Postby airuma » May 28th, 2017, 9:23 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^^
Ok.

Again
Axe the Tax .

Because it is my money spending while Sharon and Baldy going
Chile on vacation and golfing .

Anybody here know what business we have in Chile ?
We have a Chilean Embassy in TT ?

Pinochet's Chile was a dictatorship - so maybe he going for classes
in how to f....k up a country and hold them hostage with tax, tax, tax.

Again,
Axe the Tax

They are our largest purchaser of LNG. And the #1 candidate for our next bilateral investment treaty and bilateral trade agreement.

With the way this government negotiating things.... I don't expect any good to come out of this!

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Gladiator » May 28th, 2017, 9:24 am

Redman wrote:I don't believe the gas tax is still imposed or collected

Well gas price at the pump never went down. So its almost certain that it is still there...

airuma

Postby airuma » May 28th, 2017, 9:26 am

Redman, your defense of THIS IMPLEMENTATION of the property tax makes me wonder if you have "a horse in the race"

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 28th, 2017, 9:38 am

Once the gas/diesel price is below international market price and is subsidized then "gas tax" does not exist.
Because tax payers still having to shell out so Raj can leave his Hilux running with A/C on full blast for 2 hours in Gulf City car park while his wife goes to the supermarket.

Postby Redman » May 28th, 2017, 9:52 am

airuma wrote:

Redman, your defense of THIS IMPLEMENTATION of the property tax makes me wonder if you have "a horse in the race"

Wonder away.

Postby Redman » May 28th, 2017, 9:55 am

Gladiator wrote:

Well gas price at the pump never went down. So its almost certain that it is still there...

So we pay 50% of world prices for fuel and the ROAD tax was ?????

GORTT pays the difference between what we pay at the pump and international prices.

I'm pretty sure the Road tax has not been collected or imposed since 2007 or before.

Re: Re:

Postby adnj » May 28th, 2017, 10:43 am

Trinidad ranks 153 out of 233 for countries by population worldwide. It's 53rd in terms of population density. It's 164th in total area. The entire country has fewer people than Brussels, Belgium.

You don't need a day to ride a donkey over the Northern range or to take a sailboat to Point Fortin any longer. For such a small country with so few citizens that you can drive completely around it in a day, I believe that the Regional corporations are duplicative and wasteful. Join the central government and the local governments to handle it all and eliminate the need for multiple bureaucratic layers to increase accountability.

In its current state, the regional corporations won't see a black cent of any finances collected via this property tax. So no community will benefit from it. And this is only one of the issues people have with it.

Postby 88sins » May 28th, 2017, 11:48 am

Son, just becuz it possibly was implemented before your time, or you get so used to it, or because nobody talks about it, doesn't equate to it not being imposed or collected. It still is collected, to this day. They may want to increase it eventually, because when it was implemented it was about $0.10/liter. So on every 10 liters, you pay $1.00 in road tax.

drchaos wrote:Once the gas/diesel price is below international market price and is subsidized then "gas tax" does not exist.

Once fuel is subsidized, the consumer doesn't feel that road tax, true.
Just remember, the plan they have is to remove all fuel subsidies entirely. When that happens, you'll be paying international market prices for your fuel, and a $0.10/liter road tax to resurface select roads only every 5-10 years, while Workers Against Smooth Asphalt busy digging up everywhere daily, all the while not efficiently utilizing their budget for road repairs on actually repairing the roads they mash up.

But daz cool, defend your elected officials all you'd like, even if neither you nor them have a clue what they doing.

airuma

Postby airuma » May 28th, 2017, 12:49 pm

AFAIK, the gas tax was implemented during the Panday administration. Fuel was subsidized then but this increase was supposed to go towards road repairs. I too assumed that since fuel prices never decreased, the tax was still there. Does anyone know for sure if the "subsidy" is calculated separate from the tax?
I also remember the removal of the motor vehicle license and the introduction of the vehicle inspection under the same administration. Since we on this topic.... where does all of the motor vehicle tax go? and how did the splitting of the ministry from works transport and infrastructure to ministry of works and ministry of transport, as separate entities, help our situation?
I am in support of any reasonable (not intended to fill a gap created by previous politicians at the expense of the citizens) tax which is based on consumption. This way, we can adjust our lifestyle to cut back on how much we pay. But to impose a ridiculous method of property tax on a suffering citizenry is total and utter foolishness. For those of you who might respond thinking I am against the property tax... I am not... I am just against method of calculating the tax (which seems to be a mystery).
Is there an infomercial about how to calculate your tax? How will we know if we are charged a "correct" amount, only when we compare with our neighbours? Why is this tax not charged on how many persons living in the house? Does an empty house or empty room use the services that this tax is "supposed" to pay for? How does this tax encourage the person with 5+ children, in a 3 bedroom house with one toilet and bath, provide a comfortable home for their family so they will stay at home rather than "lime on the block"?

Postby EFFECTIC DESIGNS » May 28th, 2017, 12:59 pm

When Panday was in power the oil prices were very low at one point $9 a barrel or something along those lines.

So how come he managed to accomplish so much in his term and nobody was fired and everything was fine and dandy? but now we cannot do the same what has changed so much?

Postby bluefete » May 28th, 2017, 1:06 pm

EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:When Panday was in power ... everything was fine and dandy.

Really? IIRC, there was the Piarco Airport Scandal (the judge in Miami, 10 years after, is still waiting for Ish and Steve to be extradicted).

There was the 'short pants man' desalinated scandal.

airuma

Postby airuma » May 28th, 2017, 3:16 pm

bluefete wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:When Panday was in power ... everything was fine and dandy.

Really? IIRC, there was the Piarco Airport Scandal (the judge in Miami, 10 years after, is still waiting for Ish and Steve to be extradicted).

There was the 'short pants man' desalinated scandal.

Why is it that a judge in Miami have interest in local corruption? I could understand if a minister or his wife was caught shop lifting in Miami.

Postby Redman » May 28th, 2017, 5:59 pm

So 88ins (pops) at which point in the supply chain is this Road tax collected?
Last edited by Redman on May 28th, 2017, 6:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 28th, 2017, 6:13 pm

You guys not getting it. Once there is still subsidies on fuel then there is net loss from the government coffers when a liter of fuel is sold. So there is no extra money to put into road infrastructure even if they have a tax in place for that.

Postby Redman » May 28th, 2017, 6:33 pm

they will do the arithmetic just now...don't worry

Postby 88sins » May 28th, 2017, 9:52 pm

Redman wrote:So 88ins (pops) at which point in the supply chain is this Road tax collected?

It's collected from you when you pay for your fuel, and from there only passes thru 3 points before reaching the state.
Gas station
Fuel supplier
IRD

Postby Redman » May 29th, 2017, 4:42 am

Pops, you know Act 2 of 2006 repealed the Road Improvement Tax?
It remains repealed as of Dec 2015 according to the Miscellaneous Tax Act.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » May 29th, 2017, 6:26 am

Lawd. This is like watching empire strikes back then return of the Jedi.

Postby 88sins » May 29th, 2017, 6:34 am

Redman wrote:Pops, you know Act 2 of 2006 repealed the Road Improvement Tax?

post a link & cite the section & subsection, & references

Postby Redman » May 29th, 2017, 7:09 am

Google is your friend pops....

Postby 88sins » May 29th, 2017, 8:04 am

Redman wrote:Google is your friend pops....

well sonny jim
If yuh could say it is so, is up to you to prove it.

post a link & cite your refs. I not gonna get vex if you right, & i eh go be disappointed or overjoyed either which way

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2017, 9:32 am

http://www.ttma.com/international-trade/legislation/

Postby 88sins » May 29th, 2017, 10:32 am

adnj wrote:

my bad, i should have stated that links should be from a recognized local law library or similar source.
cite any & all links & references to related acts or ordinances from the following source plz

http://laws.gov.tt

thanks

Postby adnj » May 29th, 2017, 10:44 am

"The Trinidad & Tobago Manufacturers' Association was founded in 1956 by eight visionaries in the hope of keeping the wheels of industry turning. This group of entrepreneurs recognized the need for a unifying organization. The TTMA was therefore developed for the specific purpose of promoting local industry."

See Part X of 77.01 for the repeal of sections 42 through 50.

adnj wrote:

my bad, i should have stated that links should be from a recognized local law library or similar source .
cite any & all links & references to related acts or ordinances from the following source plz

http://laws.gov.tt

thanks

Postby Redman » May 29th, 2017, 12:03 pm

It's on the ministry of legal affairs website ....should be easy if you so inclined.

Postby RedVEVO » May 29th, 2017, 11:43 pm

No matter how much "road tax "or " oil boom " we have in TT - same sheit road.

Today the only way to get things done ( as always ) is to protest . The Politicians cannot handle
pressure .

We ALL have a basic right - if we do not want something and it is NOT to our benefit - Axe It !

Repeal the Law - If it is not to our benefit.

And I mean for the average man and poor people. The Rich and Rich Landlords live in Glass House - they
can pay - and they want to pay - cause they have the money.

Again,

Axe The Tax

Postby rspann » May 30th, 2017, 6:34 am

Where is orangefox?

Postby matr1x » May 30th, 2017, 7:17 am

So folks it's real money tax for imaginary income? That is pnm maths

Postby Redman » May 30th, 2017, 11:16 am

no its regular math....its a mechanism -market sensitive and easy to assess on an annual basis.
smh