Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 12th, 2015, 2:18 am

Numb3r4 wrote:^^^ Eventually things may progress to a point where their demands could be ignored or just won't matter. They may be so divorced from reality it may be impractical.

Pretty much this. Especially considering the amount of debt Petrotrin has. $13 billion TT. If oil prices remain low and margins also remain low the union may not have the power to stop anything. Restructuring would happen first though before privatization I would think.

Postby zoom rader » December 12th, 2015, 6:03 am

De Dragon wrote:Roget and OWTU would never stand for any sort of privatization of PETROTRIN.

Who,?
Unions are not important anymore and only seek this government interest.

Postby desifemlove » December 12th, 2015, 12:13 pm

does petrotrin provide fuel for domestic use only, or does it sell? considering its pipes mash up, why not just outsource the operations, have a Min of Energy rep on the board, but still retain ownership? No way ANY govt. here, PNM or UNC, can fix these pipes.

I'd say also things like the lottery board, UTT, FCB, and even CEPEP, should be part-privatised/de-regularised. part fo the issue is the state is too large.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 12th, 2015, 3:04 pm

Petrotrin supplies all fuels the domestic market purchases and also sells to the Caribbean and international markets on a regular.

What pipes you talking about?

Postby De Dragon » December 12th, 2015, 10:50 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:Petrotrin supplies all fuels the domestic market purchases and also sells to the Caribbean and international markets on a regular.

What pipes you talking about?

Prolly talking about the pipes that ruptured and spilt recently in La Brea, but de way de man type, yuh feel like PetroTrin hah' two pipe! :lol:

Postby zoom rader » December 14th, 2015, 6:56 pm

PNM achievement to come, increased water and electricity rates. Well done PNM for hookwinking the gullible public

Postby desifemlove » December 14th, 2015, 7:16 pm

i want this Dr. R govt. to succeed. nothing positive changed under Kams, not economically, socially.

But if oil prices will remain low, what he go do to improve diversification? this has to be critical. If there are no plans in place, and being constructed, in two years, then PNM has failed.

And Kams and co have no place to laugh or gloat, she had five years and no diversification. and "development" like pavements and road barriers and vendor shop fronts in parks. three months is too early to judge, but I would label Dr. R a failed PM if by this time in two years we don't see any new industries emerging. The Chinese said "crisis and opportunity are the same thing.." take note Dr. R. I'll be accused of being a PNM, no..lol. I used to be a COP long ago, but Prakass only care about hogging St. Augustine and being Kams's beyotch.

Postby brams112 » December 14th, 2015, 7:29 pm

desifemlove wrote:i want this Dr. R govt. to succeed. nothing positive changed under Kams, not economically, socially.

But if oil prices will remain low, what he go do to improve diversification? this has to be critical. If there are no plans in place, and being constructed, in two years, then PNM has failed.

And Kams and co have no place to laugh or gloat, she had five years and no diversification. and "development" like pavements and road barriers and vendor shop fronts in parks. three months is too early to judge, but I would label Dr. R a failed PM if by this time in two years we don't see any new industries emerging. The Chinese said "crisis and opportunity are the same thing.." take note Dr. R. I'll be accused of being a PNM, no..lol. I used to be a COP long ago, but Prakass only care about hogging St. Augustine and being Kams's beyotch.

:lol: :lol: :lol: ,ur got to wish for those things,anyways Dr R is the Syrians b1tch guy,he got to wag when he is commanded to do so,not weather it is right or wrong.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 14th, 2015, 10:28 pm

desifemlove wrote:i want this Dr. R govt. to succeed. nothing positive changed under Kams, not economically, socially.

If the PNM's plans are smart and progressive then even if we are strapped for cash maybe the population could be convinced that his administration is trying. Then again given the reaction of the PSA to recsnt wages freezes.....well tells you what is really out there.

With regards to plans being formulated true, if we see some genuinely good ideas then this could be proof that he is working but quite honestly this I doubt, they are going to fix the Torouba Stadium really, and not to mention rapid rail.....if that is the height of their plans.....well......

Not to mention the fact that the finance minister can't seem to shut up about "Aunty Kamla" raiding the treasury, we get it already, now what do you have to offer, that was why the population put you there to do something, not "bad talk" the opposition. Unless there was another reason the population the PNM there?

Postby Habit7 » December 15th, 2015, 7:24 am

Numb3r4 wrote:With regards to plans being formulated true, if we see some genuinely good ideas then this could be proof that he is working but quite honestly this I doubt, they are going to fix the Torouba Stadium really, and not to mention rapid rail.....if that is the height of their plans.....well......

These plans only unpopular with the anti PNM crowd. PNM's campaigned on delivering these projects and I am sure they will at least start them.

Postby zoom rader » December 15th, 2015, 7:32 am

Habit7 wrote:
Numb3r4 wrote:With regards to plans being formulated true, if we see some genuinely good ideas then this could be proof that he is working but quite honestly this I doubt, they are going to fix the Torouba Stadium really, and not to mention rapid rail.....if that is the height of their plans.....well......

These plans only unpopular with the anti PNM crowd. PNM's campaigned on delivering these projects and I am sure they will at least start them.

At the cost of who?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 15th, 2015, 8:05 pm

All I am saying is that there are more pressing matters that have to be looked at, the government if tell us that we have to manage our spending, yet they have not proven themselves to be so good with money themselves.

The PM recently said that persons have to manage how they spend to maintain the standard of living but with them the government partaking in projects that we don't need right now when the money could be used to fund the health sector or push ahead with progressive policy reform.

Postby desifemlove » December 15th, 2015, 8:46 pm

brams112 wrote:

:lol: :lol: :lol: ,ur got to wish for those things,anyways Dr R is the Syrians b1tch guy,he got to wag when he is commanded to do so,not weather it is right or wrong.

what things? Kams was under financiers' control. every politician is.

Postby toyolink » December 15th, 2015, 9:30 pm

Every right thinking citizen must hope and do their part to cause the govt of the day to succeed.
The new administration and their performance will determine the quality of life for at least the next 5 years.
To-date the new administrators seem to be taking a bit longer than we would hope to get going progressively.The predominance of gloom and doom needs to be tempered with a more positive disposition, additionally the Minister Of Finance needs to be a 'face' of hopefulness and forward momentum.
.....Investors both foreign and domestic are looking!

Postby zoom rader » December 16th, 2015, 6:44 pm

Government achievement

$270 million for Carnival and workers can't get their back pay.

Workers vote for dat, hope they happy.

The great con job

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 16th, 2015, 7:15 pm

zoom rader wrote:Government achievement

The great con job

So where the UNC woulda conjure the money from ?

Postby zoom rader » December 16th, 2015, 7:21 pm

EmilioA wrote:

The great con job

Money was put aside for workers back pay. PNM as usual don't want to pay it out.

Postby shogun » December 16th, 2015, 7:23 pm

Lol...

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 16th, 2015, 8:13 pm

EmilioA wrote:

The great con job

Money was put aside for workers back pay. PNM as usual don't want to pay it out.

Put aside ? whey ? Spill the details nah.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 16th, 2015, 8:15 pm

LMAO @ put aside. Ay bring back UML oui. ZR eh able by himself :lol:

Postby Habit7 » December 16th, 2015, 8:58 pm

UNC was ready to sell the ampersand between Trinidad and Tobago to generate more funds.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2015, 5:47 am

EmilioA wrote:

The great con job

Stay in the dark bro and believe everything what this government tells you.

Postby RASC » December 17th, 2015, 6:17 am

EmilioA wrote:

The great con job

Well tell us.
You know...

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2015, 6:44 am

RASC wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

The great con job

Well tell us.
You know...

Sorry can't spoon feed PNM, let dem deal with it

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 17th, 2015, 7:42 am

The great con job

Govt cuts Carnival budget by $44m

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-12- ... ign=buffer

The Government has reduced the budgetary allocation for Carnival 2016 by approximately $44 million. This was revealed by Culture, Arts and Community Development Minister Dr Nyan Gadsby-Dolly.

In 2015, the allocation for Carnival was $314 million but has decreased to $270 million for next year’s festival. In an interview with reporters after yesterday’s opening of the $13 million Beetham Gardens Community Centre, Gadsby-Dolly said the current economic conditions have forced the Government to cut back.

The 14 per cent reduction is the latest in a series of cuts announced by the Government . Earlier this month ministries were advised to reduce spending on Christmas parties and a far as possible scale them down to cater for staff only.

Gadsby-Dolly said: “Yes, that is what we are considering at this point because in every ministry there are shortfalls but we are looking to determine how we can establish the quality of the festival and not sacrifice that just because we don’t have the exact allocation that we would have expected from before.”

Asked if the Carnival stakeholders should be worried about the proposed reduction in allocation, Gadsby-Dolly responded quickly: “We have been in contact with our stakeholders and they understand the situation.”

She said the ministry was “in constant communication (with them) ensuring that they have what they need and the support from the ministry to be able to bring off what they have to for the Carnival.”

Gadsby-Dolly said there was other funding provided from the ministry and different State enterprises for Carnival but she did not elaborate. The National Carnival Commission (NCC) has said it was looking at creative ways to manage the reduced allocation. In an interview yesterday, NCC chairman Kenny de Silva said the commission was looking at how to cut costs or increase revenue.

Of the $270 million allocated to the commission for next year’s festival, $60 million was used to pay outstanding debts. “Contractors may have to adjust their prices downward,” De Silva said. He said that had already become a reality, as suppliers, understanding the economic challenges, had given the commission discounts of between 10 and 20 per cent.

“They are very sensitive to the issue of less funding. They are being conscious to that and are very amenable,” he added. Earlier this week, NCC communications manager Kevon Gervais said the commission did not foresee a significant impact on the festival.

“There are changes that need to be made and so these changes will be made.

“We don’t intend to do less things but we have to be more creative and innovative in the way funding is spent,” Gervais added.

Last year, the NCC received over $314 million in funding with a significant amount going toward debts from the 2014 festival.

Out of that funding, the National Carnival Bandleaders Association received $14 million, Pan Trinbago received $34.2 million and the Trinbago Unified Calypsonians Organisation received $10.8 million.

This year Pan Trinbago will receive $30 million in funding while the other two Carnival stakeholders will see funding reduced by approximately $2 million. Heads of Carnival organisations did not return repeated calls yesterday.

Gadsby-Dolly said she was not able to comment on the issue of the retention of the $2 million first prize for the International Soca Monarch.

The show features the top Soca artistes from T&T and the Caribbean. Soca star Machel Montano is not expected to defend his title this year, having said that last year would have been his last in the competition.

Parade of the Bands will be on Monday February 8 and Tuesday February 9, 2016

Postby dougla_boy » December 17th, 2015, 7:45 am

cyah win with ZR nah.......PNM in power, Union seeking govt interests......PPG in power, Union wanna distress the govt for PNM interests.....LOLOL

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 17th, 2015, 8:31 am

RASC wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

The great con job

Well tell us.
You know...

It probably in the same place as TTEC 2.5 billion dollar debt. Face it ZR, the UNC in 5 years did more damage to this country than the PNM in 30.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2015, 9:15 am

EmilioA wrote:
RASC wrote:
EmilioA wrote:

The great con job

Well tell us.
You know...

It probably in the same place as TTEC 2.5 billion dollar debt. Face it ZR, the UNC in 5 years did more damage to this country than the PNM in 30.

You born yesterday day and a johnny come lately. You yet to see the real PNM, right now they are protected by the media.

Postby zoom rader » December 17th, 2015, 9:16 am

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

The great con job

Govt cuts Carnival budget by $44m

http://www.guardian.co.tt/news/2015-12- ... ign=buffer

The Government has reduced the budgetary allocation for Carnival 2016 by approximately $44 million. This was revealed by Culture, Arts and Community Development Minister Dr Nyan Gadsby-Dolly.

In 2015, the allocation for Carnival was $314 million but has decreased to $270 million for next year’s festival. In an interview with reporters after yesterday’s opening of the $13 million Beetham Gardens Community Centre, Gadsby-Dolly said the current economic conditions have forced the Government to cut back.

The 14 per cent reduction is the latest in a series of cuts announced by the Government . Earlier this month ministries were advised to reduce spending on Christmas parties and a far as possible scale them down to cater for staff only.

Gadsby-Dolly said: “Yes, that is what we are considering at this point because in every ministry there are shortfalls but we are looking to determine how we can establish the quality of the festival and not sacrifice that just because we don’t have the exact allocation that we would have expected from before.”

Asked if the Carnival stakeholders should be worried about the proposed reduction in allocation, Gadsby-Dolly responded quickly: “We have been in contact with our stakeholders and they understand the situation.”

She said the ministry was “in constant communication (with them) ensuring that they have what they need and the support from the ministry to be able to bring off what they have to for the Carnival.”

Gadsby-Dolly said there was other funding provided from the ministry and different State enterprises for Carnival but she did not elaborate. The National Carnival Commission (NCC) has said it was looking at creative ways to manage the reduced allocation. In an interview yesterday, NCC chairman Kenny de Silva said the commission was looking at how to cut costs or increase revenue.

Of the $270 million allocated to the commission for next year’s festival, $60 million was used to pay outstanding debts. “Contractors may have to adjust their prices downward,” De Silva said. He said that had already become a reality, as suppliers, understanding the economic challenges, had given the commission discounts of between 10 and 20 per cent.

“They are very sensitive to the issue of less funding. They are being conscious to that and are very amenable,” he added. Earlier this week, NCC communications manager Kevon Gervais said the commission did not foresee a significant impact on the festival.

“There are changes that need to be made and so these changes will be made.

“We don’t intend to do less things but we have to be more creative and innovative in the way funding is spent,” Gervais added.

Last year, the NCC received over $314 million in funding with a significant amount going toward debts from the 2014 festival.

Out of that funding, the National Carnival Bandleaders Association received $14 million, Pan Trinbago received $34.2 million and the Trinbago Unified Calypsonians Organisation received $10.8 million.

This year Pan Trinbago will receive $30 million in funding while the other two Carnival stakeholders will see funding reduced by approximately $2 million. Heads of Carnival organisations did not return repeated calls yesterday.

Gadsby-Dolly said she was not able to comment on the issue of the retention of the $2 million first prize for the International Soca Monarch.

The show features the top Soca artistes from T&T and the Caribbean. Soca star Machel Montano is not expected to defend his title this year, having said that last year would have been his last in the competition.

Parade of the Bands will be on Monday February 8 and Tuesday February 9, 2016

Yeah fete have to go on and workers can't collect what's due to dem.
I hope they learn from this and to vote wisely next time round.

EmilioA

Postby EmilioA » December 17th, 2015, 9:18 am

EmilioA wrote:It probably in the same place as TTEC 2.5 billion dollar debt. Face it ZR, the UNC in 5 years did more damage to this country than the PNM in 30.

You born yesterday day and a johnny come lately. You yet to see the real PNM, right now they are protected by the media.

So I see you NOT disagreeing with me. :mrgreen: