Phillip Edward Alexander in active Politics - Gov't Minister & Senator (2025)

coltspeed

Re: Phillip Edward Alexander Bows out of active Politics again (2023)

Postby coltspeed » November 15th, 2023, 6:44 pm

mero wrote:Phillip if you're reading this don't give up!

2nr has already taken you down the road of L's.

Democracy needs you. The grassroots are afraid you will split the votes.

Moving forward , don't ever quote anyone but me

Its about time he took a rest. He will be back at the right time, for now the others have to show their worth and make their voices as strong as his, The party cannot be led by one but by many as strong as him, Its their time to raise the bar from where he left it.

Phillip Edward Alexander Bows out of active Politics again (2023)

Postby MaxPower » November 15th, 2023, 9:13 pm

He was also very disrespectful and degrading towards Terrance’s wife…

Hope he collect one for that

Postby Chimera » November 16th, 2023, 5:50 am

Haha

Postby mero » November 16th, 2023, 9:37 am

coltspeed wrote:

Its about time he took a rest. He will be back at the right time, for now the others have to show their worth and make their voices as strong as his, The party cannot be led by one but by many as strong as him, Its their time to raise the bar from where he left it.

What others gonna show their worth? We closing in on the eve of an election year. UNC sound serious? Gary sound serious?

Postby mero » November 16th, 2023, 9:40 am

PHILLIP OGOAARRRRR NOOOOO!!!!

Postby maj. tom » November 16th, 2023, 9:46 am

Alexander: Lawsuits made me quit as PEP leader

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/alexander-lawsuits-made-me-quit-as-pep-leader-6.2.1853751.c2ee5a2e06

Former Progressive Empowerment Party leader Phillip Alexander has confirmed that the recent successful lawsuits against him by Finance Minister Colm Imbert and Patriotic Front leader Mickela Panday were what caused him to quit public life and resign as PEP leader.

Alexander confirmed this to Guardian Media on Thursday following a query about his decision to resign, which he announced last Sunday.

In October, the court ordered Alexander to pay Imbert $525,000 in damages after losing a defamation case concerning false allegations against Imbert in 2020.

On Tuesday, Alexander was ordered by the court to pay $850,000 in compensation to Panday for defamation for false remarks about Panday preceding the 2020 general elections.

Asked if this caused the decision to quit public life, Alexander said,”Absolutely. “

He claimed,”The use of the courts to silence political opponents should be a worry to every free-thinking citizen of T&T. I’ll be saying more on this in the near future.”

In a subsequent statement, Alexander said, “Members of the public have been noticing these seemingly endless lawsuits and accompanying awards and have been asking me about them. Some have asked if this is in any way connected to me stepping out of politics. The short answer is yes.I needed to insulate the party we built while I attempted to deal with all of it.”

There have in fact been ten of these lawsuits in different stages of completion. I believe it is time the public was made aware and brought up to date with all of it and the hundreds of thousands in legal fees alone it has cost so far.

Alexander, who had said he would be hosting a press conference in the near future to share whatever he can, also said, “Because of my voice, there is a Commission of Enquiry into the divers’ deaths at Paria. Because of my voice, people of every race and class could once again use Wildflower Park without being chased by security guards. Because of my voice, the handicapped have reserved parking spaces. Because of my voice, no one dies due to vehicular accidents at Gandhi Village roundabout any more. Pitbulls no longer maul children to death and the Children’s Authority Act was passed into law.”

“I am the voice that etched Akiel Chambers and Andrea Bharatt’s names into permanent history, so no one forgets. Diego Martin residents no longer take hours to get home. Moruga got its roads repaired and upper Rich Plain got water for the first time in 62 years. Without holding public office, I ‘ve done more for more people for free than any other politician alive or dead,” Alexander added, thanking everyone for support.

Also among those moving off the scene, blogger Rhoda Bharath confirmed on a recent video that it would be the last “live” from her for awhile and she couldn’t say exactly when she’d be back doing a “live”.

She said she’d talk about certain topics on that show before she took a hiatus from social media as she needed to take a break and it was “important and imperative” to take that break.

Bharath was spotlighted in October when found guilty of contempt regarding an August court order that restrained her from re-publishing certain defamatory statements made against former police commissioner Gary Griffith.

Arcmanov

Postby Arcmanov » November 16th, 2023, 10:32 am

Pressure to buss pipe...and political dreams.
IMG_5411.png

Postby The_Honourable » November 16th, 2023, 6:00 pm

maj. tom wrote:
Alexander: Lawsuits made me quit as PEP leader

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/alexander-lawsuits-made-me-quit-as-pep-leader-6.2.1853751.c2ee5a2e06

Former Progressive Empowerment Party leader Phillip Alexander has confirmed that the recent successful lawsuits against him by Finance Minister Colm Imbert and Patriotic Front leader Mickela Panday were what caused him to quit public life and resign as PEP leader.

Alexander confirmed this to Guardian Media on Thursday following a query about his decision to resign, which he announced last Sunday.

In October, the court ordered Alexander to pay Imbert $525,000 in damages after losing a defamation case concerning false allegations against Imbert in 2020.

On Tuesday, Alexander was ordered by the court to pay $850,000 in compensation to Panday for defamation for false remarks about Panday preceding the 2020 general elections.

Asked if this caused the decision to quit public life, Alexander said,”Absolutely. “

He claimed,”The use of the courts to silence political opponents should be a worry to every free-thinking citizen of T&T. I’ll be saying more on this in the near future.”

In a subsequent statement, Alexander said, “Members of the public have been noticing these seemingly endless lawsuits and accompanying awards and have been asking me about them. Some have asked if this is in any way connected to me stepping out of politics. The short answer is yes.I needed to insulate the party we built while I attempted to deal with all of it.”

There have in fact been ten of these lawsuits in different stages of completion. I believe it is time the public was made aware and brought up to date with all of it and the hundreds of thousands in legal fees alone it has cost so far.

Alexander, who had said he would be hosting a press conference in the near future to share whatever he can, also said, “Because of my voice, there is a Commission of Enquiry into the divers’ deaths at Paria. Because of my voice, people of every race and class could once again use Wildflower Park without being chased by security guards. Because of my voice, the handicapped have reserved parking spaces. Because of my voice, no one dies due to vehicular accidents at Gandhi Village roundabout any more. Pitbulls no longer maul children to death and the Children’s Authority Act was passed into law.”

“I am the voice that etched Akiel Chambers and Andrea Bharatt’s names into permanent history, so no one forgets. Diego Martin residents no longer take hours to get home. Moruga got its roads repaired and upper Rich Plain got water for the first time in 62 years. Without holding public office, I ‘ve done more for more people for free than any other politician alive or dead,” Alexander added, thanking everyone for support.

Also among those moving off the scene, blogger Rhoda Bharath confirmed on a recent video that it would be the last “live” from her for awhile and she couldn’t say exactly when she’d be back doing a “live”.

She said she’d talk about certain topics on that show before she took a hiatus from social media as she needed to take a break and it was “important and imperative” to take that break.

Bharath was spotlighted in October when found guilty of contempt regarding an August court order that restrained her from re-publishing certain defamatory statements made against former police commissioner Gary Griffith.

I see rhoda get hit 34K for contempt of court. If her defamation cases go all the way to trial and found liable, she too might be paying out phillip kinda numbers.

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 18th, 2023, 7:49 am

The fact that he’s conflating political censorship with “freedom of speech has consequences“ just reinforces what the non-koolaid drinkers have been saying.

his ego puts his mouth where his lack of money is.

The real question is - does PEP have the momentum to keep going? Or was just this a fillipe fluff fest?

Postby pugboy » November 18th, 2023, 8:01 am

borat will get assistance to pay her bills
make no mistake about that

Postby alfa » November 18th, 2023, 11:42 am

pugboy wrote:borat will get assistance to pay her bills
make no mistake about that

I see her FB page newsauce disappear, not sure if there's a connection

Postby pugboy » November 18th, 2023, 1:15 pm

she prob blacklisted you
fb has settings for that
she did me that after i pointed out her propaganda
try using a diff fb account

Postby K74T » November 18th, 2023, 2:16 pm

Nope she deactivated both her personal profile and newsauce page.

Postby bluefete » November 18th, 2023, 3:35 pm

So how come Anil Roberts never get sued in court?

Dat man does be calling Rowley all kinda names and t'ing. Doh talk about small pin. All de people pussonal business he does be bussing and not a word or pre-action protocol letter.

He is a high ranking freemason or what?

Postby pugboy » November 18th, 2023, 5:18 pm

so where she spewing here $30k propaganda?

K74T wrote:Nope she deactivated both her personal profile and newsauce page.

Postby pugboy » November 18th, 2023, 5:19 pm

he does insult but not say libelous stuff

bluefete wrote:So how come Anil Roberts never get sued in court?

Dat man does be calling Rowley all kinda names and t'ing. Doh talk about small pin. All de people pussonal business he does be bussing and not a word or pre-action protocol letter.

Postby bluefete » November 20th, 2023, 1:13 pm

pugboy wrote:he does insult but not say libelous stuff

bluefete wrote:So how come Anil Roberts never get sued in court?

Seriously?? I heard him talk about Christopher's ALLEGED TWINS and some staircase leading to a basement for x-rated stuff and poor Small Pin.

Postby pugboy » November 20th, 2023, 3:33 pm

he most likely spoke insulting terms of them but doubt he would say something libelous

Postby VexXx Dogg » November 27th, 2023, 5:03 pm

I not sure if I want advice from them if they "help" PEA lose half dozen case

Postby pugboy » November 30th, 2023, 4:49 pm

man win his case against the pnm 1%
allyuh might have to eat words soon

https://newsday.co.tt/2023/11/30/philli ... on-appeal/

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » November 30th, 2023, 7:11 pm

Sensible judgment

Postby paid_influencer » November 30th, 2023, 8:38 pm

On Thursday, Justices of Appeal Peter Rajkumar, Ronnie Boodoosingh and Maria Wilson set aside the orders of Justice Carol Gobin and ordered him to pay Gabriel only $10,000.

In May 2019, Alexander was ordered to pay $525,000 in compensatory damages for hurt feelings and loss of reputation and a separate award of $250,000 in aggravated damages over statements the former PEP leader made on a radio programme and his Facebook page in February and April 2017.

In their ruling, the three judges said the first statement was not defamatory of Gabriel, and while the second statement did bear a defamatory meaning “in their proper context, the ordinary reasonable reader would not have construed (the words) to have referred to his family.”

Rajkumar [..] said the award was “outside the reasonable range for defamation of this nature.

“An award of such magnitude could only serve to have a chilling effect on the constitutional rights to freedom of expression and freedom and the right to express political views.

“For all the reasons above the award could not be justified and neither could any further award of exemplary damages.”

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » March 2nd, 2024, 7:34 pm

**Breaking News**
Phillip Alexander returns and assumes leadership of his party once again this time throwing his support behind the UNC for the next general election and endorses Kamla Persad Bissessar Sc as the next Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
:shock: :lol: :roll:

Postby st7 » March 2nd, 2024, 7:59 pm

Postby j.o.e » March 2nd, 2024, 8:21 pm

Poor fella

Postby zoom rader » March 2nd, 2024, 8:44 pm

AlphaMan wrote:**Breaking News**
Phillip Alexander returns and assumes leadership of his party once again this time throwing his support behind the UNC for the next general election and endorses Kamla Persad Bissessar Sc as the next Prime Minister of the Republic of Trinidad and Tobago.
:shock: :roll:
PNM prop

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » March 2nd, 2024, 8:48 pm

Ent allyuh leader had appoint Gary Griffith as COP and then he change his mind

Postby sMASH » March 3rd, 2024, 9:34 am

Realize not much peole wanna vote theird party, but pnm is a massive massive problem that needs to be removed.

Anybody but pnm.

Postby pugboy » March 3rd, 2024, 10:13 am

it is an interesting strategy from gg and pea to upfront state the facts needed to beat the pnm

doubt yellow will want to sign to any agreement where they don’t have right to trample on the third party like they did to cop

nick639v2

Postby nick639v2 » March 3rd, 2024, 10:14 am

I feel if a good third come out then people might switch. Yuh can’t vote for that convent girl Phillip tantrum, imagine when you give him power what he’ll do.