***THE FARMERS CHED***

dude2014

Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby dude2014 » October 12th, 2016, 2:50 pm

See hereunder the division with the requisite mandate to do so. You can also google Valuation division, TT. Prior to the 2009 amendment it was ATV and not ARV.

MINISTRY OF FINANCE
Valuation Division
Vision Statement

The Division strives to be a conscientious professional unit, equipped with a wide range of skills and knowledge on all aspects of real property, ready and able to render support to the State in formulating and executing land and land tax policy geared to the efficient and effective management of the country’s land resources and the State’s real estate holdings.

Mission Statement

To provide Government and its Agencies with Valuation and Land Economy advice and technical expertise of the highest professional standard to enable fair, consistent and competent decision making in respect of property transactions, property taxation and land management.

About the Valuation Division

The Valuation Division was created by an Act of Parliament, “The Valuation of Land Act” Chapter 58:03 of 1969 to inter alia create the functionary of the Commissioner of Valuations who was to be responsible for making valuations of every parcel of land in Trinidad and Tobago (including buildings, plant and machinery) for all purposes required by Government, subject to Presidential exemption from such valuations.

The Valuation of Land Act was amended by Act No. 17 of 2009 to empower the Commissioner of Valuations to value properties based on an annual rental value system and validated the actions of the Commissioner in the use of the annual rental value system from 1970 to 2009. Prior to the 2009 amendment, the Commissioner was only empowered to conduct valuations based on a site valuation system.

Valuation Surveying is a unique profession that falls under the umbrella of the Built Environment. Locally, the Institute of Surveyors of Trinidad and Tobago represents the three major categories of Surveyors within the Built Environment – Land Surveyors, Quantity Surveyors and Valuation Surveyors. Currently, all members of the Professional Staff employed at the Valuation Division are members of the Institute of Surveyors of Trinidad and Tobago. The Valuation Division adheres to the international guidelines and procedures as set by the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors, as well as the local guidelines prescribed by the Institute of Surveyors of Trinidad and Tobago.

Postby X_Factor » October 12th, 2016, 5:28 pm

anyone knows how many individual bunches of chive make the wholesale bundle?
thinking about putting down some to resell around xmas time and wanna do some math as to the quantity i need to plant

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 12th, 2016, 11:54 pm

X_Factor wrote:anyone knows how many individual bunches of chive make the wholesale bundle?
thinking about putting down some to resell around xmas time and wanna do some math as to the quantity i need to plant

Twenty individual bunches make up a bundle, just like celery or parsley.
Take a trip to the wholesale market and talk to farmers or middle men.
The individual bunches depends on the size each individual plants grow to.

Call Caribbean Chemicals for a chive production guide @ 638-GROW and ask for an agronomist.
If you need further advice I can help.

Postby X_Factor » October 13th, 2016, 7:49 am

i usually do like a 2 crates of chive for home use, its the easiest plant to grow but im thinking about 15-20crates here
main things is burnt tip(calcium) and leaf miners ( trivap and cure)
fertilizer--bio20 drench, calmax b, cytoplex

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 13th, 2016, 11:08 pm

There is also a type of chive that is known as bunching chive. What happens is when you harvest the big ones, the small ones are planted back and watered in. Thus saving by not having to buy seedling all the time

Postby X_Factor » October 13th, 2016, 11:29 pm

those are hard to locate....ive bought seeds and seedlings claiming to be bunching chives but they didn't....just one thick stalk chive

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 14th, 2016, 7:13 pm

Those may just be leeks. Tried some , did not like it. The net is a circus where each link tries to outdo the other without trying to understand what was the question or the problem they are supposed to solve. If it growing into one stalk it is a different variety.

Go in the market and buy the skinny chives. Most likely they are the bunching ones. cut off the top and leave about 3 inches above the root and plant. Keep trying and you will hit pay dirt. When you do give the BIG SHOT SEEDLING COMPANY A REST. They deserve one for wasting your time.

Postby X_Factor » October 14th, 2016, 8:02 pm

^ its about 20 crate I lookin to plant....buying chive to cut off the top is not practical...

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » October 15th, 2016, 11:13 pm

It is after I posted this, I though of this. The persons selling those thin chive has to get the seedling somewhere. Just ask them someone will eventually point you in the right direction. Check High Quality Seedlings - Charlo Village, ASASCO - Warren Road, Seeree - Warren Road, Andy - Opposite the Works Sub office in Guayamare. This will depend on where you are. Bessesar in Sando is an option.

With regards the tip burn, the calcium deficiency can be cured by using Ag Lime, Agri Cal and Liquid litter. Sometimes the tip may look like tip burn, it ia a worm that can cause this trauma.

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » November 4th, 2016, 8:46 pm

does any1 have chicken manure for sale ??

Re: RE: Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby *KRONIK* » November 5th, 2016, 6:29 am

Sasquat007 wrote:does any1 have chicken manure for sale ??

5 a bag, cured already
Sangre grande

Come with ur transport
708-0101

Re: RE: Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby nervewrecker » November 5th, 2016, 10:23 am

.:PROZAC:.. wrote:In a way my dad has done that, he's been trying to plan some of the more exotic fruits. I had the chance to have some ripened Pois Deux aka Padoo.
this 15 acre allotment is mostly plantain, with some peas and then some corn early next year.

Hairy or smooth skin?

I have a smooth skin tree home, the hairy one seems hard to find.
Wanna put down a tree or two.
Avocados and wax apple. As soon as I get myself organised, wanna try one of these hydroponics setup.

TriP

Postby TriP » November 8th, 2016, 9:39 pm

Farmer Training Courses - November 2016
10.jpg

cutthroatInt

Postby cutthroatInt » November 9th, 2016, 10:31 am

Any one have tips on planting sweet potato?

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » November 9th, 2016, 11:54 am

Check Caribbean Chemicals. They normally have planting guide.

Also MAFAS can help. Call 291-2118, 354-9666, 697-1375

kevinknr

Postby kevinknr » November 14th, 2016, 1:07 pm

I have a lot a spanish thyme growing in my yard. Anyone know if I can make any money selling it in the market? Anyone know the price?

Re: RE: Re: RE: Re: ***THE FARMERS CHED***

Postby *KRONIK* » November 14th, 2016, 1:35 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:
Sasquat007 wrote:does any1 have chicken manure for sale ??

5 a bag, cured already
Sangre grande

Come with ur transport
708-0101

Manureeeeee

Check it out without a doubt

vidane

Postby vidane » December 1st, 2016, 8:07 pm

Interested in some bags of Manure. Would whats app you soon.

Postby *KRONIK* » December 1st, 2016, 8:58 pm

Yea
Call me whenever

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » December 28th, 2016, 7:36 pm

best place to purchase a tiller

dude2014

Postby dude2014 » December 28th, 2016, 7:58 pm

Cannot recommend a best place but rather options.
1. FT Farfan has a small one driven by a wacker type set up. They may also have merri tillers which is a little bigger.
2. MASSEY AGRO AND INDUSTRIAL Macoya opposite the Wholesale Market to the North. They have the Bear Cat Brand.
3. Southern Chemicals, Ramsarran Street in Chag have some Chinese brand. Take yuh pick .......

Of course if these are too small, then you maybe looking for a small tractor ............

Happy planting bro

Postby *KRONIK* » December 28th, 2016, 9:53 pm

I saw a small one in st. Helena by the agri-shop/feed depot

Sasquat007

Postby Sasquat007 » December 29th, 2016, 6:24 pm

Thanks guys will give those places a check

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » January 8th, 2017, 4:04 am

I am thinking about planting 2 acres of coconut as a primary crop
However I would like to get some feedback if my economics is correct from someone in the field. Note: land will need to be purchased so I need to be sure that it is a good investment

Maintenance per year during 1st two years = $15,000 ( assumes 8 days for one person to cut the grass in 2 acres @ $400day. 4 times for the year plus 20% contingency

Maintenance per year for additional 18 years = $8000 assumes 8 days for one person to cut the grass in 2 acres @ $400day. 2 times for the year plus 20% contingency

What is the best irrigation system

What is labor rates foe some to fertilize the trees on 2 acres

Security once trees are mature and bearing = $20,000 ( I was thinking of a perimeter laser system . Does anyone have an alternative recommendation)
Monitoring = $3000

What crop can be planted in between

Who sells hybrid coconuts in Trinidad

francis1979

Postby francis1979 » January 8th, 2017, 4:23 am

I am thinking about planting 2 acres of coconut as a primary crop
However I would like to get some feedback if my economics is correct from someone in the field. Note: land will need to be purchased so I need to be sure that it is a good investment

Maintenance per year during 1st two years = $15,000 ( assumes 8 days for one person to cut the grass in 2 acres @ $400day. 4 times for the year plus 20% contingency

Maintenance per year for additional 18 years = $8000 assumes 8 days for one person to cut the grass in 2 acres @ $400day. 2 times for the year plus 20% contingency

What is the best irrigation system

What is labor rates foe some to fertilize the trees on 2 acres

Security once trees are mature and bearing = $20,000 ( I was thinking of a perimeter laser system . Does anyone have an alternative recommendation)
Monitoring = $3000

What crop can be planted in between

Who sells hybrid coconuts in Trinidad

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » January 8th, 2017, 12:41 pm

overestimating on labour cost you will make it bad for the rest of farmers
Plenty will disagree but once you get the grass cut level weedicide spray from then in . just use a bucket to cover the small plants .
Wacking is to much work if the land has bamboo grass, if is small grass then yeah it easy to wack .
Spraying, in a couple mornings from 6 to 7.30 you can spray out the land and dont have to pay anyone .
Grass will take longer to grow up and once the grass small it will take plenty less spray in future sprays.
plenty people is presently planting coconuts . you can plant other small citrus(limes,oranges ,lemon) in the middle of the coconuts .
Plant a row of teak on your border so you can run a fence line and as your trees get enough size in 3 to 4 years place some goats or sheep to control grass.

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » January 8th, 2017, 12:45 pm

aye guys, whoever wanna get into Aquaponics and Hydroponics message me..

dell4sell

Postby dell4sell » January 10th, 2017, 4:18 pm

Fellas, anybody in the ched grows barbadine? I have about an acre of land lapsing and i fed up cut and spray grass.. Bamboo going crazy too.. I had two barbadine and saved the seeds and they sprouted a few days ago. Was thinking about reusing the bamboo stalks to make up some trellises for it so at least the land will be used. The area rains like every day or two but its a slope so it runs off fast. Anybody have any experience with barbadine or any other crops i could utilise the area for on a trellis?

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2017, 4:31 pm

any lime experts ?
I have a seedling about 18" tall and only flowering and bearing but they dropping off when they reach about 1/2" in size
it has obviously stopped growing since it is concentrating on bearing at that small size

devon0254

Postby devon0254 » January 13th, 2017, 10:48 am

Anybody know where in the east sells bronze lettuce seedlings?