Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Re: Wayne Kublalsingh Hunger Strike...

Postby rfari » December 5th, 2012, 8:55 pm

brams112 wrote:You does make me laugh oui,how will they build a highway and not check on flooding?You not paying attention,there exist no other alternative route,this route was chosen as the best one.Close to my mum down south,the highway was going to pass withing walking distance to her home,it was out of line with point bypassing most of the areas that were developing.The other route was even a little further walk to the other side of the first one,it still did not align,now the one choosen is further away,but it is the better bet to connect everybody,as i said before is not one piece of roadway that they will build, is a few that will connect to the main one going various directions.If you know south there exist a power generation plant,the high tension lines ran all over,this posed a major problem as the proposed route was along this line,so they had to redo the route,now the route will follow a path 200 meters away from this line in most places.

You would be surprised. the dual lane highway from o'meara to wallerfield was designed and constructed just the same way yet there are sections that retain pockets of water for hours after rainfall because of poor drainage and collapsed culverts. Most likely u eh go know that cus i sure u never pass trinicty mall in recent time. But that issa next matter. Point is u seem to think that all designs and constructions are flawless. And u mixing re-design with re-alignment. I never said that the route may need re-alignment

Postby brams112 » December 5th, 2012, 8:57 pm

As i said you not paying attention.

Postby rfari » December 5th, 2012, 9:00 pm

Well show me how im not paying attention so i can correct myself.

Postby j.o.e » December 5th, 2012, 9:24 pm

D man eating...lewwe eat ah food and jink something in his honour and stop beatin dis topic out lol

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 5th, 2012, 10:22 pm

please stop....for your own sake.....u really know very little, but speak a lot.....

you know when they say flooding, they aren't actually talking about the highway being covered with water because of poor drainage right?
it is in reference to the wetlands being cut-off/isolated and retaining the water, which then changes the eco system within the now flooded areas (the roads are not necessarily going to be flooded)......the majority of the culverts they speak about are similar to those you see between grandbazar and Monroe rd flyover that pass under the highway, which allow movement of water between the eastern and western sections that are separated by the highway.....
rfari wrote:
brams112 wrote:
rfari wrote:
brams112 wrote:Man decide to finally stop his charade,hope he don't choke when he eating as normal as he was doing when he started this foolishness.

Why u hadda be so bitter dan? He get what he was wanting all the time. Ogoar.

Why ur say boi?all now IF he was not playing foolish that segment wouldhave been already completed or close to it.

And if he didn't play the ass and it went on without an issues and during wet season, water flowing over the roadway because the culverts undersized and late at light people speeding and skidding off the road and dedding because of hydroplaning wha u woulda say? Not saying that that's what gonna happen but at least be happy that an independent check is being made to ensure that that doesnt occur

kurpal_v2 wrote:
rfari wrote:Nidco is practically its own person when it comes to procurement so if there is any skulduggery chances are the it may just be within nidco. I don't see any major backlash if design changes are recommended unless nidco doesnt accept it without justification. All in all its good stuff for the project and ultimately tnt

Major justification would be cost, consultants done say it have nowhere to turn that highway again and it would cost millions for them to go back in there.

Yep and he'll have to settle with that route but maybe slight design changes as necessary. Hrrm re-route is rubbish. Imo.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 5th, 2012, 10:40 pm

rfari wrote:
brams112 wrote:Man decide to finally stop his charade,hope he don't choke when he eating as normal as he was doing when he started this foolishness.

Some allyuh really full of sheit yes.

Postby rfari » December 5th, 2012, 10:49 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:please stop....for your own sake.....u really know very little, but speak a lot.....

you know when they say flooding, they aren't actually talking about the highway being covered with water because of poor drainage right?
it is in reference to the wetlands being cut-off/isolated and retaining the water, which then changes the eco system within the now flooded areas (the roads are not necessarily going to be flooded)......the majority of the culverts they speak about are similar to those you see between grandbazar and Monroe rd flyover that pass under the highway, which allow movement of water between the eastern and western sections that are separated by the highway.....
rfari wrote:
brams112 wrote:
rfari wrote:

Why ur say boi?all now IF he was not playing foolish that segment wouldhave been already completed or close to it.

And if he didn't play the ass and it went on without an issues and during wet season, water flowing over the roadway because the culverts undersized and late at light people speeding and skidding off the road and dedding because of hydroplaning wha u woulda say? Not saying that that's what gonna happen but at least be happy that an independent check is being made to ensure that that doesnt occur

kurpal_v2 wrote:
rfari wrote:Nidco is practically its own person when it comes to procurement so if there is any skulduggery chances are the it may just be within nidco. I don't see any major backlash if design changes are recommended unless nidco doesnt accept it without justification. All in all its good stuff for the project and ultimately tnt

Major justification would be cost, consultants done say it have nowhere to turn that highway again and it would cost millions for them to go back in there.

Yep and he'll have to settle with that route but maybe slight design changes as necessary. Hrrm re-route is rubbish. Imo.

I mention hydroplaning in a completely different area and u ASSume that im referring to flooding on the roadway of the debe to mon desir area? Lol ok. I was making a specific point to bramms about designs not being perfect. How u feeling now? U still feeling smart?

Postby Country_Bookie » December 5th, 2012, 11:24 pm

Bas cook some bhaji and roti for Kublalsingh yet and serve him with a cup of tea with plenty corndense milk?

Postby gt4tified » December 5th, 2012, 11:56 pm

cacasplat3 wrote:this man never stop amazing me......
first the sledge hammer, then the citizens arrest, now this.......he always have me laughing.....
DVSTT wrote:Image

That may be so, but like Kublalsingh, he stands by his beliefs....how many trinis could say the same?

Postby DVSTT » December 6th, 2012, 12:14 am

So he finish, fast? Maybe he realised lighting the highway on fire when it built would be more effective?

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 6th, 2012, 12:42 am

check again...
what i quoted was what you posted before bramms made his statement about flooding/alternative routes and even before the talk about flooding elsewhere.
too late to backpedal......
and no need to beat up by calling names and poking fun at ppl's intelligence, because the sections in red highlight that you were speaking about an even that may happen, not one that already occurs, unless i misinformed and kubs was fasting for better drainage in the east......

I stand by my previous statement, where,IMO, you though the drainage and flooding kubs protesting for is related to the roadway itself......
rfari wrote:
cacasplat3 wrote:please stop....for your own sake.....u really know very little, but speak a lot.....

rfari wrote:
brams112 wrote:
rfari wrote:

kurpal_v2 wrote:

I mention hydroplaning in a completely different area and u ASSume that im referring to flooding on the roadway of the debe to mon desir area? Lol ok. I was making a specific point to bramms about designs not being perfect. How u feeling now? U still feeling smart?

Postby equipped2ripp » December 6th, 2012, 12:47 am

^ don't bother to waste your time reasoning... they always have an excuse to justify themselves.

cacasplat3

Postby cacasplat3 » December 6th, 2012, 1:13 am

equipped2ripp wrote:^ don't bother to waste your time reasoning... they always have an excuse to justify themselves.

yea....reverse gear can't engage fast enough and makes for good internet fun. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Postby rfari » December 6th, 2012, 1:35 am

No matter how many times you quote ur misconception of what i said its not going to change the fact that you're wrong and continue to chase your tail but if that helps you sleep at night then what can i tell you? :lol: seems like you upset that kublalsingh's hunger strike worked out for him. Sad yes

Postby rfari » December 6th, 2012, 2:01 am

rfari wrote:
brams112 wrote:You does make me laugh oui,how will they build a highway and not check on flooding?You not paying attention,there exist no other alternative route,this route was chosen as the best one.Close to my mum down south,the highway was going to pass withing walking distance to her home,it was out of line with point bypassing most of the areas that were developing.The other route was even a little further walk to the other side of the first one,it still did not align,now the one choosen is further away,but it is the better bet to connect everybody,as i said before is not one piece of roadway that they will build, is a few that will connect to the main one going various directions.If you know south there exist a power generation plant,the high tension lines ran all over,this posed a major problem as the proposed route was along this line,so they had to redo the route,now the route will follow a path 200 meters away from this line in most places.

You would be surprised. the dual lane highway from o'meara to wallerfield was designed and constructed just the same way yet there are sections that retain pockets of water for hours after rainfall because of poor drainage and collapsed culverts. Most likely u eh go know that cus i sure u never pass trinicty mall in recent time. But that issa next matter. Point is u seem to think that all designs and constructions are flawless. And u mixing re-design with re-alignment. I never said that the route may need re-alignment

Cacasplat, for ur own clarification see bold lest you still want to imagine what i was thinking and continue grabbing at straws. Suit urself

Postby ~Vēġó~ » December 6th, 2012, 2:11 am

yay for wayne....

Postby *$kїđž!™ » December 6th, 2012, 2:40 am

http://www.trinidadexpress.com/news/kam ... 14261.html

Kamla: Let the courts decide
Kublalsingh ends 21-day hunger strike, accepts agreement for highway review

By Renuka Singh
Story Created: Dec 6, 2012 at 2:12 AM ECT
Story Updated: Dec 6, 2012 at 2:24 AM ECT
After 21 days without food and water, environmental activist Dr Wayne Kublalsingh ended his hunger strike yesterday.
Kublalsingh, who was protesting the Debe to Mon Desir section of the Point Fortin Highway, said he agreed to the terms of reference hammered out after a two-day mediation meeting between the Joint Consultative Council (JCC) and the Government.
Just before 6 p.m., the Kublalsingh family announced the activist had accepted the changes to the initial proposal and had ended the hunger strike.
In a media release, Kublalsingh said the Highway Re-Route Movement read the details of the proposal and found that it contained the relevant particulars they had requested, including the undertaking of a cost-benefit analysis of the proposed Debe to Mon Desir section of the highway, a social impact assessment and a hydrological, terrestrial and marine ecological report of the affected area.
“If I am to put into words how I feel now, it would be that I feel an enormous gratitude to the people of Trinidad and Tobago,” Kublalsingh said in brief telephone interview.
The newly detailed terms of reference that the parties agreed to are not too different from Kublalsingh’s initial proposal and request that was sent to Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar weeks ago.
The one bone of contention remained over whether work would continue on the now contentious segment of the highway during the two months the independent committee would need to undertake its own review.
“No work shall be done on the proposed Debe to Mon Desir highway since this has not been officially handed over to the contractors,” said Kublalsingh.
In an addendum to his statement, he said the National Infrastructure Development Company Ltd (Nidco) told the review committee that “preliminary works will be done on the Fyzabad and Siparia exchanges, but that no compulsory acquisitions will take place and no homes removed during the period of the review”.
“We have spoken to Dr Carson Charles (head of Nidco), asking him to respect the sensitivities of people in the area, and we are satisfied that no home acquisitions would take place in period. They will also confine their works to earth removal and grubbing,” Kublalsingh said.
The independent committee will also accept submissions from the Highway Re-Route Movement and affected residents and take those into consideration as well. This was part of the Kublalsingh’s original proposal but was not included in the initial draft proposal between the Government and JCC after their meeting on Monday.
By 7 p.m. yesterday, the JCC, the body at the centre of the mediation talks between Kublaslsingh and the Government, issued a statement outlining the frame of reference to which Kublalsingh agreed.
Afra Raymond, head of the JCC, said in the release that they regarded the finalisation of this issue as a “solid framework for the transparent ventilation of the matters in dispute”.
“After consultation with the Government and the Highway Re-Route Movement, the JCC is pleased to confirm that it has appointed an independent working group to examine the several matters of concern on the disputed Debe to Mon Desir segment of the Solomon Hochoy Highway to Point Fortin,” he said.
The terms of reference include the appointment of Dr James Armstrong as head of the independent committee that will undertake, inter alia, the three studies as suggested by Kublalsingh, and include persons from various disciplines.
“This is a real advance in the development of our country, so we would like all parties to work in good faith within this process. The Independent Working Group will be inviting oral and written submissions within this exercise. The civil society groups are inviting Dr Kublalsingh to stop his protest action now, so that we can have his submissions and active participation in this important matter,” said Raymond.

Soul Collector

Postby Soul Collector » December 6th, 2012, 4:35 am

No matter what side of the fence you are on, that ^^^ is good news.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with any form of transparency. This, once done properly will provide the information the govt was not willing to provide for whatever reason for the citizenry to be better informed.

If all mega projects can be done in such a manner and by extension the smaller ones in time, this is a good step forward.

megadoc1

Postby megadoc1 » December 6th, 2012, 4:46 am

cacasplat3 wrote:this man never stop amazing me......
first the sledge hammer, then the citizens arrest, now this.......he always have me laughing.....
DVSTT wrote:Image

sammad should have started a hunger strike against kublalsingh's hunger strike
right next to him I wonder how things wold have turned out?

WetR

Postby WetR » December 6th, 2012, 7:27 am

Soul Collector wrote:No matter what side of the fence you are on, that ^^^ is good news.

There is absolutely nothing wrong with any form of transparency. This, once done properly will provide the information the govt was not willing to provide for whatever reason for the citizenry to be better informed.

If all mega projects can be done in such a manner and by extension the smaller ones in time, this is a good step forward.

i like the list of works that the jcc promised to review. sounds like a incredible task to accomplish in 2 months imo. merely reading and digesting some of these reports can take some time, especially if they hire minions to summarize sections for them. but to make sound recommendations as well?

and how much does an independent review cost? do we know how they conduct it? what criteria do they use? do they formulate independent success criteria for the proj or just use the ones NIDCO et al used?

and well lets have review, once there is no "nothing for you" sort of attitude evoked (like on pnm abroad)

Postby kurpal_v2 » December 6th, 2012, 7:43 am

rfari wrote:

Cacasplat, for ur own clarification see bold lest you still want to imagine what i was thinking and continue grabbing at straws. Suit urself

No faith in trintoplan ex-ras?

Postby rfari » December 6th, 2012, 8:03 am

kurpal_v2 wrote:
rfari wrote:

No faith in trintoplan ex-ras?

Trintoplan is just one of many players in this but its not that i don't have faith in them. But it should bring to rest all doubts on the project. And i see wht u did there :-|
@wetr, more details should come to light as time goes by as im sure people would eventually ask jcc these probing questions

Postby Greypatch » December 6th, 2012, 8:54 am

so the pappy show is over...

dcom23

Postby dcom23 » December 6th, 2012, 9:54 am

what i learned throughout this entire scenario is that most people prefer to deal with petty nonsense than focus on the broader picture...so issues like transperency, accountability, consultation and respect for the right of a person to protest is nowhere as important as whether somebody eating doubles in a van at night.

Postby TRAE » December 6th, 2012, 9:55 am

so it seems... ah day or two after he say no water and drips

Postby eliteauto » December 6th, 2012, 10:24 am

dcom23 wrote:what i learned throughout this entire scenario is that most people prefer to deal with petty nonsense than focus on the broader picture...so issues like transperency, accountability, consultation and respect for the right of a person to protest is nowhere as important as whether somebody eating doubles in a van at night.

correct, welcome to Trinidad, where WTN determines whether the same action is right or wrong

Postby nemisis » December 6th, 2012, 10:37 am

The sad part is the bulk of the WTN advocates not actually getting any kickbacks, so it really isn't WTN it's kams time now

Postby Sky » December 6th, 2012, 11:00 am

All this beatup for nothing because when reviews and all documentations are available again (Just like the last ones) nobody from the public would be interested in reading them.

Cid

Postby Cid » December 6th, 2012, 11:10 am

kubby cld eat ah food naw?

Postby Habit7 » December 6th, 2012, 11:25 am