COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Numb3r4

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11313 cases, 174 deaths, 2596 active, 8633 recovered in T&T

Postby Numb3r4 » May 3rd, 2021, 11:09 pm

30's he said.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11313 cases, 174 deaths, 2596 active, 8633 recovered in T&T

Postby Dizzy28 » May 3rd, 2021, 11:16 pm

Private sector healthcare staff is public sector healthcare staff brah
redmanjp wrote:
Kenjo wrote:The last year people being told to wear masks and they didn’t over the last few months and the P1 variant snuck in and we might be heading for field hospitals which jamaica at one point was aiming towards . Basic summary .

more beds is one thing, what about the staff for all these exponentially larger amount of patients? some of them also have to deal with vaccination too

perhaps private sector healthcare staff as well as army medics need to come to the rescue

Postby j.o.e » May 3rd, 2021, 11:43 pm

IMG_3187.JPG

Postby Country_Bookie » May 4th, 2021, 12:07 am

Just think how much ppl was crowding around each other between Thursday night and Monday night.
Last lap for fast food restaurants, now last lap for street food. Plus month end groceries for many coincided with ppl panic buying . I shudder to think how many cases we might get in the next couple weeks.

Postby redmanjp » May 4th, 2021, 12:21 am

Postby sMASH » May 4th, 2021, 4:26 am

imagine if they applied that same bed occupancy fervor to regular days in sando hospital.

when countries posted overwhelmed covid vids, those were AVERAGE days in sando.
u can very well go into sando, make a vid, title it as 'covid spike' and shock the world.

Postby De Dragon » May 4th, 2021, 5:08 am

sMASH wrote:imagine if they applied that same bed occupancy fervor to regular days in sando hospital.

when countries posted overwhelmed covid vids, those were AVERAGE days in sando.
u can very well go into sando, make a vid, title it as 'covid spike' and shock the world.

Sadly, with the LFD RFD PNM in charge, we will see a return to that post-Covid :roll:

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 4th, 2021, 5:19 am

redmanjp wrote:As I was warning, what happening in brazil is now happening here, thanks to the P1 variant.

Chief Medical Officer, Dr Roshan Parasram has announced that younger persons without comorbidities have recently died from Covid-19.
Dr Parasram made the statement at the Prime Minister’s media conference held today (Monday 03 May, 2021) at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann's.
Dr Parasram said, “We did see a couple deaths in younger people - one in the 30's, a couple in the 40’s without comorbidities in the last few days - which is a worrying trend and it is a concern.”
While testing to confirm if these deaths have been linked to the P1 variant (Brazilian variant) is still to be done, Dr Parasram said the variant which is said to be 1.5 to 2.5 times more transmissible, certainly has a role to play in the increasing number of Covid-19 cases reported.
He said, “what we are seeing is increasing viral loads of persons, meaning they have a higher viral load, and a lot of times, they have less symptoms in the early stages”.
He said this is a recipe for quicker spread as it causes the virus to move through a population much faster.
Dr Parasram also revealed that the Ministry of Health is reporting 10 additional cases of the variant, which were detected among samples from across the country. This brings the total number of positive samples for the P1 variant to 25.

reading the dr announcement make me wonder if he means 'couple' as in 2 and means 1 in 30's and 2 in 40's which equals 3 or means a couple in their 40's. from the beginning he used to speak like he from central. 1st he say a couple deaths which means 2. the man say a
'COUPLE IN THE 40'S'
which means they probably have children under 16 which means they were made orphans, all beacuse 99% trinidadians is dotish

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 4th, 2021, 5:24 am

Country_Bookie wrote:Just think how much ppl was crowding around each other between Thursday night and Monday night.
Last lap for fast food restaurants, now last lap for street food. Plus month end groceries for many coincided with ppl panic buying . I shudder to think how many cases we might get in the next couple weeks.

they go fight up with last lap for hospital bed and oxygen.

Postby A172 » May 4th, 2021, 7:12 am

just got the legal notice

car dealerships & service centres can open
976829317.jpeg
Last edited by A172 on May 4th, 2021, 7:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 4th, 2021, 7:13 am

daring dragoon wrote:
redmanjp wrote:As I was warning, what happening in brazil is now happening here, thanks to the P1 variant.

Chief Medical Officer, Dr Roshan Parasram has announced that younger persons without comorbidities have recently died from Covid-19.
Dr Parasram made the statement at the Prime Minister’s media conference held today (Monday 03 May, 2021) at the Diplomatic Centre, St Ann's.
Dr Parasram said, “We did see a couple deaths in younger people - one in the 30's, a couple in the 40’s without comorbidities in the last few days - which is a worrying trend and it is a concern.”
While testing to confirm if these deaths have been linked to the P1 variant (Brazilian variant) is still to be done, Dr Parasram said the variant which is said to be 1.5 to 2.5 times more transmissible, certainly has a role to play in the increasing number of Covid-19 cases reported.
He said, “what we are seeing is increasing viral loads of persons, meaning they have a higher viral load, and a lot of times, they have less symptoms in the early stages”.
He said this is a recipe for quicker spread as it causes the virus to move through a population much faster.
Dr Parasram also revealed that the Ministry of Health is reporting 10 additional cases of the variant, which were detected among samples from across the country. This brings the total number of positive samples for the P1 variant to 25.

reading the dr announcement make me wonder if he means 'couple' as in 2 and means 1 in 30's and 2 in 40's which equals 3 or means a couple in their 40's. from the beginning he used to speak like he from central. 1st he say a couple deaths which means 2. the man say a
'COUPLE IN THE 40'S'
which means they probably have children under 16 which means they were made orphans, all beacuse 99% trinidadians is dotish

I know of a 3 year old girl who died because of the P1. Child's mother is a friend of the family.

Postby Kenjo » May 4th, 2021, 7:38 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
daring dragoon wrote:

'COUPLE IN THE 40'S'

I know of a 3 year old girl who died because of the P1. Child's mother is a friend of the family.

In Trinidad ? But why that isn’t making news ? The vaccine ‘ death ‘ was all the rave a few weeks ago to scare away old people from taking the vaccine to open up spots for younger media personnel to get a story headline

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 4th, 2021, 7:51 am

Yes sir Trinidad! Central area to be exact.

Postby MG Man » May 4th, 2021, 8:08 am

I expect to die from this. Never regained full lung capacity form pneumonia some years ago, so even regular virus sometimes frigs me up pretty bad

carluva

Postby carluva » May 4th, 2021, 8:10 am

Can you post a link?

I can't seem to locate this anywhere. Google searches have not turned this up.
A172 wrote:just got the legal notice

car dealerships, service centres and parts places can open
976829317.jpeg

Postby sMASH » May 4th, 2021, 8:13 am

last time, parts place did open till 12. cant remember if was the police give them a bligh cause they need parts, or if was official

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 4th, 2021, 8:18 am

Rowley have more changes to make.
He said he will do so by tomorrow when he knows people can't react to what he says with long lines.
Possible curfew?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 4th, 2021, 8:21 am

With regards to an earlier question on knowing people with Covid. My pardner tested positive last week a few days after his father. They both work in the same place and live in the same house albeit fairly separately. So the entire household is on quarantine having received the official notice last week Friday (5 days after the test results were revealed to them). So far no one is adversely symptom-ed.
Actually limed by that parnder a few weekends before so my wife was a bit bothered when I first told her.

My sister in law lives one street away from one of yesterday's 5 deaths and the wife of the deceased is currently (could have changed overnight though) one of those in ICU in Couva. 60ish couple.

Postby A172 » May 4th, 2021, 8:23 am

carluva wrote:Can you post a link?

car dealerships, service centres and parts places can open
796520590.jpeg

nah i just have the pdf

carluva

Postby carluva » May 4th, 2021, 8:24 am

carluva wrote:Can you post a link?

car dealerships, service centres and parts places can open976829317.jpeg

Found it on the Facebook page of the Ministry of Legal Affairs.

https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set ... tn__=-UC-R

Postby Chimera » May 4th, 2021, 8:27 am

I can open as well. I'm keeping doors closed with a sign to call us for information though. Does always have a set of people who just wanna come to "look" and to ask senseless questions that can be done over the phone
Screenshot_20210504-082644_Drive.jpeg

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 4th, 2021, 10:42 am

MG Man wrote:I expect to die from this. Never regained full lung capacity form pneumonia some years ago, so even regular virus sometimes frigs me up pretty bad

You can avoid this. Don'tet anyone tell you otherwise. As long as you take all necessary precautions you will be fine. This virus requires close contact to transmit. Just take extra precautions to the point of paranoia and you will be good.

If you need to wear two masks and face shield then do that etc. Create a bubble around yaself as well. You screen who could come and see ya. You protect yaself pardner.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 4th, 2021, 10:50 am

^^ Don’t be afraid to be the only person in your circle who is sanitising and trying to protect yourself.
Make your safety your focus.

Postby aaron17 » May 4th, 2021, 10:59 am

Are they planning to increase capacity or anything in adavance due to the projected overflow of the parallel system within the 10 days?

Postby MG Man » May 4th, 2021, 11:06 am

Redress10 wrote:
MG Man wrote:I expect to die from this. Never regained full lung capacity form pneumonia some years ago, so even regular virus sometimes frigs me up pretty bad

You can avoid this. Don'tet anyone tell you otherwise. As long as you take all necessary precautions you will be fine. This virus requires close contact to transmit. Just take extra precautions to the point of paranoia and you will be good.

If you need to wear two masks and face shield then do that etc. Create a bubble around yaself as well. You screen who could come and see ya. You protect yaself pardner.

yeah I take every precaution, but ya never know

Postby j.o.e » May 4th, 2021, 11:17 am

Redress10 wrote:

yeah I take every precaution, but ya never know

Have you been vaccinated? If not you should work on that….. show up at a mass vaccination site and explain your situation if they don’t think you meet the criteria.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 4th, 2021, 11:22 am

Vaccine appointment today at 1pm

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 4th, 2021, 11:24 am

ST Auto wrote:Vaccine appointment today at 1pm
Wouldn't take that if I were you.

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 4th, 2021, 11:39 am

Why not?

Postby adnj » May 4th, 2021, 11:41 am

wtf wrote:
ST Auto wrote:Vaccine appointment today at 1pm
Wouldn't take that if I were you.
....Image