Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » August 12th, 2010, 10:16 pm

Raj nuh in d country, santoo and wazir getting fish by next week.

I go watch rocks and bubbles until.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 12th, 2010, 10:57 pm

well, at least de ROCK yuh have legal

kryps911

Postby kryps911 » August 13th, 2010, 1:12 pm

Full green star polyp colonies for sale.....391-1272. $200

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » August 13th, 2010, 7:08 pm

kryps911, nice price...i guh check yuh wen i get my chiller and lighting goin...

Postby UML » August 13th, 2010, 10:14 pm

ryan99tt wrote:kryps911, nice price...i guh check yuh wen i get my chiller and lighting goin...

do u mind sharing some info on your lighting? i trying tuh decide on what type of lighting i might need. more info the better. thx.

Postby sharkman121 » August 14th, 2010, 8:14 am

UML, check out this link, everything the beginner needs to know in one place.

http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1696795

maybe u can join as well, i joined this morning. Am also a member of Aquaria Central forums.

Postby sharkman121 » August 14th, 2010, 10:19 pm

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 14th, 2010, 10:48 pm

doh worry pal, you will get there soon

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » August 17th, 2010, 11:44 am

Does anyone have a functional undergravel filter set-up currently?

I need some advice

Postby sharkman121 » August 17th, 2010, 5:58 pm

Went by santoo last night, whats interesting is that he has lots of corals both hard and soft without having a chiller.

U can have a diverse marine tank with many fish and countless corals, only certain coral require intense chilling and lighting.

Added 5 green chromids to tank today to assist in cycling of tank.

How do you know when ur tank is done cycling.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 17th, 2010, 8:45 pm

sharkman121,

check yuh PH, ammonia, nitrites and nitrates.
when everything reading nice then yuh good to go.

Postby sharkman121 » August 17th, 2010, 8:47 pm

But dey reading nice right now... i waiting for mih ammonia to spike :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 17th, 2010, 11:03 pm

sharkman121 wrote:But dey reading nice right now... i waiting for mih ammonia to spike :|

you have a 4ft tank with a set of cured live rock soaking over a wk now. 5 green cromis aint goin an shake dat amonia level

link

Postby link » August 17th, 2010, 11:10 pm

ammonia supposed to spike ???!!!

Postby sharkman121 » August 17th, 2010, 11:45 pm

^ yeh, initially.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 18th, 2010, 12:19 am

link wrote:ammonia supposed to spike ???!!!

de man have maybe a 60 gal tank with about 40-50lbs of cured live rock.

what five 1" cromis goin an do. what load dat going and give you.

Postby sharkman121 » August 18th, 2010, 12:30 am

ok boss

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 18th, 2010, 8:05 am

sharkman121 wrote:Went by santoo last night, whats interesting is that he has lots of corals both hard and soft without having a chiller.

U can have a diverse marine tank with many fish and countless corals, only certain coral require intense chilling and lighting.

Added 5 green chromids to tank today to assist in cycling of tank.

How do you know when ur tank is done cycling.

Different types of coral have different light requirements. Do your research before you buy lights to meet the needs of what you want to keep. As for a chiller, just because the tank has coral in it does not mean it needs a chiller. The need for a chiller is governed by the temperatures of the setup which varies between different tanks depending on ambient temps, lights, humidity etc.. The temperature most aim for is between 79-81F which varies from person to person to the higher and lower ranges. When you have the lights setup, check your tank temperatures through out the day to see if a chiller is needed. Also higher temperatures may not kill the coral but they will be unhappy which will show by reaction, growth and colour. Extremely high spikes will bring a tank down by killing the most susceptible coral and inverts first. I try to keep my setup between 78-80F. See the graph below from it which shows the fluctuations through out the day.

Also remember that lighting and temperature are not all that is needed for coral. Flow, Calcium and Alkalinity are also extremely important.

Postby sharkman121 » August 18th, 2010, 9:59 am

HondaB20B wrote:

Surprised to hear u say this, u of all ppl should know that u could have one fish to cycle a tank, it could even be cycled on live rock alone. Some tanks can cycle in a couple of days and some may take as many as couple of months to fully cycle, all depending on the bio load, bacteria level and nitrates converted.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 18th, 2010, 10:23 am

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

Surprised to hear u say this, u of all ppl should know that u could have one fish to cycle a tank, it could even be cycled on live rock alone. Some tanks can cycle in a couple of days and some may take as many as couple of months to fully cycle, all depending on the bio load, bacteria level and nitrates converted.

Agreed. Ive always done a fish less cycle with live rock and a raw piece of shrimp. The key is to go slowly so that you do raise the bio load too quickly and the nitrifying bacteria can keep up. Nothing good in this hobby happens quickly 8-) .

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » August 18th, 2010, 10:54 am

any aquarium hang-on filters to sell?

Postby sharkman121 » August 18th, 2010, 10:57 am

^ i have a tetra hang on filter running in conjunction with my eheim canister filter. got it from wazir in aranguez, check him he has good prices on them.

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » August 18th, 2010, 11:01 am

Or ok, I've been there but I set-up an undergravel filter in a 6ft tank.. was hoping to compliment it with a hang-on.. preferably used..if anyone has stuff to sell out..

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » August 18th, 2010, 3:00 pm

WTB / WTG substrate to cover 6ft tank with undergravel filter

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » August 18th, 2010, 7:43 pm

^what made you choose an undergravel?

~Street Sleeper~

Postby ~Street Sleeper~ » August 20th, 2010, 7:20 pm

Online reading ...
never seen the set-up in person before or know anyone that has it

Works fairly ok I guess..

I have two 2ft plates.. 4ft coverage in total..
and a Maxi Jet power head

..got through with some substrate.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 21st, 2010, 12:39 am

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

i give up yes. i never say anything about cycle? i talking about AMONIA. nothing to say again.................................................

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » August 24th, 2010, 2:35 pm

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 24th, 2010, 4:40 pm

heavy rollers wrote:In today's Express

http://img442.imageshack.us/i/cimg8762.jpg/

SShhhhhhhh!!!!!! *covers info up with body and tries to hide it* LOL!

heavy rollers

Postby heavy rollers » August 26th, 2010, 2:20 pm

come nah man ............ ah know everybody does read papers

i was just bringing it to some people attention