Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2010, 8:21 pm

starting out honda fella..

Ive kept fresh water for years before but now starting out with marine fish.

4ft tank, substrate, canister filter, thermometer, water in tank mixed with salt mix already.

jus awaiting live rock to start cycling the tank.

Ive done so much research and reading online already google really was my best friend.

Things i need again: Live rock, protein skimmer, powerheads.

If finances permit, i may consider getting a RO-DI unit and a UV light.

Ive been eyeing a Coralife skimmer on amazon for about $85 us

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 1st, 2010, 8:27 pm

rossi wrote:Looking for 2 Oscars. Must be young.
Also, I need a water circulation pump for a 30 Gallon tank.
Any links?

How young? I have a few about 5 - 6"

rossi

Postby rossi » August 1st, 2010, 8:48 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
Any links?

Damn....I wanted them a little smaller...like 2-3 inches. Know where I can get any like that?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 1st, 2010, 9:19 pm

rossi wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:
Any links?

Damn....I wanted them a little smaller...like 2-3 inches. Know where I can get any like that?

Lal in the bamboo or Kurt cocorite

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2010, 9:23 pm

i bought an Instant ocean- Seaclone 100 protein skimmer from raj to handle the 4ft for $900. This has a small powerhead attatched. its a good brand. Can be used as a hang on or in sump. Bought a much bigger one for the bigger tank which has a 500 gal/hr pump. you can get anything from Raj. nything you see in a magazine or online, he can get it for the same price or better. I bought my hood and chiller from Raj also. Was to go yesterday to pick it up but will go tuesday or something. Prices of chillers and stuff vary due to brands. My tank and refugium/sump i bought from a guy in chaguanas called Arriff.

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2010, 9:55 pm

The seaclone 100 is a sufficient skimmer for a 4ft, but let me ask u a question. Why pay raj 900 for it and u can bring order it for urself on amazon for $70 us?

Calculations including weight and taxes not even crossing $650tt. The internet is a great place, invest in a credit card and skybox.

How much u got the sump for from the guy in chagaunas.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2010, 10:10 pm

i needed one at de time and could not wait, and at de time when i bought it, they were selling online for 120US. de sump i end up doing was especially for d underside of my tank stand and had to be made in 2 pieces, cost was under 1000.
Last edited by HondaB20B on August 1st, 2010, 11:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2010, 10:32 pm

I have a small sump at home to sell. it will work on a 4ft. its 30in X 12in X12in. it have all de bio=rings and stuff

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2010, 10:37 pm

Price...an how come u buy a new one if u had one arredy :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2010, 10:53 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Price...an how come u buy a new one if u had one arredy :|

cause its a sump only and will not work for my 200gal+ tank. the one i got made will hold nearly 40gal, has a large refugium and has room for a big pump and skimmer. the footprint for the skimmer alone is 12in X14in.

give me $400. it has all de egg-crate, bio-rings, sponge and floss

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 3rd, 2010, 1:03 pm

sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
kss2801 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Ok i swear ive called almost every pet shop... Can anyone tell me where i can get live sand to buy :?

Bought all the equipment needed for my marine setup now except this and the live rock.

you don't need live sand, especially if u are using live rock. you can get dry argonite sand from raj (7448768) or santoo (6897227)

my experience along with other people i know with santo and d live rock he uses is that he bleaches de rocks and when you put them in, the bleach leaches out an kills everything. i've still got about 40lbs or rock from him still that barely grow algae in a saltwater tub outside. i bought over 100lbs of rocks from Raj for my tanks and never had any problems. if you are buying a chiller, make sure you are getting service in case it breaks down, also make sure its de right size cause then you might just be overworking it. i'm collecting a 1/2hp chiller for my new tank this wk. raj also makes chillers and services them

Hmm this will def make me reconsider because i got a number for him an called him for some rock but he didnt have in stock, he said hed get in the next week.

but if its bleached, i dont want to buy rock thats dead with the organisms killed...its a reason its called LIVE ROCK. If thats the case ill give raj a call.

How much did he sell u for? per lb for eg.

Fellas,
not sure what experiences you have but I got all my live rock from Santoo and it was never bleached. I can vouch for his rock and if there was anything wrong with it I am sure that I would know as my reef is full of SPS coral.

All the rock that i got from him was full of coraline and various types ocean life. I have bought on multiple occasions.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 3rd, 2010, 1:06 pm

sharkman121 wrote:The seaclone 100 is a sufficient skimmer for a 4ft, but let me ask u a question. Why pay raj 900 for it and u can bring order it for urself on amazon for $70 us?

Calculations including weight and taxes not even crossing $650tt. The internet is a great place, invest in a credit card and skybox.

How much u got the sump for from the guy in chagaunas.

I would stay away from the seaclone. It was the first skimmer that I used when i got into this hobby about 10 years ago, and every other skimmer that I have ever used since has beaten it hands down. Check it out on a search at reefcentral and you will see what people think about it.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 4th, 2010, 9:07 am

Fishman wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:
kss2801 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Ok i swear ive called almost every pet shop... Can anyone tell me where i can get live sand to buy :?

Bought all the equipment needed for my marine setup now except this and the live rock.

you don't need live sand, especially if u are using live rock. you can get dry argonite sand from raj (7448768) or santoo (6897227)

my experience along with other people i know with santo and d live rock he uses is that he bleaches de rocks and when you put them in, the bleach leaches out an kills everything. i've still got about 40lbs or rock from him still that barely grow algae in a saltwater tub outside. i bought over 100lbs of rocks from Raj for my tanks and never had any problems. if you are buying a chiller, make sure you are getting service in case it breaks down, also make sure its de right size cause then you might just be overworking it. i'm collecting a 1/2hp chiller for my new tank this wk. raj also makes chillers and services them

Hmm this will def make me reconsider because i got a number for him an called him for some rock but he didnt have in stock, he said hed get in the next week.

but if its bleached, i dont want to buy rock thats dead with the organisms killed...its a reason its called LIVE ROCK. If thats the case ill give raj a call.

How much did he sell u for? per lb for eg.

Fellas,
not sure what experiences you have but I got all my live rock from Santoo and it was never bleached. I can vouch for his rock and if there was anything wrong with it I am sure that I would know as my reef is full of SPS coral.

All the rock that i got from him was full of coraline and various types ocean life. I have bought on multiple occasions.

I not saying dat everything d man have bad eh. just that me and 2 other pardners went and buy some rock about 4 mths ago (he said he got it in tobago) and up to today nothing growing on it. had some cromis, crabs and 2 sponges in that tub. de man realy have some good fish and coral though. say whah.................... gopaul luck aint seepaul luck. i just had a bad experience with him

Postby sharkman121 » August 4th, 2010, 9:15 am

:shock: :shock: @ the price of chillers

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 4th, 2010, 9:49 am

sharkman121 wrote::shock: :shock: @ the price of chillers

prices realy vary depending on brand and HP size.

Postby UML » August 4th, 2010, 11:47 am

Lighting for a 4ft reef tank...well it would eventually be a reeftank so I rather buy the lighting one time..starting off with simple saltwater tank.

What brand and type?

Where can I buy it?

Price?

Thanks

Postby sharkman121 » August 4th, 2010, 11:56 am

Santoo has 4ft bulbs for marine aquaria also wazir in Aranguez.

U can also use metal halides for the reef tanks for corals and anemones but they are pretty expensive.

I have a 2ft bulbs in my tank but ill upgrade seeing that it takes at least 6 months recommended before yr tank is ready to accomodate coral and other invertebrates which require bright lighting. At least 8,000 Kelvin/daylight.

How far u reach with ur tank UML?

shotta 20

Postby shotta 20 » August 4th, 2010, 12:12 pm

Anybody has fancy coloured half moon or crowntail bettas (Fighters) for sale?
Could be black, platinum, orange, green, yellow etc.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 4th, 2010, 1:08 pm

Closer to the end of the year I may be upgrading my lighting system to higher powered halides, so I will be selling my 250W ballasts and reflectors once i upgrade if you are interested. It will probably need new bulbs once i am ready to sell.

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 4th, 2010, 2:52 pm

UML wrote:Lighting for a 4ft reef tank...well it would eventually be a reeftank so I rather buy the lighting one time..starting off with simple saltwater tank.

What brand and type?

Where can I buy it?

Price?

Thanks

check out currentUSA. Alot of the new lighting systems has cooling fans and stuff built in. both santoo and raj bring them in. Raj had one up to yesterday with 6- 39W T5's i think. heard him saying between 35-4000

Postby UML » August 4th, 2010, 9:46 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Santoo has 4ft bulbs for marine aquaria also wazir in Aranguez.

U can also use metal halides for the reef tanks for corals and anemones but they are pretty expensive.

I have a 2ft bulbs in my tank but ill upgrade seeing that it takes at least 6 months recommended before yr tank is ready to accomodate coral and other invertebrates which require bright lighting. At least 8,000 Kelvin/daylight.

How far u reach with ur tank UML?

how effective are bulbs to reef development?

boy not very far...i only now starting up and my Project/Vision 2020 will take some time....so i not rushing...reading right now and trying tuh know wat i need and where i can get it.

Ppl please let me know wah type/wattage for the lighting system I would need thx

Fishman wrote:Closer to the end of the year I may be upgrading my lighting system to higher powered halides, so I will be selling my 250W ballasts and reflectors once i upgrade if you are interested. It will probably need new bulbs once i am ready to sell.

I looking for a whole set up really...i doh like headache...especially how I dont know much about it. If it is suitable for my system and u willing tuh sell it as a whole I dont mind.

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:Lighting for a 4ft reef tank...well it would eventually be a reeftank so I rather buy the lighting one time..starting off with simple saltwater tank.

What brand and type?

Where can I buy it?

Price?

Thanks

check out currentUSA. Alot of the new lighting systems has cooling fans and stuff built in. both santoo and raj bring them in. Raj had one up to yesterday with 6- 39W T5's i think. heard him saying between 35-4000

thx for the info will check it out.thx

Ppl please let me know wah type/wattage for the lighting system I would need thx

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 4th, 2010, 10:49 pm

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 4th, 2010, 11:05 pm

HondaB20B wrote:Check out http://www.aquacon.com/

Tomorrow? :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 4th, 2010, 11:15 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:Check out http://www.aquacon.com/

Tomorrow? :|

yeah, got tied up at office later today.

Postby UML » August 4th, 2010, 11:28 pm

in addition to the lighting wattage specification.....wah about reverse osmosis systems?!!!

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 4th, 2010, 11:47 pm

UML wrote:in addition to the lighting wattage specification.....wah about reverse osmosis systems?!!!

you should definitely invest in an RO unit. Especially for saltwater use. you will see alot of stress with algae and other stuff if you use normal tapwater. you will need for waterchanges and topoff. Its about 25-3000 for a complete unit. Right now i buy about 3 or 4 five gallon bottles every mth for 35 each to do my topups. have to buy a unit though

Postby UML » August 5th, 2010, 6:25 am

HondaB20B wrote:
UML wrote:in addition to the lighting wattage specification.....wah about reverse osmosis systems?!!!

you should definitely invest in an RO unit. Especially for saltwater use. you will see alot of stress with algae and other stuff if you use normal tapwater. you will need for waterchanges and topoff. Its about 25-3000 for a complete unit. Right now i buy about 3 or 4 five gallon bottles every mth for 35 each to do my topups. have to buy a unit though

Where do I source such a system?
What type/specifications would be required?

BTW when buying equipment who has the lowest price raj? santoo? or wazir? (i only know raj)

thx

Postby sharkman121 » August 5th, 2010, 7:31 am

UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

BTW when buying equipment who has the lowest price raj? santoo? or wazir? (i only know raj)

thx

Wazir has the lowest prices, but he does not have as much equipment as raj or santoo.

Visited santoo last week and raj yesterday, i still find the best bet is to bring in my stuff online.

Also i know quite a few guys who use tap water to top up, the tap water in tnt is "supposed" much better quality than the US. it will still contain chlorine and chloramine but Prime Water Conditioner is the best product on the market to get rid of those (there are a number of products on the market for this but prime is the best). They use this method and get little to no algae growth due to nutrients in the tap water and avoid buying costly RO-DI (reverse osmosis, di ionizing) units.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 5th, 2010, 8:05 am

sharkman121 wrote:
UML wrote:
HondaB20B wrote:

thx

Wazir has the lowest prices, but he does not have as much equipment as raj or santoo.

Visited santoo last week and raj yesterday, i still find the best bet is to bring in my stuff online.

Also i know quite a few guys who use tap water to top up, the tap water in tnt is "supposed" much better quality than the US. it will still contain chlorine and chloramine but Prime Water Conditioner is the best product on the market to get rid of those (there are a number of products on the market for this but prime is the best). They use this method and get little to no algae growth due to nutrients in the tap water and avoid buying costly RO-DI (reverse osmosis, di ionizing) units.

If you are getting into coral especially SPS I recommend a RO/DI unit. There are other minerals in the water that prime will not get rid of. Even though you may not get algae growth it will affect stony coral health. Our local water has about 120 TDS and you need to achieve 0 TDS. The TDS may vary depending on which treatment plant you are getting your water from. Not to mention our local water is batch treated so chemicals fluctuate. It only takes one bad batch too bring down a system. I learnt this the hard way.

Fishman

Postby Fishman » August 5th, 2010, 8:08 am

thx for the info will check it out.thx

Ppl please let me know wah type/wattage for the lighting system I would need thx[/quote]

It really depends on what you are trying to keep. Once you figure that out, choosing your lighting system will be easier.