COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 9676 cases, 159 deaths, 1343 active, 8173 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » April 27th, 2021, 3:08 pm

MaxPower wrote:Team,

What’s the update for today?
Next hour bro..

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 9676 cases, 159 deaths, 1343 active, 8173 recovered in T&T

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2021, 3:09 pm

i say 180

Postby redmanjp » April 27th, 2021, 3:10 pm

i'm sure 1 of your beloved venes coming to our land is bringing yet another case of the brazilian variant along with them. it will be making mas' soon (or samba?) throughout the country.

otherwise u have to wait till 4 pm for the official update from MOH.

Postby nervewrecker » April 27th, 2021, 4:22 pm

How much cases it had in cedros?

We like to blame everyone else but ourselves.
redmanjp wrote:

i'm sure 1 of your beloved venes coming to our land is bringing yet another case of the brazilian variant along with them. it will be making mas' soon (or samba?) throughout the country.

SuperiorMan

Postby SuperiorMan » April 27th, 2021, 4:23 pm

nervewrecker wrote:How much cases it had in cedros?

redmanjp wrote:

Hello tuner friend,

Do all of them stay in Cedros?

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2021, 4:30 pm

nervewrecker wrote:How much cases it had in cedros?

redmanjp wrote:

Blaming people gets you no where.

Life has to go on and everything is a risk. However, the MoH has done a really really poor job at educating the public on what's risky.

There is never any mention of indoor spaces being most dangerous and mitigating factors such as opening windows to increase ventilation works wonders.

Instead, we have a government that bans people from going to the beach, literally the safest place you can be. A government that insists on wearing a mask outdoors but has no rules for wearing masks indoors.

A government that continues to partake in big weddings but demonizes rivers and outdoor dining.

No wonder everybody confused.

Also, they failed to secure the southern border so it was inevitable where the Brazilian strain came from. Yet the government and their trolls demonize trinis stranded abroad for wanting to come home.

Those are stupid and despicable actions.

They failed to secure vaccines on time and are still lagging in daily vaccinations behind most of the Caribbean. Guyana vaccinated 25% of its population already.

But we last as usual and still blaming people instead of government policies and messaging.
Screenshot 2021-04-27 at 4.29.34 pm.png

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2021, 4:32 pm

moh running late, wonder if any deaths

Postby K74T » April 27th, 2021, 4:58 pm

151 new cases and 2 deaths

FB_IMG_1619557066504.jpeg

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 27th, 2021, 5:04 pm

K74T wrote:151 new cases and 2 deaths

Cases to death ratio really low compared to other countries.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2021, 5:06 pm

yikes and 152 in hospital with 1505 active cases. We are in trouble.

6087 tests done in the last week too, a 25% increase over the previous week with positivity rate going up, we in for some big figures this week.

Kronik

Postby Kronik » April 27th, 2021, 5:07 pm

wtf wrote:

Cases to death ratio really low compared to other countries.
Once we reach where the ventilators start to get very occupied, you'll see the deaths climbing, right now who needs ventilation getting it, when that change, is problems

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2021, 5:15 pm

Our testing trends are going up drastically almost triple what they were in mid March.
Screenshot 2021-04-27 at 5.11.58 pm.png

These spikes are suspect are the private lab results that come in once a week and then the positives get distributed across the week. (In the above graph I removed the spikes and replaced them with the weeks' average).
Screenshot 2021-04-27 at 5.13.08 pm.png

Hospitalization trends are scary to observe as well.
Screenshot 2021-04-27 at 5.13.16 pm.png

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 27th, 2021, 5:26 pm

Anybody hear the HCU bandit Harry died after getting the vaccine?

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 27th, 2021, 5:29 pm

MaxPower wrote:Maybe he had it for longer but the tests erroneously came back negative?

But ok, well done to the old timer.
You really eh know who dey talking about?

widdyphuck

Postby widdyphuck » April 27th, 2021, 5:59 pm

viedcht wrote:Anybody hear the HCU bandit Harry died after getting the vaccine?
Not him. Another Harry.

Postby Kenjo » April 27th, 2021, 6:19 pm

Wow you so late it not funny

Postby Dizzy28 » April 27th, 2021, 6:28 pm

Twas the contractor Harry Persad, Coosal big bro who died. Harnarine posted a disclaimer the day after the rumour of his death started circulating.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2021, 6:39 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Twas the contractor Harry Persad, Coosal big bro who died. Harnarine posted a disclaimer the day after the rumour of his death started circulating.

This happened a week ago
FB_IMG_1619563208287.jpg

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2021, 6:42 pm

it was from covid he died, not vaccine

real ppl thought it was hcu man and jump out and say it good he dead

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2021, 6:55 pm

pugboy wrote:it was from covid he died, not vaccine

Yup it was Covid.

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2021, 7:02 pm

his son is/was positive also and I would not doubt the many devotees who go to do prayers by them

Dohplaydat wrote:
pugboy wrote:it was from covid he died, not vaccine

Yup it was Covid.

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 9947 cases, 161 deaths, 1505 active, 8281 recovered in T&T

Postby paid_influencer » April 27th, 2021, 7:02 pm

maybe we should prioritize immigrant-heavy areas of the country for vaccination. Get some herd immunity in those areas so we cut off these variants at the source. Locals in Cedros, Bunsee Trace, Siparia, Moruga, etc. should be getting preference

widdyphuck

Re: Coronavirus - COVID-19 - 9947 cases, 161 deaths, 1505 active, 8281 recovered in T&T

Postby widdyphuck » April 27th, 2021, 7:05 pm

paid_influencer wrote:maybe we should prioritize immigrant-heavy areas of the country for vaccination. Get some herd immunity in those areas so we cut off these variants at the source. Locals in Cedros, Bunsee Trace, Siparia, Moruga, etc. should be getting preference
Hinds say the borders closed and nobody can get in

Postby MaxPower » April 27th, 2021, 7:28 pm

redmanjp wrote:

Hello redmanjp,

If you wear your masks, keep your distances and sanitize, you have nothing to worry about.

Stop blaming others and look at yourselves bro.

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » April 27th, 2021, 7:33 pm

paid_influencer wrote:maybe we should prioritize immigrant-heavy areas of the country for vaccination. Get some herd immunity in those areas so we cut off these variants at the source. Locals in Cedros, Bunsee Trace, Siparia, Moruga, etc. should be getting preference

If we acquired vaccines faster and did this we'd probably have no out break.

Postby alfa » April 27th, 2021, 7:34 pm

So illegals bringing in covid which the govt doesn't acknowledge and they would be vaccinated to prevent a situation that doesn't officially exist. For the record I don't support immigrants getting preference to vaccines before us. But I do support vaccinating locals in those areas who may have been exposed
Last edited by alfa on April 27th, 2021, 7:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

abducted

Postby abducted » April 27th, 2021, 7:36 pm

https://newsday.co.tt/2021/04/26/only-r ... 9-variant/

Only random samples tested for Brazilian covid19 variant

Read BS Extraordinare: "Epidemiologist Dr Avery Hinds said not all positive tests can be tested for the presence of the Brazilian variant of covid19 , owing to a lack of capacity at UWI". Surely this is a joke! As it stands, testing for Covid-19 is sparse and sporadic at best, and the TOTAL number of tests to date SINCE THE PANDEMIC STARTED OVER A YEAR AGO is just over 125,000, less than 10% of T&T's 1.4 Million population. THIS is the government that was boasting all over the place last July that they were Number One in the world in handling the pandemic? Number One at what exactly - mamaguy and lying? When you consider the spin that Rowley and Deyalsingh have to date been putting on the emergence of the Brazilian variant, saying that it is concentrated in places like Caroni, Victoria and St George, and are not epidemiologically linked, and then you are now being told that the samples that were tested for the variant are only "random samples comprising a small proportion of positive tests", and keeping in mind that those positive tests in turn represent only under 10% of the total population tested over 13 months, you begin to appreciate just how much of a disaster the overall management of the situation actually is. This revelation by Dr Avery Hinds is nothing short of astounding once you put it in context, because we have zero idea of just how many "random samples" were selected from the few tests that were positive, we have no idea how they were randomly selected, we have no idea who did the random selection or what the geographical selection criteria were (opening the door for the possibility of political cherry picking to create a particular narrative), and so much more. In the final analysis all of these numbers are rendered truly meaningless, because they represent a fraction of a fraction of what is really going on in the country, and by no stretch of the imagination can they be representative of either the degree of spread or the efficacy of the methodology being used to assess that spread. And in spite of all of the spin, to date nobody can or will say just how the Brazilian variant got into Trinidad to begin with, given that our borders remain closed. Where did it come from, Terrance? Where?

Epidemiologist Dr Avery Hinds said not all positive tests can be tested for the presence of the Brazilian variant of covid19, owing to a lack of capacity at UWI, where genetic sequencing takes place.

Speaking at the Health Ministry’s virtual media conference on Monday, he said random samples comprising a small proportion of positive tests are sent for sequencing. He said there are talks between UWI and Public Health England on increasing capacity.

Hinds said as the four cases detected thus far are not connected, people should continue to be cautious and follow the public health regulations.

He said he could not say the variant was spreading through the population, but based on epidemiological trends, once it was introduced into the population, it would continue to establish itself as one of the strains present in the country.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 27th, 2021, 7:38 pm

Dizzy28 wrote:Twas the contractor Harry Persad, Coosal big bro who died. Harnarine posted a disclaimer the day after the rumour of his death started circulating.

Ohrr okay thanks I only hear some rumour today.

viedcht

Postby viedcht » April 27th, 2021, 7:39 pm

thanks
wtf wrote:
Not him. Another Harry.

Postby MaxPower » April 27th, 2021, 7:57 pm

Friends,

Please provide solid evidence of the Venezuelans bringing the virus to T&T.

Reality and statistics are not matching the accusations.