Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

airuma

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby airuma » May 31st, 2017, 9:51 am

Redman wrote:no its regular math....its a mechanism -market sensitive and easy to assess on an annual basis.
smh

Since you like math and the property tax so much. Would you mind clearing up some of the mystery math behind the determination of the "annual rental value" and while we at it, can you explain how it is fair for people in, lets say, Biche, to pay the same 3% residential rate as those in Port of Spain and San Fernando (which brings to mind the question, is there a minimum or maximum rental value?).
If we want better for our country, we must also support fair and proper methods for implementation!
Last edited by airuma on May 31st, 2017, 10:15 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby Redman » May 31st, 2017, 10:14 am

airuma wrote:
Redman wrote:no its regular math....its a mechanism -market sensitive and easy to assess on an annual basis.
smh

Since you like math and the property tax so much. Would you mind clearing up some of the mystery math behind the determination of the "annual rental value" and while we at it, can you explain how it is fair for people in, lets say, Biche, to pay the same 3% residential rate as those in Port of Spain and San Fernando.
If we want better for our country, we must also support fair and proper methods for implementation!

Simple
Property in POS renting for 10,000
Property in Biche renting for 10,000
Property in Sando renting for 10,000

at that time its the same 3%

Hope this helps....

airuma

Postby airuma » May 31st, 2017, 10:16 am

Redman wrote:
airuma wrote:
smh

Since you like math and the property tax so much. Would you mind clearing up some of the mystery math behind the determination of the "annual rental value" and while we at it, can you explain how it is fair for people in, lets say, Biche, to pay the same 3% residential rate as those in Port of Spain and San Fernando.

Simple

Hope this helps....

I just edited my post because I realized I left an opportunity for that kind of response. I assumed that you would understand that the question was based on the "percentage" being charged in relation to the overall cost of providing the services and the fact that our Prime Minster once had an issue with providing a school for the duwendes and parrots that live there.
Please forgive my ignorance wrt to your ability to comprehend!

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 31st, 2017, 7:10 pm

court ruling states that it is illegal to accept property tax forms....interesting

Postby pugboy » May 31st, 2017, 7:21 pm

So are they supposed to return any submitted forms directly to sender or destroy them?

Postby sMASH » May 31st, 2017, 7:42 pm

Hope the imp gets his head cut off for lying to the public again.

bluesclues

Re: Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby bluesclues » May 31st, 2017, 7:56 pm

sMASH wrote:scam or not, its the law, and its able to weigh charges for non compliance, ranging from $500 fee, to seizure of assets, to forfeiture of property.

It's called bullying bro. This pnm tactic so dangerous if you submitted the tax form already because of the threats for non submission you could probably sue the state to disregard your application as you signed it under duress(with a gun to your head)

pnm governance. some kinda fascism exagerated only by the bitterness in they old cold and wicked heart.

#sonsofham

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 31st, 2017, 8:19 pm

pugboy wrote:So are they supposed to return any submitted forms directly to sender or destroy them?

according to tanty kamz...yeah

Postby Redman » May 31st, 2017, 9:38 pm

airuma wrote:
Redman wrote:
airuma wrote:
smh

Simple

Hope this helps....

I just edited my post because I realized I left an opportunity for that kind of response. I assumed that you would understand that the question was based on the "percentage" being charged in relation to the overall cost of providing the services and the fact that our Prime Minster once had an issue with providing a school for the duwendes and parrots that live there.
Please forgive my ignorance wrt to your ability to comprehend!

Your ignorance is forgiven...Have a great day.

airuma

Postby airuma » May 31st, 2017, 9:50 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:court ruling states that it is illegal to accept property tax forms....interesting

Not surprising, receipt of the form is the first stage of processing, then when you consider issuing a receipt and filing. I can't imagine anyone submitting their forms without a receipt because this leaves room for everyone to say they submitted.
Impsbert insulted the intelligence of the public by making that foolish release. But I can't say I fault the man for thinking that the population don't know any better given the supporting comments for the property tax and foolish responses in this thread.

Postby Redman » May 31st, 2017, 10:16 pm

Waiting till tomorrow for the corrected version.

Postby RedVEVO » June 1st, 2017, 4:59 am

Gov't Property Tax scam uncovered in Court - Again & again .

Trial date set for September 2017.

Rowley talking again - Nonsense as usual .

How many times "baldy" have to say " As (your)Prime Minster ... " {Express 1/6/17}

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby zoom rader » June 1st, 2017, 7:18 am

No need to axe the PNM tax just axe the PNM

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » June 1st, 2017, 7:30 am

zoom rader wrote:No need to axe the PNM tax just axe the PNM

And bring back who..Aunty Kamz and she gang ah bandit.You have to be forking insane.After the wickedness they did.

Monkey Man

Postby Monkey Man » June 1st, 2017, 7:44 am

^^ it have a highway which part yuh house used to be or wa? how yuh jumpy so

Postby Redman » June 1st, 2017, 8:08 am

It's wonderful that the opposition has found its fervor to defend our rights etc when the clearly demonstrated an applied willingness to trample on them while in office.

It's remarkable that they have such focus of propriety in public office since they ignored such bothersome requirements while in office...

So now the ' champions of the people' are frustrating a process that THEY advocated for but never implemented while in power.

Smh

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » June 1st, 2017, 8:17 am

PNM and UNC are like a bitter married couple that will use any excuse to be at each other's throats, even if hypocrisy is required.

matix

Postby matix » June 1st, 2017, 8:17 am

The political bitterness is real.

Postby toyolink » June 1st, 2017, 8:44 am

The desired out-come from implementation of the property tax may be in serious jeopardy.
Actually, the retroactive component of the tax may very well be the next obvious target for litigation.
The question maybe ....How can I be liable for taxes for periods prior when the state was the one at fault?

Postby Redman » June 1st, 2017, 8:57 am

The goal is the continued opaque conditions and woeful accountability of Real Estate Transactions.
It's only the largest single asset class.

It's hard to disconnect the PPs multitude of gerrymandering around real estate from the pious legal actions of the opposition.

Despite having the same individuals at the core.

Postby 16 cycles » June 1st, 2017, 9:15 am

The Commissioner of Valuations is restrained from accepting property tax forms, and citizens are not required to submit the forms.

This was the effect of the interim order made yesterday made by Justice Frank Seepersad sitting in the San Fernando High Court.

Based on legal advice, the Finance Ministry and Minister Colm Imbert had told citizens in several advisories they can continue to drop off the property tax valuation forms on a voluntary basis since the Valuation Division is bound to accept the forms.

Order continues to June 22 Justice Seepersad’s order yesterday was made after attorneys came for case management in the substantive case in which former agriculture minister Devant Maharaj is claiming the property tax docu­ments are illegal and ultra vires. The trial dates agreed on are September 19 and 21.

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20170601 ... -tax-forms

Postby zoom rader » June 1st, 2017, 9:36 am

randolphinshan wrote:
zoom rader wrote:No need to axe the PNM tax just axe the PNM

And bring back who..Aunty Kamz and she gang ah bandit.You have to be forking insane.After the wickedness they did.

What wickedness did they do?

Postby Redman » June 1st, 2017, 10:51 am

There are none so blind as those who do not see

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » June 1st, 2017, 11:00 am

Redman wrote:There are none so blind as those who do not see

wonder if this quote is as deep and profound as yours
there are none so Deaf as those who do not hear.
what about this one
there is none who deserve to be dunked in sheit and drown in it more than impsbert .

hope that case get put off and dragged on for years

Postby Redman » June 1st, 2017, 11:11 am

Yep that's the goal.
Frustration of the process

Postby toyolink » June 1st, 2017, 11:31 am

Redman wrote:Yep that's the goal.

In light of the weak implementation process and the minister's utter disregard to get it right, the stated objective is quite achievable.

Postby RedVEVO » June 1st, 2017, 11:47 am

Gov't listened to Faris - and everybody know how that always works out :roll:

The issue NOW is the VRF but the political issue is how to "Repeal the Property Tax"

Any TAX that citizens pay because Gov't is in debt due to their bad decisions is bad tax and bad Law.

If any decision made by Gov't that is NOT to the benefit of TT citizens - it should be removed .

People have the Power .

Again,

Axe the Tax .

Postby Redman » June 1st, 2017, 11:51 am

toyolink wrote:

In light of the weak implementation process and the minister's utter disregard to get it right, the stated objective is quite achievable.

No argument there...But then if there is a high correlation between the political directorate and land ownership class....this will never happen.

Postby RedVEVO » June 1st, 2017, 11:56 am

Redman wrote:
toyolink wrote:

No argument there...But then if there is a high correlation between the political directorate and land ownership class....this will never happen.

Ok, but Gov't must listen to the People.

The middle class is important .

airuma

Postby airuma » June 1st, 2017, 12:06 pm

toyolink wrote:

I could not agree more. Some of us seem to have our heads so much inside the PNM @55 that we fail to provide rational arguments even though we have the capacity!
Doing the right thing for the wrong reasons is a tool that ALL politicians will continue to abuse in the presence of a population which continues to be blinded by loyalty to party! We need to learn to separate the WHO from the WHAT and learn to look at things objectively if we really want to see better days in Trinidad and Tobago!