Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby rspann » April 9th, 2020, 1:13 pm

Allyuh ,put a spoiler on that pelau nah ! Oh gosh !

Postby K74T » April 9th, 2020, 1:17 pm

death365 wrote:Cook home duck Dhal and rice yesterday

So today is to reheat the duck
IMG_20200409_125617.jpeg

Once is on the stove, no microwave ting eh

Postby K74T » April 9th, 2020, 1:18 pm

rspann wrote:Allyuh ,put a spoiler on that pelau nah ! Oh gosh !

Ah hear daz wah rv sunday lunch does really be

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2020, 1:18 pm

not sure size, it is imported long island pekin duck from hilo, but they are all same size and price
trying to use high class stuff like them other fellas

it is prob a mid to large

about 80mins, I using a charbroil infrared oilless turkey fryer, it wukking real good
uses lpg and can just hang bird or pork slab easy.

pugboy wrote:duck start to roast

1C2553F0-B1D5-4740-8629-025C984F2000.jpeg

What's the weight of the duck and how long you left it in for?

Postby Rovin » April 9th, 2020, 1:32 pm

allyuh men cooking up a storm in here boi - good to know no woman cyar buss no style on us guys

only thing is d weight gain after this corona thing done

but wait nuh cascadoo pelau is a really a real dish ? :shock: , bwda 1st time i hearing dat 1

d pic duane post up on it on d previous page kinda looking like some somebody rest some cascadoo in a pot of mixed rice though ..

Postby Dizzy28 » April 9th, 2020, 2:09 pm

X_Factor wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Bought the ingredients for doubles Monday.
This weekend please god the wife decide to make.

On another where can one get duck (preferably not farm, but farm if no other option) between say Tacarigua to Curepe? If I can call in to pick up would be nice.
My meat guy only does duck by order and now a bit too late to ask.
Freds poultry depot next to the tunapuna market

Thanks X Factor.

Pugboy duck looking much better than the one time we tried Roast Duck...same foreign duck however the frozen taste never came out.

Guess the equipment makes a lot of difference
123.jpg

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 9th, 2020, 2:20 pm

X_Factor wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Bought the ingredients for doubles Monday.
This weekend please god the wife decide to make.

On another where can one get duck (preferably not farm, but farm if no other option) between say Tacarigua to Curepe? If I can call in to pick up would be nice.
My meat guy only does duck by order and now a bit too late to ask.
Freds poultry depot next to the tunapuna market

Thanks X Factor.

Pugboy duck looking much better than the one time we tried Roast Duck...same foreign duck however the frozen taste never came out.

Guess the equipment makes a lot of difference123.jpg.

I've yet to try roast duck. The challenge I have is that 2 out of the 3 adults in the house have a firm belief that duck is for curry, and they likely won't eat it. How much I could eat? lol

If I have to try it, will try a fresh local duck, no roast/pluck method, and let it marinate in a full submerged brine overnight, then air dry in fridge for a couple hours, then roast.

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2020, 2:28 pm

now finish chop it up, removed cripsy skin and eating separate

9C6AF30C-ECDD-4AB1-A377-8662E2E7E555.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2020, 2:30 pm

that supposed to have a nice salted taste

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2020, 2:33 pm

yuh might taste duck for the first time then

duck is actually one of the easiest to roast as it have plenty fat and very little risk of getting dry and stringy like a chicken

duck(not yard) breast can be seared rare like a beef steak too

go and buy some proper roast duck by kam wah and let them taste it, they will turn into believers

VexXx Dogg wrote:
I've yet to try roast duck. The challenge I have is that 2 out of the 3 adults in the house have a firm belief that duck is for curry, and they likely won't eat it. How much I could eat? lol

If I have to try it, will try a fresh local duck, no roast/pluck method, and let it marinate in a full submerged brine overnight, then air dry in fridge for a couple hours, then roast.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2020, 2:36 pm

pugboy wrote:now finish chop it up, removed cripsy skin and eating separate

just sautee this in some onions and sweet peppers....even hot peppers and yuh bad

Postby Dizzy28 » April 9th, 2020, 2:39 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
pugboy wrote:now finish chop it up, removed cripsy skin and eating separate

just sautee this in some onions and sweet peppers....even hot peppers and yuh bad

You remind me of one of pardners........everything he does wanna refry in a pepper/hot/ sauce.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2020, 3:50 pm

Step 1....scrubbing and cleaning
20200409_154324.jpg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 9th, 2020, 4:19 pm

pugboy wrote:not sure size, it is imported long island pekin duck from hilo, but they are all same size and price

about 80mins, I using a charbroil infrared oilless turkey fryer, it wukking real good

yeah i have a Charbroil Big Easy which is the same as yours but with a cover and smoker.
80mins thanks will try it

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2020, 5:14 pm

Aye

Link mih some man boi
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Step 1....scrubbing and cleaning

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2020, 5:16 pm

Inspired by duane....

Doubles and roll up saheena
Shadobeni sauce, roast pepper, tamarind sauce

No cucumber tho....
Thats for salad

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 9th, 2020, 5:32 pm

maj. tom wrote:Duane is really a Sauce.
Bara looking authentically good.

First time I ever fry bara in my life!
I read that the trick is to press it out thin and flat on the counter with oil and don't be afraid of the holes
4sec on each side and done
stack in a brown bag in a cooler as you fry and close the cooler to let it steam in its own heat - it will stay soft

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2020, 5:33 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Aye

Link mih some man boi

Id call back the man...how much you want?? I got about 35 for $150 and well you see the size...I could buy it and we go link...he from up biche side

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2020, 5:57 pm

dont use the supplied basket, not good at all.

google "roast duck hooks"
go by Sincere's in south and buy the hooks, the shortest one
and put a piece of 1/2" steel across the top to hang the hooks off.

Or if you are handy, buy a 3ft stainless welding rod from edoos and make your own hooks
you need to sharpen the end on a bench grinder before bending them

pugboy wrote:not sure size, it is imported long island pekin duck from hilo, but they are all same size and price

yeah i have a Charbroil Big Easy which is the same as yours but with a cover and smoker.
80mins thanks will try it

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2020, 5:57 pm

Bout a dozen
Is just 2 ppl by me

Link mih some man boi

Id call back the man...how much you want?? I got about 35 for $150 and well you see the size...I could buy it and we go link...he from up biche side

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2020, 5:58 pm

But if he only doin like 30 and thing, i will still take it

Link mih some man boi

Postby *KRONIK* » April 9th, 2020, 5:59 pm

20200330_102942.jpeg
IMG-20200409-WA0125.jpeg

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2020, 6:20 pm

what about the “sweet sauce” some of them doubles ppl have ?

Postby Rovin » April 9th, 2020, 6:21 pm

allyuh fellers bara put wendy to shame ...

Postby pugboy » April 9th, 2020, 6:25 pm

they need to tackle the roll up cigar saheena next
that is the higher level stuff now

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 9th, 2020, 6:54 pm

pugboy wrote:what about the “sweet sauce” some of them doubles ppl have ?
Mostly brown sugar with a hint of mango, pommcythere or tamarind, salt, bp, a little Geera powder and some amchar masala.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 9th, 2020, 7:16 pm

pugboy wrote:they need to tackle the roll up cigar saheena next
that is the higher level stuff now

My moms does do this....she say the chip up ones doh taste as good

Postby Rovin » April 9th, 2020, 7:17 pm

yrssss ago i used to help my mother make roll up sahena , i cyar remember d exact urdee recipe , its alot of steps , work & technique , its really an artform ...

this lady is very close though no boiling in foil , u steam it ....
Last edited by Rovin on April 9th, 2020, 7:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Rovin » April 9th, 2020, 7:19 pm

i jes make some jerk seasoned chicken breast strips steamed then stir fried it

drop it on a bread with some cheese & i liking myself eating it all now ...

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 9th, 2020, 8:53 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:This stay at home thing man have to adjust.
Today's lunch was rice, Saijon(Moringa) with potatoes and tomatoes and salt fish.

Saijon oui......Prior to this I wouldn't eat that if it was the only food around
But serious enquiry how the hekk do you eat that?! Peel the outside and cook?