The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

hindian

Re: The Trinituner Entrepreneurship/Self Employed/ Side Hustle Thread

Postby hindian » April 28th, 2021, 6:39 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Good luck with the taxi thing and stay safe. Not just from crime but COVID.
Thank you. I'm in the process of getting the permit, I had my certificate of character since December while job hunting so it work out good for me. Appointment is in May. Gonna be selling my current ride to buy a vehicle to do my thing.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 30th, 2021, 1:49 am

Just for the info. and to further inform anyone going into the business what car do you currently have and what car are you looking into or would like to buy?

hindian

Postby hindian » April 30th, 2021, 6:24 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Just for the info. and to further inform anyone going into the business what car do you currently have and what car are you looking into or would like to buy?
I got a 1999 l200 pickup. Im looking into a b15/c32,33,34 laurel or royal saloon because of my budget, preferably manual to save on some fuel ( I drive manual everyday in traffic anyway so it doh bother me). Maintenance is going to be done by me for the most part as I have all the tools, most of the know how and some parts suppliers. I Hope this answers your question.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » April 30th, 2021, 7:14 pm

Glad for the details.

With the L200 could you still keep it and do private transport jobs.
Reason is I know a guy who has a Ford Ranger (bought used) and he does transport for his brother who is a welder, I'm sure he can pick up some on the side. Have you tried that avenue.

Postby timelapse » April 30th, 2021, 7:52 pm

Very good suggestion there.There is always need for transport near tile stores, furniture places and whatnot

hindian

Postby hindian » May 1st, 2021, 4:57 am

Numb3r4 wrote:Glad for the details.

With the L200 could you still keep it and do private transport jobs.
Reason is I know a guy who has a Ford Ranger (bought used) and he does transport for his brother who is a welder, I'm sure he can pick up some on the side. Have you tried that avenue.
I wish I could keep it but it needs to go so I can fund the purchase of the taxi, when things get better for me in the future I will purchase another one. I always wanted a 720 pickup ( dont really buy into the new school stuff) but I never found one that was suitable which is why I got the l200.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » May 1st, 2021, 2:25 pm

hindian wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:Just for the info. and to further inform anyone going into the business what car do you currently have and what car are you looking into or would like to buy?
I got a 1999 l200 pickup. Im looking into a b15/c32,33,34 laurel or royal saloon because of my budget, preferably manual to save on some fuel ( I drive manual everyday in traffic anyway so it doh bother me). Maintenance is going to be done by me for the most part as I have all the tools, most of the know how and some parts suppliers. I Hope this answers your question.

Dude... talk to some taxi driver friends eh. I run taxi as well. Failure with a 6 cylinder unless u running diesel or cng. Go with the b15 or almera or tiida if your budget allows. Just know that the road is very hard since covid. So do your research properly. Where you plan to work ?

hindian

Postby hindian » May 1st, 2021, 3:00 pm

nismotrinidappa wrote:
hindian wrote:

Dude... talk to some taxi driver friends eh. I run taxi as well. Failure with a 6 cylinder unless u running diesel or cng. Go with the b15 or almera or tiida if your budget allows. Just know that the road is very hard since covid. So do your research properly. Where you plan to work ?
Well to be honest I wanted to test the waters on the Arouca to St helena route and yes I more leaning to the b15/almera/ tiida. I was told that the road hard since covid but i won't be relying on it for my sole source of income. My current "job" did not renew my contract citing covid and they have me on a " when we need you, we'll call you" sort of arrangement. So when they dont call I'll have a backup plan (taxi, ttrideshare etc) to bring in some sort of income rather than sitting home doing nothing. I am also aware of the potential dangers associated with this job so we'll see.
Last edited by hindian on May 1st, 2021, 3:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 1st, 2021, 6:07 pm

Open question, what about those people carriers as a vehicle (like the Noah)?

Long routes or short routes, by long I figure San Fernando to PoS and such, the highway routes, or do you go shorter stuff out side and off the highways the country routes, like from "Fyzabad to Siparia" kind of route?

Postby eliteauto » May 1st, 2021, 7:40 pm

Whatever vehicle you choose use your head and check the maintenance costs attached as well. In the minivan realm, the cheapest vehicle to operate is the C25 Serena, parts are cheap and plentiful, a few simple upgrades takes care of your overheating concerns ( no cutup bumper or popped bonnet ) and they are roomy. Cars, the Tiida/B15/Almera is good, try to get fabric interior the darker the better, it's easier to clean and won't tear like the leather. If you're a route taxi, join an app like ttrideshare to expand your potential net, learn to read the road for when is the busiest period and/or when is the period of least competition, always be security conscious and follow your vibe when offered jobs. Most importantly learn to sell yourself, build a rapport that encourages ppl to want to call you instead of taking a random car on a stand, build relationships with your fare, act, speak, dress not like the avg driver, avoid the hustler mentality, and the hustler driving styles, keep your vehicle clean, avoid vehicle accessories that attract police and licensing. Good luck

daxt0r

Postby daxt0r » May 2nd, 2021, 8:00 am

yea hoss, almera for d win hands down here, yuh could swap out the whole inside of that car for less than 1000 and other parts real cheap. Me eh know bout other place but definitely doh wok down here in d SWD ends here at nite cuz down to d woman down here will rob yuh rass, or might end up inna field road ded or smth.

Try also planting a lil short crop that you can tend to easily at mornings and nite b4 hitting d road, that way if road lil hard yuh could pull up somewhere an still sell a lil produce to carry home a lil ting still.

hindian

Postby hindian » May 2nd, 2021, 8:19 am

daxt0r wrote:yea hoss, almera for d win hands down here, yuh could swap out the whole inside of that car for less than 1000 and other parts real cheap. Me eh know bout other place but definitely doh wok down here in d SWD ends here at nite cuz down to d woman down here will rob yuh rass, or might end up inna field road ded or smth.

Try also planting a lil short crop that you can tend to easily at mornings and nite b4 hitting d road, that way if road lil hard yuh could pull up somewhere an still sell a lil produce to carry home a lil ting still.
As I mentioned before this taxi thing is sort of additional income to what I already have coming in. But serious question tho, is there a farmer's class on how to plant and care for crops? I cant plant nuttin to save mih life and this isn't a joke. Over the years I've tried and was failure

Postby eliteauto » May 2nd, 2021, 9:08 am

^^Every month the Min of Agriculture hosts free courses you can check there https://agriculture.gov.tt/divisions-un ... g-courses/

April's courses are over and none have been set for May yet, most likely with the new restrictions all will be virtual this month.
PCS model farm in Couva offers courses as well not sure if they're doing any this year though

hindian

Postby hindian » May 2nd, 2021, 12:20 pm

eliteauto wrote:^^Every month the Min of Agriculture hosts free courses you can check there https://agriculture.gov.tt/divisions-un ... g-courses/

April's courses are over and none have been set for May yet, most likely with the new restrictions all will be virtual this month.
PCS model farm in Couva offers courses as well not sure if they're doing any this year though

Thank you, I will check them out

Postby Ted_v2 » May 2nd, 2021, 9:12 pm

i looking to do a little welding course. I could weld both stick and mig pretty average. Thought by some other self-thought fab guys. Always wanted to learn the proper way and actually start doing autobody welding along with minor fab stuff, side steps, exhaust downpipes ect.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 3rd, 2021, 2:01 am

Ted_v2 wrote:i looking to do a little welding course. I could weld both stick and mig pretty average. Thought by some other self-thought fab guys. Always wanted to learn the proper way and actually start doing autobody welding along with minor fab stuff, side steps, exhaust downpipes ect.

Don't specialize in auto alone, try your hand at fabricating as well specifically gates and windows, roofing if needed.

Postby eliteauto » May 3rd, 2021, 9:40 am

I agree with the above, it has been my observation that during downturns quite a few people do renovations on their homes, and construction workers, fabricators, woodworkers etc that I know are all booked with work atm

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 3rd, 2021, 1:06 pm

Palour

So we have a property on a road that I was thinking could use a palour. Here are my thoughts:
1. Staff: I have to hire somebody to run it
2. Security: Its in a highish risk area, so I don't want somebody child to get hold up. Might have to look at some wrought iron designs or something to minimize this. Also cameras
3. Layout: thinking about the old chinee shop layout, with a big counter and you ask for your groceries.
4. Goods: mostly dry goods and some fresh vegetables

Anybody with a tuk-shop/palour/mini-mart like this with anything else we should consider?
Are palours/mini-marts worth it in the first place?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 3rd, 2021, 7:03 pm

Parlour is a good idea, however if you have to hire someone, think twice. The best thing about a parlour and mini-mart is that you can do the labour and save that cost. Outside labour adds up, and quick. Many folks right ow (and I keep making this point) are looking to reduce and cut labour hours, a lot of the said small business owners a re back in their businesses themselves.

Now the the good thing is that you can position yourself as a convenience parlour and only need to open at specific times thus you can in effect have a job and then come home and do it. This can help with security as it you can close by night time, just after the work crowd pass by, and open early daylight and catch the still working crowd (assuming there still is one by you). This could endear you to them.

Layout yes that is model that is excellent and still works to this day. it has never changed, it is not only simple but keeps you safe BOTH in terms of security and COVID. Put up burglar proofing and plexiglass (Plexiglas) between you and said customer, if you want you could have a more secure cashing station or a "Unipet/ gas station" style system which could have you less exposed. Also use the round bars when making the burglar proofing.

With this old country model you could consider taking orders as well and have the orders (brown paper) bagged at the end of the day.

With regards to security minimum have a functioning camera system with 2 monitors, one for you and one so the customers can see they can be seen. The cameras should be positioned such that you have one to view customers inside and the roadway, preferable from BOTH ways, avoid blind spots. Inside make sure the area is well lit and the cameras can see well with minimum glare.

If you hire labour then consider a camera behind the counter to monitor their actions. (It's not that you don't trust anyone but...)

One of the best layouts comes with the "cashier cage" located to the side and elevated so that when you're sitting there you are looking down and out of the business, all in all when positioning this position expect to be there while manning it so given yourself the ability to see as much as possible. A window might be good but behind the counter to ensure you can see outside good for security and slow days.

Other than that the simplest thing is a drawer and a stool.

You should have a door from behind the counter to the front area assuming only one entrance and that can be opened and locked from inside. The door between in front and behind the counter should always be locked. Ensure that behind the counter you have a means of exiting so you can bail if anything. This door should be able to be locked from inside and out, deadbolt on the inside and key from the outside.

If you're unsure add another lock somewhere, or the good old fashioned chain across the burglar proofing.

Stick to dry goods, the fresh vegetable market will require someone who knows how to keep the produce good and fresh. Or might require chillers and such. Also right now there are a lot of young guys who are farmers and such who are operating on the roadside with trucks, vans and their own produce so look around your area before you try to compete with them. However of you know of guys who do plant whey not rent them space in you parlour/minimart to put their stuff and then they take care of the restocking and taking the old stuff.

Oh with a fresh vegetable section either have it outside in the open or make sure your place has A/C, and always pay attention to scents. That could turn people off.

With dry goods you can never go wrong, make sure an always have snacks, biscuits, bread and tinned goods add a drinks chiller make sure and have BOTH the good stuff and cheap stuff, Coke and Classic Cola, (for $2 Classic ain't that bad). On the topics of chillers you can put your chocolate snacks in there. Either 2 single chillers or one double, 2 single might be better as you can switch off one and reduce your power bill as needed.

Sell phone cards and at least get a linx machine (though that is debatable).

Postby Ted_v2 » May 3rd, 2021, 9:11 pm

on my way hope have a parlor with a proper carpark, cameras in the yard. They always have all needed items, they work with a counter, order your items, pay and you collecting your items with your change inside the bag. Super efficient, prices good, a family-run place so they don't need to hire workers before however was a walk in a shop, buzzed in and buzzed out. No snatch and grab here. cameras all around.

roofing is a scn, cant handle that climbing, super afraid of heights. Nervewrecker carry me on a 3 story school already, no thanks. Burgler proofing is easy, I did some already, came out pretty good.

my aunt recently got robbed, had a guy come and do up some stuff, prices was high, material was okay, mounting of the burgler proof was really poorly done guy used hit it to mount it, bolts thru the walls but its like 3/8 honestly, all tread and he welded one side and just used a nut on the other side, no plates ect. I remember a guy here talking about a wind-up car jack, that would blow all out of the wall yes. serves the task but I wasn't impressed.

i mount with 3/16 angle iron, m6/3/8 expanding bolts and I weld the heads.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 3rd, 2021, 11:11 pm

Yes, expanding bolts.

Also correct carparks for customers, that's good.

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » May 4th, 2021, 12:35 am

^^^ these. Thank you.
Think I have a clearer roadmap now. Definitely have to hire and train someone/s, probably from the area self, so they know them. Not mentioned is the cash mgt. Will have to teach them to settle the linx, and might have to head down there everyday, or send one of my supervisors to pick up the cash.

Worst case, if it doesnt work out, just build and rent-out the space.

Postby Chimera » May 4th, 2021, 5:15 am

To settle linx is just two clicks
Simple enough

And if you don't want the risk of going to collect cash everyday because that's when ppl will target you...

You can build a lockbox thats bolted to the ground (or some people buy safes with a slit or cut a slit ontop) and make the worker regularly put envelopes into the box with.certain amounts of cash.

Like everytime he get a 1000 or 1500 in hundreds let him put it. So you could pass anytime in the evening or night or early morning and move your cash.

Going to pick up cash every evening is a reall risky thing

Postby pugboy » May 4th, 2021, 5:48 am

absolutely correct, many of the 1% are renovating right now

eliteauto wrote:I agree with the above, it has been my observation that during downturns quite a few people do renovations on their homes, and construction workers, fabricators, woodworkers etc that I know are all booked with work atm

Postby eliteauto » May 27th, 2021, 11:10 am

virtual-training-course-ad-June-2021-landscape-no-names-1536x1237.jpeg

Postby Redman » May 27th, 2021, 11:25 am

pugboy wrote:absolutely correct, many of the 1% are renovating right now

eliteauto wrote:I agree with the above, it has been my observation that during downturns quite a few people do renovations on their homes, and construction workers, fabricators, woodworkers etc that I know are all booked with work atm

Expand during recession
Consolidate into the post recession upturn.

That said this one is a pickle.

Postby pugboy » May 27th, 2021, 11:49 am

correct

a lot of woodbrook commercial properties owned by the 1% were acquired before the avenue became popular and woodbrook turned commercial

around the late 80s-90s down turn

Redman wrote:
pugboy wrote:absolutely correct, many of the 1% are renovating right now

Expand during recession
Consolidate into the post recession upturn.

That said this one is a pickle.

Postby Redman » May 27th, 2021, 6:08 pm

We have to remember that dynamic have changed from a seller's market to a buyer's...and it looks like that will be a factor for a while.

Also banks need solid bankable financing opportunity....it's a good time to be starting out.

Not easy...but good....fair weather does not make for good seamanship.

Postby eliteauto » June 8th, 2021, 7:11 pm

More courses available in July
course.jpeg

SNIPER 3000

Postby SNIPER 3000 » June 9th, 2021, 4:41 pm

eliteauto wrote:Agricultural courses for June:
https://agriculture.gov.tt/events/train ... 1-courses/

Sold out fast, when is next month schedule coming out?