Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2010, 8:22 am

Thanks fishman...seems like ill def have to buy a RO-DI, dont want to ruin my tank bcuz of one bad batch of water and trying to cut costs.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2010, 11:58 am

anyone know d price of a RO unit on d outside? then u still have to factor in shipping and handling. I found out d one raj has is 2500. I guess dat should be a good price. then he gives you full service/waranty. i understand it even has a 4gal resevoir that goes below your sink or storage area for drinking purposes. i hve to buy one soon. REAL SOON

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2010, 6:00 pm

Jus spent 800 in live rock by Raj...

I prefer not to tell ppl or go with them when am buying because to them its "dude, why did u jus spend 800 on some stones?" :?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 5th, 2010, 6:08 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Jus spent 800 in live rock by Raj...

I prefer not to tell ppl or go with them when am buying because to them its "dude, why did u jus spend 800 on some stones?" :?

And you don't think you should educate them?

Postby UML » August 5th, 2010, 6:13 pm

Fishman wrote:thx for the info will check it out.thx

Ppl please let me know wah type/wattage for the lighting system I would need thx

It really depends on what you are trying to keep. Once you figure that out, choosing your lighting system will be easier.[/quote]

considering doing a reef tank...going tuh buy a chiller eventually. as i said my tank is a vision 2020...so i might start off a simple saltwater tank then add chiller...but I buying the equipment for the reef one time...so i dont double spend money...so i buying the reef lighting so when i reach that point i will already have it.

not too informed on it too so please try not to use abbreviations like SPS for the noobs like me

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2010, 6:15 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:

Sometimes u try, but to ppl who are completely new to the hobby it wont really register until theyve been around it for some time. Honestly i dont get them wrong, simply put urself in their position and it may seem a tad ridiculous to u too.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 5th, 2010, 6:24 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:

Sometimes u try, but to ppl who are completely new to the hobby it wont really register until theyve been around it for some time. Honestly i dont get them wrong, simply put urself in their position and it may seem a tad ridiculous to u too.

Not really, I tend to listen and If I don't know something or it's something I'm not familiar with I can't say anything along those lines. But that's just me.

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2010, 7:14 pm

^ Correct.. you should be around long enough to know not everyone thinks logically or with an open mind. Heck we on tuner, i see it everyday.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2010, 7:15 pm

my pardnah ask me de same question some time back.

"imagine you buying ROCK for $1200 and you cant sell it back" you is ah addict or whah.....haha

he end up buying some about ah mth after......................hahah

Postby UML » August 5th, 2010, 7:16 pm

HondaB20B wrote:anyone know d price of a RO unit on d outside? then u still have to factor in shipping and handling. I found out d one raj has is 2500. I guess dat should be a good price. then he gives you full service/waranty. i understand it even has a 4gal resevoir that goes below your sink or storage area for drinking purposes. i hve to buy one soon. REAL SOON

just sharing the little information i have

DesalTech Limited
Henry Street POS
http://desaltech.com/homesystem.html

they on facebook too!!!

can anyone guess the brands of water in the test...so we can know which one is better to buy.

1-
2- Oasis???
3- Crystal??
4-
5- Bluewaters??? (i doubt because I dont think BW have such a "rough" surface at the label surface)

Wah else we have Thirstee, Blue Mountain, Dasani, Zepherhills, ????

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 5th, 2010, 7:29 pm

how much for their unit

Postby UML » August 5th, 2010, 8:05 pm

will have to get back to you on that....have to ask the guy who bought it. I think cheaper than Raj....will confirm.

ziggy_dappa

Postby ziggy_dappa » August 5th, 2010, 8:12 pm

check out airwaterice on google they have some affordable RO/DI Systems I have their Typhoon series with the booster pump, works great 0 tds right tru.

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2010, 8:18 pm

^ Jus did a little reading up on them...not bad at all. Searching for some customer reviews now. Here are some pics of em.

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2010, 8:38 pm

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 6th, 2010, 1:39 pm

ziggy_dappa wrote:check out airwaterice on google they have some affordable RO/DI Systems I have their Typhoon series with the booster pump, works great 0 tds right tru.

+++ on airwaterice. I use the Typhoon series also. It is a great unit!

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 6th, 2010, 1:48 pm

UML wrote:

Ppl please let me know wah type/wattage for the lighting system I would need thx

It really depends on what you are trying to keep. Once you figure that out, choosing your lighting system will be easier.

considering doing a reef tank...going tuh buy a chiller eventually. as i said my tank is a vision 2020...so i might start off a simple saltwater tank then add chiller...but I buying the equipment for the reef one time...so i dont double spend money...so i buying the reef lighting so when i reach that point i will already have it.

not too informed on it too so please try not to use abbreviations like SPS for the noobs like me [/quote]

Sorry about the abbreviations. There are different types of coral that require different amounts of light.
Soft Coral does not need high intensity lighting. Large Polyp Stony Coral varies depending on the type from Low lighting to Med-high Lighting. Most Small Polyp Stonies need high intensity lighting like metal halides or a very good T5 setup. Then there are anemones that the lighting needed depends on the type of anemone. Clams require high intensity lighting. If there is anything i have not covered just ask.

Once you identify the type of coral you are looking into then it will be a lot easier to pick lighting. Also once you decide on the type of coral it will also help you identify what type of water movement you need, and also the type alkalinity/calcium supplementation needed.
Last edited by Fishman on August 6th, 2010, 1:53 pm, edited 1 time in total.

rossi

Postby rossi » August 6th, 2010, 1:52 pm

I have 10 cichlids in a 30 gallon tank and I'm thinking about getting a light fixture. Can anyone help me with regards as to what kind of light to get? I did some research and came up with some answers that said cichlids don't need much light.
help.

Postby UML » August 6th, 2010, 3:50 pm

Fishman wrote:
UML wrote:

It really depends on what you are trying to keep. Once you figure that out, choosing your lighting system will be easier.

not too informed on it too so please try not to use abbreviations like SPS for the noobs like me

Sorry about the abbreviations. There are different types of coral that require different amounts of light.
Soft Coral does not need high intensity lighting. Large Polyp Stony Coral varies depending on the type from Low lighting to Med-high Lighting. Most Small Polyp Stonies need high intensity lighting like metal halides or a very good T5 setup. Then there are anemones that the lighting needed depends on the type of anemone. Clams require high intensity lighting. If there is anything i have not covered just ask.

Once you identify the type of coral you are looking into then it will be a lot easier to pick lighting. Also once you decide on the type of coral it will also help you identify what type of water movement you need, and also the type alkalinity/calcium supplementation needed.[/quote]

JESUS CHRIST!!!!!...now i more confused!!!

I doh know wah type of coral I want...i just want watever i eventually get tuh grow!! Which would you advise me getting metal halides or T5?????? Nothing too fancy..basic stuff I go be getting.....I just want growth!!!

kl122

Postby kl122 » August 6th, 2010, 5:48 pm

shotta 20 wrote:Anybody has fancy coloured half moon or crowntail bettas (Fighters) for sale?
Could be black, platinum, orange, green, yellow etc.

i have some crowntail coppergolds, let me know if u interested, my last batch went quickly...

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 6th, 2010, 6:35 pm

kl122 wrote:
shotta 20 wrote:Anybody has fancy coloured half moon or crowntail bettas (Fighters) for sale?
Could be black, platinum, orange, green, yellow etc.

i have some crowntail coppergolds, let me know if u interested, my last batch went quickly...

Pics, price?

Postby UML » August 7th, 2010, 9:30 am

HondaB20B wrote:how much for their unit

UML wrote:will have to get back to you on that....have to ask the guy who bought it. I think cheaper than Raj....will confirm.

unit = $1200 + VAT
pump = $800 + VAT

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 7th, 2010, 11:27 am

UML wrote:
Fishman wrote:
UML wrote:

Once you identify the type of coral you are looking into then it will be a lot easier to pick lighting. Also once you decide on the type of coral it will also help you identify what type of water movement you need, and also the type alkalinity/calcium supplementation needed.

I doh know wah type of coral I want...i just want watever i eventually get tuh grow!! Which would you advise me getting metal halides or T5?????? Nothing too fancy..basic stuff I go be getting.....I just want growth!!![/quote]

Alright well if thats the case a T5 setup should be fine. Something like a 48" x 6 bulb setup should be fine. You can get a unit with less bulbs or more bulbs depending on what you want to keep as stated before. If it were me I would go 250W MH cause it will cover everything, just remeber you will need a chiller. I really suggest reading up on keeping coral before making your decision on lighting so that you do not regret what you buy. Also lighting is not the only important thing in a reef aquarium. There are other aspects to coral colour and growth.

Postby UML » August 7th, 2010, 12:43 pm

Fishman wrote:
UML wrote:
Fishman wrote:
UML wrote:

I doh know wah type of coral I want...i just want watever i eventually get tuh grow!! Which would you advise me getting metal halides or T5?????? Nothing too fancy..basic stuff I go be getting.....I just want growth!!!

Alright well if thats the case a T5 setup should be fine. Something like a 48" x 6 bulb setup should be fine. You can get a unit with less bulbs or more bulbs depending on what you want to keep as stated before. If it were me I would go 250W MH cause it will cover everything, just remeber you will need a chiller. I really suggest reading up on keeping coral before making your decision on lighting so that you do not regret what you buy. Also lighting is not the only important thing in a reef aquarium. There are other aspects to coral colour and growth.[/quote]

250W MH......means Metal Halide right?!!! :?

and where can I get a Metal HAalide or T5 lighting system in Trinidad? Raj? looking for more options. thx for the help thus far.

Postby Razkal » August 7th, 2010, 12:49 pm

Wazir in Aranguez opens today (Saturday)? tel #?

Postby sharkman121 » August 7th, 2010, 3:36 pm

Razkal wrote:Wazir in Aranguez opens today (Saturday)? tel #?

674 3030

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 7th, 2010, 6:45 pm

UML wrote:250W MH......means Metal Halide right?!!! :?

and where can I get a Metal HAalide or T5 lighting system in Trinidad? Raj? looking for more options. thx for the help thus far.

Lol yeah MH means Metal Halide :D . Both Santoo and Raj sell these lighting systems. I dont know their prices though as I build my own lighting systems.

Postby sharkman121 » August 7th, 2010, 6:59 pm

I think i pretty much agree to go with the ro-di unit on the previous page it seems affordable and efficient and got some pretty good reviews.

Uml checking out the lighting scene

Studying whats the best chiller to go with now. Fackin tings expensive :x

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 7th, 2010, 7:48 pm

sharkman121 wrote:I think i pretty much agree to go with the ro-di unit on the previous page it seems affordable and efficient and got some pretty good reviews.

Yeah boy the chillers are pretty expensive. Right now I am using an Oceanic Chiller and I am pretty happy with it. The chiller that I had before was a current USA Prime and I found it to be noisy and seemed to struggle with the temperatures.

I have heard good things about JBJ also.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 7th, 2010, 10:54 pm

sharkman121 wrote:I think i pretty much agree to go with the ro-di unit on the previous page it seems affordable and efficient and got some pretty good reviews.

a chiller is nearly d cost of an A/C unit for you house. D lights is another story.

dis hobby worse dan having ah outside woman. real money. :lol: