Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Redman » June 1st, 2017, 12:38 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
Redman wrote:
toyolink wrote:
Redman wrote:Yep that's the goal.
Frustration of the process

In light of the weak implementation process and the minister's utter disregard to get it right, the stated objective is quite achievable.

No argument there...But then if there is a high correlation between the political directorate and land ownership class....this will never happen.

Ok, but Gov't must listen to the People.

The middle class is important .

To an extent ....we elect govt s to run the country s affairs.
GORTT has an obligation to to what they see is best for the country

And we need transparency in that sector.

But dialogue pivots on not on facts but conjecture...and that clouds the people's ability to move forward from us and dem position s

Postby sMASH » June 1st, 2017, 2:20 pm

Pnm sees them selves as a monarchy. And PNM supporters like having a master, if it means they can be masters to those they judge to be lower than themselves.

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 1st, 2017, 9:58 pm

Dommm A@se from le coto promised consultation. Where was the consultation?

See why Kamla running de country .............. and quite a good job as opposition leader.

Postby De Dragon » June 1st, 2017, 10:09 pm

It never ceases to amaze me how the PNM crew here always cry down the legitimate order of a duly appointed magistrate/judge. Then again, Scarfy say so, so maybe they're just parrots or echoes. They fail to realize that one of the few tools available to the masses against GORTT abuse, are the courts.

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » June 1st, 2017, 10:14 pm

randolphinshan wrote:
zoom rader wrote:No need to axe the PNM tax just axe the PNM

And bring back who..Aunty Kamz and she gang ah bandit.You have to be forking insane.After the wickedness they did.

No worries, 3 more years under the PNM, you go forget that vote yellow proper. If not you, the majority will, and back to the normalcy and some form of progress.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 2nd, 2017, 7:06 am

If the population was a pile of rocks i know Rowley would have been a good PM. But unfortunately for us, we not stones.

Postby RedVEVO » June 2nd, 2017, 9:05 am

Monkey Man wrote:If the population was a pile of rocks i know Rowley would have been a good PM. But unfortunately for us, we not stones.

TT Citizens are stones .

With "Big Stone" talk.

We sit on a stone hoping BP with bring us money when oil prices go up.

Meanwhile we getting "stoned" with tax.

Again,

Axe the Tax.

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2017, 9:16 am

This house PNM tax is nothing but an Indian tax in disguise.

Postby RedVEVO » June 2nd, 2017, 9:19 am

No Indian tax - it is "tax" on the middle class and poor people.

The "think they rich" can pay .

I poor - I cannot pay.

Again,

Axe the Tax.
Last edited by RedVEVO on June 2nd, 2017, 9:20 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby zoom rader » June 2nd, 2017, 9:20 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^^

Laventill and Beetham paying tax too?

Postby RedVEVO » June 2nd, 2017, 9:30 am

Ok Zoomy .. I will have to agree here .. :D
But this the last time .

D Diesel Report

Postby D Diesel Report » June 2nd, 2017, 10:21 am

RedVEVO wrote:

But this the last time .

How come if these places don't pay the same taxes that we do, do get the same benefits, and they have the same hours in the day to do productive things, why are they still not performing as well or even better than the rest of the country?

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » June 2nd, 2017, 2:27 pm

D Diesel Report wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

But this the last time .

How come if these places don't pay the same taxes that we do, do get the same benefits, and they have the same hours in the day to do productive things, why are they still not performing as well or even better than the rest of the country?

Simple,

when yuh have latrine mentality, with ah padlock on de door so de neighbour cyah kakar in de hole.

dey only interested in making chirren and robbing people ........................ jus ask de looney leonce

Postby toyolink » June 2nd, 2017, 5:46 pm

I have reflected on the possible reasons why our Minister Of Finance seems to be consumed with the need to provoke , push and pressure citizens (the smirk is undeniable).
The position I have arrived at actually demands that I show a higher level of compassion for this gentleman.
My belief at this time is that we a dealing with a person who as a youth was mistreated by his peers in school.
The mistreatment I imagine may include tapping-up, being the unfortunate last pick for windball cricket team and the lack of invites to limes.
This is a quite serious possibility and could be a glaring example of the result of pressures in the school system.
BTW, the short jokes certainly didn't help.

matix

Postby matix » June 2nd, 2017, 8:07 pm

toyolink wrote:I have reflected on the possible reasons why our Minister Of Finance seems to be consumed with the need to provoke , push and pressure citizens (the smirk is undeniable).
The position I have arrived at actually demands that I show a higher level of compassion for this gentleman.
My belief at this time is that we a dealing with a person who as a youth was mistreated by his peers in school.
The mistreatment I imagine may include tapping-up, being the unfortunate last pick for windball cricket team and the lack of invites to limes.
This is a quite serious possibility and could be a glaring example of the result of pressures in the school system.

Interesting view there.

Postby De Dragon » June 2nd, 2017, 11:41 pm

toyolink wrote:I have reflected on the possible reasons why our Minister Of Finance seems to be consumed with the need to provoke , push and pressure citizens (the smirk is undeniable).

Disagree. When you put kants into positions of power for which they are eminently unqualified, plus they have a sheep-like supporters, then you have disdainful behaviour like this.

Postby RedVEVO » June 3rd, 2017, 12:29 am

matix wrote:

Interesting view there.

As the mist and smoke clear .. a Freudian psycho-analyst speaks .. :lol:

Imbert is controlled and champions big business.

He is really T&T's Prime Minister.

Rowley is just an Oreo Cookie from Mason Hall.

Again,

Axe the Tax.

airuma

Postby airuma » June 3rd, 2017, 12:30 pm

Disagree. When you put kants into positions of power for which they are eminently unqualified, plus they have a sheep-like supporters, then you have disdainful behaviour like this.

His father was one of the formative heads in UWI and I think his mother is Irish with a PhD in psychology. I am not inclined to believe it is ignorance or troubled childhood. It's just a corrupt mind!

Postby toyolink » June 3rd, 2017, 4:11 pm

airuma wrote:

His father was one of the formative heads in UWI and I think his mother is Irish with a PhD in psychology. I am not inclined to believe it is ignorance or troubled childhood. It's just a corrupt mind!

Yes, I recalled his father as one of the highest paid executives (I think it was TCL reported in the Bomb) decades ago and this is the point.
The privileged class student had real problems being accepted by the normal college livers and was many times marginalized, added to this he probably was kinda short.
In more recent times he was even referred to as a Pompek (the imagery is outstanding).
With respect to the last observation, I believe PM Rowley was referred to as a Rottweiler (imagery again).

Postby 88sins » June 3rd, 2017, 5:01 pm

toyolink, please refrain from tarnishing the noble rotti's image.

That one could NEVER be as noble, honest, courageous, hardworking, goodlooking or loyal as a well bred rottie.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 3rd, 2017, 5:20 pm

drchaos

Postby drchaos » June 3rd, 2017, 6:19 pm

This Donkey had his day as well and he did nothing .... He goes on and on about constitutional reform but did he ever try to get anything through? Now the kettle is calling the pot black.

Postby matr1x » June 3rd, 2017, 7:19 pm

Why do they still ask for panday and ramesh opinion?

Wait, they can formulate a thought. ..unlike pnm ministers

trinipunter

Re:

Postby trinipunter » June 3rd, 2017, 7:51 pm

Mobile-Authority wrote:
novastar1 wrote:
I dont know why everyone dont realise this means an increase in everything

ie. Grocery , utilities, you name it

You think that businessmen just going to ABSORB the extra tax?
This will be passed on to the consumer

Don't you guys think about the flip side to this?The other 50% chances are that houses purportedly value at 1.5mil for a 3bdroom house in let say diamond vale...will drop to the actual value avg 600k-700k which is a more practical price for a house with concrete roof,3 rooms,1 bath on 4900s.f. of land.....lets all look on and see..after all that's all we can do for now

thats the rell ting....

allyuh watch that interview on cnc 3 with the supermarket owner.. he say thing raise 2 time already for the year. they going to use this as an excuse to raise anything. watch nah .. doubles going to reach mc 10$ a bara

Postby sMASH » June 3rd, 2017, 8:20 pm

Supply/demand. When supply is low or demand is high, process are high. When supply is high or demand is low, then precise must drop.

We need to put pressure from the demand side of the scale. Don't ask them to drop prices, create an environment where prices need to be low for them to survive.

Postby RedVEVO » June 4th, 2017, 1:21 am

sMASH wrote:Supply/demand. When supply is low or demand is high, process are high. When supply is high or demand is low, then precise must drop.

We need to put pressure from the demand side of the scale. Don't ask them to drop prices, create an environment where prices need to be low for them to survive.

Your Supply - Demand Theory will not work with food.

Food is a basic necessity and regardless of price - people will pay.

I can go into the technical details - but I watching "Fate of the Furious" for the 10th time :lol:

Again,

Axe the Tax.

Postby sMASH » June 4th, 2017, 4:41 am

Not all food items, but local producers can fill the gap. Let's just that importing it is cheaper than producing it here. If the price of the USd goes up, then u can see a lot of substitutes for basic items come from the local producers.

Yes, a lot of foreign stuff can't be sourced locally, but a lot of basic items can be.
If prices go higher, then what u will pay for what u can afford.

Like how China is artificially keeping their yuan price low, to reduce foreign purchases, we are artificially keeping our TTd high, which is helping people buy stuff, but eventually it will run out. And puts local producers at an artificial disadvantage.

Postby RedVEVO » June 5th, 2017, 2:07 am

sMASH wrote:Not all food items, but local producers can fill the gap. Let's just that importing it is cheaper than producing it here. If the price of the USd goes up, then u can see a lot of substitutes for basic items come from the local producers.

Yes, a lot of foreign stuff can't be sourced locally, but a lot of basic items can be.
If prices go higher, then what u will pay for what u can afford.

Like how China is artificially keeping their yuan price low, to reduce foreign purchases, we are artificially keeping our TTd high, which is helping people buy stuff, but eventually it will run out. And puts local producers at an artificial disadvantage.

Yes - good explanation - an educated Tuner :D - Cheers

I still suggest free enterprise , with Gov't hands off trying to control private enterprise -
and also trying to control with fear and mayhem policies.

Recent policies - political policies - do NOT benefit the People e.g. Forex distribution and increase taxes

Again,

Axe the Tax

ADONI

Postby ADONI » June 5th, 2017, 9:24 am

^^ Friend working Massy Stores (HiLo) says, they are forced to buy from local farmers due to Forex now. Before they would just buss style and say we importing screw local.

bluesclues

Re: Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bluesclues » June 5th, 2017, 11:30 pm

sMASH wrote:

heh... close. china keeps the yuan low to make it more attractive to foreign markets so they can capture market share for exports. with a large manufacturing sector to back it all up they increase their foreign revenue stream to combat the import value stream. basically, if your import bill is rising, the solution is not to slow the rate of import. but to increase the rate of export, thereby you'd be increasing circulation. circulation ensures everyone has the money to do what they need to do when they need it. and when they spend it, it goes to someone else who needs to spend it on something etc etc. economies prosper on faster and faster rates of circulation. not stifling and hoarding. in essence it is in a rich man's best interest to spend his money, and acquire assets which he can use to generate more money to spend and acquire, thereby actually benefitting from his work and contributing to increased economic activity(circulation). but when you just let your money sit there and pile up, in the bank or what have you.. it not doing nothing for you.

allyuh understand right? if these policies which stifle local acquisition of foereign necessities arent reversed soon, the banks will soon be telling you that you cant get ANY foreign currency. that everyone with all their money here will be trapped because noone wants our money. and yes trapped as in cant even travel because you wont have any money to spend, cant pay your children college fees in foreign. cant send them money through western union.

understand.