COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby rspann » March 14th, 2020, 7:49 pm

What's the rationale behind banning cruise ships but allowing flights.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 14th, 2020, 7:58 pm

rspann wrote:What's the rationale behind banning cruise ships but allowing flights.

Well it's bad to stop all air traffic, returning trinis do have a right to return. Imagine being stuck in a foreign country without a way to get home.

But testing every passenger who arrives is the best procedure, but tests aren't available for that so enforcing quarentine to those who show symptoms and telling those without that they have to be under a 14 home quarentine is the best we can do right now.

Cruise ships due to more foreigners and a longer sustained environment for disease to spread is why, also we don't have that many arriving so banning them now has little consequences versus the airport.

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 14th, 2020, 8:15 pm

Why are we still going to work in this country? in the US many places have sent home their workers and shut down. Why doesn't the government shut down the businesses so we can quarantine this virus? ooh that's right because they know that they purposely import countless spanish people illegally so the outbreak is never going to stop.

Most likely scenario with this outbreak is all of us need to get the virus and get over it like the common cold and nobody will care after that.

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2020, 8:31 pm

20% of infected ppl will need hospitalization. that's 1 in 5. think of what that will do the the hospitals? drasticaly overwhelm them to the point where most ppl would not get treatment, including those for not covid reasons like traffic accidents.

with the death toll that follows -i think a lot of ppl will care

we need to flatten the curve- it will take longer but countless lives would be saved.

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 8:40 pm

The speech at the media today was very reassuring to the locals of T&T.

They couldn’t stop emphasizing on “mild”.

As they clearly stated, they have done their part and its the citizens that must do theirs.

But we know Trinis....they will do what they do best and that is to act only for a temporary period and then revert to their backward ways.

The Trinidadian mentality is irresponsible, careless, complacent and ignorant. Do not feel that the entire nation is on the same page.

This buying of lysol and sanitizers is a one time thing for most people until the next virus.....no permanent future preventatives whatsoever from the majority of the population.

Allyuh go ahead.

Postby rspann » March 14th, 2020, 8:49 pm

Devourment wrote:
rspann wrote:What's the rationale behind banning cruise ships but allowing flights.

Well it's bad to stop all air traffic, returning trinis do have a right to return. Imagine being stuck in a foreign country without a way to get home.

But testing every passenger who arrives is the best procedure, but tests aren't available for that so enforcing quarentine to those who show symptoms and telling those without that they have to be under a 14 home quarentine is the best we can do right now.

Cruise ships due to more foreigners and a longer sustained environment for disease to spread is why, also we don't have that many arriving so banning them now has little consequences versus the airport.

Yeah, the citizens can return like in other countries , but they couldn't detect case no 1 ,2 so screening is definitely not working and by the time symptoms show , they already interacted with many others.

PariaMan

Postby PariaMan » March 14th, 2020, 8:53 pm

Hmm
Screenshot_20200314-151018_WhatsApp.jpeg

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2020, 9:24 pm

The Caribbean so far

Click to enlarge
Screenshot 2020-03-14 at 9.23.30 PM.jpg

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 14th, 2020, 9:42 pm

redmanjp wrote:20% of infected ppl will need hospitalization. that's 1 in 5. think of what that will do the the hospitals? drasticaly overwhelm them to the point where most ppl would not get treatment, including those for not covid reasons like traffic accidents.

we need to flatten the curve- it will take longer but countless lives would be saved.

I happy for them yes, on a good day sun shining and birds chirping you does have to wait 8 hours to see a doctor in Mt Hope, people does come in for things like vehicular accidents constantly you would be shocked to see how many people does be in road accidents in that hospital all hours of the day, now can you imagine thousands maybe 20,000 MORE people going to these hospitals? what about 200,000 people? because we have no idea how bad this going to spread knowing Trini attitude it will spread so just about everybody going to get it in this place. The bars are still packed up by me here nobody cares......

Let us face reality, if yuh get infected and yuh ever wondered how good your immune system is then now is a great time to find out cause if people think when they start having problems breathing as their lungs get filled with fluid that they just gonna go in the hospital and get a breathing machine to try and keep them alive then they living in la la land

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2020, 10:00 pm

Ministry of Labour to hold press conference tomorrow (Sunday 15th) at 10am

7d723e6b-3058-4bb3-a6db-4b28fe017f71.jpg

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 14th, 2020, 10:19 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
redmanjp wrote:20% of infected ppl will need hospitalization. that's 1 in 5. think of what that will do the the hospitals? drasticaly overwhelm them to the point where most ppl would not get treatment, including those for not covid reasons like traffic accidents.

I happy for them yes, on a good day sun shining and birds chirping you does have to wait 8 hours to see a doctor in Mt Hope, people does come in for things like vehicular accidents constantly you would be shocked to see how many people does be in road accidents in that hospital all hours of the day, now can you imagine thousands maybe 20,000 MORE people going to these hospitals? what about 200,000 people? because we have no idea how bad this going to spread knowing Trini attitude it will spread so just about everybody going to get it in this place. The bars are still packed up by me here nobody cares......

Let us face reality, if yuh get infected and yuh ever wondered how good your immune system is then now is a great time to find out cause if people think when they start having problems breathing as their lungs get filled with fluid that they just gonna go in the hospital and get a breathing machine to try and keep them alive then they living in la la land

Not everyone is getting it at the same time

assassin

Postby assassin » March 14th, 2020, 10:42 pm

Why don't Health, Nat Sec, Labour et al just release official statements to the media and via their websites?

What is with all the press conferences (especially in light of new social protocols)???

Those guidelines could have been easily released this evening
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Ministry of Labour to hold press conference tomorrow (Sunday 15th) at 10am

Postby Kenjo » March 14th, 2020, 10:45 pm

assassin wrote:Why don't Health, Nat Sec, Labour et al just release official statements to the media and via their websites?

What is with all the press conferences (especially in light of new social protocols)???

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Ministry of Labour to hold press conference tomorrow (Sunday 15th) at 10am

Too much information at once isn’t such a good thing for people to keep up with and a major complaint was people not hearing enough from ministry of health although updates twice per day for the last month . Text messaging and people find they weren’t being contacted . Tomorrow hopefully it’s for adults to find out about work since the children will be home for the week

Postby 88sins » March 14th, 2020, 10:51 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

20000 seriously ill and requireding hospitalization is quite possible, 200000 not likely. Won't negatively impact the health care system immediately, since no everybody gonna get sick to dead simultaneously, and for 200K ppl to be hospitalization that means he entire population has to contract the virus and we'd have a 20% critical infection rate, much higher than anything seen so far.
But if we end up with 7-10K severe cases needing medical care within a 10 day period, the day that happens, chaos will reign in the public hospitals.

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 14th, 2020, 10:57 pm

heads of states spouses seem to get covid 19 Canada ...Spain

QM

Postby QM » March 14th, 2020, 10:58 pm

The press conferences take too long to provide information. They might as well just post it online, this way we could receive all the salient points at once.

Postby Gladiator » March 14th, 2020, 10:59 pm

They like pappy show...
assassin wrote:Why don't Health, Nat Sec, Labour et al just release official statements to the media and via their websites?

Postby Gladiator » March 14th, 2020, 11:04 pm

Right now we have chaos in the public hospitals...

Worse yet if there is an outbreak
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:

20000 seriously ill and requireding hospitalization is quite possible, 200000 not likely. Won't negatively impact the health care system immediately, since no everybody gonna get sick to dead simultaneously, and for 200K ppl to be hospitalization that means he entire population has to contract the virus and we'd have a 20% critical infection rate, much higher than anything seen so far.
But if we end up with 7-10K severe cases needing medical care within a 10 day period, the day that happens, chaos will reign in the public hospitals.

Postby gastly369 » March 14th, 2020, 11:28 pm

Seeing real ppl in public sick and travelling.... Oh boi

wickedtuna

Postby wickedtuna » March 14th, 2020, 11:36 pm

Herd immunity

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2020, 11:53 pm

gastly369 wrote:Seeing real ppl in public sick and travelling.... Oh boi

it could be that some travelers came in a the past couple weeks with no symptoms- spread it to others before they even get sick, and also all those contacts are not accounted for and the Govt knows this so hence the closure of all schools and other things.

Yuh notice they haven't said anything about the Alberta case. and did they say whether ALL contacts of the 2 cases were quarantined?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 15th, 2020, 6:02 am

China confirms coronavirus is airborne

https://www.msn.com/en-xl/asia/asia-top ... 0W_sqBT23s

So the PNM still allowing people to go to work even after we now know its airborne?

Skanky

Postby Skanky » March 15th, 2020, 6:17 am

Throughout the past 40 years of observation the sickest people I run across are the cleanest and the healthiest people are who modern society would determine don't practice good personal hygiene.
Our football and cricket ball would go in the drain we would wash it with water or bump it out if no water and continue playing and next hour we eating with our same unwashed hands. Nobody was ever sick as people are today. Play pitch in dirt then pick fruit and eat with same hands. Fruit fall on the dirt dust it out and continue eating. Playing football in the rain mud water would somehow end up in your mouth. Not a single person had any lingering condition.
I don't wash my hands unless I used the bathroom or touch something obviously dirty like a garbage can and I am fine. I haven't gotten a cold/ flu in years.
Im not advocating anyone adopt this but just sharing my experience and I will continue this way.
The most sickly people I have ever come across are the ones who practice the best 'personal hygiene'.

Postby Kenjo » March 15th, 2020, 6:34 am

Skanky wrote:Throughout the past 40 years of observation the sickest people I run across are the cleanest and the healthiest people are who modern society would determine don't practice good personal hygiene.
Our football and cricket ball would go in the drain we would wash it with water or bump it out if no water and continue playing and next hour we eating with our same unwashed hands. Nobody was ever sick as people are today. Play pitch in dirt then pick fruit and eat with same hands. Fruit fall on the dirt dust it out and continue eating. Playing football in the rain mud water would somehow end up in your mouth. Not a single person had any lingering condition.
I don't wash my hands unless I used the bathroom or touch something obviously dirty like a garbage can and I am fine. I haven't gotten a cold/ flu in years.
Im not advocating anyone adopt this but just sharing my experience and I will continue this way.
The most sickly people I have ever come across are the ones who practice the best 'personal hygiene'.

What type of work you do ? Sounds like an 8-4 job with adequate sleep and an active lifestyle

Postby hydroep » March 15th, 2020, 7:20 am

UK considers requisitioning property to deal with the outbreak...:|

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WjWS9OxjdYo

rexsmith

Postby rexsmith » March 15th, 2020, 7:36 am

Is the muslim community canceling friday mosque?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » March 15th, 2020, 7:38 am

rexsmith wrote:Is the muslim community canceling friday mosque?

No, why would they do that?

God is more powerful than any virus, scripture is very clear on this. If we were to just up and cancel every Mosque and Church etc it would look as if this was all just one big scam all along where pastors were just stealing people money and people never actually believed in god to start with but were only going to church and mosque "just in case he was real"
Last edited by EFFECTIC DESIGNS on March 15th, 2020, 7:41 am, edited 1 time in total.

airuma

Postby airuma » March 15th, 2020, 7:41 am

MaxPower wrote:The speech at the media today was very reassuring to the locals of T&T.

They couldn’t stop emphasizing on “mild”.

As they clearly stated, they have done their part and its the citizens that must do theirs.

But we know Trinis....they will do what they do best and that is to act only for a temporary period and then revert to their backward ways.

The Trinidadian mentality is irresponsible, careless, complacent and ignorant. Do not feel that the entire nation is on the same page.

This buying of lysol and sanitizers is a one time thing for most people until the next virus.....no permanent future preventatives whatsoever from the majority of the population.

Allyuh go ahead.

That media conference was a disservice to us IMHO. If anything, it might cause a spike in cases rather than better awareness due to how much “mild” was stressed. The questionnaire bit could also be a deterrent, it is necessary but I think that saying each person will be evaluated before being considered a suspect would have sufficed. Also, is there a way for the government to set up tents/ mobile units to make screening more accessible?

Postby aaron17 » March 15th, 2020, 7:49 am

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:
rexsmith wrote:Is the muslim community canceling friday mosque?

No, why would they do that?

God is more powerful than any virus, scripture is very clear on this. If we were to just up and cancel every Mosque and Church etc it would look as if this was all just one big scam all along where pastors were just stealing people money and people never actually believed in god to start with but were only going to church and mosque "just in case he was real"
Vr praying bruh

Postby pugboy » March 15th, 2020, 8:02 am

at least them church with standing order tithe contributions will still collect