COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

ST Auto

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11706 cases, 185 deaths, 2689 active, 8832 recovered in T&T

Postby ST Auto » May 4th, 2021, 7:35 pm

I think at the end of the day too much ppl moving around still. An lots of ppl still don't know how to use a mask

ScHoolboySoloQ

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11706 cases, 185 deaths, 2689 active, 8832 recovered in T&T

Postby ScHoolboySoloQ » May 4th, 2021, 7:54 pm

Venes walking around with no mask or with the mask in their hand, you can't tell who came here yesterday illegally or not. Then we wonder why things going haywire.

Postby paid_influencer » May 4th, 2021, 8:04 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:was sitting on this infographic but I guess time to post it.

i6glX09.jpeg

Above shows the outcome of a COVID19 outbreak in a nursing home. Most of the nursing home residents and staff were vaccinated, but not all.

As you can see, vaccinated people are not immune to contracting COVID or dying from COVID. But when you compare the vaccinated group to the unvaccinated group, one is absolutely wrecked while the other is much better off.

Nice graphic, got a source for this info though?

glad you asked

the infographic comes from this lady:
https://yourlocalepidemiologist.substac ... n-campaign

who claims to have used this CDC article as the basis for the infographic
https://www.cdc.gov/mmwr/volumes/70/wr/ ... 21-DM55279

I don't claim to fact-check the infographics I share online, so this may be false, as most infographics tend to be

Postby paid_influencer » May 4th, 2021, 8:17 pm

redmanjp wrote:i said months ago that businesses should invest in Ecommerce, just in case another lockdown happened. I wonder how much did.

Can anyone say whether u can make deliveries of products ordered online if your business is closed to the public?

Most e-commerce businesses are just whatsapp numbers where people drop off stuff to each other. Most of these businesses don't have a storefront, because rent makes the whole venture a loss-making effort.

I'm sure plenty of people still hustling and trying to do deliveries themselves, but really not sure if the small money worth the risk (both in terms of crime and covid). I know some that using actual couriers for the delivery, but that is $50+ per shipment and plenty customers saying that too expensive.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 4th, 2021, 8:42 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:I think this is what we can expect this week. I suspect it might be the peak if the previous lockdown was effective.

Screenshot 2021-05-04 at 7.27.18 pm.png
Death projections?

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11313 cases, 174 deaths, 2596 active, 8633 recovered in T&T

Postby De Dragon » May 4th, 2021, 9:02 pm

daring dragoon wrote:from that list the only business closed is chinese play whe, food places, clothes stores, shoe stores, variety stores an so much people bitching about loosing 3 weeks pay or 3 weeks business. he should of implemented a curfew, close everything except groceries, shops, meat shops, hardware and electrical. if your car mashup you cant drive so stay the furk home. too much people still around in my opinion.

So if you're an essential worker, walk/bike to work :?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 4th, 2021, 10:32 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
redmanjp wrote:i said months ago that businesses should invest in Ecommerce, just in case another lockdown happened. I wonder how much did.

Can anyone say whether u can make deliveries of products ordered online if your business is closed to the public?

Most e-commerce businesses are just whatsapp numbers where people drop off stuff to each other. Most of these businesses don't have a storefront, because rent makes the whole venture a loss-making effort.

I'm sure plenty of people still hustling and trying to do deliveries themselves, but really not sure if the small money worth the risk (both in terms of crime and covid). I know some that using actual couriers for the delivery, but that is $50+ per shipment and plenty customers saying that too expensive.

Add the fact that some couriers don't service some areas, in term of pick-ups and drop-offs, which means that you may have to use two systems of delivery to get you package out.
Or the business owner may agree to meet the courier at a particular point to hand of the deliveries.
Returns are also an issue depending on driver availability.

Postby redmanjp » May 4th, 2021, 10:40 pm

is the lockdown going to prevent this or would it still happen?

Postby teems1 » May 4th, 2021, 10:55 pm

redmanjp wrote:is the lockdown going to prevent this or would it still happen?

It should delay it once the number of cases goes down.

Hopefully long enough to roll out more vaccines.

Postby De Dragon » May 5th, 2021, 12:46 am

teems1 wrote:

It should delay it once the number of cases goes down.

Hopefully long enough to roll out more vaccines.

Have to have vaccines to roll out. Salty say next batch end of May, and more worryingly the next batch after that the date is unknown.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11706 cases, 185 deaths, 2689 active, 8832 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » May 5th, 2021, 6:00 am

the couple in their 40's who died within last week was a vegetable vendor in tunapuna market

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 5th, 2021, 7:52 am

Depends in this week's positive case loads.
If we see positive of 250+ over the next 3 days then for sure we will become overwhelmed in 10 days.
We may have another issue with dead bodies filling the morgue faster than they can be disposed of.

Postby De Dragon » May 5th, 2021, 7:56 am

wtf wrote:

Depends in this week's positive case loads.
If we see positive of 250+ over the next 3 days then for sure we will become overwhelmed in 10 days.
We may have another issue with dead bodies filling the morgue faster than they can be disposed of.

Currently admissions are exceeding discharges, so at this rate it's only a matter of time. What is needed is a hard brake on the positive cases, but unfortunately cases taper off in most instances.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 5th, 2021, 8:04 am

I expect Rowley to implement more measures today.
Possible curfew.
IMG-20210504-WA0153.jpeg

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 5th, 2021, 8:05 am

Doubt it. They would have said he having a press conference. Not moh. That's regular updates they going to give
wtf wrote:I expect Rowley to implement more measures today.
Possible curfew.
IMG-20210504-WA0153.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » May 5th, 2021, 8:18 am

Ground report say 4 ppl died already...you gotta confirm if that tru later

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2021, 8:31 am

Trinidad's daily mortality rate compared to the rest of the Caribbean and Latin America.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 9:14 am

why locking down outdoor activity is a dumb idea

even in ur own home is a higher risk to get infected than outdoors, if u dont live alone.

allyuh does let fear manage allyuh decisions rather than comon sense. if u want to reduce numbers, encourage businesses to do more OUTDOOR activity, and mask up and distance.

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2021, 9:39 am

sMASH wrote:why locking down outdoor activity is a dumb idea

even in ur own home is a higher risk to get infected than outdoors, if u dont live alone.

allyuh does let fear manage allyuh decisions rather than comon sense. if u want to reduce numbers, encourage businesses to do more OUTDOOR activity, and mask up and distance.
Huh?! Where do you think that the people in your house get it from? FROM PEOPLE OUTSIDE YOUR HOUSE.

Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11706 cases, 185 deaths, 2689 active, 8832 recovered in T&T

Postby MaxPower » May 5th, 2021, 9:44 am

sMASH wrote:why locking down outdoor activity is a dumb idea

Hello sMASH,

Thank you for the videos.

Businesses can pull their hand and set up outdoor activity, but the majority of the public are NOT masking up, sanitizing and distancing.

The Govt did give the people a chance...they eventually closed the restaurants (mostly indoor) and allowed street food initially (mostly outdoor) but Trinis continued to be irresponsible.

You cannot ask or beg the public to comply and they are NOT cooperating. The only solution i see is to lock everything down and keep everyone home. We have too many people on the road going back and forth unnecessarily especially for home/family limes and private parties. Too much crowds at the groceries etc.

Master Keith said STOP MOVING and since last year he said DO NOT CONGREGATE.

What are we really doing T&T?

If cases/deaths become uncontrollable....we will leave the Govt no choice.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 10:23 am

u dont ABSOLUTELY need to mask up outside. u only NEEED to do so if ur interacting closely or for a duration. standing up for a doubles is no problem. and people not masking up outside, i have not seen that to any great extent. i have seen vagrants and police and govt officials without masks. but the general public acceptably compliant

so, take the crap with NOT DATA TO PROVE IT. all u have is fear mongering and a drive to bankrupt the poorr people

cause pnm mantra is to keep the people poor, hungry and dotish, thats how u keep votes.

poor - tax and ticket like dat, dont study the dollar
hungry - eating two banana, eat one from now
dotish - eliminate the concordat so that the prestige school children can benefit from the state run models.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 5th, 2021, 10:27 am

Smash

Stop spreading misinformation and falsehoods. That is dangerous.

The whole point about lockdowns is to stop people who are infected from interacting with the general population or to decrease the amount.

This has nothing to do with outdoor vs indoor spread etc. This is to decrease the movement and migration of infected persons.

Stop ya foolishness

Postby adnj » May 5th, 2021, 10:37 am

sMASH wrote:u dont ABSOLUTELY need to mask up outside. u only NEEED to do so if ur interacting closely or for a duration. standing up for a doubles is no problem. and people not masking up outside, i have not seen that to any great extent. i have seen vagrants and police and govt officials without masks. but the general public acceptably compliant

so, take the crap with NOT DATA TO PROVE IT. all u have is fear mongering and a drive to bankrupt the poorr people

cause pnm mantra is to keep the people poor, hungry and dotish, thats how u keep votes.

dotish - eliminate the concordat so that the prestige school children can benefit from the state run models.
.....Image

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 11:03 am

Redress10 wrote:Smash

Stop spreading misinformation and falsehoods. That is dangerous.

The whole point about lockdowns is to stop people who are infected from interacting with the general population or to decrease the amount.

This has nothing to do with outdoor vs indoor spread etc. This is to decrease the movement and migration of infected persons.

Stop ya foolishness
Corect, the push is th reduce movement.

But there is no data to show that the virus was contracted by outdorr interaction. Ur stopping an activity that has little impact on covid spread.

U still ahve to go grocery and u still ahve to come home.

Check back ur graphs, the daily cases already on the way down. If this lock down would have reduced the spread, thst turn would be seen next week kto thr following week, as it takes a two weeks to become detectible in tests.

Misinformation is pushing the philosophy thst being outside spreads covid.
U have a greater risk Catching covid going to work 50% cpaspcity that lining up for doubles.

If u want to stop covid spread, put as much activity outside as u can, if u have to do it.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 11:07 am

If gortt was paying people to sheit down, then go right ahead. But telling people to cease earning their income with no substitute, then that is why locking down the country is the wrong approach. Cause u have no science to show that its necessary.

VII

Postby VII » May 5th, 2021, 11:08 am

So you need someone with a title before their name to spoon feed you obvious and basic logic ? Steups.
Last edited by VII on May 5th, 2021, 11:38 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » May 5th, 2021, 11:28 am

sMASH wrote:If gortt was paying people to sheit down, then go right ahead. But telling people to cease earning their income with no substitute, then that is why locking down the country is the wrong approach. Cause u have no science to show that its necessary.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=761717

It's not Trinidad alone
A lot of countries have had good results with lockdowns

Postby teems1 » May 5th, 2021, 11:44 am

sMASH wrote:u dont ABSOLUTELY need to mask up outside. u only NEEED to do so if ur interacting closely or for a duration. standing up for a doubles is no problem. and people not masking up outside, i have not seen that to any great extent. i have seen vagrants and police and govt officials without masks. but the general public acceptably compliant

You think any Government wants to destroy their economy and make the reelection much more difficult?

He's trying to avoid the health sector turning into India.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 11:52 am

sMASH wrote:If gortt was paying people to sheit down, then go right ahead. But telling people to cease earning their income with no substitute, then that is why locking down the country is the wrong approach. Cause u have no science to show that its necessary.

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=761717

It's not Trinidad alone
A lot of countries have had good results with lockdowns

no matter how many people do it, it is the wrong ting to do. they have even LESS data to show that people got covid by the doubles places.

Postby sMASH » May 5th, 2021, 11:57 am

teems1 wrote:

You think any Government wants to destroy their economy and make the reelection much more difficult?

He's trying to avoid the health sector turning into India.

rowley dont care bout reeletion, the man nearly kick the bucket twice in a couple months time. why u think he rush and bring in sonnel them for christmas... that was jess in case.

but stopping outdoor activity will NOT reduce covid spread. the closure of the indoor places WILL do so, agreed. but i am saying, let them reopen to outdoor business, buy and ride, curb side pick up, bazaar style shopping. cause, u will not get any signficant increase in covid that way, and people coudl still earn a living and enjoy life.

and his base will vote pnm no matter what. they get kick in their teeth, them votes lock.