COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 10170 cases, 163 deaths, 1656 active, 8351 recovered in T&T

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 29th, 2021, 5:33 pm

Trinis so dotish...grocery didnt close but check them

Allyuh should see outside kfc in arima and curepe
IMG-20210429-WA0157.jpg

Dohplaydat

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 10170 cases, 163 deaths, 1656 active, 8351 recovered in T&T

Postby Dohplaydat » April 29th, 2021, 5:37 pm

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Trinis so dotish...grocery didnt close but check them

And traffic for so, I now come back from buying some Chinese food (I had plan to anyway steups) and groceries ram pack everywhere.

Only rational assumption is people don't have food to cook for tomorrow...but somehow I doubt that's the case.

Postby Chimera » April 29th, 2021, 5:38 pm

Its month end anyway u know.

Postby Kenjo » April 29th, 2021, 5:40 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:Its month end anyway u know.

This

Postby bluefete » April 29th, 2021, 5:42 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Trinis so dotish...grocery didnt close but check them

And traffic for so, I now come back from buying some Chinese food (I had plan to anyway steups) and groceries ram pack everywhere.

Only rational assumption is people don't have food to cook for tomorrow...but somehow I doubt that's the case.

Perfect timing to encourage further spread. That seems to be the agenda. Month end and lockdown.

Postby pugboy » April 29th, 2021, 5:43 pm

also is end of month

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 29th, 2021, 5:46 pm

Number of tests being done are at their highest rate ever.
Screenshot 2021-04-29 at 5.46.25 pm.png

Hospitalizations getting scarily high and would probably be almost double in a week.
Screenshot 2021-04-29 at 5.46.30 pm.png

Postby toyolink » April 29th, 2021, 5:56 pm

Our response to our covid19 experience continues to be reactive and focused on constraining physical human activity to attain some level of control.
We don't seem to have a committed strategy to clinically attempt to impact the rate of infections save the covax initiative which itself is failing given its inability to deliver large enough quantities in a short time period to poorer countries which are in trouble today.
Maybe exploration of other sources of vaccines not necessarily supported and approved by WHO need to be seriously considered.
Our reality suggest that if we continue to hope for an effective vaccine solution using the supply arrangements we seem to have tied ourselves to, our timelines may be pushed many years out whilst the virus keeps re-inventing itself.
Our economic and financial circumstances suggest that if we don't start thinking outside the box our economy would crash.
T&T bumping around like a yoyo just aint the way and its looking reasonable to assume that the next vaccine shipment when it arrives is going to be greeted by a population of people who will be willing to fight to be first in line.
Yes, the president of the USA last evening said that they would able to supply large quantities of vaccines to the global community but only after they have their situation under control.
Urgent 'out of the box' thinking is absolutely imperative.

Postby Gladiator » April 29th, 2021, 6:06 pm

bluefete wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Perfect timing to encourage further spread. That seems to be the agenda. Month end and lockdown.

Same thing i was saying... brainless dotish PNM govt...wait till frikin month end to done then lock down nah....forcing everybody to ram out now and spread more

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2021, 6:08 pm

tarzan wrote:
aaron17 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:From fb:

I think the PM forgot to read the part of his speech that said: “also with effect from Midnight....

1. All financial institutions will suspend mortgage/loan payments for both businesses and individuals until the economy is reopened

2. The PM and all members of Parliament/Ministers will take a 50 percent pay cut until the economy is in positive growth once again

3. All public servants and state enterprises employee from the top will be paid 50% of their salaries freeing up resources to provide some relief to private sector unemployed

4. All supermarkets and pharmacies will price merchandise at cost price until economy of reopened

I’m sure out in control PM will call a special meeting complete this part of his speech because his is a caring government.

https://www.facebook.com/inderasagewanp ... 2158008491
Sounds not tru...for now

banks suspending loan payments will have to eventually cut staff and close branches.

supermarkets and pharmacies selling at cost price will not be able to pay rent and pay staff also.

1- they can do it on a case by case basis- everyone who still employed and have an income can pay, defer for other persons affected by these restrictions, unless persons had refused to abide by all the health protocols.

2- agreed

3- only for non essentials or those who are not working from home

4- maybe not cost price as they won't be able to pay their own workers, but at no more than 20% markup. their suppliers who are raising prices need to be reigned in too

death365

Postby death365 » April 29th, 2021, 6:08 pm

Na he say strret food OK...

If I were a store food place I woulda a set up a tent in front and sell there... Also what about the royal castle mobile fry outlets the can open being street food too?
MaxPower wrote:What about doubles?

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2021, 6:10 pm

Gladiator wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Same thing i was saying... brainless dotish PNM govt...wait till frikin month end to done then lock down nah....forcing everybody to ram out now and spread more

it would have been ram out this weekend, waiting would cause more spread

Postby redmanjp » April 29th, 2021, 6:20 pm

K74T wrote:328 as mentioned earlier plus 2 deaths

FB_IMG_1619728684404.jpeg

he got the number earlier, hence the decisions taken today

Postby Habit7 » April 29th, 2021, 6:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:
Gladiator wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

it would have been ram out this weekend, waiting would cause more spread

Exactly.

Like when is a good time to cause a lockdown with daily rising cases?

Postby Strugglerzinc » April 29th, 2021, 6:46 pm

Gladiator wrote:
bluefete wrote:
Dohplaydat wrote:

Forcing them to Ram out what tho? In this case we can safely see is dotish trinis. Man didn't touch supermarkets yet see Pmart pic above.

Postby timelapse » April 29th, 2021, 7:00 pm

Probably finally run out of toilet paper..

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 10498 cases, 165 deaths, 1913 active, 8420 recovered in T&T

Postby Country_Bookie » April 29th, 2021, 7:04 pm

Don't understand what's the risk in allowing restaurants to remain open once they have curb side pickup , drive thru or even delivery.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 10498 cases, 165 deaths, 1913 active, 8420 recovered in T&T

Postby sMASH » April 29th, 2021, 7:11 pm

Country_Bookie wrote:Don't understand what's the risk in allowing restaurants to remain open once they have curb side pickup , drive thru or even delivery.

after the let carnival go on and there was the visitor that died, they locked down hard to protect against the first wave they expected.
after the 2020 general election and the covid spiked, the locked down and changed laws to over correct for calling elections so early and allowing the typical wajang behaviour.
this is just the over correction to follow their members, friends, family and financiers palancing for the easter

if ur measures are so good, how on earth did we get the brazilian variant? nobody coming in was passed through without passing through the covid protocols.
so is either the measures werent good enough, or they had people allowed to supersede the measures. either way, they were incompetent

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 29th, 2021, 7:25 pm

He should have known better and announced these measures 9 pm tonight to take effect Midnight.
Trinis really foolish and today's behavior would only lead to more cases in the coming days.
FB_IMG_1619737970909.jpeg

Postby 88sins » April 29th, 2021, 7:39 pm

So, we on lockdown again. This was expected. I recently found out, more than half of patients in the currently rising infection rate are infected with the P1 mutated version of the virus.
Question.
Keeping our "porous" borders in mind, do you think this will be effective in stymieing the spread of this wave of this P1 variant of the virus?
Something tells me that we in for a long hard ride.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 29th, 2021, 7:42 pm

Staying home tonight yes.

Postby Kenjo » April 29th, 2021, 7:51 pm

88sins wrote:So, we on lockdown again. This was expected. I recently found out, more than half of patients in the currently rising infection rate are infected with the P1 mutated version of the virus.
Question.
Keeping our "porous" borders in mind, do you think this will be effective in stymieing the spread of this wave of this P1 variant of the virus?

They can’t test have the samples for the P1 variant actually . It’s a sample of the positive cases . Where you heard that?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 29th, 2021, 7:52 pm

88sins wrote:So, we on lockdown again. This was expected. I recently found out, more than half of patients in the currently rising infection rate are infected with the P1 mutated version of the virus.
Question.

Cases will continue to be high for at least 2-3 weeks. To stamp out this rampant strain is next to impossible, the best we can hope for is very limited spread at the end of this of this period.

At this stage in the out break covid is everywhere. Therefore, a lock down needs to last for at least 6 weeks otherwise we end up in a situation like this soon after.

Due to the last lap activities from today we probably had at least 5000 new infections today alone.

They will then in turn spread it to their family and close friends over the next week.

So that's roughly at least 2 weeks of lots of cases, then after which we should start seeing a reduction.

So basically don't expect a quick turnaround.

Postby alfa » April 29th, 2021, 8:00 pm

Question.

The only thing that is going to do is make idiots think the govt is doing something in their best interest

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » April 29th, 2021, 8:16 pm

sMASH wrote:
Country_Bookie wrote:Don't understand what's the risk in allowing restaurants to remain open once they have curb side pickup , drive thru or even delivery.

after the let carnival go on and there was the visitor that died, they locked down hard to protect against the first wave they expected.
after the 2020 general election and the covid spiked, the locked down and changed laws to over correct for calling elections so early and allowing the typical wajang behaviour.
this is just the over correction to follow their members, friends, family and financiers palancing for the easter

if ur measures are so good, how on earth did we get the brazilian variant? nobody coming in was passed through without passing through the covid protocols.
so is either the measures werent good enough, or they had people allowed to supersede the measures. either way, they were incompetent

No you Jackarse. Isn't it more feasible that the brazil variant was introduced via an illegal immigrant? Why do some of you all make everything seem like rocket science? All of our covid problems today stem from illegal immigration.

Postby paid_influencer » April 29th, 2021, 8:43 pm

I agree with it actually. Without food available, people more tend to do what they have to do and go back home after.

Case and point: San Fernando already dead, but I fully expect it to get 100% more dead now that there is no food available.

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 29th, 2021, 8:54 pm

I really don't know wtf going on but alot of people gonna be hungry and starving in the coming weeks.
I think things were allowed to get out of hand before decisions were made.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 29th, 2021, 9:00 pm

wtf wrote:I really don't know wtf going on but alot of people gonna be hungry and starving in the coming weeks.
I think things were allowed to get out of hand before decisions were made.

Very true, wtf.

nismotrinidappa

Postby nismotrinidappa » April 29th, 2021, 9:01 pm

KFC website crash..