*** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Who do you believe will win General Elections 2025?

Poll ended at April 28th, 2025, 9:17 pm

People's National Movement (PNM)
48%
United National Congress (UNC) + Coalition of Interests (PEP, COP, OWTU, LOVE)
44%
Patriotic Front (PF)
4%
Tie/Deadlock
4%

Total votes: 48

Re: *** The 2025 GENERAL ELECTION thread***

Postby sMASH » January 31st, 2025, 7:33 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Unc has so much ammo to win this election... It's such a shame... With kpb at the helm... FAILURE!
Are u suggesting than UNC can pull pnm voters?

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » January 31st, 2025, 7:39 am

sMASH wrote:A party wins when more people vote fir them than vote for the others.

U can have the best platform , if people decide to vote tribe , u csnt win on policies

I honestly believe the majority of the voting population votes everything besides policy

Postby paid_influencer » January 31st, 2025, 7:40 am

ppl comfortable with kpb. ppl know what they getting with her, and know it better than staying 15 years with hinds/rowley/imbert crew. don't worry about if kpb going to win (she is), just study how much we could grow. Think about a minister of finance that has an economics background. Think about replacing Hinds. Think about a whole-of-government approach to crime. Frank tired post the graph, but it real and it will happen again when kpb gets into power.

Postby paid_influencer » January 31st, 2025, 7:44 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
sMASH wrote:A party wins when more people vote fir them than vote for the others.

U can have the best platform , if people decide to vote tribe , u csnt win on policies

I honestly believe the majority of the voting population votes everything besides policy

true facts that set in stone and will never change:

ppl vote based on their material conditions.

for a large part of the population that means voting tribe for jobs, scholarships, etc (for themselves). but there is an even bigger part of the population that does not get those strings and will vote on crime and the economy. and it bad enough right now that those forkers are going to show up this year in numbers.

This is the most unpopular government in my lifetime. Understand that eh. Is not coincidence everybody retiring instead of facing the electorate - the know the chit they do and know the population going to punish them at the battle box.

Postby sMASH » January 31st, 2025, 8:05 am

Sooo, kamala position or presence in the unc is a NON ISSUE. One setta unc and former unc people giving them self chess bun over kamala when it makes no difference at all in the performance at the polls.

Me, i voting for stsnd your ground legislation and more FUL's .
That is to deal with the chirren who DIDN'T make use of the kamala laptop program

Postby zoom rader » January 31st, 2025, 8:09 am

sMASH wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Unc has so much ammo to win this election... It's such a shame... With kpb at the helm... FAILURE!
Unc is not pulling any PNM voters

You will quicker get former UNC ppl voting for PNM to get Contracts and favours.

Postby zoom rader » January 31st, 2025, 8:11 am

paid_influencer wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:

true facts that set in stone and will never change:

ppl vote based on their material conditions.

for a large part of the population that means voting tribe for jobs, scholarships, etc (for themselves). but there is an even bigger part of the population that does not get those strings and will vote on crime and the economy. and it bad enough right now that those forkers are going to show up this year in numbers.

This is the most unpopular government in my lifetime. Understand that eh. Is not coincidence everybody retiring instead of facing the electorate - the know the chit they do and know the population going to punish them at the battle box.
People vote for their can get, they dont vote on country.

Very selfish ppl in Trinidad that only care about themselves

Postby sMASH » January 31st, 2025, 8:12 am

sMASH wrote:
Unc is not pulling any PNM voters

You will quicker get former UNC ppl voting for PNM to get Contracts and favours.
Lick any bottom for pisa

Postby zoom rader » February 3rd, 2025, 8:28 am

The worst Prime Minister ever in the history of Trinidad.

What makes you think Small Pin will do any better ?

Rowlee & PNM left us with its Kamala fault after 10 years

Sad part it shows the level of thinking pattern of PNM ppl
Screenshot_20250203_072507_Instagram.jpg

Postby paid_influencer » February 5th, 2025, 6:24 pm

Mikela at a rally talking about being a future prime minister

Postby sMASH » February 5th, 2025, 7:56 pm

paid_influencer wrote:Mikela at a rally talking about being a future prime minister

Which country? Not trinidad ....

Postby bluefete » February 5th, 2025, 8:58 pm

Kamla has so much ammunition to go on the offensive and quiet like a mouse.

Postby paid_influencer » February 5th, 2025, 9:07 pm

bluefete wrote:Kamla has so much ammunition to go on the offensive and quiet like a mouse.

when ppl forking up their yard, don't go with your backhoe to help them

Postby bluefete » February 5th, 2025, 9:11 pm

paid_influencer wrote:
bluefete wrote:Kamla has so much ammunition to go on the offensive and quiet like a mouse.

LOLZ. You don't need a backhoe though. But if you have cocoa in the sun well ...........................

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2025, 7:11 am

bluefete wrote:
paid_influencer wrote:

LOLZ. You don't need a backhoe though. But if you have cocoa in the sun well ...........................
Letting pnm cook..

Postby sMASH » February 6th, 2025, 7:11 am

https://www.facebook.com/share/v/1XBvcDia1R/

Zoom, u sure pnm seeing trouble in Tobago?

Postby The_Honourable » February 9th, 2025, 10:32 am

lol@COP

COP to contest election–rejects NTA, HOPE alliance

The Congress of the People (COP) has signalled its intention to contest the upcoming general election. COP political leader Prakash Ramadhar made the announcement while hosting a press conference at the party’s office in Curepe yesterday.

“Yes, we will be contesting,” Ramadhar said. However, he admitted that it would not contest all 41 constituencies in T&T.

“We are not foolish to suggest that we would contest in every seat. No. There are seats that we have an advantage in that we will be reaching into,” he said.

Ramadhar also announced that the party was not bound by a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the National Transformation Alliance (NTA) and the HOPE party that was entered into by the party’s former interim leader Kirk Sinnette in December last year.

Sinnette, who was present at the press conference, entered into the MoU before resigning from the post. Ramadhar, who held the post between 2011 and 2016, when he resigned with one year left on his term, was then appointed to lead the party. Ramadhar described the MoU as a political distraction.

“I have not yet seen a completed document with the signatures of all three leaders at that time sitting together and agreeing on policies, principles, and how they would proceed,” Ramadhar said.

“We today must look a bit inwardly. The COP is not a sticker to be placed as an adornment on anyone or any party. The COP is building its strength, its depth, its width, and its stick-to-it-ness not as a sticker for anybody but as a platform of progress for T&T,” he added.

However, he did not criticise Sinnette for taking the decision in the party’s interest. “I want to congratulate you on an effort in the very dark days of the COP to reach out to others. We would continue to reach out to others whose ambitions are aligned with ours,” Ramadhar said.

Ramadhar did not take a similar stance in relation to an alliance with the United National Congress (UNC), several smaller political parties, and trade unions that Sinnette entered into last year.

“We are committed to working with all those who would help us go into power. This is no secret. I am making it plain. It is not opportunistic; it is the reality,” Ramadhar said.

“The UNC is the dominant opposition force, and anybody who wishes to replace this failed government must work with them. We are intent on working with them but not cap in hand.”

He noted that after the party made history by receiving the highest-ever votes by a third party in the 2007 general election but secured no seats, it joined with the UNC and other political parties to form the People’s Partnership (PP) and secured victory in the next election.

While he admitted that the coalition between the parties was not perfect, he stated that they were able to record achievements during their sole term in office. “It was a formula that worked in the past. Of course, there were some failures, but if you don’t learn from your errors and improve upon them, then you are wasting time,” he said.

“I am a very different person than I was politically back then. The UNC would have certainly grown in some capacity,” he added.

Ramadhar noted that the party had already set up several committees to propose policies and recommendations to address topical national issues such as the economy and crime. He also noted that it (the party) was in the process of filling vacancies in key positions in the party, which were left vacant for several years.

“The persons who now populate these offices are committed people who are intent on working for the benefit of T&T through the vehicle of the Congress of the People,” he said.

HOPE, NTA respond

In a brief telephone interview, HOPE deputy leader Karen Nunez-Tesheira said she was not shocked by the position taken by the COP.

“It has not come as a surprise, and it was not unexpected. We are in a very dynamic situation. We will see how things develop and in what direction Mr Ramadhar decides to progress,” Nunez-Tesheira said.

Contacted yesterday, NTA leader Gary Griffith expressed similar sentiments.

However, he criticised Ramadhar for making the announcement in relation to the MoU without first contacting the other parties to it. “He did not have the common courtesy, respect or diplomacy to be able to contact those people who the COP was involved in an agreement with,” Griffith said. “It says a lot about the credibility and standard of ethics of the leader of the COP.”

Griffith suggested that Ramadhar’s conduct since returning to the post demonstrated that he was interested in having Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar elected.

He noted that the COP’s previous alliance with the UNC ended in the near destruction of the party.

“It is quite obvious who he is working on behalf of or being directed by,” he said. “The one good thing is that the independent voters are not foolish and are not going to be used by any cosmetic alliance between Prakash Ramadhar and Kamla Persad-Bissessar,” he added.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cop-to- ... 4a1eac5894

Postby hover11 » February 9th, 2025, 10:56 am

What are the seats that COP has an advantage in I would honestly love to know

Sent from my SM-N986U1 using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby paid_influencer » February 9th, 2025, 11:10 am

why dont gary, karen and mikela join the COP and build it? why reinvent the wheel? COP logo is literally a wheel

Postby zoom rader » February 9th, 2025, 11:31 am

The_Honourable wrote:lol@COP

COP to contest election–rejects NTA, HOPE alliance

The Congress of the People (COP) has signalled its intention to contest the upcoming general election. COP political leader Prakash Ramadhar made the announcement while hosting a press conference at the party’s office in Curepe yesterday.

“Yes, we will be contesting,” Ramadhar said. However, he admitted that it would not contest all 41 constituencies in T&T.

“We are not foolish to suggest that we would contest in every seat. No. There are seats that we have an advantage in that we will be reaching into,” he said.

Ramadhar also announced that the party was not bound by a memorandum of understanding (MoU) with the National Transformation Alliance (NTA) and the HOPE party that was entered into by the party’s former interim leader Kirk Sinnette in December last year.

Sinnette, who was present at the press conference, entered into the MoU before resigning from the post. Ramadhar, who held the post between 2011 and 2016, when he resigned with one year left on his term, was then appointed to lead the party. Ramadhar described the MoU as a political distraction.

“I have not yet seen a completed document with the signatures of all three leaders at that time sitting together and agreeing on policies, principles, and how they would proceed,” Ramadhar said.

“We today must look a bit inwardly. The COP is not a sticker to be placed as an adornment on anyone or any party. The COP is building its strength, its depth, its width, and its stick-to-it-ness not as a sticker for anybody but as a platform of progress for T&T,” he added.

However, he did not criticise Sinnette for taking the decision in the party’s interest. “I want to congratulate you on an effort in the very dark days of the COP to reach out to others. We would continue to reach out to others whose ambitions are aligned with ours,” Ramadhar said.

Ramadhar did not take a similar stance in relation to an alliance with the United National Congress (UNC), several smaller political parties, and trade unions that Sinnette entered into last year.

“We are committed to working with all those who would help us go into power. This is no secret. I am making it plain. It is not opportunistic; it is the reality,” Ramadhar said.

“The UNC is the dominant opposition force, and anybody who wishes to replace this failed government must work with them. We are intent on working with them but not cap in hand.”

He noted that after the party made history by receiving the highest-ever votes by a third party in the 2007 general election but secured no seats, it joined with the UNC and other political parties to form the People’s Partnership (PP) and secured victory in the next election.

While he admitted that the coalition between the parties was not perfect, he stated that they were able to record achievements during their sole term in office. “It was a formula that worked in the past. Of course, there were some failures, but if you don’t learn from your errors and improve upon them, then you are wasting time,” he said.

“I am a very different person than I was politically back then. The UNC would have certainly grown in some capacity,” he added.

Ramadhar noted that the party had already set up several committees to propose policies and recommendations to address topical national issues such as the economy and crime. He also noted that it (the party) was in the process of filling vacancies in key positions in the party, which were left vacant for several years.

“The persons who now populate these offices are committed people who are intent on working for the benefit of T&T through the vehicle of the Congress of the People,” he said.

HOPE, NTA respond

In a brief telephone interview, HOPE deputy leader Karen Nunez-Tesheira said she was not shocked by the position taken by the COP.

“It has not come as a surprise, and it was not unexpected. We are in a very dynamic situation. We will see how things develop and in what direction Mr Ramadhar decides to progress,” Nunez-Tesheira said.

Contacted yesterday, NTA leader Gary Griffith expressed similar sentiments.

However, he criticised Ramadhar for making the announcement in relation to the MoU without first contacting the other parties to it. “He did not have the common courtesy, respect or diplomacy to be able to contact those people who the COP was involved in an agreement with,” Griffith said. “It says a lot about the credibility and standard of ethics of the leader of the COP.”

Griffith suggested that Ramadhar’s conduct since returning to the post demonstrated that he was interested in having Opposition Leader Kamla Persad-Bissessar elected.

He noted that the COP’s previous alliance with the UNC ended in the near destruction of the party.

“It is quite obvious who he is working on behalf of or being directed by,” he said. “The one good thing is that the independent voters are not foolish and are not going to be used by any cosmetic alliance between Prakash Ramadhar and Kamla Persad-Bissessar,” he added.

https://www.guardian.co.tt/news/cop-to- ... 4a1eac5894
As long as any party can displace a lil PNM terror seat

Postby VexXx Dogg » February 9th, 2025, 11:36 am

Congress of Prakash lost momentum after they get bamboozled post peoples partnership.

Gary might get more votes than he

Postby hover11 » February 9th, 2025, 12:06 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Congress of Prakash lost momentum after they get bamboozled post peoples partnership.

I expecting even Kezel to get more votes than him tbh

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 9th, 2025, 12:46 pm

Prakash more relevant and formidable than Gary

Postby alfa » February 9th, 2025, 1:38 pm

hover11 wrote:
VexXx Dogg wrote:Congress of Prakash lost momentum after they get bamboozled post peoples partnership.

They all need to get together and form a party called lost deposits alliance LDA

Postby The_Honourable » February 9th, 2025, 3:47 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Prakash more relevant and formidable than Gary

Only way Prakash wins is if he gets a UNC safe seat like last time.

While Gary can be delusional, he will pull more votes by himself than the COP party in total.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » February 9th, 2025, 5:06 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

While Gary can be delusional, he will pull more votes by himself than the COP party in total.

Gary was at his highest when rowley bestowed CoP on him since he fallout with rowley, he take a serious dive

Postby paid_influencer » February 9th, 2025, 5:18 pm

alfa wrote:
hover11 wrote:

They all need to get together and form a party called lost deposits alliance LDA

Postby paid_influencer » February 9th, 2025, 5:24 pm

The_Honourable wrote:

this based on a NACTA poll?

Prakash is still very popular with them knife and fork people

the people gary popular with doh actually vote

Postby The_Honourable » February 9th, 2025, 8:21 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Gary was at his highest when rowley bestowed CoP on him since he fallout with rowley, he take a serious dive

True, but when crime is at the public forefront his popularity increases. Once SoE lite is over, if murders and other crimes spike Gary will have some momentum. How far he can go with it, we have to wait and see.

paid_influencer wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

this based on a NACTA poll?

Prakash is still very popular with them knife and fork people

the people gary popular with doh actually vote

Once crime remains the #1 issue, Gary will pull votes. Kamla knows this and that's why Phillip has his assignment to be on his case so that Gary is less of a threat splitting votes especially in St. Joseph.

Prakash under the COP cannot win any seat on his own. He needs the UNC to step aside and use their election machinery which he knows. That's why he has been speaking positive about Kamla and the UNC moving away from NTA and HOPE which his predecessor was trying to form some sort of alliance with.

Kamla allowing Prakash to have a UNC safe seat doesn't make sense. Is pnm seats you trying to get, put him to wuk in Tunapuna or La Horquetta/Talparo for example.

Postby paid_influencer » February 9th, 2025, 8:47 pm

kamla not giving any of the old "marginals" to any third party.

any third-party either take a pnm "safe seat" or rock so.

that is the whole reason gary break away from kamla. gary wanted unc machinery and accommodation handed to him and kamla say nah. either you fight pnm on pnm soil or leave.

prakash look like he was already out the door, so eh business if he have to contest a pnm "safe seat" (none are very safe for the pnm this rounds). philip being real and know he have nothing to lose really so traditional pnm seats is not a problem for him. gary for whatever reason want st joseph even though the unc will very well win that seat on their own

i still stand by that gary supporters is not he crowd that comes out to vote. NTA means "none of the above" and them ppl is inherently a set of people that don't participate because all is the same, etc. he playing for the not-unc and not-pnm demographic that stays home every election, and gary not charismatic or liked enough to bring them out (not even jack could bring them out)