking meters, parking access, traffic stops, toll roads, or ferry trips.

https://www.atlasrfidstore.com/rfid-vehicle-tags/

vaiostation

Postby vaiostation » June 6th, 2017, 12:26 pm

88sins wrote:Fagis AssWari at it agian

Who gonna maintain this?

Rawi want to know people location so he could calculate how much time he have to bang he supporters wives before they reach home...
But on a serious note I have to say that the laws being passed today with no consultation is very frightening.
De rate them going it might be illegal to talk about government on trinituner or any form of social media pretty soon...
Last edited by vaiostation on June 6th, 2017, 12:45 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby 88sins » June 6th, 2017, 12:41 pm

not all are short range tho. depends on things like the power source, application, etc. I've used some that capable of transmitting data to receivers over a couple hundred feet away.

Postby sMASH » June 6th, 2017, 1:26 pm

Explain ur wealth doesn't have a minimum amount of wealth that must be explained. Meaning, that anybody with anything could be called upon to explain their possessions. Or, be threatened with such a compulsion, as a method of extortion.

Also, it accuses a person of being involved in gainful illicit activities. When someone is supposed to be presumed innocent until proven guilty, with this u are presumed guilty until u can be proven innocent.
That's just against natural justice.

And another thing, I don't provide sufficient proof of how u built that house, then they seize it. They take ur possession because u can't prove his uphill were able to legally acquire it, because it would mean that u would haVe acquired it by some illegal means. But they can't lock up, cash they have no proof that u acted criminally.

They can't punish u for being a criminal, but want to penalize u for not being able to prove that ur not a criminal.

They are using lazy law enforcement powers to generate more monies from the state.

Postby adnj » June 6th, 2017, 1:50 pm

88sins wrote:not all are short range tho. depends on things like the power source, application, etc. I've used some that capable of transmitting data to receivers over a couple hundred feet away.

I've seen about 700 ft availed for vehicle ID so I don't disagree. But you get high EMI and crosstalk. The big advantage for RFID would be parking garage access gates and gated communities. You also can build smart interchanges that log the traffic flow and change the timing of the lights in real time. They're cheap and it's easier to collect a VIN and plate number with no error.

If you want to track a person, it's easier to track a phone's IMEI than to track a RFID tag. The software and the infrastructure is already built.

Postby hydroep » June 6th, 2017, 2:04 pm

What stood out in the Newsday article was the "explain yourself to a court of law" bizness, meaning you'd be forced to retain legal counsel unless you're capable of defending yourself.

They're setting the stage fuh lawyers tuh dig out people eye.

Postby 88sins » June 6th, 2017, 2:15 pm

technologically easier, but easy to get around too. just power down the phone.
Still don't think its a good idea to mandate RFID in vehicles, particularly when there's no major necessity for it from an infrastructural perspective.

It could have some benefits, within the aspect of aiding LE in identifying vehicles to owners & quick confirmation of info/processing of charges for traffic offenses during road exercises. Depending on the system & range from transmitter to receiver, it could even be used as a tool to aid in stolen vehicle recovery, those monitoring the system could follow a stolen vehicle to wherever it stops.
But as of right how, I see no need for this. But I'm not too worried, even if it's implemented it won't apply to me.

brb, going to buy a horse & build a cart.

Postby 88sins » June 6th, 2017, 2:29 pm

hydroep wrote:What stood out in the Newsday article was the "explain yourself to a court of law" bizness, meaning you'd be forced to retain legal counsel unless you're capable of defending yourself.

Thats one possibility. not likely, but possible. seems there's more to it than that. but lawyers hadda eat ah food too

so if a female works nowhere, but has a dozen bf's that finance her lifestyle, how they want her to prove she get all she have from takin beat out from all dem different piggy? they want she to call all dem man to show up in court on d same day? is trouble fuh she after. the court accepting used condoms as evidence? that proposed piece of legislation is a joke. It's an outright disregard for people's right to privacy.

buh wait, i now remember, it wasn't too long ago some one of them politicians say that we as citizens have no right to privacy? who say dat again?

Postby matr1x » June 6th, 2017, 6:05 pm

Faris Ren and stimbert. I hope pnm supporters are happy of the police state they supporting

airuma

Postby airuma » June 6th, 2017, 6:56 pm

Since the murder rate is less for prisoners and vagrants, the goal must be to lock up the wealthy and render homeless the lower and middle class hence, lower the murder rate!

airuma

Postby airuma » June 6th, 2017, 7:11 pm

According to dictionary.com

voluntary:
4. Law.
a. acting or done without compulsion or obligation.

Just heard on CNC3 news that a senior lawyer said the submission of the valuation form was always voluntary.

Postby sMASH » June 6th, 2017, 8:17 pm

And $500 fine if u don't submit..

Postby 88sins » June 6th, 2017, 8:28 pm

Yes, its voluntary
But if you don't volunteer, when they go through the register of properties & see those who haven't submitted it, the plan is to charge property owners with and collect a $500 fine for late submission/failure to submit said before.

Still sounding voluntary?

Postby sMASH » June 6th, 2017, 8:30 pm

Wait minute... if the tax is like 1000 a year, and the fine for not submitting is 500, it might be easier to just not submit, and let them keep asking to submit... and keep paying the fines instead....

*feeling like the top gear orangutan*

Postby matr1x » June 6th, 2017, 9:08 pm

This is nature of the extortion that pnm administration engages in.

Postby nervewrecker » June 6th, 2017, 9:11 pm

sMASH wrote:Wait minute... if the tax is like 1000 a year, and the fine for not submitting is 500, it might be easier to just not submit, and let them keep asking to submit... and keep paying the fines instead....

You making some sense.

I was reading if the land dont have property, they tax you on the value..
If it has a property, they tax on the annual rental value.

So if i put up a container home? Annual rental value of said container is the flick?

Postby 88sins » June 6th, 2017, 10:11 pm

sMASH wrote:Wait minute... if the tax is like 1000 a year, and the fine for not submitting is 500, it might be easier to just not submit, and let them keep asking to submit... and keep paying the fines instead....

You making some sense.

I was reading if the land dont have property, they tax you on the value..
If it has a property, they tax on the annual rental value.

So if i put up a container home? Annual rental value of said container is the flick?

They were saying that if no building is on the land, the state valuator would calculate the arv of the land at whatever purpose it's designated. and that's what your taxes will be paid on.
Using pnm logic, that container would be classified as a commercial building and you'd end up paying commercial rates on both land and container.

Postby nervewrecker » June 6th, 2017, 10:22 pm

Best i stick to the shack idea yes.
Wtb: ply board and nails....used

Postby RedVEVO » June 7th, 2017, 2:19 am

hydroep wrote:What stood out in the Newsday article was the "explain yourself to a court of law" bizness, meaning you'd be forced to retain legal counsel unless you're capable of defending yourself.

Thats one possibility. not likely, but possible. seems there's more to it than that. but lawyers hadda eat ah food too

so if a female works nowhere, but has a dozen bf's that finance her lifestyle, how they want her to prove she get all she have from takin beat out from all dem different piggy? they want she to call all dem man to show up in court on d same day? is trouble fuh she after. the court accepting used condoms as evidence? that proposed piece of legislation is a joke. It's an outright disregard for people's right to privacy.

buh wait, i now remember, it wasn't too long ago some one of them politicians say that we as citizens have no right to privacy? who say dat again?

.. Faris

And he also say he is a direct descendant from Moses.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 7th, 2017, 6:58 am

today is D day for this tax thing...according to the press

Postby Dizzy28 » June 7th, 2017, 9:15 am

RedVEVO wrote:

.. Faris

And he also say he is a direct descendant from Moses.

Not Moses but Mohammed. Faris say he is a descendant of Mohammed.

Postby 88sins » June 7th, 2017, 10:04 am

Not Moses but Mohammed. Faris say he is a descendant of Mohammed.

If he want he could say he is Buddha's beyotch.
If true, (which I personally doubt) his lineage is only important to him or his family, or possibly those dumb enough to choose to find it valuable, and is of less value to most ppl than 2 moldy rat turds in a pit latrine.

Postby K74T » June 7th, 2017, 11:48 am

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 7th, 2017, 11:48 am

THE Court of Appeal has overturned another ruling of Justice Frank Seepersad, this one involving whether the State could continue to accept Property Tax valuation forms from citizens.

This morning, the Appeal Court ruled that Seepersad should not have granted an interim stay on the collection process but that the substantive matter for judicial review is still on. It will be heard on September 21.

The Court ruled that the Ministry of Finance could continue to collection the forms, but that the public had to be informed it would be on a voluntary basis, and not mandatory.

The Appeal Court, in its ruling, also made it clear that the State had to inform the public that even if citizens did not submit the forms, no sanctions could be imposed.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170607 ... dcollected

interesting

Postby Dizzy28 » June 7th, 2017, 12:02 pm

Never see people so happy to pay more money to somebody else than in the Facebook comments to that story.
Sheep will sheeple

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 7th, 2017, 12:24 pm

lul they feel they opinions even considered? most of them cant even count to 150, but jumping to comment on things

d asss i does be seing here