COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11706 cases, 185 deaths, 2689 active, 8832 recovered in T&T

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2021, 12:06 pm

sMASH wrote:
sMASH wrote:If gortt was paying people to sheit down, then go right ahead. But telling people to cease earning their income with no substitute, then that is why locking down the country is the wrong approach. Cause u have no science to show that its necessary.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=761717

It's not Trinidad alone
A lot of countries have had good results with lockdowns

no matter how many people do it, it is the wrong ting to do. they have even LESS data to show that people got covid by the doubles places.
You don't know where the virus is contracted but you're aware that it's contracted in close proximity to others. And you argue against cessation of nonessential activities that increase social mobility - the very thing that increases interpersonal contact. Nice!

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11706 cases, 185 deaths, 2689 active, 8832 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 12:19 pm

no data to justify cessation, just a fear factor. not science based at all. while u bankrupting the small man.

if u so fear the virus, stay inside. leff those who dont care, to roam around.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 5th, 2021, 12:23 pm

sMASH wrote:no data to justify cessation, just a fear factor. not science based at all. while u bankrupting the small man.

However the ones who don't care will negatively affect those who do and make it worse for everyone.

All of these lockdowns and measures and still there are high rates of infections and a lot of deaths worldwide.
Can you imagine if it went unchecked?

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2021, 12:51 pm

sMASH wrote:no data to justify cessation, just a fear factor. not science based at all. while u bankrupting the small man.

Revisit Sweden for real-world evidence.

Small man walking caused the current spike. Say goodbye to granny for the last time when you're out. Image
Last edited by adnj on May 5th, 2021, 12:51 pm, edited 3 times in total.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 5th, 2021, 12:58 pm

Hospital occupancy went from 50% on Monday to 58% on Tuesday.
ICU cases went from 50% on Monday to 40% on Tuesday. The decrease is as a result of DEATH and NOT recovery of individuals.

More young persons especially females are succumbing to COVID-19.

Postby teems1 » May 5th, 2021, 1:11 pm

Look at the death rate in India. Crematoriums are working 24/7 to clear the bodies. The people who are roaming around still live with parents/grandparents.

This isn't even a trolley scenario, where it's 1 life versus many lives.

It's economic hardship vs death. It's an easy choice for the government.

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2021, 1:12 pm

need another thread for the covid strategy arguments

Postby Kenjo » May 5th, 2021, 1:17 pm

pugboy wrote:need another thread for the covid strategy arguments

Ent . But if men not innovative and doing doubles delivery they are being quite silly . If you can remotely be having $80000( clearly you have to subtract expenditure) circulating in a business you can have delivery and comfortably achieve half your revenue .adapt or fail . Hair dresser want to be slack then one Client by one as Appointments to break the rules and earn your money quietly . If you dead you dead but you have made the choice with all the info out there . Most likely you won’t die but government not rigidly enforcing anything that’s underlow

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 5th, 2021, 1:17 pm

Why feed trolls?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 5th, 2021, 1:42 pm

If smash is arguing against lockdowns then he's wrong.

But I will fully agree that this lockdown won't be as effective as it can be.

Banning outdoor activities won't reduce the spread significantly.

Especially as we still have tens of thousands of people going to offices where 90% of them will wear no mask.

That is just simply absurd, and within the last 30mins a friend just told me her whole office on quarantine after two co-workers tested positive.

Smash is right about outdoor spread being minimal, lots of studies have been showing this of late.

But with that said, we can't assume the P1 variant behaves the same.

Also, since March 13th the Rnaught was higher that it's even been since August.
Screenshot_20210505_134306.jpg

We really really should have had some sort of lockdown then, this entire outbreak was avoidable.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 1:43 pm

However the ones who don't care will negatively affect those who do and make it worse for everyone.

All of these lockdowns and measures and still there are high rates of infections and a lot of deaths worldwide.
Can you imagine if it went unchecked?

stay inside couped up, u would be safe and unaffected.
let those who need to earn their dollar on a daily basis get that chance.

Postby gastly369 » May 5th, 2021, 1:46 pm

Ent it had or having a conference meeting today.. Missed the details? Or what time Is it

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 1:46 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:If smash is arguing against lockdowns then he's wrong.

Especially as we still have tens of thousands of people going to offices where 90% of them will wear no mask.

That is just simply absurd, and within the last 30mins a friend just told me her whole office on quarantine after two co-workers tested positive.

Smash is right about outdoor spread being minimal, lots of studies have been showing this of late.

We really really should have had some sort of lockdown then, this entire outbreak was avoidable.

i say, move as many businesses to outdoor, open air settings as much as they can. definitely keep the indoors closed. restauraunts, parlours, lil trades. set up ur tents and roadside vending as u can.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 1:48 pm

Kenjo wrote:

Ent . But if men not innovative and doing doubles delivery they are being quite silly . If you can remotely be having $80000( clearly you have to subtract expenditure) circulating in a business you can have delivery and comfortably achieve half your revenue .adapt or fail . Hair dresser want to be slack then one Client by one as Appointments to break the rules and earn your money quietly . If you dead you dead but you have made the choice with all the info out there . Most likely you won’t die but government not rigidly enforcing anything that’s underlow

u will have a jackass police saying 'no retail, is no retail'. even though that will be minimal.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 1:50 pm

if u start that it woudl be me talking alone. cause the other option is shut down and stay home. forget money and food. but, it will work, not covid willl spread at all. until u decide to go outside.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 1:52 pm

teems1 wrote:

Look at the death rate in India. Crematoriums are working 24/7 to clear the bodies. The people who are roaming around still live with parents/grandparents.

there is no point to living if its just suffaration. stay home, stay safe

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2021, 1:58 pm

sMASH wrote:

i say, move as many businesses to outdoor, open air settings as much as they can. definitely keep the indoors closed. restauraunts, parlours, lil trades. set up ur tents and roadside vending as u can.
Mobility is your overlooked factor. Few walk to their destinations in Trinidad and fewer still bicycle. Fifty-six percent of the population is using public transportation in close proximity to each other every day.

Half of population using public transport, ‘H’ taxis—statistics

Statistics at February 15, 2021 showed the average number of people who use public transport on a daily and weekly basis is estimated to be 728,000 - about 56 percent of T&T’s population .

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/half-of ... 41ed6947ed
Last edited by adnj on May 5th, 2021, 1:58 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 2:00 pm

already showing a down ward trend. if the lock down was the cause of the reduction, it would happen from a week to two weeks after the lockdown, cause thats when u get enough viral loading to show up in the patients. all now its supposed to be still increasing or at least maintaining its rate.

any covid contraction altering event will have a lag time of 7 to 14 days before it shows up in the data.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 5th, 2021, 2:03 pm

Prelim figures for today is already around 400 positives. An 52 added to hospital so far. Let's see what they disclose at 4pm

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 2:05 pm

adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Mobility is your overlooked factor. Few walk to their destinations in Trinidad and fewer still bicycle. Fifty percent of the population is using public transportation in close proximity to each other.

taxis, maxis, bus running 75 capacity since spetember or so last year. kept the same up until monday when rowley said 50%. unless they all decided to do go 100% one month ago, which would the time to be the cause of the spread. that was not the reason. no change in that system while there were months of relatively stable or low covid rates.

if u want to say that transport cause this spike, u have to explain why the numbers kept low for months before when they were at 75%

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 5th, 2021, 2:10 pm

sMASH wrote:Image

already showing a down ward trend. if the lock down was the cause of the reduction, it would happen from a week to two weeks after the lockdown, cause thats when u get enough viral loading to show up in the patients. all now its supposed to be still increasing or at least maintaining its rate.

any covid contraction altering event will have a lag time of 7 to 14 days before it shows up in the data.

Dude cases are not going down, the test numbers are 30% higher than last week and the positivity rate is up or at least the same.

This means we are in a for a few 300+ days maybe a 400+ day this week.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 5th, 2021, 2:12 pm

Public transport can be safe if all Windows were down.

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2021, 2:15 pm

sMASH wrote:
adnj wrote:
sMASH wrote:

Mobility is your overlooked factor. Few walk to their destinations in Trinidad and fewer still bicycle. Fifty percent of the population is using public transportation in close proximity to each other.

taxis, maxis, bus running 75 capacity since spetember or so last year. kept the same up until monday when rowley said 50%. unless they all decided to do go 100% one month ago, which would the time to be the cause of the spread. that was not the reason. no change in that system while there were months of relatively stable or low covid rates.

if u want to say that transport cause this spike, u have to explain why the numbers kept low for months before when they were at 75%
You have a spike now. Leaving businesses open encourages mobility. A consequence of mobility is taxi and public transportation use.

Public transportation didn't cause a spike in infections. It merely perpetuates the spread.
Last edited by adnj on May 5th, 2021, 2:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2021, 2:21 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Public transport can be safe if all Windows were down.
Read the study...

Research reveals how airflow inside a car may affect COVID-19 transmission risk

The study, by a team of Brown University researchers, used computer models to simulate the airflow inside a compact car with various combinations of windows open or closed. The simulations showed that opening windows — the more windows the better — created airflow patterns that dramatically reduced the concentration of airborne particles exchanged between a driver and a single passenger. Blasting the car’s ventilation system didn’t circulate air nearly as well as a few open windows, the researchers found.

The researchers stress that there’s no way to eliminate risk completely — and, of course, current guidance from the U.S. Centers for Disease Control (CDC) notes that postponing travel and staying home is the best way to protect personal and community health. The goal of the study was simply to study how changes in airflow inside a car may worsen or reduce risk of pathogen transmission. 

It’s important to note, the researchers say, that airflow adjustments are no substitute for mask-wearing by both occupants when inside a car. And the findings are limited to potential exposure to lingering aerosols that may contain pathogens. The study did not model larger respiratory droplets or the risk of actually becoming infected by the virus.

Still, the researchers say the study provides valuable new insights into air circulation patterns inside a car’s passenger compartment — something that had received little attention before now. 

https://www.brown.edu/news/2020-12-04/airflow

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2021, 2:30 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:Public transport can be safe if all Windows were down.
US CDC advises against many issues on public transportation in addition to ventilation.

-------

Rideshare, carpool, taxi, limo for-hire vehicle passengers

Avoid riding with unmasked drivers or passengers.

Avoid a vehicle in which the driver or other passengers are not properly using masks covering their nose and mouth.

Practice physical distancing.

Limit the number of passengers in the vehicle to only those who need to travel with you.

Avoid shared rides where multiple passengers are picked up who are not in the same household.

Sit in the back seat in larger vehicles, such as vans and buses, so you can remain at least 6 feet (about 2 arm lengths) away, or as far as possible, from the driver. When possible, sit in the rear seat diagonally across from the driver.

Improve ventilation.

Ask the driver to improve the ventilation in the vehicle if possible — for example, by opening the windows or setting the air ventilation/air conditioning on non-recirculation mode.

Avoid touching surfaces.

Avoid contact with surfaces frequently touched by passengers or drivers, such as the door frame and handles, windows, and other vehicle parts. In circumstances where such contact is unavoidable, use a hand sanitizer containing at least 60% alcohol or soap and water as soon as possible afterwards.

Avoid accepting offers of free water bottles and avoid touching magazines or other items that may be provided for free to passengers.

Use touchless payment when available.

Practice hand hygiene.

After leaving the vehicle, use hand sanitizer containing at least 60% alcohol.

When you arrive at your destination, wash your hands with soap and water for at least 20 seconds.

Do not eat or drink when using rideshare.

Refrain from eating or drinking in a rideshare vehicle to ensure mask use at all times. Plan to eat and drink outside of the vehicle when you are not near other people.

If you would like to eat or drink after exiting a rideshare vehicle, be sure to find a space at least 6 feet (about 2 arm lengths) away from other people and wash your hands with soap and water or use hand sanitizer before eating or drinking and before removing your mask or touching your face.

https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-nc ... licTransit

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 2:35 pm

didnt say not to travel. its part of life. but rowlers didnt shut down transport, just dropped them back to 50%, thats good enough, cause less people on the roads any hows. thats one person in front and one person in the back, more or less one person per row.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 5th, 2021, 2:45 pm

My issue for months is that MoH has never once spoke about ventilation in buildings in public transport etc.

Those things make a huge difference.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 5th, 2021, 2:46 pm

What is the balance between shutting down and economic activity?
We can't lockdown for extended periods of time because we will go broke and die from poverty.
Government ain't have sh!t to give you when morning come and they all collecting full salary with perks so it easy for them to say stay home.

Postby teems1 » May 5th, 2021, 3:00 pm

sMASH wrote:
teems1 wrote:

there is no point to living if its just suffaration. stay home, stay safe

That is one opinion to have.

There's others who have the opinion it's better to suffer for a short while, get this spread under control, vaccinate the population then return to normal.

Yall are acting as if there there is no vaccine in sight and we'll have to endure years more of this.

There are multiple vaccines which were made available in record breaking times. All the world's manufacturing facilities are working at max capacity to get the world back to normal.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 5th, 2021, 3:02 pm

sMASH wrote:didnt say not to travel. its part of life. but rowlers didnt shut down transport, just dropped them back to 50%, thats good enough, cause less people on the roads any hows. thats one person in front and one person in the back, more or less one person per row.
Where you seeing that? I not seeing that being practiced nor on paper.

_20210504_085554.JPG

This is what is currently published.