COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 10842 cases, 169 deaths, 2174 active, 8481 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2021, 12:56 pm

so, how many people can arm wrestle by me before i get charge?

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 10842 cases, 169 deaths, 2174 active, 8481 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » May 1st, 2021, 12:57 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Everybody all turnt up about compliance and what each term means, no in-house dining, mall, plaza, no music etc.
when the idea is to NOT have interaction that allows the virus to spread. The virus don’t care about terminology or laws.

Correct. Everybody feel there is some loophole they could explore or advantage. How difficult is it to keep yaself in ya house and only go out when necessary?

They feel lockdown is fun. If KFC and them lock down then rush the street vendors everyday. It's like people can't stick in their houses for any long period of time.

The whole point of lockdown is to keep people apart as much as possible. Trinis continue to defy commonsense and when tough actions are taken they complain.

These ppl are senseless.

People will do what people do, it's literally occurred in every single country in the world.

In future legislators will have to examine how to get people to behave rationale.

Look at this study, it seems a lot of things influence people's behaviour, like vaccines.

https://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/papers.cfm ... id=3765329

No we are an unlawful and indisciplines bunch and our current predicament is testament to that.

This is also why we have high levels of crime and lawlessness.

Stop broad brushing the world to feel better about yourself. The world doesn't run on "trini" time.

With India and Brazil suffering that means that vaccines are only going to get even more scare. Why aren't people understanding this simple fact and behaving responsibly?

If that was the case then why even now our Covid deaths per million is still one of the lowest in the world?

Stop blaming people for getting Covid, yes there's a lot that can be done better but literally everyone I know picked up Covid from a co-worker, a prayers, wedding or house lime.

Outdoor spread is minimal, beach spread is non existent.

The government and people choose to demonize people standing up in socially distanced lines while wearing masks to buy food.

Anecdotally, my aunt owns a bar filled with mostly older people who lime outside and drink everyday, not a single one of them has gotten Covid yet.

We need to stop worrying about outdoor spread and focus on indoor environments.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 1st, 2021, 12:58 pm

Just posted..
Screenshot_20210501-125728_Facebook.jpeg

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 1st, 2021, 1:00 pm

wtf wrote:Just posted..Screenshot_20210501-125728_Facebook.jpeg

He has a point, but Fuad needs to STFU. The amount of misinformation he spreads.

Postby De Dragon » May 1st, 2021, 1:01 pm

sMASH wrote:so, how many people can arm wrestle by me before i get charge?

And this nasty arse have the gall to say JUHN Scarfy on sound legal footing wrt TTPS entering your property. I feel he have a Nazi/Gestapo type fetish where some man breaks in without a warrant and sodomizes him, because he loves to strip people's rights.

Postby K74T » May 1st, 2021, 1:13 pm

Key Points from the Ministry of Health's Media Conference On COVID-19 – Saturday May 1st, 2021

Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh highlighted some "disturbing videos" of large groups of people congregating to buy food at Eddie Hart Grounds, Cross Crossing, the Queen's Park Savannah and other places. He urged persons to "shelter in place" and only come out to do essential matters like grocery shopping, picking up medication at the pharmacy etc. He said while food vending is being allowed, people seemed to have abandoned personal responsibility and are putting others at risk by congregating.

Principal Medical Officer, Dr. Maryam Abdool-Richards, addressed hospital occupancy levels in Trinidad and Tobago. There were 173 COVID-19 Positive patients hospitalised as at 4PM yesterday.
COUVA: 116 (8 in ICU, 10 in HDU)
CAURA: 36
SCARBOROUGH: 20
SIGNAL HILL: 1

Dr. Abdool-Richards said due to the increase in hospitalised COVID-19 cases, a decision was taken to re-operationalise the Arima General Hospital and add 67 additional beds to the grid. Already, 10 COVID-19 patients were admitted to Arima General Hospital overnight.

Fifty beds have also been added to the Couva Hospital.

The Augustus Long Hospital, which was first earmarked to treat ‘suspected’ COVID-19 cases, has been transitioned to treat confirmed cases.

Hospital occupancy is now at 24% due to the additional beds at Couva and Arima.

Dr. Abdool-Richards appealed for citizens to exercise personal responsibility to keep the COVID-19 transmission down - please pay attention to increase in cases, and the growing number of hospitalised cases.

Chief Medical Officer Dr. Roshan Parasram reassured persons who would've received the first dose of the AstraZeneca vaccine that they will receive their second dose in time. Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh added that more vaccines are on its way this month and in June.

Minister Deyalsingh also confirmed that the COVID-19 Vaccination Drive continues from Monday.
- Persons over 60 with or without NCDs can make appointments for the COVID-19 vaccine.
- Persons under 60 with NCDs (asthma included) can also make appointments for the COVID-19 vaccine. However, they should walk with a doctor's letter stating their medical condition.
Contact details for appointments will be provided later today.

The Health Minister said the Mass Vaccination site at the Queen's Park Savannah administered about two thousand vaccines in one day.

Repatriation exercises continue. On Thursday, 136 TT Nationals returned from New York and 25 persons are returning from St. Vincent on the Galleons Passage later today.

Epidemiologist Dr. Avery Hinds said the new measures implemented this week will slow the upward trend of cases. He said COVID-19 positivity is about 27% at this time.

The Public Health Regulations have been amended to accommodate the livestreaming of religious services (5 persons or less at these facilities to do so).

Minister Deyalsingh thanked all leaders of the Muslim faith for their understanding as under the new Regulations, mosques are closed during the month of Ramadan.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 1st, 2021, 1:21 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Everybody all turnt up about compliance and what each term means, no in-house dining, mall, plaza, no music etc.
when the idea is to NOT have interaction that allows the virus to spread. The virus don’t care about terminology or laws.

Correct. Everybody feel there is some loophole they could explore or advantage. How difficult is it to keep yaself in ya house and only go out when necessary?

They feel lockdown is fun. If KFC and them lock down then rush the street vendors everyday. It's like people can't stick in their houses for any long period of time.

The whole point of lockdown is to keep people apart as much as possible. Trinis continue to defy commonsense and when tough actions are taken they complain.

These ppl are senseless.

People will do what people do, it's literally occurred in every single country in the world.

In future legislators will have to examine how to get people to behave rationale.

Look at this study, it seems a lot of things influence people's behaviour, like vaccines.

No we are an unlawful and indisciplines bunch and our current predicament is testament to that.

Stop broad brushing the world to feel better about yourself. The world doesn't run on "trini" time.

With India and Brazil suffering that means that vaccines are only going to get even more scare. Why aren't people understanding this simple fact and behaving responsibly?

If that was the case then why even now our Covid deaths per million is still one of the lowest in the world?

Stop blaming people for getting Covid, yes there's a lot that can be done better but literally everyone I know picked up Covid from a co-worker, a prayers, wedding or house lime.

The government and people choose to demonize people standing up in socially distanced lines while wearing masks to buy food.

Anecdotally, my aunt owns a bar filled with mostly older people who lime outside and drink everyday, not a single one of them has gotten Covid yet.

But in the middle of a pandemic. Don't you think that people should be prudent enough and not take any additional risks? Why are the roads constantly busy? Why are people still moving up and down visiting family ans holding private gatherings etc. Why are people still drinking and liming outside bars.

Why are people risking lining up for street food and kfc IN THE MIDDLE OF A PANDEMIC. Can't people just adjust their behaviours for a short period of time?

Why did people rush to the beaches when it became known that the beaches were going to close? These simple attitudes show that trinis don't care and never cared. The country never ever locked down, the roads were always busy.

How can you expect a different outcome without a change of behaviour? Why is it so hard for trinis to go do the essential things they need to do and head back to the safety of their homes? How difficult is that? You and I both know that if this was America or some other white runned country, trinis would follow the rules to a tee.

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2021, 1:24 pm

sMASH wrote:so, how many people can arm wrestle by me before i get charge?

And this nasty arse have the gall to say JUHN Scarfy on sound legal footing wrt TTPS entering your property. I feel he have a Nazi/Gestapo type fetish where some man breaks in without a warrant and sodomizes him, because he loves to strip people's rights.

duane et al, need to throw they frame with PREACHING collective responsibility, until they DEMONSTRATE collective responsibility.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » May 1st, 2021, 1:27 pm

wtf wrote:Just posted..Screenshot_20210501-125728_Facebook.jpeg

Fuad Khan...very intelligent man.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 1st, 2021, 1:34 pm

Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:

These ppl are senseless.

But in the middle of a pandemic. Don't you think that people should be prudent enough and not take any additional risks? Why are the roads constantly busy? Why are people still moving up and down visiting family ans holding private gatherings etc. Why are people still drinking and liming outside bars.

Why are people risking lining up for street food and kfc IN THE MIDDLE OF A PANDEMIC. Can't people just adjust their behaviours for a short period of time?

Why did people rush to the beaches when it became known that the beaches were going to close? These simple attitudes show that trinis don't care and never cared. The country never ever locked down, the roads were always busy.

How can you expect a different outcome without a change of behaviour? Why is it so hard for trinis to go do the essential things they need to do and head back to the safety of their homes? How difficult is that? You and I both know that if this was America or some other white runned country, trinis would follow the rules to a tee.

So given that behaviour how did we do so well I this pandemic?

Also, the alternative of just staying home for a year or more can lead to far graver consequences. The economy would just utterly collapse and mental health and depression would be at all time low.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 1st, 2021, 1:47 pm

^ Because we never had that many cases to begin with. In the earlies trinis were literally bathing themselves in sanitizer because they were panicking.

We also locked down early. So that removed crowd contamination but alot of our cases were unnecessary and the result of private "zess".

What good behaviour you talking about? You forget the police busts to stop parties in warehouses and nightclubs? These people never stopped being reckless.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 1st, 2021, 1:50 pm

Redress10 wrote:^ Because we never had that many cases to begin with. In the earlies trinis were literally bathing themselves in sanitizer because they were panicking.

We also locked down early. So that removed crowd contamination but alot of our cases were unnecessary and the result of private "zess".

What good behaviour you talking about? You forget the police busts to stop parties in warehouses and nightclubs? These people never stopped being reckless.

Sigh cases multiply bro, you only need one to start a pandemic.

I never said we had good behaviour, I said given our behaviour it should have been worse? Ent trinis behave the worst in the world?

Postby K74T » May 1st, 2021, 1:55 pm

FB_IMG_1619891642015.jpeg
FB_IMG_1619891644500.jpeg

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 1st, 2021, 1:58 pm

Trinis behave the worst in Trinidad. They behave good once outside the region and in "them ppl country".

In the middle of a pandemic. One case shouldn't start new cases if everyone take the necessary precautions. That is the whole point. How can new cases keep spreading if everyone is being responsible? Are these 300+ cases illegal immigrants who just came in? Somebody somewhere is being irresponsible.

Why are people still doing group exercises in the middle of a pandemic? You went up chancellor recently? There were groups of people exercising. An entire savannah unoccupied but they congregating on a narrow strip to run up and down a hill.

You can't police stupid bro.

Postby sMASH » May 1st, 2021, 1:59 pm

u can blame the citizens for spreading covid, but u cant blame them for the brazilian or uk variant. that is SOLELY the authorities and the PNM. the fact that as soon as they heard about them we got them within a couple months shows that what ever measures they placed was not sufficient, or being fluted privately.

i find it highly unfair that i must restrict my enjoyment of life, when those in authority do not hold up their end of the bargain.

u could lock me up for all kinda nonsense rules, but there are hundreds of thousands of people with the same regard but even less understanding. so u will have to either make more jail or find some other way to encourage buy-in other than rule by decree not by example.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 1st, 2021, 2:08 pm

Redress10 wrote:Trinis behave the worst in Trinidad. They behave good once outside the region and in "them ppl country".

In the middle of a pandemic. One case shouldn't start new cases if everyone take the necessary precautions. That is the whole point. How can new cases keep spreading if everyone is being responsible? Are these 300+ cases illegal immigrants who just came in? Somebody somewhere is being irresponsible.

Why are people still doing group exercises in the middle of a pandemic? You went up chancellor recently? There were groups of people exercising. An entire savannah unoccupied but they congregating on a narrow strip to run up and down a hill.

Those people aren't stupid, maybe they looked up the science and saw that outdoor spread is rare. Maybe they work from home and chose outdoor activity versus a gym.

Outdoor activities with wearing mask is perhaps the safest thing you can do.

Stupid is going church, having pooja, wedding, house lime, keeping your employees in poorly ventilated spaces and not wearing masks in offices.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 1st, 2021, 2:12 pm

700 cases later today.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 1st, 2021, 2:13 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Trinis behave the worst in Trinidad. They behave good once outside the region and in "them ppl country".

Those people aren't stupid, maybe they looked up the science and saw that outdoor spread is rare. Maybe they work from home and chose outdoor activity versus a gym.

Outdoor activities with wearing mask is perhaps the safest thing you can do.

Stupid is going church, having pooja, wedding, house lime, keeping your employees in poorly ventilated spaces and not wearing masks in offices.

yes, but dotish is to rush the grocery, kfc and food outlets.

Postby De Dragon » May 1st, 2021, 2:14 pm

daring dragoon wrote:700 cases later today.

Sauce?

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 1st, 2021, 2:25 pm

Like someone said above.

“You can’t police stupid”
A72034B7-3908-42B4-B911-072196F72B82.jpeg

sam1978

Postby sam1978 » May 1st, 2021, 2:31 pm

Trinis getting blame for being irresponsible while hundreds of undocumented , untested , illegal immigrants coming in at will and proceeding to supermarkets, jobs, mingling with any and everybody and getting defended by the MOH and his irresponsible boss.

Postby pugboy » May 1st, 2021, 2:33 pm

oh gawd

sam1978 wrote:Like someone said above.

“You can’t police stupid”

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » May 1st, 2021, 2:38 pm

Capacity to test so much doesn't exist.

daring dragoon

Postby daring dragoon » May 1st, 2021, 2:38 pm

Sauce?

doubles cause it? or is it a coverup regarding all recent gun and billets find? keep the population home to prevent whatever he guns were intended for?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » May 1st, 2021, 2:52 pm

wtf wrote:
Capacity to test so much doesn't exist.

Over 6000 tests were done in the last 5 days (average of 1200 a day) so yes it does exist when you include the private labs.

Avery said we are a 25% positivity rate so we should be seeing 300 positives a day on average.

700 is possible if a batch of private lab tests came in early.
Last edited by Dohplaydat on May 1st, 2021, 2:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.

killercow

Postby killercow » May 1st, 2021, 2:54 pm

Musbe 300 from the latter half of yesterday ah 400 for the first half of today den? I eh seein it but maybe shakes cud confirm.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » May 1st, 2021, 3:54 pm

sam1978 wrote:Trinis getting blame for being irresponsible while hundreds of undocumented , untested , illegal immigrants coming in at will and proceeding to supermarkets, jobs, mingling with any and everybody and getting defended by the MOH and his irresponsible boss.

Venezuelans cud bring in all variants that they have but how are trinis getting these viruses? Isn't it because of close contact with these persons? Contact that is suppose to be automatically distanced.

As much as the borders may be porous, still do your part and social distance as much as you can.

This is a close contact disease. You are going to get this disease from people sneezing, coughing or speaking directly into your face. That is why it is important not to congregate and stand in one place at the same time. It increases the possibility of transmission. Keep moving.

Try to avoid having to stand in lines for too long. Do not idle in a supermarket lane. Do not stand next to someone in a supermarket lane. Don't carry your entire family to do errands that raises the risks that one of you all will pick up something. All of these things are simple practices you can adopt to avoid this thing.

Do you want to experience breathe through a pinhole? That is what bad covid feels like.

Avoid this thing at all costs. You don't know how bad it can get for YOU. Gopaul luck aint Seepaul luck out here. Always avoid sickness

ST Auto

Postby ST Auto » May 1st, 2021, 4:23 pm

248+, 2 deaths
FB_IMG_1619900449105.jpeg

Postby K74T » May 1st, 2021, 4:23 pm

As Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago I am duty-bound to caution citizens that unrestrained conduct in public and private settings can and will push the rise of COVID-19 cases.

I have observed statements and criticisms from certain quarters which in my opinion unfortunately and with little use for the fight against the Covid-19 pandemic seek to nit-pick my general statements of caution.

As Prime Minister I respect and support the Constitution, the rule of law and due process and I am insistent that law enforcement must act within the confines of the law.

I am also duty-bound to point out that the laws of our country, including the Public Health Ordinance, the Public Health Regulations, the Police Service Act and other laws can, in certain specific circumstances, cover the enforcement and management of laws in private premises via public health officers with or without aid of the Trinidad and Tobago Police Service.

Section 133 of the Public Health Ordinance for example states:

“133. For the purposes of this Part of this Ordinance, any person authorized to act under the provisions hereof or of any regulations made in pursuance of any authority contained in this Part of this Ordinance may at any time, with or without assistance—

(a) enter on lands and buildings and inspect and examine the same and all things thereon or therein;
(b) do on any land or in any building any sanitary or other work authorised or directed;
(c) generally do, with respect to persons, places, land, building, animals, or things, whatever is necessary or expedient in order to carry out the foregoing provisions of this Part of this Ordinance, or any direction or requirement given or arising thereunder. "

It is well known that activities on private properties are abundant and of concern.

Other jurisdictions have implemented States of Emergencies where constitutional rights are suspended and go as far as limiting the number of persons permitted in private settings as well as the nature and type of activities permitted on private properties.

Trinidad and Tobago has obviously not done the same but has instead successfully utilized other measures to manage the pandemic which have thus far resulted in a hard-fought balance between saving lives and livelihoods.

These are exceptional times and I genuinely and deeply commiserate with those in our beloved country who have to shoulder the burden of temporary restrictions and measures.

For those of us who are directly affected, words are of little comfort and this is why the Government has expended billions in financial support which it cannot sustain indefinitely.

We are striving to save lives until the relief of vaccines can give us herd immunity.

We have pushed at every manufacturer and supplier of vaccines and have pending orders submitted across multiple sources. Our vaccination drive has started and is continuing. We have not used unapproved experimental vaccines on our population and are in the same position as our brothers and sisters in the region leading the CARICOM fight for vaccine equality and distribution.

This pandemic will come to an end and the temporary restrictions and hardships will fade away.

I am deeply conscious of the need for survival in every sense of the word.

As Prime Minister I must take the advice of our medical experts and balance all interests. I must ensure that death sentences are not read to thousands by a failure to act and take hard and sometimes unpleasant decisions.

For the next three weeks I am asking the population to limit their movement as best as is possible, including undertaking the task of cooking at home whilst restaurants and bars are temporarily closed.

I respect the roles and views of stakeholder bodies but encourage them to support the general call for compliance and to resist from taking a general and correct statement about the law out of context.

Ultimately our courts will function as the arbiters of any law and its enforcement.

For my part I encourage that the letter of the law be applied and upheld within the spirit of the law.

Let us all see the forest and not just the single tree.

Dr the Hon Keith Rowley
Prime Minister of Trinidad and Tobago
FB_IMG_1619900532143.jpeg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » May 1st, 2021, 4:31 pm

From my end of the country:

Casualty overwhelmed, beds running out and patients are being moved as the brazilian variant was detected on my side.