*** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Humes

Re: *** THE OFFICIAL HOME THEATER & AUDIO THREAD**

Postby Humes » February 17th, 2011, 12:29 am

Nice, but what about the extra features? I like my commentary tracks.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 17th, 2011, 9:01 am

^ I buy quite a bit of original blu-ray movies and honestly I've never looked at it with the commentary tracks. The extras like alternate endings, out takes and the making of MIGHT get a once over.

Of course streaming right now wont give you true BD quality either, but the value at getting to watch the movie at 1080p legally as soon as it's out on blu-ray for $3.99 is pretty slick - I'll still buy movies that I really like I suppose. Like I'll never give up my original JJ Abrams Star Trek BD disc.

Soundwave

Postby Soundwave » February 17th, 2011, 9:11 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:Like I'll never give up my original JJ Abrams Star Trek BD disc.

R2D2...

Humes

Postby Humes » February 17th, 2011, 10:08 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ I buy quite a bit of original blu-ray movies and honestly I've never looked at it with the commentary tracks. The extras like alternate endings, out takes and the making of MIGHT get a once over.

Of course streaming right now wont give you true BD quality either, but the value at getting to watch the movie at 1080p legally as soon as it's out on blu-ray for $3.99 is pretty slick - I'll still buy movies that I really like I suppose. Like I'll never give up my original JJ Abrams Star Trek BD disc.

Extra features are the main reason I buy discs. If I just want to see the movie again, I download. That's why I like Netflix. It's a price I'm willing to pay (I'd pay twice that, honestly) for easy access to that many movies.

The VUDU...I can see the value of, but I prefer the Netflix set-up.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 17th, 2011, 10:09 am

Wait wait no DNS change & region blocks for Vudu?

Trinifieds

Postby Trinifieds » February 17th, 2011, 11:09 am

Not sure if you guys came across this but I thought I'd post it anyway. Looks like a good guide.

http://www.dolby.com/consumer/setup/spe ... index.html

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 17th, 2011, 11:18 am

^ yup good stuff - It was posted earlier in the thread

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 17th, 2011, 11:22 am

Duane answer meh question nah i think i loaded VUdu but didn't get through.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 17th, 2011, 11:25 am

Humes wrote:
The VUDU...I can see the value of, but I prefer the Netflix set-up.
what about netflix do you prefer over vudu?

drop ho wrote:Wait wait no DNS change & region blocks for Vudu?
use usvideo.org to mask your IP, its a paid service but it works well and is legal

Humes

Postby Humes » February 17th, 2011, 11:58 am

I prefer to pay that fee for the convenience of the streaming many movies, than to pay for individual movies. If VUDU was all disc content (extra features etc) for a lower price ($10-$20), I'd make use of it.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 17th, 2011, 1:01 pm

Ok so help meh here after you sign up with the usvideo.org. ie putting in your email address
(after 1 month free you are require to pay)
Choose a region and they give primary and secondary DNS.
Go to PS3 settings and change, restart machine and load either Netflix or Vudu?

This is what I did and didn't get through am I missing something?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 17th, 2011, 1:04 pm

^ don't change the DNS on your PS3, change it on your router

Humes wrote:I prefer to pay that fee for the convenience of the streaming many movies, than to pay for individual movies. If VUDU was all disc content (extra features etc) for a lower price ($10-$20), I'd make use of it.
I hear yuh, which is why I'll more than likely have both

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 17th, 2011, 1:07 pm

Duane I run direct from flow modem to ps3.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 17th, 2011, 1:10 pm

^ it should work by changing the DNS on the PS3, if not get a router

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 17th, 2011, 1:12 pm

ok will try again. thx
i have a router if i put in between modem and ps3 do I chg DNS on ps too or just the router.

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 17th, 2011, 1:17 pm

Did you say buy for 9.99?
Then separate hd for bluray movies for TTD 65.00 or therabout?
If i'm assuming right Duane?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 17th, 2011, 1:26 pm

if you change the DNS on the router and setup DHCP then you dont have to set DNS or IP on other devices

Not sure what you're asking about the price
so far I've paid usvideo.org US$49.99 for one year to mask my IP
I'm still on the netflix trial but that costs US$9.99 per month for unlimited movies.
Vudu doesnt have a subscription fee but they charge ~US$3.99 per HD movie (you have 24hrs to watch it) or you can buy it for ~US$15 and watch it anytime and as often as you like (good for movies that the kids like to watch over and over again)

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 17th, 2011, 1:40 pm

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ Netflix is very cool - been using it over a week now, but...

I just installed VUDU on the PS3
http://www.vudu.com

There is no subscription: you rent each movie you want for ~US$3.99 or can buy it for US$9.99
There is no waiting, the movie streams instantly and in full 1080p with 5.1 Dolby Digital (I tested it)
Oh and for ppl with 3D TV's it streams HD 3D as well
They have movies as soon as they come out on blu-ray, same day. You can watch trailers for free or watch 2 mins of any movie for free before deciding to rent or buy. Plus they have a huge selection of older movies too from as far back as the 80's

I just sat and giggled at the blow-minded-ness of the whole thing. The quality is superb.

It only works on PS3 and TV's and Blu Ray players that have Vudu built in.
There is a PC app too: Install Boxee and then install the Vudu app for boxee

I may never have to buy another blu-ray disc again!

I'm still in the 30 day trial for Netflix, not sure if to take the lower quality of netflix for all-you-can-watch for a monthly fee, or the no subscription, full HD and 5.1 of Vudu and pay as you watch. I might just keep both!

drop ho

Postby drop ho » February 17th, 2011, 1:46 pm

k thx duane.

Final question but i guess i will try it to see if it works as well i used an email address before on usvideo.org, 1 mth has since elapsed if use a diff email address will there be another 1 mth free trial?

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 17th, 2011, 1:50 pm

^ it's 1 week trial - I assume it might work - try it and see

Postby M_2NR » February 17th, 2011, 2:47 pm

k just used therenamer for all my seasons and files... and OMW! i was worried at first but when it works.. it WORKS! all my top gear is sorted. It literally took under 1 minute! XBMC found it so nicely as well! I need to find out though, how do i rename specials or point it to so that either finds it. because i now have to sections of top gear. I vex though because it didnt work nice with Allo Allo or Xmen :(

ru$$ell

Postby ru$$ell » February 17th, 2011, 5:19 pm

^nice find,it worked good with allo allo for me actually, rename it to 'allo 'allo and try.

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 17th, 2011, 8:03 pm

drop ho wrote:k thx duane.

Final question but i guess i will try it to see if it works as well i used an email address before on usvideo.org, 1 mth has since elapsed if use a diff email address will there be another 1 mth free trial?

7 days trial

once you change your ip and use another email the trial will restart

to change your IP on blink just reset the power on the blink modem

i got fedup of this after a while and paid for the year subscription, its works wherever i go

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 17th, 2011, 11:00 pm

^ yeah i paid for a year too

copper_shot wrote: its works wherever i go
explain that?

oh and IP masking lets you get Pandora Radio too - pretty cool for free

Postby X_Factor » February 18th, 2011, 7:07 am

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 18th, 2011, 8:39 am

Duane 3NE 2NR wrote:^ yeah i paid for a year too

copper_shot wrote: its works wherever i go
explain that?

oh and IP masking lets you get Pandora Radio too - pretty cool for free

well it works at home and work,
before i use it, i need to use a browser and go to the website and register my email address that i paid for with and it would work at that location

if i need it at home i do the same

so i don't think it simultaneous

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2011, 8:49 am

^ but wont you have to change the DNS at work too?

copper_shot

Postby copper_shot » February 18th, 2011, 9:20 am

oh yea, i only use it on one pc at work
so i changed the DNS on that pc

but you don't have to change the DNS everytime

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » February 18th, 2011, 9:33 am

^ ok, when you said "its works wherever i go" I thought to were making reference to something more mobile

I also watch netflix on my iPhone, however if I get a wifi signal while I'm out somewhere Netflix wont work cause I wont have access to change the DNS on that wifi router

I'll check out NetInfo or other iPhone app that allows you to change your DNS and try it again

--------------------------------------------------------

On another note:

Amazon has a Gold Box deal on Klipsch HD 500 5.1 Home Theater Speaker System
50% OFF!!!!

US$299 today only
this usually costs $599

RapToR
Location: Wholesaler & Reseller --- FREE Delivery<--Almost Anywhere!

Postby RapToR » February 18th, 2011, 9:42 am

pioneer wrote:pm raptor quickkk

ah get yuh PM

i got 6 on order