COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 12105 cases, 189 deaths, 3024 active, 8892 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2021, 9:01 am

ST Auto wrote:Everything is a joke in the country. No one is taking anything serious.
aaron17 wrote:Media ppl should cover the wards and show the harsh reality of what going on ...and make it viral for the entire population to see. Everybody should share it .....And that could enforce at least something.
At least try it.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 12105 cases, 189 deaths, 3024 active, 8892 recovered in T&T

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2021, 9:02 am

ST Auto wrote:Everything is a joke in the country. No one is taking anything serious.
aaron17 wrote:Media ppl should cover the wards and show the harsh reality of what going on ...and make it viral for the entire population to see. Everybody should share it .....And that could enforce at least something.
False..
when one of their family die from this... i doubt they think its still a joke.

2WNBoost

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 12105 cases, 189 deaths, 3024 active, 8892 recovered in T&T

Postby 2WNBoost » May 6th, 2021, 9:04 am

As the old saying goes, “What sweet in goat mouth does sour in he b.. b..”.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 6th, 2021, 9:08 am

D pm needs to triple the fine for improper mask wearing to $3000

Postby pugboy » May 6th, 2021, 9:09 am

by that time things in a bad way as they are now

aaron17 wrote:
False..

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2021, 9:10 am

daring dragoon wrote:D pm needs to triple the fine for improper mask wearing to $3000
Yea but they need to enforce it to begin with...rel slackness .

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 6th, 2021, 9:11 am

I think the media being hushed. The kinda sheit question them does be asking in the press conference now
pugboy wrote:by that time things in a bad way as they are now

aaron17 wrote:
False..

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 6th, 2021, 9:12 am

PMO warns as younger people die from COVID: You are not immune

https://guardian.co.tt/news/pmo-warns-as-younger-people-die-from-covid-you-are-not-immune-6.2.1324799.a193e3ebd4

As Trinidad and Tobago recorded its largest number of infections since the start of the pandemic in T&T, health officials are sending a strong warning that young people without comorbidities are dying from the virus.

Four people, including a 42-year-old man, are among the latest victims, pushing the toll to 189.

The Health Ministry yesterday announced a record 399 new infections.

Health officials are now signalling that the parallel healthcare system has only seven more days at this rate before collapsing as the number of positive active cases reached 3,024 up to 4 pm yesterday.

As she implored younger people who were not previously adversely affected by the virus to heed the warnings, Principal Medical Officer (PMO), Dr Maryam Abdool-Richards said, “Young people, we are seeing deaths and sudden deaths from the 30s onwards. Please don’t think you are immune.”

She sought to drive home just how dire the situation is now as she spoke during the Ministry of Health’s media briefing yesterday and referred to COVID-19 as the great equalizer as it was no respecter of class, education, age, sex, nationality, ethnicity and financial status.

“This concept of a bubble that I have been hearing touted around does not work,” she said, adding, “Different persons from different households carry different exposure risks, so by you saying you will be liming, or zessing, or wessing, or whatever term you want to use with the same group of persons…while you are interacting with persons at the supermarket or at your workplace, it means you have a different level of exposure.”

Abdool-Richards urged the populace to listen to the advice from health official, saying this could save their lives and that of their loved ones also.

She lamented the long lines of people seen buying food in Woodbrook on Monday, some of whom were not wearing their face masks properly.

It was a heartfelt plea that Abdool-Richards made as she went on, “I am asking everyone to stop the co-mingling, stop the mixing of persons. It is becoming overburdening to our health system and it may impact on the treatment of your relatives.”

“Our ward occupancy rates have increased within 24-hours from 50 to 60 per cent which is a ten per cent increase, and our ICU occupancy rates have decreased from 50 per cent to 40 per cent. I’d like to reiterate that the decrease in ICU rates is not due to the discharge of patients at the stepdown but unfortunately, due to the deaths of patients.”

She said hospital occupancy moved from 48 per cent on May 3, to 50 per cent on May 4 and to 58 per cent that very evening.

Up to 9 am yesterday, there was a total of 264 persons hospitalised, with 42 more awaiting admission. This figure was expected to increase by last evening.

The PMO said patients displaying mild symptoms were now requiring hospitalisation from three days onwards, while those requiring intensive care needed between 12 and 21 days of hospitalised attention.

“The High Dependency Unit occupancy had increased overnight from 40 per cent to 70 per cent,” Abdool-Richards said.

She reminded the population that hospital beds were a finite resource.

Meanwhile, 115 more beds were added to the system on May 1, while the Augustus Long Hospital has been transitioned into yet another facility to treat this group of patients.

Reporting that a total of 542 out of 1,700 beds with supporting staff had been available to treat COVID-19 positive patients from the beginning of the pandemic, Abdool-Richards said if numbers continued as they are it would take seven days to fill the remaining 226 beds as there were 316 patients in hospitals up to 9 am yesterday.

A repatriation flight with 89 persons from Canada was expected to arrive yesterday while a 120-passenger flight from Barbados is scheduled to arrive tomorrow which will focus mainly on the safe return of university students.

Meanwhile, a flight from Miami is scheduled to bring in a further 140 people on May 15.

With Mother’s Day due to be celebrated on May 9, Abdool-Richards said, “We would not want to lose our mothers, our sisters and our daughters prior to Mother’s Day, and given the trend of persons being hospitalised and persons who are dying on a daily basis, we need to have personal responsibility and be vigilant. Let us be our relative’s keeper. Let us be our neighbours’ keeper and our co-workers’.”

Asked to say if the P1 variant (Brazilian variant) could be the cause of the increased morbidity rates T&T is now recording particularly among the younger demographic, epidemiologist Dr Avery Hinds said there is no concrete evidence that it was “affecting younger persons in a preferred or preferential manner.

“But what we are seeing is a wide cross-section of the population being affected,” he said.
Last edited by 2WNBoost on May 6th, 2021, 9:17 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby paid_influencer » May 6th, 2021, 9:12 am

Dr. Richards said ambulance capacity strained and already exceeded in the last few days.

Things extremely serious right now. Stay home as far as possible.

Postby sMASH » May 6th, 2021, 9:14 am

u cant go in a restaurant to buy food, but can go in a grocery.

if u all think i mad, what u guys think of holding SEA with the present numbers?

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/06/educat ... -for-2021/

newsday wrote:

Education Ministry offers SEA deferrals for 2021
Jensen La Vende 6 Hrs Ago

PRINCIPALS are being asked to collect names of students who wish to defer their sitting of the June 10 Secondary Entrance Assessment (SEA) examination.

In an e-mail sent from the Chief Education Officer to school supervisors and primary school principals, the Education Ministry is soliciting views on accepting deferral requests.

The e-mail, dated on Wednesday, said the Ministry decided to offer deferrals on sitting the exam as it is “cognizant of the challenges experienced by students in preparing to sit the SEA 2021.”

The e-mail said deferral requests would not get automatic approval. Children who will turn 15 on or before September 1 will not be allowed. It added that following consultations with key educational stakeholders, the Ministry decided to offer the choice of deferrals.

“Parents must submit a written request to the principal of the school stating the reason for the request for deferral. Where medical reasons are cited, relevant supporting documents must accompany the written request for deferral” the e-mails stipulated.

It added that principals must consider the 2022 class sizes in making their decisions while school administrators in consultation with the class teachers will review the requests and recommend eligible candidates.

“Principals are asked to submit to their respective district office by May 12, a list of applications for deferrals with reasons cited for deferral and the school’s recommendation. The projected class size for SEA 2022 must also be included.”

The information will then be collected by the school supervisors who will pass them on to the Ministry by May 21.

June 10 was confirmed as the date for the SEA exam last week. The deadline for referral is 19 days before the exam.

There was a suggestion to have three weeks of in person teaching to help students but that was dismissed due to rising covid19 cases. The idea of postponing the exam was also dismissed.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 6th, 2021, 9:16 am

Honestly Trinidad could do with a good purge right now.
Too much greedy persons in society think money is everything.
Sadly wrong persons will die.

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2021, 9:19 am

If I remember right the curfew time in the 1990 coup. ...was in which you were allowed to come out was 2 hrs? I know that could cause crowding if implemeted here.

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2021, 9:20 am

ST Auto wrote:I think the media being hushed. The kinda sheit question them does be asking in the press conference now
pugboy wrote:by that time things in a bad way as they are now

aaron17 wrote:
False..

think? :lol: :lol:

guess what part the police playing? :fadein:

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2021, 9:21 am

aaron17 wrote:If I remember right the curfew time in the 1990 coup. ...was in which you were allowed to come out was 2 hrs? I know that could cause crowding if implemeted here.

it will have line outside double palm

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 6th, 2021, 9:34 am

The following is from an associate. Its not my opinion, its first hand experience

My friend and his father passed yesterday.. his entire family has it..his mom.. brother..sis in law..2 kids.. possibly they all can die..its a sad sad situation.
The covid facilities are already filled.. the country has alot more cases than what they are putting out to the public.

Eventually the truth does come out

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2021, 9:45 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The following is from an associate. Its not my opinion, its first hand experience

My friend and his father passed yesterday.. his entire family has it..his mom.. brother..sis in law..2 kids.. possibly they all can die..its a sad sad situation.
The covid facilities are already filled.. the country has alot more cases than what they are putting out to the public.

engage full csi mode and find out who works where. and which family member occupation is of importance right about now.

name places, ah go whistle

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2021, 9:51 am

Ahh yes cleansing due to overpopulation by scientists and heads who think they are playing God.

Listen around 1:58

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 6th, 2021, 9:55 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:The following is from an associate. Its not my opinion, its first hand experience

Alot of tuners on this thread spreading false information.
I hope you are Not of them.

Postby aaron17 » May 6th, 2021, 9:56 am

wtf wrote:

Anything is possible.

KM_2NR

Postby KM_2NR » May 6th, 2021, 10:01 am

I pass thru xtra foods in xtra plaza yesterday afternoon. Not a single parking spot , place ram out , chin mask everywhere. Things are gunna get worst before they get better.

Postby gastly369 » May 6th, 2021, 10:09 am

wtf wrote:

He is not.... Ik of the ppl he speak off good friends of mines

Postby nervewrecker » May 6th, 2021, 10:22 am

gastly369 wrote:
wtf wrote:

He is not.... Ik of the ppl he speak off good friends of mines

yuh sure is not you out he lights? this diamond vs stars rivalry have to come to an end......*cough, highway later, cough*
my eyes on you

Postby paid_influencer » May 6th, 2021, 10:26 am

KM_2NR wrote:I pass thru xtra foods in xtra plaza yesterday afternoon. Not a single parking spot , place ram out , chin mask everywhere. Things are gunna get worst before they get better.

chin masks is what cause this spike. masks not supposed to be on the wearer's chin

death365

Postby death365 » May 6th, 2021, 10:37 am

went grand bazaar .... same but worse is that WHOLE FAMILIES,,,, parents and kids ( 3 1 teenage the other 2 smaller) walk thru the supermarket touching everything ... i thought it was that we are restricted to 1 person per family

KM_2NR wrote:I pass thru xtra foods in xtra plaza yesterday afternoon. Not a single parking spot , place ram out , chin mask everywhere. Things are gunna get worst before they get better.

Postby redmanjp » May 6th, 2021, 10:48 am

paid_influencer wrote:

chin masks is what cause this spike. masks not supposed to be on the wearer's chin

chin mask inside the building or outside?

Postby K74T » May 6th, 2021, 10:49 am

FB_IMG_1620310448123.jpeg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 6th, 2021, 11:08 am

Is it only adults contracting the virus?
No school children?
Aren't they part of the homes where positive cases are being recorded?

Postby paid_influencer » May 6th, 2021, 11:12 am

K74T wrote:FB_IMG_1620310448123.jpeg

that kinda out of hand. KC Confectionery has no authority to send people to get tested, as described in the press release. They can make people to stay away from work (with full pay and benefits), but it might be illegal to order anyone to get tested in the course of their employment.

It's even sketchy for them to ask to see the results of your health tests (whether it is COVID19, HIV, diabetes, etc). It's confidential health information and none of the business of your employer. As far as the public health concern, that's where the MoH responsibility falls and NOT your employer.

Postby redmanjp » May 6th, 2021, 11:24 am

no longer an 'old ppl disease', thanks to variants

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/05/06/paho-warns-of-increase-in-younger-covid-cases-in-the-region/

PAHO warns of increase in younger covid cases in the region
JENSEN LA VENDE 9 HRS AGO

WITH 399 covid19 cases recorded on Wednesday, the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) is highlighting the increase in hospitalisations and deaths of younger people across the Americas

In a media release on Wednesday director of PAHO Dr Carissa F. Etienne said Brazil’s mortality rates doubled among those younger than 39, quadrupled among those in their 40s, and tripled for those in their 50s between December 2020 and March.

“Hospitalisation rates of people under 39 rose by more than 70 per cent in Chile during the past few months. In Brazil, hospitalisations have been highest among people in their 40s. “In some areas of the US, more people in their 20s are now being hospitalised for covid19 than people in their 70s. This is tragic and the consequences are dire for our families, our societies and our future.”

Etienne noted that in the beginning of the pandemic, the hospitals were filled with elderly patients, many of whom had pre-existing conditions that made them more susceptible to severe disease. Now intensive care units across the region are filled with both elderly and young people.

“Since healthy young people are more likely to survive, they may remain in hospitals for weeks, she said. As a result, countries must be prepared for surging hospital demand. If infections continue to rise at this rate, we expect that over the next three months, countries across our region will need to maintain and even increase their ICU bed capacity further,” Etienne warned.

She called on health authorities in the region to hire and train more health workers and specialised personnel. She said existing health workers should be supported, since they were operating in “crisis mode” since the beginning of the pandemic. She added that there is not enough health workers to hire and train in time and as such the best plan is prevention and maintaining the covid19 protocols.

“While vaccines are being rolled out as fast as possible, they are not a short-term solution. We can’t rely on vaccines to bring down infections when there’s not enough vaccines to go around. They are one part of the comprehensive response that includes prevention through public health measures and improving readiness of health systems.”

Etienne said nearly 40 per cent of covid19 deaths reported last week, came from the Latin American region with countries reporting more than 1,000 cases a day. Infections are increasing in Guyanas and across Argentina and Colombia she said with weekly cases five times higher than they were for the same period last year.

“Puerto Rico and Cuba are driving infections in the Caribbean, although cases are also rising in many smaller islands. Nearly 70 per cent of total covid19 cases in Anguilla have been reported in the last ten days. Following the eruption of the La Soufriere volcano, cases are rising in St Vincent and the Grenadines among internally displaced people.”

In the last week, more than 1.3 million people were infected with covid19 in the Americas and more than 36,000 died from related complications.

Postby MaxPower » May 6th, 2021, 11:29 am

matr1x wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
matr1x wrote:So it's not that bad.

Volunteer and go help nah

I am doing my part and getting food to less fortunate areas. That is what I can do

Slim,

This is what i want to hear...Kudos to you my good man.

I hope you will also be helping our immigrants in need.