COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11313 cases, 174 deaths, 2596 active, 8633 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » May 3rd, 2021, 4:55 pm

What Rowley feel it is..
Screenshot_20210503-165040_Facebook.jpeg

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 11313 cases, 174 deaths, 2596 active, 8633 recovered in T&T

Postby nervewrecker » May 3rd, 2021, 5:03 pm

So same laws apply like last time for essential and non essentia

Postby aaron17 » May 3rd, 2021, 5:16 pm

wtf wrote:What Rowley feel it is..Screenshot_20210503-165040_Facebook.jpeg

What Rowley trying to say is chill at home.

VII

Postby VII » May 3rd, 2021, 5:22 pm

The same idiots complaining about the harsh measures are the same idiots complaining about spikes associated with softening up of measures..

Postby redmanjp » May 3rd, 2021, 5:22 pm

nervewrecker wrote:So same laws apply like last time for essential and non essentia

it's not a curfew, but if u doh have to wuk, or go grocery, drug store then keep yuh tail home

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2021, 5:27 pm

j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:again, dumb measures, as the same number of people have to eat, and have thigns to do, so they forcing the same number of people to utilize a reduced number of outlets. thus inducing the thing u sought to prevent.

as someone else pointed out in a white man country; if u close restaurants, u force people to cook so they have to go to the grocery. if u close the grocery, u force people to buy, so all go to restaurants. but if u leave all open then the people can spread out as can be.

dumb govt, is dumb.

What’s your suggestion as an alternative?

close doors, not ur businesses. do street selling, set up tent and counter and mimic the carnival style street selling.
each business like groceries, hardware, supermarkets, general variety stores, stick to a certain number inside, as people come out, bouncers let go in.
u have to be social distanced, and when interacting masked up. correct, mask are not necessary in open spaces, only with close interaction does it help.

thats bascially it, nothign radical. space out, mask up in doors and when u have to interact with people outdoors. as well as set up roadside vending for any business able to do it, and shutter the indoor sales. buy and ride.

if u can allocate some parking lots and feilds to set up bazaar style shopping better yet.

take license officers and put them to monitor distancing. wasting people time on the roadways.

Postby hover11 » May 3rd, 2021, 5:31 pm

sMASH wrote:
j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:again, dumb measures, as the same number of people have to eat, and have thigns to do, so they forcing the same number of people to utilize a reduced number of outlets. thus inducing the thing u sought to prevent.

as someone else pointed out in a white man country; if u close restaurants, u force people to cook so they have to go to the grocery. if u close the grocery, u force people to buy, so all go to restaurants. but if u leave all open then the people can spread out as can be.

dumb govt, is dumb.

close doors, not ur businesses. do street selling, set up tent and counter and mimic the carnival style street selling.
each business like groceries, hardware, supermarkets, general variety stores, stick to a certain number inside, as people come out, bouncers let go in.
u have to be social distanced, and when interacting masked up. correct, mask are not necessary in open spaces, only with close interaction does it help.

thats bascially it, nothign radical. space out, mask up in doors and when u have to interact with people outdoors. as well as set up roadside vending for any business able to do it, and shutter the indoor sales. buy and ride.

if u can allocate some parking lots and feilds to set up bazaar style shopping better yet.

take license officers and put them to monitor distancing. wasting people time on the roadways.
While they are good suggestions, however, the mentality of the ppl is another there is total disregard for the mask wearing protocols, mind you a mask does not prevent you from getting the virus it is still possible to catch the virus even with one. A total lockdown is needed look at the point we reached to, by Friday we will not have enough beds and equipment to deal with any more patients and the health system will crash

Postby j.o.e » May 3rd, 2021, 5:55 pm

sMASH wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

dumb govt, is dumb.

In an ideal world but can you MAKE people space out, properly wear masks etc ? I feel like it’s common sense but that’s not so common.

Postby nervewrecker » May 3rd, 2021, 6:00 pm

redmanjp wrote:
nervewrecker wrote:So same laws apply like last time for essential and non essentia

it's not a curfew, but if u doh have to wuk, or go grocery, drug store then keep yuh tail home

Hence the reason I asking. Our line of work is along sanitation and maintenance, ruled essential during last lockdown.
For example, if we have a breakdown in a hospital or on a boat out in the sea coming from or gong to a platform it will be messed up if we cant go.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » May 3rd, 2021, 6:01 pm

So how much money this govt gave these religious bodies so far in the name of this pandemic?

10 million jump out like is nothing.

edit - now saw the article for the 30 mil over 3 months.
Last edited by Soul Collector on May 3rd, 2021, 6:17 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby redmanjp » May 3rd, 2021, 6:06 pm

hover11 wrote:
sMASH wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

dumb govt, is dumb.

While they are good suggestions, however, the mentality of the ppl is another there is total disregard for the mask wearing protocols, mind you a mask does not prevent you from getting the virus it is still possible to catch the virus even with one. A total lockdown is needed look at the point we reached to, by Friday we will not have enough beds and equipment to deal with any more patients and the health system will crash

yeah. outdoors may be less risk than indoors but with this very high level of infection and factoring in the P1 more contagious variant as well as non compliance we need more strict measures right now. maybe in a 2 weeks what u say cud work once we see cases coming down. but imagine we supposed to have almost 1000 beds and they could all be filled in 7-10 days is worrying.

death365

Postby death365 » May 3rd, 2021, 6:12 pm

Iz meh people ah talking bout... So ah kno..

Public service in most ministry ALL they staff being classified as essential... Jus think bout it... ALL

Postby adnj » May 3rd, 2021, 6:12 pm

j.o.e wrote:
sMASH wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

dumb govt, is dumb.

In an ideal world but can you MAKE people space out, properly wear masks etc ? I feel like it’s common sense but that’s not so common.
Some groceries and hardware stores are already controlling the number of shoppers, asking shoppers inside to space out, and using more cashiers to get shoppers outside faster.

Postby pugboy » May 3rd, 2021, 6:21 pm

well one thing for sure is we have had a steady death rate, lets hope the measures arrest that soon

but i dont feel things will drop very low by the 23rd, may take more than a few weeks to get low figures

Postby Strugglerzinc » May 3rd, 2021, 6:23 pm

death365 wrote:Iz meh people ah talking bout... So ah kno..

Public service in most ministry ALL they staff being classified as essential... Jus think bout it... ALL

Permanent secretary in most ministries classing all staff as essential. Keith saying one thing to the public and doing something else in the background.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 3rd, 2021, 6:28 pm

Strugglerzinc wrote:
death365 wrote:Iz meh people ah talking bout... So ah kno..

Permanent secretary in most ministries classing all staff as essential. Keith saying one thing to the public and doing something else in the background.
At least they have a salary to expect.

Postby MaxPower » May 3rd, 2021, 6:34 pm

I doh mix matters in my mini marts at all.

I have a big breed creole boy who ensures mask are worn correctly AND in good condition.

Had to loud up a Trini boy with he Vene sweetheart...

Yuh cant be washing your hands half way and wiping it on your stink jeans and then pulling down your mask..and want to push up close close in the line.

Get with the program.

Had a meeting with the business community and we not making joke.

Postby zoom rader » May 3rd, 2021, 6:35 pm

Soul Collector wrote:So how much money this govt gave these religious bodies so far in the name of this pandemic?

10 million jump out like is nothing.

edit - now saw the article for the 30 mil over 3 months.
Most of these money will go to the red government jump and wave con churches to feed false pastors.

The very same church that Habit7 attends

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2021, 6:39 pm

nope, u dont NEEED that. the spread is MINIMAL outdoors. so much so that the peopel that STUDIED covid transmission still suggest to use masks, ONLY when u have to interact. in other words, banning outdoor activity will not reduce infections.

we didnt study where the people contracted the covid from. as said previously, our mentality is 'look people, they spreading covid'.
that not harmful, except when u use that to justify closing down businesses.
we also have to consider people need an income.

so, because outdoor activity will not increase covid, banning it will not decrease covid, people still need to do business, simply allow spaces for people to do thier businesses outdoors in open air with tents, who ever can do that business so.

and by pulling people outdoors, u limit indoor time, whcih IS THE WAY TO STOP THE SPREAD

Postby redmanjp » May 3rd, 2021, 6:54 pm

and ppl including 10s of thousands of carriers would be interacting with their chin diapers

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 3rd, 2021, 7:01 pm

What happens when the hospital is full with patients?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » May 3rd, 2021, 7:07 pm

They will overflow.

Postby aaron17 » May 3rd, 2021, 7:25 pm

And they will not transfer to public hospitals.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 3rd, 2021, 7:25 pm

sMASH wrote:nope, u dont NEEED that. the spread is MINIMAL outdoors. so much so that the peopel that STUDIED covid transmission still suggest to use masks, ONLY when u have to interact. in other words, banning outdoor activity will not reduce infections.

we didnt study where the people contracted the covid from. as said previously, our mentality is 'look people, they spreading covid'.

so, because outdoor activity will not increase covid, banning it will not decrease covid, people still need to do business, simply allow spaces for people to do thier businesses outdoors in open air with tents, who ever can do that business so.

and by pulling people outdoors, u limit indoor time, whcih IS THE WAY TO STOP THE SPREAD

I have been saying this for weeks or months now.

What annoys me is people bad talking people lining up, social-spaced buying doubles. What they doing wrong?

They all following protocols and they're helping the local economy and at least helping their mental health a bit by getting out. And even if they wear their masks wrongly, the outdoor spread of covid is very very unlikely.

Imagine, this annoying ass chick on Facebook continuously posting about people 'jackassing the scene'. Yet she in the office every day wearing no mask, posing for selfies with people in the office.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » May 3rd, 2021, 7:31 pm

wtf wrote:What happens when the hospital is full with patients?

No hospital care

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 3rd, 2021, 7:37 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
sMASH wrote:nope, u dont NEEED that. the spread is MINIMAL outdoors. so much so that the peopel that STUDIED covid transmission still suggest to use masks, ONLY when u have to interact. in other words, banning outdoor activity will not reduce infections.

What annoys me is people bad talking people lining up, social-spaced buying doubles. What they doing wrong?

They all following protocols and they're helping the local economy and at least helping their mental health a bit by getting out. And even if they wear their masks wrongly, the outdoor spread of covid is very very unlikely.

Imagine, this annoying ass chick on Facebook continuously posting about people 'jackassing the scene'. Yet she in the office every day wearing no mask, posing for selfies with people in the office.

All those things are still risks theoretically. Covid protocols are there to decrease risks and not eliminate it so they are still at risks. Plain talk bad manners in the middle of a pandemic you shouldn't be doing anything unnecessarily risky. So basically work and home or work and "essentials".

Any activity that could be regarded as a luxury should be avoided.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 3rd, 2021, 7:37 pm

99% of people is kants yes, closing the door to a business for 20 days is easier than closing the cover of allyuh casket or one of your child casket after they dead dead dead from getting covid and the hospital full. stay home, eat roti/bread butter for 20 days, you will still survive and go back out to work.

Postby sMASH » May 3rd, 2021, 7:40 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

well, now there are numerous studies, by multiple institutions all across europe and north america that have their data to support it.
there is some amount of risk of spread out doors, but it is so rare that it outweighs the best protection of being indoors.

they did see some benefit to the UV as well, but not enough for it to be a determinant fact.

yes, the goal is to get this immediate spike down, but fleck, ppl hadda eat and there are alternatives that give the same results, if not better.

Postby matr1x » May 3rd, 2021, 7:40 pm

daring dragoon wrote:99% of people is kants yes, closing the door to a business for 20 days is easier than closing the cover of allyuh casket or one of your child casket after they dead dead dead from getting covid and the hospital full. stay home, eat roti/bread butter for 20 days, you will still survive and go back out to work.

Easy to say if you in not the one who have to run a business

Postby teems1 » May 3rd, 2021, 7:42 pm

Put in a chair until a bed becomes available.

If they need 02 hopefully a tank is given.
2WNBoost wrote:
wtf wrote:What happens when the hospital is full with patients?

No hospital care