Re: UNC in govt 2025-2030!!!

Postby The_Honourable » August 10th, 2025, 12:55 pm

Beyond 100 days: Redressing Net External Indebtedness

T&T at a Tipping Point

The new UNC government marks 100 days in office. There have been tangible achievements: revival of the Children’s Life Fund, plans for Stand Your Ground legislation, reintroduction of student laptops, flood mitigation works, and the controversy-free appointment of a new Police Commissioner in record time. Progress has also been made in fighting crime, with gang leaders isolated, arrests made, weapons seized, and assassination plots foiled—all during a state of emergency.

A Petrotrin Reactivation Committee has been formed, and Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar has set a tone of transparency and seriousness. Her instruction to ministers not to be seen partying during the state of emergency reflects a disciplined, empathetic, and mature leadership style that has been widely welcomed.

However, many of these initiatives involve significant public expenditure—at a time when Trinidad and Tobago stands at a critical economic crossroads.

Professor Roger Hosein in a the Business Guardian this week, highlighted the gravity of the situation. His data shows that “gross foreign reserves fell from US$6.9 billion in 2019 to US$4.9 billion in 2025. At the same time, external debt rose from US$4.2 billion to US$5.76 billion. Net foreign exchange reserves, once at a surplus of US$2.7 billion, now stand at a deficit of US$864 million.”

T&T has become a net external debtor revealing a weakened financial buffer and increased vulnerability to global disruptions—ranging from shifting geopolitics, U.S. tariffs, and the China–U.S. trade war, to energy transition, artificial intelligence, and labour market upheaval.

Unless T&T acts decisively, a full-blown macroeconomic crisis can unfold. Avoiding such a scenario requires an urgent shift in strategy—reducing foreign exchange outflows through focused import substitution, while expanding and diversifying foreign exchange inflows through strategic investment in competitive export sectors. This has and continues to be the national imperative. Below I once again explore potential solutions but reemphasize the need for a clustered approach through which all stakeholders are guided by a coordinating entity to work towards a common outcome: sustainable growth.

In terms of import substitution, the approach must be smart and selective—not based on blanket protectionism, but focused on sectors where local production is economically viable and strategically beneficial. Food remains one of the largest drivers of foreign exchange loss. Greater investment in efficient farm-to-agro-processing chains can help reduce the food import bill while creating jobs and stimulating rural development.

Scaling up light manufacturing also presents an opportunity. Existing projects can be used as anchor points for expansion. With supportive policies—including tax incentives, affordable financing, and technical assistance—local industry clusters can better meet domestic demand, conserving foreign exchange and building resilience.

Energy transition provides another strategic opportunity. As global demand grows for clean technologies, Trinidad and Tobago can potentially position itself to manufacture or assemble components like inverters and battery storage systems. Local production in this field would not only reduce imports but also build capacity in an emerging sector aligned with climate goals.
But reducing imports is only part of the equation. Long-term external sustainability hinges on growing and diversifying foreign exchange inflows from multiple sectors, not just oil and gas. This requires investment in high-value, knowledge-based sectors that are scalable, resilient, and less vulnerable to commodity price cycles.

Digital services present a significant opportunity. With the right investor partnerships, infrastructure and investment in human capital, the country could expand exports in areas like business process outsourcing, software development, fintech, digital media, and online education—industries with consistent global demand.

Tourism is another underutilised area. Instead of chasing mass tourism, the country should focus on high-value niches like health, eco-, and cultural tourism. These segments attract higher-spending visitors, generate more local value-added, and are less vulnerable to external shocks. Community-based tourism models that keep spending local can provide sustainable foreign exchange flows.

Agriculture, too, holds promise for foreign exchange generation—especially through high-value niche products such as superfoods. Crops like turmeric, cocoa, hot peppers, moringa, and soursop are ideally suited to local conditions and enjoy growing global demand. With appropriate branding, certification, and supply chain development, these products can become strong pillars of the non-energy export economy.

In addition to goods and services, Trinidad and Tobago can strengthen its regional economic role through logistics and trade facilitation, long articulated as a growth opportunity with little action to materialise. The country’s geographic location positions it as a potential regional transshipment hub. Enhancing customs efficiency, port infrastructurand multimodal connectivity can attract foreign exchange-generating activity in shipping, warehousing, and re-export trade.

Trinidad and Tobago is at a tipping point. The longer reform is delayed, the higher the eventual cost. The opportunity for smooth transformation is rapidly narrowing.

Beyond 100 days, the new government must act to pivot away from a debt-driven model and toward one grounded in innovation, production, and competitiveness. A bold and focused strategy of targeted import substitution and strategic export diversification is not just prudent—it is essential to ensuring the country’s long-term economic stability.

Economist Indera Sagewan
https://trinidadexpress.com/opinion/col ... 54ac6.html

Postby hover11 » August 10th, 2025, 1:02 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
sMASH wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
Chimera wrote:I confused. You saying kamla signed or agreed to make the payments and then Rowley delayed making the payment....

But then for the 10 years they were there they didn't make do anything otherwise?

Correct

She signed off on the 14% in 2015 which is for the period 2011-2013 but the public servants only got the money in 2017.

Only last year Imbert offered 4% across six years (2014-2016 and 2017-2019 periods) which the PSA rejected. If they can't get past those periods, they can't bargain for 2020-2022 and 2023-2025.

If PSA gets the 10%, it's for two bargaining periods which brings public servants salaries up to 2019.
Psa and who ever didn't accept the 4% shoulda jess walk off the job and u see how fast imburt woulda cave.

When they settle each period it would be back pay upon back pay.

Pnm really f* up the system. Tjey just let things fall apart.

Remember a good chunk of them is heavy pnm to the point they were telling the PSA to accept imbert's 4%. That's why there was no protest against it, no go slow, no walking off the job. PSA ended up in industrial court instead.

Now the same pnm chunk are the most vocal wanting the 10% as the government change.
I have to agree with this everybody towed the line when PNM was in power and not a dog barked

Postby Chimera » August 10th, 2025, 2:24 pm

same ppl now that want full backpay within months of kamla being in power

allyuh relax na

she hadda recover all d money the PNM was giving away

watch how much extra they wanted to give Stuart Young for PM pension

Supra GT-FOUR

Postby Supra GT-FOUR » August 11th, 2025, 8:28 am

hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
sMASH wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
Chimera wrote:I confused. You saying kamla signed or agreed to make the payments and then Rowley delayed making the payment....

But then for the 10 years they were there they didn't make do anything otherwise?

Correct

She signed off on the 14% in 2015 which is for the period 2011-2013 but the public servants only got the money in 2017.

Only last year Imbert offered 4% across six years (2014-2016 and 2017-2019 periods) which the PSA rejected. If they can't get past those periods, they can't bargain for 2020-2022 and 2023-2025.

If PSA gets the 10%, it's for two bargaining periods which brings public servants salaries up to 2019.
Psa and who ever didn't accept the 4% shoulda jess walk off the job and u see how fast imburt woulda cave.

Remember a good chunk of them is heavy pnm to the point they were telling the PSA to accept imbert's 4%. That's why there was no protest against it, no go slow, no walking off the job. PSA ended up in industrial court instead.

Now the same pnm chunk are the most vocal wanting the 10% as the government change.
I have to agree with this everybody towed the line when PNM was in power and not a dog barked
The correct expression is "toe the line".
https://www.vocabulary.com/articles/par ... -the-line/
People keep getting this wrong here.

Sent from my 2311DRK48G using TriniTuner mobile app

Postby sMASH » August 11th, 2025, 9:23 am

Supra GT-FOUR wrote:
hover11 wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:
sMASH wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Correct

The correct expression is "toe the line".
https://www.vocabulary.com/articles/par ... -the-line/
People keep getting this wrong here.

Sent from my 2311DRK48G using TriniTuner mobile app
I get pull up on dat twice here... I does Remeber it proper now, lol.

Postby sMASH » August 11th, 2025, 9:25 am

The_Honourable wrote:
sMASH wrote:
The_Honourable wrote:

Correct

They actually formed groups to protest TO TAKE the 4%, can't Remeber if they did actually march against the PSA .
It was clearly politically instigated .

Postby pugboy » August 11th, 2025, 6:12 pm

apparently urp workers getting real vex because they making sure ppl go to work

Postby The_Honourable » August 11th, 2025, 9:09 pm

apparently kamla playing a lil pan is offensive to the pnm

Postby j.o.e » August 12th, 2025, 10:51 am

The_Honourable wrote:apparently kamla playing a lil pan is offensive to the pnm

Dem is kants ….. only saw a pic but that is what PM should do.
Kamla has been generally good in my books. The % talk and the PNM holding back kneeegros was the only things I feel she should stay away from the other night. Any race talk is a slippery slope no matter what the angle is

Postby bluefete » August 12th, 2025, 3:08 pm

I hope this is not ole talk.

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2025, 3:42 pm

she can’t take back those words

Postby j.o.e » August 12th, 2025, 4:17 pm

Kamla version one used to fire people very brutal so if she upgrade to 2.0 dem fellas have to behave.

Postby MaxPower » August 12th, 2025, 7:12 pm

bluefete wrote:I hope this is not ole talk.

Pappy show upon pappy show.

Postby The_Honourable » August 12th, 2025, 8:25 pm

Well you know the comment section on fb will be lit.

Caroni workers based in penal and environs received state leases for land. Right on cue, pnm talking about how black people doh get nuttin and why they not getting any land. As usual they will talk about unc, massa, slavery, the queen, adam and eve but skip stuart, rowley, manning, chambers and williams.

200 EX-CARONI WORKERS GET LEASES:

A promise made since Caroni (1975) Limited closed its doors 22 years ago materialised on Tuesday as more than 200 former Caroni workers were the first to be granted parcels of leased land in Penal.

As part of the Caroni Voluntary Separation Package, each former Caroni worker was to be granted one residential sublease from the Government through the Commissioner of State Lands (COSL) for a two-acre parcel of land for a 30-year lease.

https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1103539187774772

Postby pugboy » August 12th, 2025, 9:46 pm

this govt doing tings yes
we get so accustomed to the arrogance and silence from pnm before

Postby bluefete » August 12th, 2025, 11:21 pm

Tantie takes on state owned banks and the 1%.

Postby hover11 » Yesterday, 9:38 am

I voted for my backpay and for those of you who are not familiar with NIBTT position when it pertains to our salary increase let me explain very briefly. NIBTT has negotiated, agreed and "SIGNED OFF" on our salary increase since in 2020. Let me explain further. We are not in negotiations lol we have settled already. And the previous government has refused to release our salary increase and backpay since 2020. Here's some more information for yall lol. NIBTT WORKERS SALARIES ARE NOT EVEN PAID OUT OF THE TRESURY . IT DOES NOT COME OUT OF TAX PAYERS POCKETS . So why is it that we have to be fighting up in industrial court for bout 5 years for our agreed upon salary increase?
If it have any PNMites / red till ah deds that could justify this please feel free to educate me na, I'm always willing to learn a thing or two.

Postby j.o.e » Yesterday, 10:02 am

hover11 wrote:I voted for my backpay and for those of you who are not familiar with NIBTT position when it pertains to our salary increase let me explain very briefly. NIBTT has negotiated, agreed and "SIGNED OFF" on our salary increase since in 2020. Let me explain further. We are not in negotiations lol we have settled already. And the previous government has refused to release our salary increase and backpay since 2020. Here's some more information for yall lol. NIBTT WORKERS SALARIES ARE NOT EVEN PAID OUT OF THE TRESURY . IT DOES NOT COME OUT OF TAX PAYERS POCKETS . So why is it that we have to be fighting up in industrial court for bout 5 years for our agreed upon salary increase?
If it have any PNMites / red till ah deds that could justify this please feel free to educate me na, I'm always willing to learn a thing or two.

Honest question ….. where does the money come from ?

Postby mero » Yesterday, 11:03 am

So Anna Moonsammy was gifted a job on TTT board.

Who would thought racist trolling online was a dead end? No wonder some a allyuh so blindly loyal to this party and does pretend not to see nuttin.

Oversized Cabinet, oversized ministries, oversized boards yet who getting send home and who being rewarded?

Postby hover11 » Yesterday, 11:16 am

j.o.e wrote:
hover11 wrote:I voted for my backpay and for those of you who are not familiar with NIBTT position when it pertains to our salary increase let me explain very briefly. NIBTT has negotiated, agreed and "SIGNED OFF" on our salary increase since in 2020. Let me explain further. We are not in negotiations lol we have settled already. And the previous government has refused to release our salary increase and backpay since 2020. Here's some more information for yall lol. NIBTT WORKERS SALARIES ARE NOT EVEN PAID OUT OF THE TRESURY . IT DOES NOT COME OUT OF TAX PAYERS POCKETS . So why is it that we have to be fighting up in industrial court for bout 5 years for our agreed upon salary increase?

Investment portfolio....both local and foreign investments. Contribution income isn't relevant as we spend more than we earn in that regard when it comes to contributions vs benefits

Postby hover11 » Yesterday, 11:17 am

Study PNM wasnt doing shite for the past 10 years and want to make it look like they were the best thing since slice bread
mero wrote:So Anna Moonsammy was gifted a job on TTT board.

Who would thought racist trolling online was a dead end? No wonder some a allyuh so blindly loyal to this party and does pretend not to see nuttin.

Oversized Cabinet, oversized ministries, oversized boards yet who getting send home and who being rewarded?

Postby j.o.e » Yesterday, 12:04 pm

hover11 wrote:
j.o.e wrote:

Investment portfolio....both local and foreign investments. Contribution income isn't relevant as we spend more than we earn in that regard when it comes to contributions vs benefits

Interesting. Wasn’t aware

Postby The_Honourable » Yesterday, 12:44 pm

Meanwhile with the exxon deal, pnm till ah dead online don't know the difference between "past six months" and "six months ago"

Postby pugboy » Yesterday, 12:46 pm

did stu little say he responsible for exxon deal?

Postby Chimera » Yesterday, 1:42 pm

Relax. Yuh will get a heart attack riling up yourself so much when there's absolutely nothing you can do.

Lewwe go drink some beers.

Postby Dizzy28 » Yesterday, 2:04 pm

Chimera wrote:

Relax. Yuh will get a heart attack riling up yourself so much when there's absolutely nothing you can do.

Maybe I'm not on Social Media enough but who even is Anna Moonsammy?

Just checked FB and the UNC Cabal page highlighted her alot so I'm guessing she is of prominence but prior to today I never heard of her before.

Postby mero » Yesterday, 2:31 pm

Chimera wrote:

Say the word

Postby timelapse » Yesterday, 2:47 pm

Who woulda thought racist calypsos was a dead end? It seemed to work out well for a certain big Cro Cro fish.

Postby The_Honourable » Yesterday, 3:55 pm

Chimera wrote:

Just checked FB and the UNC Cabal page highlighted her alot so I'm guessing she is of prominence but prior to today I never heard of her before.

I've seen her posts occasionally on fb but apparently she was giving pnm hell and provoking them on social media over the years. Many thought she was just an old unc fanatic but apparently she have links to get a wuk on a state board.

I'm not even mad at that, picong is our culture and pnm being all dramatic is a case of do so don't like so.

The REAL question is if she is qualified to be on the board of TTT.

Postby j.o.e » Yesterday, 3:58 pm

The_Honourable wrote:
Chimera wrote:

I've seen her posts occasionally on fb but apparently she was giving pnm hell and provoking them on social media over the years. Many thought she was just an old unc fanatic but apparently she have links to get a wuk on a state board.

I'm not even mad at that, picong is our culture and pnm being all dramatic is a case of do so don't like so.

The REAL question is if she is qualified to be on the board of TTT.

Have no qualification to be on a board or a minister …. This ain’t private sector.