Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby Rovin » April 7th, 2020, 5:12 pm

pitchoil & constant fan blowing for dem coals to ketch ....

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2020, 5:46 pm

Nah...i dont use pitchoil....ever

I have a chimney starter, usually works good
But this batch of coals is rel balls.

Good thing i had a ¼ bag of kingsford briquettes around....
Rovin wrote:pitchoil & constant fan blowing for dem coals to ketch ....

Postby Rovin » April 7th, 2020, 6:01 pm

i myself doh really use pitchoil cause its not something i have use for so i dont really keep dat around, takes a while to burn off d smell too

i always have paint thinners on hand so i use a lil bit of dat jes to ignite or d kinda lighter chemical gel in a can that u dab onto d coals , works arite but constant electric fan breeze works best for me ....

Postby maj. tom » April 7th, 2020, 6:13 pm

What I do is 100 ml isopropyl rubbing alcohol + 100 ml cooking oil. Emulsify them by shaking well.

Homemade food-safe lighter fluid because that alcohol evaporates once the fire is going, and all that is left is the cooking oil soaked in the coals. Easy fire starter. Make a pyramid with the coals, pour fluid over the coals, and start fire with some newspapers buried at the base of the pyramid. Just have patience and within 30 minutes the coals are hot ashed over with no fan or blower, etc.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2020, 6:36 pm

Cooking oil soaked paper towels are a good fire starter.

Postby Rovin » April 7th, 2020, 6:47 pm

so long i eh make a bbq i forget i also use cooking oil as a starter fuel too

a few pieces of pitch pine wood in between d coals helps

sometimes i use a home made cooking gas torch to jump start d coals a bit then fan breeze in e tail ...

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2020, 7:10 pm

Pugboy teach me the tuna can special

Take a old tuna can, fill bout ⅛ with methylated spirits
Place under chimmney
Works really bess....no foul smoke.

I live in an apartment setting
So less fumes and racket i make while cooking better.

A few weeks ago i did a 5hr smoke on on beef chunks and none of the neighbours knew i was outside cooking.

Lol

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2020, 7:17 pm

if the nonbriq coals giving trouble to light
they probably werent properly made, didnt get a chance to carbonize all the way through
the way they make them is very rudimentary method

dig a big hole, stack the wood inside, light the top on fire then throw dirt to keep the heat in and hope it burns internally and turn to carbon
after a couple days
them fellas right by the guaico stretch doing that

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2020, 7:18 pm

if you using lighter fluid check this vid

https://youtu.be/0cZSJstbT8g

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 7:38 pm

Allyuh thinking all lil to far and to much chemicals...I just cut up some pitch pine and cardboard...coals be swinging in less than 5 minutes

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2020, 7:52 pm

A wick made of paper towels soaked in cooking oil with coals piled on works well and leaves no chemicals in your heat.

The wick is made deya style like you would for ghee deyas

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » April 7th, 2020, 7:54 pm

Put ONE coal on the stove top to get a lil corner going, then put it under a pile of coals in the BBQ pit and use a blow dryer, air blower etc and before you know it all the coals lit, Even for cold coals that stayed out for weeks.

Postby Rovin » April 7th, 2020, 7:58 pm

Put ONE coal on the stove top to get a lil corner going, then put it under a pile of coals in the BBQ pit and use a blow dryer, air blower etc and before you know it all the coals lit, Even for cold coals that stayed out for weeks.

thats a good way that works too

like d old american expression : more than 1 way to skin a cat ...

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 8:24 pm

Worse case scenario...I does use meh roaster

carluva

Postby carluva » April 7th, 2020, 9:46 pm

Waste of time... Use a chimney starter with some gazette paper for kindling. Good to go in 20 mins while you prepping odder tings

Postby *KRONIK* » April 8th, 2020, 6:29 am

pugboy wrote:if the nonbriq coals giving trouble to light
they probably werent properly made, didnt get a chance to carbonize all the way through
the way they make them is very rudimentary method

dig a big hole, stack the wood inside, light the top on fire then throw dirt to keep the heat in and hope it burns internally and turn to carbon
after a couple days
them fellas right by the guaico stretch doing that

i think yuh right, cuz i added some of the smaller pcs to the briquettes and they never light either.

Postby pugboy » April 8th, 2020, 6:33 am

if yuh tap it the sound it makes can tell

a good hardwood charcoal give a thin sharp metallic sound, the wood is a hard carbonized sponge

a dull thud means it have plenty solids inside still and moisture

Postby gastly369 » April 8th, 2020, 7:19 am

This what does do

Postby Gladiator » April 8th, 2020, 10:33 am

Got some bad coals once... put it in the oven for a 20 mins then light it up and it light nice.

Also I keep a couple pieces in the kitchen, after cooking curry or stew light the coal put it in a bowl and rest it inside the pot. The coal smokes up and flavors the food nice. Like a fireside cook...

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 8th, 2020, 10:57 am

Roasted tomato came out amazing. Very reminiscent of sun-dried tomatoes, concentrated tomato flavour, slight tartness from the natural acidity and the herbs took it over the top.

Also made a banana bread last night. Baking is my weak point.

Second take, last week it was a little dry. Made some adjustments and it's super moist now.

Wanna try bread soon.
20200407_201833.jpeg
IMG_20200407_195321_547.jpeg

Postby maj. tom » April 8th, 2020, 11:06 am

Add some mayonnaise for better moisture and mouth feel to any baking recipe with eggs.
I experimented with this last Christmas with cake from scratch. You can add up to a whole cup of mayonnaise to the batter when you add 2 eggs. I used the good Hellman's, the one that looks a bit yellow (more yolk).

It really works with amazing results! Think, what is mayonnaise made of?

Postby rspann » April 8th, 2020, 3:25 pm

VexXx Dogg wrote:Roasted tomato came out amazing. Very reminiscent of sun-dried tomatoes, concentrated tomato flavour, slight tartness from the natural acidity and the herbs took it over the top.

Also made a banana bread last night. Baking is my weak point.

Second take, last week it was a little dry. Made some adjustments and it's super moist now.

Wanna try bread soon.IMG_20200407_195321_547.jpeg20200407_201833.jpeg

It have a big moderator here who does bake a wicked pumpkin bread , but like pumpkin scarce these days . I not calling nobody name . He know who he is . At least he could share the recipe .

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2020, 3:53 pm

i now cooking up some chicken pelea with red beans in it , dise for today & for tomorrow eating too ...

Postby Dizzy28 » April 8th, 2020, 3:58 pm

This stay at home thing man have to adjust.
Today's lunch was rice, Saijon(Moringa) with potatoes and tomatoes and salt fish.

Saijon oui......Prior to this I wouldn't eat that if it was the only food around

Postby rspann » April 8th, 2020, 4:01 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:This stay at home thing man have to adjust.
Today's lunch was rice, Saijon(Moringa) with potatoes and tomatoes and salt fish.

Saijon oui......Prior to this I wouldn't eat that if it was the only food around

You better than me . I not eating it if it was the ONLY food around .

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2020, 4:24 pm

lol i see Saijon by my sis a few days ago , i eh ask for any ..... not 1 of my fav

Postby eliteauto » April 8th, 2020, 4:34 pm

and like every vendor have heaps of carille these days, who eh like it go lie down by it

Postby rspann » April 8th, 2020, 4:42 pm

eliteauto wrote:and like every vendor have heaps of carille these days, who eh like it go lie down by it

That was my mother favourite line.

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » April 8th, 2020, 5:01 pm

Curried with some potatoes...bess
Rovin wrote:lol i see Saijon by my sis a few days ago , i eh ask for any ..... not 1 of my fav

Postby Rovin » April 8th, 2020, 5:05 pm

^^u might as well throw een some boil egg in it too ......... :skurred: