Re: Food prices in Trinidad and Tobago

Postby st7 » June 12th, 2022, 1:04 pm

adnj wrote:
hover11 wrote:
st7 wrote:
hover11 wrote:Where did I say that, are you a dunce where did I ever say STOP importing? Bro can you read ,no serious question?

right here:

hover11 wrote:we have to STOP importing. i fed up see red govt people having fun with their own money.
This is where I end this discussion......class clown wins. Never argue with stupid ppl they will drag you down to their level and beat you with experience. Take win bro

Hoover really got his forum workout in this morning...

i had to cut it short because it gets more exhausting than entertaining when it's more than 4 reps

DMan7

Postby DMan7 » June 12th, 2022, 1:09 pm

Mr. Anti-Vaxxer ain't fed up make a fool of himself on this board? How much embarrassment could one person take?

Postby Dizzy28 » June 12th, 2022, 2:17 pm

Went Pricesmart this morning. Saw they have a two bottle limit on the cooking oils.

Don't recall seeing that before.

Postby hover11 » June 12th, 2022, 3:27 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Went Pricesmart this morning. Saw they have a two bottle limit on the cooking oils.

Don't recall seeing that before.
Isn't that how Venezuela's crisis began? Then the hyperinflation ensued

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 12th, 2022, 6:43 pm

Think I mentioned this about a month ago...and well it's coming to fruition

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/tt-like ... bc394aad45

Postby 88sins » June 13th, 2022, 5:38 am

Better get used to feeding yourself voluntarily now than having to do it by force due to necessity later, before it's too late.

Time to make some serious adjustments people

Postby hover11 » June 13th, 2022, 7:08 am

88sins wrote:Better get used to feeding yourself voluntarily now than having to do it by force due to necessity later, before it's too late.

Time to make some serious adjustments people
Don't know how the restaurant crew will make out. It will be hard for them.

Postby pugboy » June 13th, 2022, 7:46 am

franchise crew will keep buying, it is a vice just like ketchup

so whas allyuh fallback staple meals ?
ground provisions and what ?

matix

Postby matix » June 13th, 2022, 8:46 am

pugboy wrote:franchise crew will keep buying, it is a vice just like ketchup

Fish, smoke herring, saltfish.

Postby timelapse » June 13th, 2022, 8:50 am

matix wrote:

Bhaji, tomatoes, cassava, yard fowl,sweet potato .Plenty stuff in the yard.

Postby adnj » June 13th, 2022, 8:50 am

matix wrote:

Vegan diets are 40% less expensive.

Postby pugboy » June 13th, 2022, 8:55 am

locally made salt fish?

matix wrote:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 13th, 2022, 9:39 am

Cassava and cascadoux/ and any type of fish
Tomatoes choka and well any kinda choka does last with provision

List goes on

matix

Postby matix » June 13th, 2022, 10:00 am

pugboy wrote:locally made salt fish?

matix wrote:

Yes locally made, gotta ask for it in the markets

Postby hover11 » June 13th, 2022, 12:18 pm

Trinidad and Tobago produces very little alot of our "manufacturing" is repacking and assembly or where we do grow the base component is imported like feed or fertilizer. Hence any international disruption has a knock on effect to us. Basically we are at the mercy of suppliers.

death365

Postby death365 » June 13th, 2022, 12:20 pm

"i dont kno what vegan" diet u on but BELIEVE me that stf expensive.

adnj wrote:
matix wrote:

Postby bluefete » June 13th, 2022, 12:23 pm

breadfruit - the food of slaves, green fig, sweet potatoes, potatoes can all be locally grown. Can make some good soup and crushed provision.

If you are a meat eater, well, I sorry for you.

Check the old people like Zoom (wait, never mind) and see how what they ate back in the day.

Postby Chimera » June 13th, 2022, 12:33 pm

Need space and your own land to be able to grow your own though

Postby pugboy » June 13th, 2022, 12:45 pm

in old days of many places meat was not eaten every day

Postby adnj » June 13th, 2022, 12:50 pm

death365 wrote:"i dont kno what vegan" diet u on but BELIEVE me that stf expensive.

adnj wrote:
matix wrote:

This has been researched for a very, very long time.

The global and regional costs of healthy and sustainable dietary patterns: a modelling study

Published:October 26, 2021

Methods
In this modelling study, we used regionally comparable food prices from the International Comparison Program for 150 countries. We paired those prices with estimates of food demand for different dietary patterns that, in modelling studies, have been associated with reductions in premature mortality and environmental resource demand, including nutritionally balanced flexitarian, pescatarian, vegetarian, and vegan diets. We used estimates of food waste and projections of food demand and prices to specify food system and socioeconomic change scenarios up to 2050. In the full cost accounting, we estimated diet-related health-care costs by pairing a comparative risk assessment of dietary risks with cost-of-illness estimates, and we estimated climate change costs by pairing the diet scenarios with greenhouse gas emission footprints and estimates of the social cost of carbon.

Findings
Compared with the cost of current diets, the healthy and sustainable dietary patterns were, depending on the pattern, up to 22–34% lower in cost in upper-middle-income to high-income countries on average (when considering statistical means), but at least 18–29% more expensive in lower-middle-income to low-income countries. Reductions in food waste, a favourable socioeconomic development scenario, and a fuller cost accounting that included the diet-related costs of climate change and health care in the cost of diets increased the affordability of the dietary patterns in our future projections. When these measures were combined, the healthy and sustainable dietary patterns were up to 25–29% lower in cost in low-income to lower-middle-income countries, and up to 37% lower in cost on average, for the year 2050. Variants of vegetarian and vegan dietary patterns were generally most affordable, and pescatarian diets were least affordable.

https://www.thelancet.com/journals/lanplh/article/PIIS2542-5196(21)00251-5/fulltext

Postby bluefete » June 13th, 2022, 12:54 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Need space and your own land to be able to grow your own though

Very true. But there is always a kitchen garden. My cousin in the US grew limes from a plant in her apartment. Tomatoes can be grown in a pot so to can many other small edible items.

Postby bluefete » June 13th, 2022, 12:55 pm

pugboy wrote:in old days of many places meat was not eaten every day

Sunday special. if you know, you know.

Postby hover11 » June 13th, 2022, 12:58 pm

bluefete wrote:

Can the generation now adapt to such drastic changes if necessary? There was a time apples and grapes were only available Christmas time, seems things are about to get much worse

Postby bluefete » June 13th, 2022, 1:03 pm

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

Can the generation now adapt to such drastic changes if necessary? There was a time apples and grapes were only available Christmas time, seems things are about to get much worse

Human beings can adapt to any circumstance if they must.

The ban on apples and grapes in the 1970's forced us to appreciate locally grown foods.

In those days, Caroni was a major producer of citrus (oranges, portugals, limes, grapefruits etc). Many people do not remember this.

The difference now is that an orange is $5-$6 for ONE. An apple is the same price.

We will adapt as we always do, when things get hard. Research how people adapted during WW2.

Postby MaxPower » June 13th, 2022, 1:45 pm

I really dunno who Trinis fooling na.

The weekend behavior alone could show how Trinis asses are still too happy and comfortable especially in these times.

We need to look after our citizens that are genuinely affected.

Postby hover11 » June 13th, 2022, 2:04 pm

MaxPower wrote:I really dunno who Trinis fooling na.

The weekend behavior alone could show how Trinis asses are still too happy and comfortable especially in these times.

We need to look after our citizens that are genuinely affected.
How pray tell do we do that Max? The government created food card and social assistance for trinis yet trinis abuse it and the ones that don't actually need the help are the ones applying and getting through while the ones who genuinely need the assistance going through hoops to be denied.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » June 13th, 2022, 4:04 pm

shelves in walmart empty and shelves in TT still full. we have a ways to go before sheit hit the fan and by tine that world back to normal. nothing affects us here in trini.

Postby 88sins » June 13th, 2022, 5:14 pm

bluefete wrote:
Phone Surgeon wrote:Need space and your own land to be able to grow your own though

Very true. But there is always a kitchen garden. My cousin in the US grew limes from a plant in her apartment. Tomatoes can be grown in a pot so to can many other small edible items.

Not telling people to plant as though they going to sell in market, and the apartment people will be at some disadvantage,but it doesn't take much space as people think. If you can't grow horizontally, vertically is an alternative. I want to try growing potatoes in vessels to see how they come.

hover11 wrote:
bluefete wrote:

You'd be amazed at what humans can adapt to when they have no alternative. Haitians resorted to making mud cookies with actual dirt, salt and oil to survive when the shtf there some years ago.
With regards to meat, I telling allyuh since covid first hit, rabbit is a very viable alternative to poultry, and is much healthier than chicken, costs less to feed, don't need anywhere near as much space as poultry, easy to manage and breed, and the manure is excellent additive to growth medium for crops. I wouldn't even recommend chickens, not even yard fowl. Duck, maybe if you have the space and a source of cheap feed.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » June 13th, 2022, 6:12 pm

If you all are planting and rearing animals please be mindful of your surrounding, theft is a real thing especially you're doing it at your place of primary residence.

I know of folks who gave up on that idea when their premises were broken into.

Some folks even went so far as to cut down tress as they were attracting folks. Some areas the existing residence advise you not to plant certain plants as they attract theft.

Postby timelapse » June 13th, 2022, 7:19 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:If you all are planting and rearing animals please be mindful of your surrounding, theft is a real thing especially you're doing it at your place of primary residence.

I know of folks who gave up on that idea when their premises were broken into.

Some folks even went so far as to cut down tress as they were attracting folks. Some areas the existing residence advise you not to plant certain plants as they attract theft.
I should have started with:
Get some pothongs...