COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

screwbash

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby screwbash » March 15th, 2020, 8:02 am

rexsmith wrote:Is the muslim community canceling friday mosque?

nah let dem go tru with all the hugs etc, it go less terrorist and less crime in trinidad.

boxy

Postby boxy » March 15th, 2020, 8:08 am

You missed that part because he didn't say that. Trump banned Europe travel and a few hours before the press conference he extended it to the UK which he initially didn't do. No wonder Dr. Trotman had to slow down her speech so that laymen and illiterates alike could fully comprehend her without going online and misrepresenting her. Hate on Stuart as much as u want but don't misrepresent serious information in this time of panic you're just being a jerk. Even the UNC Pro had to put out a press release trying to get its supporters to tone it down a bit.

This is the aftermath of said ban citizens trying to come home in panic

https://tinyurl.com/sb8z5j5

They continuously stressed the word MILD for healthy people because it is just that a normal flu for the healthy. It becomes a problem when u visit your parents and grand parents or someone fighting cancer /diabetes /hypertension because it severely affects that demographic the most and most fatalities are from there. Please watch over the video If you can find it I can't believe people still misinformed or don't get it after such a comprehensive explanation

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Stuart: trump bans all travel, airports in lock down etc

Stuart 2 secs later: our ports remain open as usual
i missed that part.. lil mc really dotish.
i see uk death toll doubles in 24 hrs. i figure, if we get a ramped up effects of this, they might resort to lock down then.

but, i believe they leaving the ports open cause they wanna avoid having to address why we still letting venez come through illegally.

the regular ports are those u can regulate. the illegal ones are the ones where the infected will come in unchecked and spread it.
Last edited by boxy on March 15th, 2020, 8:08 am, edited 3 times in total.

Postby Gladiator » March 15th, 2020, 8:16 am

Hearing this morning that unfortunately the 66 yr old man passed away. Can anyone confirm this?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 15th, 2020, 8:33 am

according to information is beautiful the statistics show that globally the seasonal flu kills 1000 people every single day where as COVID 19 kills 70, this suggests that it is better if we get COVID than the regular cold.

What I want to know is how many people get seriously sick from the flu vs covid when you are diabetic?

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2020, 8:39 am

boxy wrote:You missed that part because he didn't say that. Trump banned Europe travel and a few hours before the press conference he extended it to the UK which he initially didn't do. No wonder Dr. Trotman had to slow down her speech so that laymen and illiterates alike could fully comprehend her without going online and misrepresenting her. Hate on Stuart as much as u want but don't misrepresent serious information in this time of panic you're just being a jerk. Even the UNC Pro had to put out a press release trying to get its supporters to tone it down a bit.

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/15/us/c ... &smtyp=cur

They continuously stressed the word MILD for healthy people because it is just that a normal flu for the healthy. It becomes a problem when u visit your parents and grand parents or someone fighting cancer /diabetes /hypertension because it severely affects that demographic the most and most fatalities are from there. Please watch over the video If you can find it I can't believe people still misinformed or don't get it after such a comprehensive explanation

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Stuart: trump bans all travel, airports in lock down etc

i see uk death toll doubles in 24 hrs. i figure, if we get a ramped up effects of this, they might resort to lock down then.

but, i believe they leaving the ports open cause they wanna avoid having to address why we still letting venez come through illegally.

the regular ports are those u can regulate. the illegal ones are the ones where the infected will come in unchecked and spread it.

sooo, we doing like italy and jess writing off the older folk? count it as loss all now? go about ur business, cause u getting it mild, and forget bout the old folk. we have a significant portion of our population that has a potentially high mortality from contracting this thing.

all the preparedness, i dont see them able to treat with 50 severe cases, far less for 200. that woudl be the older folk.

i have two signficant problems with PNM's management. that is they are not having a separated zone specifically for the covid treatment, and suspected cases. i strongly disagree in using the regular systems for handling these new cases. they are already overburdened, and will cause already sick people to get a very comunicable disease.

the second is, their failure to secure the boarders, since the beginning of last year. the unchecked entry of venez will be the way that this diseases will propagated throughout the society, cause they already in a sneak mode. so will move, mingle and avoid attention, until its too late.

they focusing on the nice parts, and side stepping the critical parts.

the hate on young is not because he makes mistakes or gaffs. it is because as soon as he gets an opportunity to condescend to the people, he takes it and waves his attitude on the people, and opposition supporters. if he was a more gracious person, people would be more forgiving. he is a pompous ass, and accepted as such.

Postby matr1x » March 15th, 2020, 8:42 am

To be fair, he fall on his ass de other day.

Ladies of tuner, would you bang minister fal dang?

boxy

Postby boxy » March 15th, 2020, 8:42 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:according to information is beautiful the statistics show that globally the seasonal flu kills 1000 people every single day where as COVID 19 kills 70, this suggests that it is better if we get COVID than the regular cold.

What I want to know is how many people get seriously sick from the flu vs covid when you are diabetic?
https://lmgtfy.com/?q=How+many+people+get+sick+from+the+flu+vs+covid+19+with+diabetes

boxy

Postby boxy » March 15th, 2020, 8:53 am

sMASH wrote:
boxy wrote:You missed that part because he didn't say that. Trump banned Europe travel and a few hours before the press conference he extended it to the UK which he initially didn't do. No wonder Dr. Trotman had to slow down her speech so that laymen and illiterates alike could fully comprehend her without going online and misrepresenting her. Hate on Stuart as much as u want but don't misrepresent serious information in this time of panic you're just being a jerk. Even the UNC Pro had to put out a press release trying to get its supporters to tone it down a bit.

https://www.nytimes.com/2020/03/15/us/c ... &smtyp=cur

sMASH wrote:

sooo, we doing like italy and jess writing off the older folk? count it as loss all now? go about ur business, cause u getting it mild, and forget bout the old folk. we have a significant portion of our population that has a potentially high mortality from contracting this thing.

all the preparedness, i dont see them able to treat with 50 severe cases, far less for 200. that woudl be the older folk.

i have two signficant problems with PNM's management. that is they are not having a separated zone specifically for the covid treatment, and suspected cases. i strongly disagree in using the regular systems for handling these new cases. they are already overburdened, and will cause already sick people to get a very comunicable disease.

the second is, their failure to secure the boarders, since the beginning of last year. the unchecked entry of venez will be the way that this diseases will propagated throughout the society, cause they already in a sneak mode. so will move, mingle and avoid attention, until its too late.

they focusing on the nice parts, and side stepping the critical parts.

the hate on young is not because he makes mistakes or gaffs. it is because as soon as he gets an opportunity to condescend to the people, he takes it and waves his attitude on the people, and opposition supporters. if he was a more gracious person, people would be more forgiving. he is a pompous ass, and accepted as such.
Bro I'm unsure now if you're trolling or not. Because each of your arguments were specifically laid out by Deyalsingh.
The critical cases are being sent to Couva Hospital which is where the 66year old is currently at.

The Arima Hospital if things get worse will open prematurely before it's next month grand General Election mamaguy opening.

Visiting hours have been cut down to one hour across the board.

The ONLY treatment for those younger people who contract it is to self isolate and take normal meds as you would for the cold there is no vaccine or special drugs that cures COVID 19 just keep to yourself and don't be an muffler bearing and go by the bar or go to work with the cold.

They also touched on some idiot in the airport who was refused entry to an aircraft for probably failing a screening and didn't want to leave the airport and they had to be forcefully be removed to prevent them from contaminating the area.

The Cheif Medical Officer also stated he has the power to forcefully quarantine anyone using any means of law enforcement to do so.

Remember shutting down the island totally has repurcussions like no groceries will be open no pharmacies gas stations think of it like the state of emergency but for 24 hours. If your food runs out yuh go blame Stuarty with he brok Han for going too far lol
Just be responsible and wash your hands and stay away from work/people when sick.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2020, 9:00 am

How u getting tested? U have to go to the normal medical facilities in the first place, then wait till u get back results. In the interim u spread.
Then u have to dedicate resources to track down all those u were in contact with at the hospital.

They need to test separately, call the number and they come to u to swab, and u self isolate till results.

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2020, 9:02 am

I think we could do better, but we still way better than American citizens
Screenshot_2020-03-15-08-55-28-718_com.twitter.android.jpeg
Screenshot_2020-03-15-08-55-04-070_com.twitter.android.jpeg

Postby nemisis » March 15th, 2020, 9:03 am

^^^ the stay away from work part is not something the majority can $afford to do, you do realize that right??. Besides the financial burden the repercussions from such an act when your boss expect business to operate as normal while they at home safe monitoring the business over CCTV

Postby MaxPower » March 15th, 2020, 9:05 am

Skanky wrote:Throughout the past 40 years of observation the sickest people I run across are the cleanest and the healthiest people are who modern society would determine don't practice good personal hygiene.
Our football and cricket ball would go in the drain we would wash it with water or bump it out if no water and continue playing and next hour we eating with our same unwashed hands. Nobody was ever sick as people are today. Play pitch in dirt then pick fruit and eat with same hands. Fruit fall on the dirt dust it out and continue eating. Playing football in the rain mud water would somehow end up in your mouth. Not a single person had any lingering condition.
I don't wash my hands unless I used the bathroom or touch something obviously dirty like a garbage can and I am fine. I haven't gotten a cold/ flu in years.
Im not advocating anyone adopt this but just sharing my experience and I will continue this way.
The most sickly people I have ever come across are the ones who practice the best 'personal hygiene'.

Hello Skanky,

An typical but much expected Trinidadian mentality. You doing it years now so why change? While that may be all well an fine, 40 years is a long time ago and viruses have evolved and continue to do so. Drain water isnt the same like before as many are now further contaminated with chemical waste, sewerage etc, depends where your drain is.

Also remember the immune system in children are at its peak and highly tolerant to germs and bacteria. BUT, by you saying you ONLY wash your hands after the bathroom or handling garbage...is nastiness. So if you clean the drain or muddy items you do not wash your hands? And you going to eat after? No wonder these “best personal hygiene” people you know are sickly. Ever thought it could be your germs are the cause?

This is why people take their nasty habits at home and bring it into the work place. There is so much emphasis on surface contact sickness from dirty hands. Its not just from the bathroom and garbage lids but from many other things i.e - coughing, sneezing, nose picking, trini spitting etc

We have to be more considerate to others. Your filthy hands that you choose when to wash may not affect you but it can affect others.

Dont take it personal.

Postby Kenjo » March 15th, 2020, 9:10 am

Skanky wrote:Throughout the past 40 years of observation the sickest people I run across are the cleanest and the healthiest people are who modern society would determine don't practice good personal hygiene.
Our football and cricket ball would go in the drain we would wash it with water or bump it out if no water and continue playing and next hour we eating with our same unwashed hands. Nobody was ever sick as people are today. Play pitch in dirt then pick fruit and eat with same hands. Fruit fall on the dirt dust it out and continue eating. Playing football in the rain mud water would somehow end up in your mouth. Not a single person had any lingering condition.
I don't wash my hands unless I used the bathroom or touch something obviously dirty like a garbage can and I am fine. I haven't gotten a cold/ flu in years.
Im not advocating anyone adopt this but just sharing my experience and I will continue this way.
The most sickly people I have ever come across are the ones who practice the best 'personal hygiene'.

Hello Skanky,

An typical but much expected Trinidadian mentality. You doing it years now so why change? While that may be all well an fine, 40 years is a long time ago and viruses have evolved and continue to do so. Drain water isnt the same like before as many are now further contaminated with chemical waste, sewerage etc, depends where your drain is.

Also remember the immune system in children are at its peak and highly tolerant to germs and bacteria. BUT, by you saying you ONLY wash your hands after the bathroom or handling garbage...is nastiness. So if you clean the drain or muddy items you do not wash your hands? And you going to eat after? No wonder these “best personal hygiene” people you know are sickly. Ever thought it could be your germs are the cause?

This is why people take their nasty habits at home and bring it into the work place. There is so much emphasis on surface contact sickness from dirty hands. Its not just from the bathroom and garbage lids but from many other things i.e - coughing, sneezing, nose picking, trini spitting etc

We have to be more considerate to others. Your filthy hands that you choose when to wash may not affect you but it can affect others.

Dont take it personal.

I responded to his quote so he couldn’t take it back after how nasty he seems . The man believes now as an older adult his immune system better throughout as he ages . The same ones who get their diabetic feet chopped off after a nail stick and watch it at home because ‘ I does heal fast so I ain’t doing nothing for that ‘ chose your above knee or below knee amputation buddy

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2020, 9:17 am

https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/15/neighb ... e-testing/

newsday wrote:Neighbours of covid19 patient: We need immediate testing
Carol Matroo 3 Hrs Ago

The grandson of a woman who assisted TT's second covid19 patient to get medical help is calling on health officials to get his family tested immediately.

The concerned 18-year-old from east Trinidad said his grandmother, who is 72 and a diabetic, was called over by the man's wife to assist in getting him ready as they waited for an ambulance to take him to hospital. The man, who is 66, was taken to the Couva Hospital.

The grandson said his family, seven of whom live in their home, was never notified that the man had been confirmed with covid19 and is concerned that they may have been exposed to the virus. His grandfather is also a heart patient.

So far, 63 people in TT have been tested for the virus with two confirmed cases. The elderly are the most susceptible to the virus.

According to the grandson, the ambulance technician took the neighbour to the hospital and was not seen wearing any protective gear such as a mask or gloves.

"The neighbour was not feeling well and his family called an ambulance. My grandmother went across to help."

The man had recently travelled from Grenada, which has not listed any known covid19 cases.

However, the young man was disappointed in the response his family has received after the confirmation. He said several calls to the Ministry of Health seeking assistance have gone unanswered.

"We called three numbers that the Health Ministry has posted up and nobody is answering. We want to get tested because we have been exposed."

Corporate communications manager at the Health Ministry Candice Alcantara, after being provided with a telephone number for the family, said ministry officials would contact them.

Contacted on Saturday, the son of the second confirmed covid19 patient referred all questions to the Health Ministry.

"He is not doing very well, but I will wait on the ministry to answer all questions."

During a news conference on Saturday, thoracic medical director at Caura Chest Hospital Dr Michelle Trotman said the 66-year-old patient remained in serious condition but was improving.

She also said the 52-year-old Swiss national, who returned to Trinidad from Switzerland last Monday, was recovering well at Caura Chest Hospital.

In his update, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said while there is no treatment or vaccine for covid19 and no one can say for sure when this current pandemic will end, Government remained ready to upgrade its response.

"We have set up Caura and Couva hospitals as covid19 response facilities. Caura will be the secondary response facility and Couva the tertiary response facility. There we have 22 ICU (intensive care unit) beds and over 230 normal beds. If the virus spreads, Government will use the Arima Hospital which will be opened next month," he said.

Deyalsingh said all public hospitals will now have a separate area to assess people with flu-like symptoms.

"The last to come on stream will be Port of Spain. From tomorrow Port of Spain, Eric Williams (Medical Sciences Complex), Sangre Grande and San Fernando hospitals will have separate triage systems and protocols to deal with covid19."

Deyalsingh said the safety of health care workers were most important and needed the public to partner with the ministry, advising them to ignore misinformation shared on social media.

"Social media is causing more damage than coronavirus at this time. Listen to authoritative sources of information."

On reports that the Caribbean Public Health Agency was limiting testing to 20 samples a week per member state, Deyalsingh said this was a guideline and Government get support from the Pan American Health Organisation.

CARPHA has handled testing for countries including Jamaica and Guyana where covid19 cases were linked to travel through Trinidad. In the Guyana case, a woman died, and on Saturday it was reported that her husband and two other people have tested positive for the virus.

u can use the new hospital, as no other patients are there. but using the regular hospitals is irresponsible. sending a common ambulance is irresponsible. set up separate vehicles. to clean down a regular ambulance for such a communicable disease will be inefficient and ineffective.

boxy

Postby boxy » March 15th, 2020, 9:17 am

sMASH wrote:How u getting tested? U have to go to the normal medical facilities in the first place, then wait till u get back results. In the interim u spread.
Then u have to dedicate resources to track down all those u were in contact with at the hospital.

They need to test separately, call the number and they come to u to swab, and u self isolate till results.
Bro since Feb they have been updating their fb page and putting out press releases
Stop getting your news from third party sources
Every MC grievance you had is addressed either yesterday or days-weeks before. Social media is actively working against us and is like Allyuh don't care to understand separate memes from reality nah
FB_IMG_1584277937694.jpeg
The attachment FB_IMG_1584277942494.jpeg is no longer available

boxy

Postby boxy » March 15th, 2020, 9:21 am

sMASH wrote:https://newsday.co.tt/2020/03/15/neighbours-of-covid19-patient-we-need-immediate-testing/

newsday wrote:Neighbours of covid19 patient: We need immediate testing
Carol Matroo 3 Hrs Ago

The grandson of a woman who assisted TT's second covid19 patient to get medical help is calling on health officials to get his family tested immediately.

The concerned 18-year-old from east Trinidad said his grandmother, who is 72 and a diabetic, was called over by the man's wife to assist in getting him ready as they waited for an ambulance to take him to hospital. The man, who is 66, was taken to the Couva Hospital.

The grandson said his family, seven of whom live in their home, was never notified that the man had been confirmed with covid19 and is concerned that they may have been exposed to the virus. His grandfather is also a heart patient.

So far, 63 people in TT have been tested for the virus with two confirmed cases. The elderly are the most susceptible to the virus.

According to the grandson, the ambulance technician took the neighbour to the hospital and was not seen wearing any protective gear such as a mask or gloves.

"The neighbour was not feeling well and his family called an ambulance. My grandmother went across to help."

The man had recently travelled from Grenada, which has not listed any known covid19 cases.

However, the young man was disappointed in the response his family has received after the confirmation. He said several calls to the Ministry of Health seeking assistance have gone unanswered.

"We called three numbers that the Health Ministry has posted up and nobody is answering. We want to get tested because we have been exposed."

Corporate communications manager at the Health Ministry Candice Alcantara, after being provided with a telephone number for the family, said ministry officials would contact them.

Contacted on Saturday, the son of the second confirmed covid19 patient referred all questions to the Health Ministry.

"He is not doing very well, but I will wait on the ministry to answer all questions."

During a news conference on Saturday, thoracic medical director at Caura Chest Hospital Dr Michelle Trotman said the 66-year-old patient remained in serious condition but was improving.

She also said the 52-year-old Swiss national, who returned to Trinidad from Switzerland last Monday, was recovering well at Caura Chest Hospital.

In his update, Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said while there is no treatment or vaccine for covid19 and no one can say for sure when this current pandemic will end, Government remained ready to upgrade its response.

"We have set up Caura and Couva hospitals as covid19 response facilities. Caura will be the secondary response facility and Couva the tertiary response facility. There we have 22 ICU (intensive care unit) beds and over 230 normal beds. If the virus spreads, Government will use the Arima Hospital which will be opened next month," he said.

Deyalsingh said all public hospitals will now have a separate area to assess people with flu-like symptoms.

"The last to come on stream will be Port of Spain. From tomorrow Port of Spain, Eric Williams (Medical Sciences Complex), Sangre Grande and San Fernando hospitals will have separate triage systems and protocols to deal with covid19."

Deyalsingh said the safety of health care workers were most important and needed the public to partner with the ministry, advising them to ignore misinformation shared on social media.

"Social media is causing more damage than coronavirus at this time. Listen to authoritative sources of information."

On reports that the Caribbean Public Health Agency was limiting testing to 20 samples a week per member state, Deyalsingh said this was a guideline and Government get support from the Pan American Health Organisation.

CARPHA has handled testing for countries including Jamaica and Guyana where covid19 cases were linked to travel through Trinidad. In the Guyana case, a woman died, and on Saturday it was reported that her husband and two other people have tested positive for the virus.

u can use the new hospital, as no other patients are there. but using the regular hospitals is irresponsible. sending a common ambulance is irresponsible. set up separate vehicles. to clean down a regular ambulance for such a communicable disease will be inefficient and ineffective.
I'm done yo people like you are the cause of the chain reaction toilet paper buying

https://tinyurl.com/tzacklg

OH BTW the Ministry of health went back in time and provided the said ambulance you demanded they get

Postby 88sins » March 15th, 2020, 9:28 am

nemisis wrote:^^^ the stay away from work part is not something the majority can $afford to do, you do realize that right??. Besides the financial burden the repercussions from such an act when your boss expect business to operate as normal while they at home safe monitoring the business over CCTV

I see ppl talking about stay home to avoid being infected, that is something you DON'T want to start on a large scale in a small country.
Besides the fact that most of the lower income households literally cannot afford to stay home, there's ramifications for everyone if this happens.
For example, say you run out of food in your home because you couldn't afford to buy more than you initially did due to financial or space constraints, now nobody working includingsupermarket and restaurant workers. Where you buying food when everything closed? You willing to risk infection asking your neighbors for help? What happens when you have enough food but much of it is perishable and your fully stocked fridge/freezer konk out in the middle of your mass self imposed quarantine? Nobody going out to work so nobody coming to fix it for you, and everywhere closed so even if you can afford to buy a new one nobody around to sell it to you. So again, you willing to risk infection asking your neighbor to keep your food?

Mass shutdown and quarantine is not something to encourage at all.

triniterribletim

Postby triniterribletim » March 15th, 2020, 9:30 am

Everybody who is buying the line about Corona-chan being mild and not a big deal for young, healthy people better think again. She is a baddest and will mash you up permanently. This is just one observed long term effect. Others that have been mentioned are decreased renal function and testicular lesions. There may also be a chance for neurological damage as well. So you may go into this young and healthy, but you will come out of it like a war veteran.

https://news.yahoo.com/people-fully-recover-coronavirus-left-103917303.html

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2020, 9:37 am

@ boxy.
they all are treating it as a false alarm until u get confirmed. by that time it would have already being spread.
those things kick in AFTER u get confirmed. what i am talking about is concerning limiting exposure before u get confirmation, i.e. when u suspect it, but have to get tested and awaiting results. if a person has it, still has to go get tested.
all i am saying, dont let them GO to the hospital, dedicate a few lab techs and commandeer a few corporation vehicles, for a couple months, and go to the person and swab them en situ of their self quarantine.

boxy

Postby boxy » March 15th, 2020, 9:50 am

That is EXACTLY what is being done. You are not supposed to go to the hospital if u have the cold and suspect it's covid 19 the Ministry memo states to call first when u do they will send a team. They of all people know u can't ask people to come to the hospital because it will make matters worse someone comming in with a broken hand will end up getting it. Stop assuming that our public health officials are trying to sabotage the procedure.
They will also have family friends who may be endangered indirectly due to that. Be responsible and read and pay attention to ONLY official memos and press releases.
I literally had to leave a whatsapp group cause people gang up on me for calling out some idiot that posted a meme saying hot water kills the virus in early stages and to drink plenty of it. People took that seriously because a picture with words said so wtf we going to school and getting educated for?
sMASH wrote:@ boxy.
they all are treating it as a false alarm until u get confirmed. by that time it would have already being spread.
those things kick in AFTER u get confirmed. what i am talking about is concerning limiting exposure before u get confirmation, i.e. when u suspect it, but have to get tested and awaiting results. if a person has it, still has to go get tested.
all i am saying, dont let them GO to the hospital, dedicate a few lab techs and commandeer a few corporation vehicles, for a couple months, and go to the person and swab them en situ of their self quarantine.

Postby MaxPower » March 15th, 2020, 9:53 am

Kenjo wrote:

Hello Skanky,

Dont take it personal.

I responded to his quote so he couldn’t take it back after how nasty he seems . The man believes now as an older adult his immune system better throughout as he ages . The same ones who get their diabetic feet chopped off after a nail stick and watch it at home because ‘ I does heal fast so I ain’t doing nothing for that ‘ chose your above knee or below knee amputation buddy

Boi u telling me,

Hands after coming from the drain and mud comes with a stench. Could imagine in public....An item falls on the ground making contact with feces, urine or phlegm....you pick it up, not a care in the world to wash your hands after but interacting with ppl......stink but quite normal Trini habits.

Stanky yuh good.

Postby Gladiator » March 15th, 2020, 9:56 am

nemisis wrote:^^^ the stay away from work part is not something the majority can $afford to do, you do realize that right??. Besides the financial burden the repercussions from such an act when your boss expect business to operate as normal while they at home safe monitoring the business over CCTV

I see ppl talking about stay home to avoid being infected, that is something you DON'T want to start on a large scale in a small country.
Besides the fact that most of the lower income households literally cannot afford to stay home, there's ramifications for everyone if this happens.
For example, say you run out of food in your home because you couldn't afford to buy more than you initially did due to financial or space constraints, now nobody working includingsupermarket and restaurant workers. Where you buying food when everything closed? You willing to risk infection asking your neighbors for help? What happens when you have enough food but much of it is perishable and your fully stocked fridge/freezer konk out in the middle of your mass self imposed quarantine? Nobody going out to work so nobody coming to fix it for you, and everywhere closed so even if you can afford to buy a new one nobody around to sell it to you. So again, you willing to risk infection asking your neighbor to keep your food?

Mass shutdown and quarantine is not something to encourage at all.

I hear yuh... but if things get as bad as Italy, Spain and France that is the the only measure that can be taken. That is how it was done centuries ago, they put the health and safety of the people before money and the economy. Think about it... if everybody sick and/or dead there is no economy anyway!!!

A more proactive approach would ave been to publish a list of items each household should stock for a 2 week period in case the country has to quarantine. Instead of chastising the public of "panic buying".

Postby Gladiator » March 15th, 2020, 9:59 am

boxy wrote:That is EXACTLY what is being done. You are not supposed to go to the hospital if u have the cold and suspect it's covid 19 the Ministry memo states to call first when u do they will send a team. They of all people know u can't ask people to come to the hospital because it will make matters worse someone comming in with a broken hand will end up getting it. Stop assuming that our public health officials are trying to sabotage the procedure.
They will also have family friends who may be endangered indirectly due to that. Be responsible and read and pay attention to ONLY official memos and press releases.
I literally had to leave a whatsapp group cause people gang up on me for calling out some idiot that posted a meme saying hot water kills the virus in early stages and to drink plenty of it. People took that seriously because a picture with words said so wtf we going to school and getting educated for?
sMASH wrote:@ boxy.

They discussed this on the radio on Friday and said it was actually the protocol for Guyana and not Trinidad...

If you have the memo please post it...thanks

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 15th, 2020, 10:11 am

Did someone say call the hotline numbers??? None of them numbers working...try it and come back with a report

Postby sMASH » March 15th, 2020, 10:12 am

small business enterprise ministry (what ever) conference.

https://www.facebook.com/CNC3Television ... 442827473/
Last edited by sMASH on March 15th, 2020, 10:43 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby nervewrecker » March 15th, 2020, 10:20 am

What bothering me is I developed a bad cough, liking the place unusually cold (I am feeling warm) and have some body pains. Its not getting better, its getting worst.
Had a 3 day long headache.

Hoping its just the flu and just rest I lacking.

Postby adnj » March 15th, 2020, 10:22 am

boxy wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:according to information is beautiful the statistics show that globally the seasonal flu kills 1000 people every single day where as COVID 19 kills 70, this suggests that it is better if we get COVID than the regular cold.

https://lmgtfy.com/?q=How+many+people+get+sick+from+the+flu+vs+covid+19+with+diabetes
Diabetics are three times more likely to succumb to a H1N1 infection than the general population with a CFR of 0.3%.

Currently, diabetics have a COVID-19 CFR of 7.3%.

So a diabetic is about about twenty-five times more likely to die of COVID-19 than H1N1.

[IMG]https://ourworldindata.org/uploads/2020/03/Coronavirus-CFR-by-health-condition-in-China.png
[/IMG]
Last edited by adnj on March 15th, 2020, 10:22 am, edited 2 times in total.

Postby hydroep » March 15th, 2020, 10:23 am

People accustomed taking their sick days in the Public Service so I doubt there's anything the authorities can do about that (waiting to see if Duke going to ask for more days seeing this is a "special circumstance").

As it stands, workers in the Private Sector would have a harder time of it which means the risk of spread would be higher there.

Let's see what Ropehead has to say at the press conference today...:|

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » March 15th, 2020, 10:26 am

nervewrecker wrote:What bothering me is I developed a bad cough, liking the place unusually cold (I am feeling warm) and have some body pains. Its not getting better, its getting worst.
Had a 3 day long headache.

Hoping its just the flu and just rest I lacking.

try and isolate and see if you can get tested man

Postby hydroep » March 15th, 2020, 10:28 am

So you've decided to self isolate but the company "gives you permission" to come in and get important work done. Of course if you do that you risk infecting your co-workers. What do you do?...:?