The Gospels of Matthew, Mark Luke and John were not "hundreds of years apart." Jesus' death and resurrection was in the 30s A.D. Mark the earliest Gospel was in 50s A.D. and John the latest was as late as the 90s A.D. Muhammad's account 700 years later is historically irrelevant because it lacks historical primary and secondary sources. It is as relevant as you or I gave a detailed contradictory account of Columbus’ third voyage.New_SPECIES wrote:All of the revelations of god came through about four books and they all were almost hundreds of years apart, so what’s your point of saying “700 years after”?
DFC wrote:Adamb yuh know anybody working bmobile? (wanna get the samsung note)
GOD sent many prophets with books HE did wrote
help a man out nah.
To the Jews HE did send manna
and i will convert.
There is still time for you to revert
Kasey wrote:I asked before eh, but i eh get no answer. I have not seen activity from Dspike since 3rd January 2013.
Is he ok? Anyone can shed some light?
RBphoto wrote:^^^LOL^^^ Now even Muslims are infidels?
Habit7 wrote:
Consider how I corrected your brother AdamB when he attempted to interpret Exodus 20:4. I could have referred to the original language (Hebrew) to understand what the writer was saying to his immediate audience, but because the meaning was clear enough in the English I deferred this. I show him the statement clarifies itself within the immediate context, I showed him corresponding verses that mirrored its teaching and I should him an application in the narrative which contradicted his interpretation. That is part of what we call in Christian theology, hermeneutics, it teaches us how to interpret the Bible as seen in how others within the Bible interpreted prior Scriptures.
Habit7 wrote:Exodus 20:4-6 “You shall not make for yourself an idol, or any likeness of what is in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the water under the earth. You shall not worship them or serve them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children, on the third and the fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing lovingkindness to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.
this all corresponds with Leviticus 26:1, Deuteronomy 5:8 and Deuteronomy 27:15 which all state that it is wrong to worship idols (objects to receive worship) as opposed to icons (objects that don't receive worship). This further substantiated by the fact that later on in Exodus God gives the Jews instructions on the design of the Ark of the Covenant which includes fashioning two angels ("likeness of what is in heaven above").
Habit7 wrote:No AdamB this is what I said:Habit7 wrote:Exodus 20:4-6 “You shall not make for yourself an idol, or any likeness of what is in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the water under the earth. You shall not worship them or serve them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children, on the third and the fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing lovingkindness to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.
this all corresponds with Leviticus 26:1, Deuteronomy 5:8 and Deuteronomy 27:15 which all state that it is wrong to worship idols (objects to receive worship) as opposed to icons (objects that don't receive worship). This further substantiated by the fact that later on in Exodus God gives the Jews instructions on the design of the Ark of the Covenant which includes fashioning two angels ("likeness of what is in heaven above").
Exodus 20:4-6 speaks against making idols (objects of worship). God the Father is spirit, so there is no image that can represent him. God the Son entered into His creation as man there are those who try to represent this human form in art, sculpture, books, movies, etc. These representations only become sinful idols when worship is attributed to them.
Furthermore, Christianity understands idols not just to be obvious idols made of wood and stone, but idols could be made in one's mind by conceiving an idea of God that is not true.
AdamB wrote:Habit7 wrote: idols could be made in one's mind by conceiving an idea of God that is not true.
Like the TRINITY for example??
and how do we prove which idea of God is true?Habit7 wrote:idols could be made in one's mind by conceiving an idea of God that is not true.
AdamB wrote:Habit7 wrote:No AdamB this is what I said:Habit7 wrote:Exodus 20:4-6 “You shall not make for yourself an idol, or any likeness of what is in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the water under the earth. You shall not worship them or serve them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, visiting the iniquity of the fathers on the children, on the third and the fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing lovingkindness to thousands, to those who love Me and keep My commandments.
Like the TRINITY for example??
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:and how do we prove which idea of God is true?Habit7 wrote:idols could be made in one's mind by conceiving an idea of God that is not true.
megadoc1 wrote:New_SPECIES wrote:because like other persons were saying on Page 70:
“we prefer to no argue on this topic since everybody has their own belief and will continue with it regardless of what other people’s opinion are”
you missed my point ! I simply ask you to read from there
New_SPECIES wrote:Habit7 wrote:“But this deception is not strange to Allah for the Quran calls Allah a makr and the best of makr: But they (the Jews) were deceptive, and Allah was deceptive, for Allah is the best of deceivers (Wamakaroo wamakara Allahu waAllahu khayru al-makireena)! S. 3:54”
You took it word for word from a blaspheming Christian Site (http://www.answering-islam.org) that seeks to denounce Islam.
The author: Sam Shamoun has well been known to insult and denounce islam in numerous ways.
And you said that you got the meaning of ‘makr’ from (http://www.studyquran.co.uk).
A site that has the following DISCLAMIER:
“Disclaimer: All information contained within this site is correct to the best of our (the contributors) knowledge only and thus should not be taken as a fact.
One should always verify information and seek knowledge when possible.”
This site can’t even pronounce the Arabic Alphabet properly but you think that their translations are exact and true.
Then you stand hard and fast to what u read regardless of its authenticity or its source!
In order to get the TRUE meaning behind any statement, they sentences before and after must be read to know and understand the concept under which the statement was made.
Didn’t you learn that in Primary School Comprehension Techniques?
The before and after of the verse you quoted is as follows (from the Quran):
Quran 3:45
Behold! the angels said: "O Mary! Allah giveth thee glad tidings of a Word from Him: his name will be Christ Jesus, the son of Mary, held in honour in this world and the Hereafter and of (the company of) those nearest to Allah;
Quran 3:46
"He shall speak to the people in childhood and in maturity. And he shall be (of the company) of the righteous."
Quran 3:47
She said: "O my Lord! How shall I have a son when no man hath touched me?" He said: "Even so: Allah createth what He willeth: When He hath decreed a plan, He but saith to it, 'Be,' and it is!
Quran 3:48
"And Allah will teach him the Book and Wisdom, the Law and the Gospel,
Quran 3:49
"And (appoint him) an apostle to the Children of Israel, (with this message): "'I have come to you, with a Sign from your Lord, in that I make for you out of clay, as it were, the figure of a bird, and breathe into it, and it becomes a bird by Allah's leave: And I heal those born blind, and the lepers, and I quicken the dead, by Allah's leave; and I declare to you what ye eat, and what ye store in your houses. Surely therein is a Sign for you if ye did believe;
Quran 3:50
"(I have come to you), to attest the Law which was before me. And to make lawful to you part of what was (Before) forbidden to you; I have come to you with a Sign from your Lord. So fear Allah, and obey me."
Quran 3:51
"It is Allah Who is my Lord and your Lord; then worship Him. This is a Way that is straight."
Quran 3:52
When Jesus found Unbelief on their part He said: "Who will be My helpers to (the work of) Allah?" Said the disciples: "We are Allah's helpers: We believe in Allah, and do thou bear witness that we are Muslims.
Quran 3:53
"Our Lord! we believe in what Thou hast revealed, and we follow the Apostle; then write us down among those who bear witness."
Quran 3:54
And (the unbelievers) plotted and planned, and Allah too planned, and the best of planners is Allah.
Quran 3:55
Behold! Allah said: "O Jesus! I will take thee and raise thee to Myself and clear thee (of the falsehoods) of those who blaspheme; I will make those who follow thee superior to those who reject faith, to the Day of Resurrection: Then shall ye all return unto me, and I will judge between you of the matters wherein ye dispute.
megadoc1 wrote:how can you blame them? the greatest deceiver(allah )decieved them
megadoc1 wrote:AdamB wrote:Nay, they deceive their own selves.
the quran clearly states that alah is the greatest of deceivers it also demonstrates this by saying that allah , only made it to look like they crucified Jesus...so who is to blame for what the disciples believed, preached and died for afterwards? why allah chose to betray those who carefully listened to his prophet Jesus?
megadoc1 wrote:AdamB wrote:yet Allah is the same GOD of the bible! Ask Jesus...or any Arabic speakin....
the bible say God is not a liar the Qur'an says allah is the greatest deceiver how that could e the same person?
megadoc1 wrote:New_SPECIES wrote:I don’t care about getting a response from Habit7
typical muslim
he is alright! I saw him a few days ago, I guess his old pc probably gave up the ghostbluefete wrote:Kasey wrote:I asked before eh, but i eh get no answer. I have not seen activity from Dspike since 3rd January 2013.
Is he ok? Anyone can shed some light?
I second this. I really miss his contributions and I pray that he is okay.
and for their saying: We killed the Messiah, Jesus son of Mary, the Messenger of God. And they killed him not, nor they crucified him. Rather, a likeness to him of another was shown to them. And, truly, those who were at variance in it are in uncertainty about it. There is no knowledge with them about it but they are pursuing an opinion. And they for certain killed him not.
you have to be a madman! where did you get In that response of mine that I don't care about responses from you? breds yuh start to become dishonest already?New_SPECIES wrote:megadoc1 wrote:New_SPECIES wrote:I don’t care about getting a response from Habit7
typical muslim
Since you don’t care about responses from New_SPECIES (someone making a point, to defend a religion),
Then what does that make you?
A Typical Christian?
megadoc1 wrote:My point was that you are responding with stuff that was refuted and corrected over and over, hundreds of pages ago
Your ill informed arguments have been proven erroneous a very long time now!
megadoc1 wrote:.......................
then the next christian you meet you will ask them the same question again..and so on and so on....
New_SPECIES wrote:
I am a person who never grew up in a home where everyone is already following a religion and I was just compelled to continue it.
I grew up “don’t care damn”, but I always had a feeling in my heart that a superior power existed and decided to search for the information on a god and religion to decide for myself what is true and what isn’t.
Due to this, I had to have a very good understanding of the major religions in present existence.
megadoc1 wrote:New_SPECIES wrote:megadoc1 wrote:New_SPECIES wrote:I don’t care about getting a response from Habit7
typical muslim
Since you don’t care about responses from New_SPECIES (someone making a point, to defend a religion),
Then what does that make you?
A Typical Christian?
you have to be a madman! where did you get In that response of mine that I don't care about responses from you? breds yuh start to become dishonest already?
it is you who made that statement not me ...
As far as I can see, this disclaimer was in special reference to their |Project Root List|, otherwise they seem to be very confident about their lexicon which says makr can mean deceive.New_SPECIES wrote:And you said that you got the meaning of ‘makr’ from (http://www.studyquran.co.uk).
“Disclaimer: All information contained within this site is correct to the best of our (the contributors) knowledge only and thus should not be taken as a fact.
This what I said:AdamB wrote:Too bad Christians don't keep HIS commandments because according to Habit7, christians have no Federal Laws to follow
I dont need to misrepresent someone else's position and be dishonest to score points. AdamB you really not showing yourself well.Habit7 wrote:Christians interpret the OT through the NT, so if the NT doesn't reiterate a OT principle in the NT we don't carry it over. That being generally said, it is important to note that in the Pentateuch there are moral laws (eg 10 commandments), ceremonial laws (for sacrificial system) and the federal law (to govern the Israelites). With the exception of the Sabbath, all the moral law is repeated in the NT and we follow it. The ceremonial law was done away with as Christ is the once and for all sacrifice and the federal law doesn't apply to any of us now because we don't live in pre-first century theocratic Israel. However Christians study these abrogated laws to understand the character of God but we don't practise them.
megadoc1 wrote:New_SPECIES , why should anyone take you seriously? you come here claiming that the English translated quran sources are mistranslated but you are yet to provide a credible source for us to reference? shame on you!
Habit7 wrote:New_SPECIES wrote:And you said that you got the meaning of ‘makr’ from (http://www.studyquran.co.uk).
I think you are avoiding the fact that Allah of the Quran has claimed to deceive the Christians during the crucifixion, right now all we are just disputing over is whether or not he is the best of deceivers.
New_SPECIES wrote:
So now tell me... if your book is the ultimate and final book with everything u need to know about the correct way of life, do’s and don’ts etc, then how is that so many things are missing. And how is looking as though Jesus left out some things.....
Such as:
(1) A defined way for believers to pray: (I’ll expand on just this one to show you what I’m saying)
In Christian Churches:
• You have some people jumping up and down
• You hear them sing songs that man wrote and told them to sing
• Some people just sit and hear some man talk and they feel blessed
• Some people get slapped in their heads and forced to knock out cold on the ground
• Some people put their hands in the sky and repeat anything the pastor say
• Some people go to track man/woman and still come out feeling blessed
• Some people Sing Soca and Rap and calling Jesus Name and they feeling blessed (eg. Jump Up and Wave for Jesus). Next thing they will say is, "take a wine for Jesus!"...
• People are allowed to dress decent and others basically whatever they wish to wear (eg. Tight clothes, mini-skirts, exposing clothing etc)
• Some churches have different payer times to others and try to make it convenient for people (as though the worship of god is for ‘when we have time’)................etc, etc, etc...
In Islamic Mosques:
• Since u clearly know nothing about the religion, then maybe if u ever see on tv the way muslims pray, u will notice that it is standardized throughout the world.
• Everyone following the same physical motion of prostration to god, no matter which country they are in.
• Everyone recites prayer that is standardized.
• Men and women are separate, to prevent temptation from the other sex.
• The believers are thought to maintain order and discipline even while praying hence the straight lines formed.
• A code of dress is maintained in all places of worship for both men and women.
• Before ever praying or entering a place of worship, certain routines of cleanliness must be performed (eg. Routine of washing hands, feet, face, neck, ears, mouth, etc).
• Times for major prayers are fixed (and are not for when u have time).
The Islam and Quran also teaches...
(2) How a person should speak; in public, to each other, to strangers, to their spouse, etc
(3) How a person should eat; how much, when, where, posture while eating, what to eat, etc
(4) How to Dress; to pray, to go out, to stay at home, etc
(5) How to generally carry about themselves; at home, with relatives, with strangers, etc
(6) How to treat others; your spouse, your friends, your relatives, your neighbours, etc
And many other guidelines such as: how to sleep, how to bath...etc. etc.
These are essential guidelines that make people say that Islam too ‘strict’.
What it does is, give answers to all questions that might be of an uncertainty to someone in a particular situation. It ensures that the believer is sure that he/she is doing the right thing. It also grants the believer with extra blessings for doing routine ‘everyday’ duties, in accordance with the scripture.
What specific guidelines have you been given by your book?
My point is that the Quran was meant to be a follow up of the Bible hence the missing ‘detailed’ guidelines as is mentioned in the Quran.
You painting Christianity with an erroneous broad brush of ridiculousness would be equally wrong of me painting Islam as a militant religion and terrorism factory. Let us see Islam in its truest form in the Quran and let us see Christianity in its truest form in the Bible.Habit7 wrote:With respect to you mischaracterisations of the morals Christians, it is as irrelevant to the discussion as the violence and terrorism perpetrated by Muslims. Likewise the variances of Christian denominations are proportional to the variances in Islamic sects. Let us discuss what the Bible teaches vs. the Quran or vice versa to get the purest understanding of the religion, then we will see if those who apply it are acting consistently with its doctrines.
New_SPECIES wrote:When I was looking for authentic information I did full background checks, matched information with numerous sites, and other various methods, to ensure that I am not misguided.