TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

shaneelal

Re: TSTT WiMax 4G/Hotspot and HSPA+ Thread

Postby shaneelal » August 31st, 2013, 6:39 am

^ Should have asked to speak to manager and got him in trouble. He should have suggested the hotspot device then.

brickman

Postby brickman » August 31st, 2013, 9:12 am

Wont lie nah,for people who work there most bmobile/blink employees more lost than a mofo.If you ask them a question about a device/service the answer will change everyday! :roll:

Postby maj. tom » August 31st, 2013, 9:41 am

Some CSRs really don't know what going on. Called *100 during the day to find out why I wasn't getting 3G on my phone with a particular sim card. After going through the usual "I-did-that-already" things like activate a plan and set APN (and she really kept insisting that the APN's name MUST be 'Prepaid Data' lol) and "is it a 3G phone?" the woman say she will reset the service and for me to reboot via battery pull. Still never worked. Only EDGE and number still doesn't register on Gmail.

Called back *100 at 12:30 am some night and another woman said that the data service on the sim card was never activated since it was bought, only calls. She activated it. Reboot, wait 2 mins, all problems solved. Getting 3G/H/H+ as well as my number can now register on Gmail/Outlook.

Postby redmanjp » August 31st, 2013, 1:28 pm

Gem_in_i wrote:
ninjabilly wrote:Wimax is still available they may not have devices in stock on sign up.

The guy at TSTT St. James Street, San Fernando told me that it is not offered anymore and when I asked what are my other options he said none with them and that I can go with another service provider :agrue:

what about current customers who doh have lines in the area?

Prototype-Tuner

Postby Prototype-Tuner » September 8th, 2013, 12:30 pm

how do i get one of these?

brickman

Postby brickman » September 8th, 2013, 3:36 pm

You go by bmobile & ask....

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » September 10th, 2013, 7:30 am

Prototype-Tuner wrote:Image

how do i get one of these?

Most likely it will only be available in the Head Office branch - Next to Republic Bank, Opposite the Promenade, in Port of Spain.

When I was now getting mine, I inquired with all the other branches...

On the phone they say: "yeah we have that!".......... then when you go in, they say: "out of stock!".

Call first, then go to the Head Office...

But make sure to take a Half Day from work since dem people are not people!

Postby pete » September 10th, 2013, 8:46 am

That works like this?

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » September 10th, 2013, 9:25 am

pete wrote:That works like this?

Yeah... but the Blink Hotspot, surprisingly works comparatively better (faster speeds) from my experience.

The Blink Hotspot is also unlimited internet access with no limit on data.

While (I think) the Digicel's Version the Data is limited to the plan that you sign up for.

Postby pete » September 10th, 2013, 9:32 am

It all depends on where you are. I get up to 1MB/sec down with that in Port of Spain sometimes. Only use it for 1GB/month which is $100 but 15GB is just 270.

How much does that blink one cost per month?

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » September 10th, 2013, 10:20 am

pete wrote:It all depends on where you are. I get up to 1MB/sec down with that in Port of Spain sometimes. Only use it for 1GB/month which is $100 but 15GB is just 270.

How much does that blink one cost per month?

In Port of Spain all the wifi devices had fast download speeds...

Sometimes I even get between 1MB/sec and 2MB/sec (in port of spain)..

But I get some real good speeds in other areas as well; such as Gasparillo, St. Helena, Tunapuna, Arima.

The best thing of all is;
Due to the Unlimited Data Transfer...that this thing is capable of running online games..

Have been using it on the Playstation 3 Network, works well.. especially if you are in a situation where Flow Digital has not reached the area as yet and you're looking for other options.

Cost: $349.00 per mth.

Postby Gem_in_i » September 10th, 2013, 4:43 pm

The light on the Wimax box has to be green? Mine is orange but it's working fine.

ninjabilly

Postby ninjabilly » September 10th, 2013, 6:17 pm

Nah green means your getting a strong signal, orange mean moderate and red poor or no signal

Postby Gem_in_i » September 10th, 2013, 6:58 pm

Oh ic.
At first I thought it wasn't working as it was orange. So I went into every room of the house testing it but it never turned green.

New_SPECIES

Postby New_SPECIES » September 11th, 2013, 8:18 am

For anyone wondering about the Blink Hotspot Lights:

In Terms of the Battery Light:

Green Light - battery Full
Orange Light - battery half full (or half empty)
Red Light - battery needs charging
Blinking Red Light - device will “cut off” at any time due to lack of power

In Terms of the Signal (Wimax) Light:

Orange Light (not flashing) - not connected to internet
Orange Light (flashing) – connected to the internet and connected to a wifi device with Moderate internet signal
Green Light (flashing) - connected to the internet and connected to a wifi device with Very Good internet signal
No Light - connected to internet but no wifi device is connected to the Hotspot

zcarz

Bmobile 4G prepaid issue

Postby zcarz » September 17th, 2013, 10:24 am

I'm sure there is a thread for this somewhere but I searched and didn't find anything... Ok so I have a galaxy a3 and I put in *3282# and purchased a 4G plan for a week (1gb) and 69 dollars was deducted from my account.. Restarted my phone, turned on mobile data button but I don't get 4G :( why? Thanks

Carbon12

Re: Bmobile 4G prepaid issue

Postby Carbon12 » September 17th, 2013, 10:25 am

Use "Bconnected" as apn without quotes, If not try "internet"

Postby Kenjo » September 17th, 2013, 10:39 am

Wait I not into this prepaid thing in a few years but it $69 a week!

Postby ismithx » September 17th, 2013, 10:52 am

untick "Use 2g networks only" in your mobile network settings. if you don't get it still, your area has poor coverage

Daran

Postby Daran » September 17th, 2013, 11:21 am

ismithx wrote:untick "Use 2g networks only" in your mobile network settings. if you don't get it still, your area has poor coverage

He is correct, I've noticed that I don't get any 4G signal until I go outside my office.

Park up next to a cell site (bmobile site duh) and try it again.

Check to see if mobile data is turned on, check to see if your phone is set to GSM/WCDMA use and check your apn.....bconnected or internet should work.

Postby maj. tom » September 17th, 2013, 11:25 am

Op check the bmobile website and make sure all your settings are as specified i.e. the APN and unchecked 2G. Make sure your phone is 3G/HSPA on 1900MHz via gsmarena.

If you are still getting EDGE alone call *100 and talk to a rep. Have your PUK number for your sim card ready which would be printed on the card that the sim card was taken from. Ask them to enable the 4G data services on the sim card, because some stores where the sim is bought only enables the calling/EDGE (2G).

Hope you get through. Tstt doesn't cover all areas with 3G yet so you may have all of the above correct but still only EDGE.

zcarz

Postby zcarz » September 17th, 2013, 1:15 pm

Yup I'm still getting edge alone.
ill go into Bmobile and see if they can help me out. I don't see an option in my mobile network settings to disable 2g only so idk

ary1

Postby ary1 » September 17th, 2013, 2:45 pm

Go to Apps>Settings>More settings>mobile networks.On this page ensure mobile data is checked and Network Mode is set on GSM/WCDMA (Auto Mode).
Go To Access Point names.Name Pre paid Data,APN bconnected.
Menu Key>Save.Ensure Pre paid data is selected on the APN page and restart device.

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » September 17th, 2013, 3:33 pm

Inbox me if you need help

ilove3

Postby ilove3 » September 17th, 2013, 3:33 pm

Inbox me if you need help

Postby ismithx » September 17th, 2013, 3:38 pm

and mind you certain areas like POS have bad 4G reception

gerard

Postby gerard » September 17th, 2013, 3:54 pm

edge is the default. my s4 did the same thing. u will need to call tstt 824-TSTT and speak to an agent. they will enable the 4g if u have a 4g handset

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » October 10th, 2013, 11:01 am

FYI

Bmobile's 4G (actually 3G) implementation of mobile data services is way too unreliable to justify continuing making payments for it (sort of like their joke of high speed Internet at home).

In far too many places (POS, St Augustine, Mt Hope, San Fernando, most points along the CRH and UBH) the 3G service keeps dropping.

I've done side by side comparisons with Bmobile and Digicel and the Bmobile 3G drops while Digi maintains service. Also the download speeds on Bmobile (when it works) are much slower than Digi.

I've always rooted for the home team but these guys are playing the fool.

So I'll grab a Digi 4G plan and its only feature phone services on Bmobile.

When Number Portability is introduced next year and I'll see where the providers stack up, keep my original number and drop whoever is the deadbeat.

Postby maj. tom » October 10th, 2013, 11:45 am

mobile number portability will be introduced next year?

Postby S_2NR » October 10th, 2013, 2:05 pm

2WNBoost wrote:FYI

Bmobile's 4G (actually 3G) implementation of mobile data services is way too unreliable to justify continuing making payments for it (sort of like their joke of high speed Internet at home).

In far too many places (POS, St Augustine, Mt Hope, San Fernando, most points along the CRH and UBH) the 3G service keeps dropping.

I've done side by side comparisons with Bmobile and Digicel and the Bmobile 3G drops while Digi maintains service. Also the download speeds on Bmobile (when it works) are much slower than Digi.

I've always rooted for the home team but these guys are playing the fool.

So I'll grab a Digi 4G plan and its only feature phone services on Bmobile.

When Number Portability is introduced next year and I'll see where the providers stack up, keep my original number and drop whoever is the deadbeat.

Welcome to 2012.
I dropped their so called 4g since then. My bill has never been lighter