COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2020, 4:22 pm

2nd case in ICU at Couva. meaning critical?

Zetski

Postby Zetski » March 14th, 2020, 4:37 pm

Coughing up green phlegm but I feel better now

Postby Country_Bookie » March 14th, 2020, 4:37 pm

So no action on banning flights from Europe, or quarantine for visitors??
New Zealand, Canada , USA have all taken those sort of steps already. What are we waiting for??

Better to take this kinda drastic action before we get more cases..... rather than waiting and doing nothing to prevent more imported cases.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 14th, 2020, 4:41 pm

Zetski wrote:Coughing up green phlegm but I feel better now

I have had fever 3 days now, no coughing and feeling slightly better today. If it gets worst tmr I'll go get tested.

Postby aaron17 » March 14th, 2020, 4:42 pm

Kudos to the lady to the right on the explaination.

Postby Dave » March 14th, 2020, 4:42 pm

Fever more than 3 days shouldn't be guys. Seek some professional attention.

Postby aaron17 » March 14th, 2020, 4:42 pm

Devourment wrote:

I have had fever 3 days now, no coughing and feeling slightly better today. If it gets worst tmr I'll go get tested.
Did u quarantine?

rebound

Postby rebound » March 14th, 2020, 4:48 pm

Agreed, she presented well...
aaron17 wrote:Kudos to the lady to the right on the explaination.

boxy

Postby boxy » March 14th, 2020, 4:50 pm

Only flight from Europe is British Airways U can't ban flights as they would have citizens returning and I don't think it's legal to prevent a citizen from returning home under any circumstance. only people who are from Europe will be rejected.
Country_Bookie wrote:So no action on banning flights from Europe, or quarantine for visitors??
New Zealand, Canada , USA have all taken those sort of steps already. What are we waiting for??

Better to take this kinda drastic action before we get more cases..... rather than waiting and doing nothing to prevent more imported cases.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 14th, 2020, 4:50 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Devourment wrote:

Did u quarantine?

Yes except the first day, Thursday, as I felt fine
I went to work, but has limited contact with people though, left 11am. Already informed my co-workers about it.

Devourment

Postby Devourment » March 14th, 2020, 4:52 pm

boxy wrote:Only flight from Europe is British Airways U can't ban flights as they would have citizens returning and I don't think it's legal to prevent a citizen from returning home under any circumstance. only people who are from Europe will be rejected.
Country_Bookie wrote:So no action on banning flights from Europe, or quarantine for visitors??

There is a Condor flight to Tobago as well from Germany.

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 5:25 pm

Its how Stuarty moving up he mouth and sighing when people asking questions lol

boxy

Postby boxy » March 14th, 2020, 5:35 pm

I saw that lol it was a stupid question that was asked though about why schools have to close for a week.
MaxPower wrote:Its how Stuarty moving up he mouth and sighing when people asking questions lol

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2020, 5:35 pm

did u have a travel history, or had contact with such a person?

if so u need to stay home for 14 days. no compromise.

Postby hydroep » March 14th, 2020, 5:40 pm

Locking down the air and seaports is one thing but I thought they would have addressed how they intend to treat with the Venez and possibly importing of the virus through our unsecured borders.

Also, that 20 sample per country thing with Carpha is concerning. Although Deyalsingh said that was a general guideline which would change once a territory had confirmed cases he couldn't (when challenged) say how many kits would now be available for T&T. That Carpha is a CARICOM institution and that he/T&T has no jurisdiction is a cop out...:|

Postby Dave » March 14th, 2020, 6:08 pm

One question I wished someone asked is if there and how many tests have been submitted and awaiting confirmation of testing positive for covid.

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 6:11 pm

hydroep wrote:Locking down the air and seaports is one thing but I thought they would have addressed how they intend to treat with the Venez and possibly importing of the virus through our unsecured borders.

The Venezuelans are human as well and the govt of T&T will not deny any Venezuelan treatment in this country.

Let us not make their situation worse than it already is.

Postby pugboy » March 14th, 2020, 6:13 pm

i would guess if they smart when they get ketch in cedros is to start coughing down the place

Postby paid_influencer » March 14th, 2020, 6:18 pm

when will this be over

everywhere deserted. grocery run feels like going to a hospital

i am already tired of this pandemic :drinking:

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 14th, 2020, 6:25 pm

Stuart: trump bans all travel, airports in lock down etc

Stuart 2 secs later: our ports remain open as usual

Firewall

Postby Firewall » March 14th, 2020, 6:25 pm

Having listened to the press conference I am uncertain about a few things:

They stated that the government is totally in control. That is a relief to hear.
I am unclear on how many test kits the govermnent has access to.

Also, carpha is a caricom body based in Trinidad, Jamaica and St Lucia that the minister of health does not have direct control over. This may be why he does not know how many test kits are available.

I also heard in a previous media release that the government was very proactive in preparing the country for covid19. I am unclear if procurement of test kits for government controlled labs was part of this preparation or was the plan to leave all testing for our country to a caricom body which we do not control.

However, all these concerns aside, i am reassured by Dr Trottman in the press conference. This global pandemic is a mild disease, mild disease, mild disease and the good news is only the old people may die.

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 6:27 pm

paid_influencer wrote:when will this be over

everywhere deserted. grocery run feels like going to a hospital

i am so tired of this pandemic :drinking:

Hello paid_influencer,

The most you can do right now is be patient and cautious. Only time can heal your frustration.

Be strong and stay focused, and trust in god that everything will be ok.

Keep well.

Postby paid_influencer » March 14th, 2020, 6:34 pm

MaxPower wrote:Hello paid_influencer,

The most you can do right now is be patient and cautious. Only time can heal your frustration.

Be strong and stay focused, and trust in god that everything will be ok.

Keep well.

Thank you. I'm not going to post anymore. Going on a long self-quarantine.

wake me up when its over

Postby MaxPower » March 14th, 2020, 6:45 pm

^ sure man,

Me and the team will be here when ever you are ready to return

assassin

Postby assassin » March 14th, 2020, 7:10 pm

This thread has more info than MoH and official sources (filtering out all the wild speculation)

3wks ago I bought a few small sanitizers and pocket size ones. I was waiting for the 4L size to come in stock but it never came

2wks ago I bought vit c, fish oil and in case of the worst panadol, panadene, lomotil, headache tabs

Stocked up on rice, crix, canned stuff, soap and cleaning stuff to keep for emergency.

Today I bought some cough syrup as per this advice. That should be enough to care for my family and my parents (who live by themselves) but hopefully I don't need to
triniterribletim wrote:
Dizzy28 wrote:Ones to ease symptoms. acetaminophen (panadol or other brands), Nyquil, mucinex or other cough syrup of your choice. A humidifier is a good to have.
Musical Doc wrote:So if someone is contracts the coronavirus and has to self quarantine, what medication is suggested to use to help fight it off?

If you are getting cough medicine, make sure it is a expectorant and not a suppressant. Suppressants will kill you if you have pneumonia. Mucinex and other Guaifenesin based syrups are what you need. I recommend Aurocoff because in addition to Guaifenesin it also contains salbutamol to keep your airways open. Some doctors are also using chloroquine to treat the symptoms, but this is risky as chloroquie has nasty side effects. Tamiflu is also being used as an antiviral, but that is hard to come by in Trinidad on a good day. Gesol/Prolyte or at the least Gatorade/Powerade is a must.

Postby Rovin » March 14th, 2020, 7:25 pm

maybe this will work for corona too ....

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2020, 7:35 pm

^^no essential oils??

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2020, 7:40 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Stuart: trump bans all travel, airports in lock down etc

Stuart 2 secs later: our ports remain open as usual
i missed that part.. lil mc really dotish.
i see uk death toll doubles in 24 hrs. i figure, if we get a ramped up effects of this, they might resort to lock down then.

but, i believe they leaving the ports open cause they wanna avoid having to address why we still letting venez come through illegally.

the regular ports are those u can regulate. the illegal ones are the ones where the infected will come in unchecked and spread it.

Postby Rovin » March 14th, 2020, 7:44 pm

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2020, 7:47 pm

hydroep wrote:Locking down the air and seaports is one thing but I thought they would have addressed how they intend to treat with the Venez and possibly importing of the virus through our unsecured borders.

The Venezuelans are human as well and the govt of T&T will not deny any Venezuelan treatment in this country.

Let us not make their situation worse than it already is.

when they come in illegally, they will not practise safe procedures, they will mingle and contaminate all the people and places and objects they interact with. and u would not know how long they will carry on like that, and how many people will be exposed.

when that occurs, unless our high day time temps really is keeping this thing down, then we will be at the mercy of the gods.