COVID-19 in Trinidad & Tobago (Local Updates & Discussions Only)

Re: Novel Coronavirus - “COVID 19” - 2 cases confirmed in T&T

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2020, 1:46 pm

contracting it isnt a problem statistically, if ur of reasonable health and age. but spreading it to persons susceptible to it, is the issue. do u really want to be the person who spread it to some old people and kill them?

Postby 88sins » March 14th, 2020, 2:13 pm

sMASH wrote:contracting it isnt a problem statistically, if ur of reasonable health and age. but spreading it to persons susceptible to it, is the issue. do u really want to be the person who spread it to some old people and kill them?

If those "old people" that get infected are the ones that pound on tables and pretend to be a functional effective government this may not be a bad idea.

Postby Chimera » March 14th, 2020, 2:13 pm

Redress10 wrote:Some of alluh just being unnecessarily alarmist.

There is no noted treatment protocol for Corona. It's basically the same treatment for the flu hence stay at home and take care of your selves with otc medicine and rests.

Unless you're immune system already compromised or you are elderly it may not even reach to the stage of pneumonia. Pneumonia is the biggest threat in this virus and even that cud be prevented whem you suspect that you already have the disease.

Stop with this alarmist bs...if you suspect u have it just stay home and notify the health services accordingly.

thousands dead....hospitals abroad saying not to bother to treat elderly because thats just wasting resources....EVERYONE have elderly parents....but you saying people being unnecessarily alarmist? you is a kinda dotish BUGWAAANAAA

Postby rspann » March 14th, 2020, 2:14 pm

screwbash wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
hydroep wrote:On a positive note the gas stations on my side like a ghost town. Fill up and check tyres in 10 minutes yes.

Back to the virus: My suspicion is that the thing has spread already and they're feeding people numbers gradually to get them acclimatized to the situation. Frog in hot water business...:|

I wonder if this happened in all those other countries or Trinidad is that special

where there is an outbreak at NP or the distributor den u go see scare gas and panick buying. but if i not going anywhere den y do i need gas?

What about cooking gas?

Postby X_Factor » March 14th, 2020, 2:21 pm

I believe they gonna confirm another at 4pm....female person who lives in the
Tunapuna/eldorado district

Postby aaron17 » March 14th, 2020, 2:21 pm

rspann wrote:
screwbash wrote:
Kenjo wrote:
hydroep wrote:On a positive note the gas stations on my side like a ghost town. Fill up and check tyres in 10 minutes yes.

Back to the virus: My suspicion is that the thing has spread already and they're feeding people numbers gradually to get them acclimatized to the situation. Frog in hot water business...:|

I wonder if this happened in all those other countries or Trinidad is that special

where there is an outbreak at NP or the distributor den u go see scare gas and panick buying. but if i not going anywhere den y do i need gas?

What about cooking gas?
Sanitize gas tank where it is held.

Postby rspann » March 14th, 2020, 2:41 pm

X_Factor wrote:I believe they gonna confirm another at 4pm....female person who lives in the
Tunapuna/eldorado district

Working Courts?

Postby rspann » March 14th, 2020, 2:44 pm

aaron17 wrote:
rspann wrote:
screwbash wrote:
Kenjo wrote:

What about cooking gas?
Sanitize gas tank where it is held.

No I'm talking about shortage due to panic buying.

Redress10

Postby Redress10 » March 14th, 2020, 2:50 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:
Redress10 wrote:Some of alluh just being unnecessarily alarmist.

There is no noted treatment protocol for Corona. It's basically the same treatment for the flu hence stay at home and take care of your selves with otc medicine and rests.

Unless you're immune system already compromised or you are elderly it may not even reach to the stage of pneumonia. Pneumonia is the biggest threat in this virus and even that cud be prevented whem you suspect that you already have the disease.

Stop with this alarmist bs...if you suspect u have it just stay home and notify the health services accordingly.

thousands dead....hospitals abroad saying not to bother to treat elderly because thats just wasting resources....EVERYONE have elderly parents....but you saying people being unnecessarily alarmist? you is a kinda dotish BUGWAAANAAA

Thousands of elderly or immunine compromised people are dead. Hospitals can't treat this because the equipment needed in ICU such as respirators and isolation require overwhelming resources for this disease.

That is why the focus is now on containment and not treatment...So if someone who isn't elderly or immuno compromised then they don't need to seek attention at a health facility unless their condition worsens. They do however have to give notice to health officials who will then visit them and coordinate care etc.

Some of you all in here seem to be advocating some sort of course of treatment whereby you suspect that you are infected to report to a health center where you will be warded and quarantined. The protocol is to stay put and inform health officials of your condition. Anything else is irresponsible and highly alarmist.

This isn't ebola...protect your ederly parents the same way you would protect them from the flu.

2WNBoost

Postby 2WNBoost » March 14th, 2020, 2:55 pm

For the I won't be affected
Coronavirus: Hubei government deletes report claiming Covid-19 could damage male fertility

Men who have contracted the disease and recovered should seek medical advice regarding ‘theoretical’ risk to their reproductive health, Wuhan hospital says
Article was widely shared on social media despite being pulled from provincial government’s website just hours after being uploaded

Mandy Zuo in Shanghai
Published: 7:00pm, 12 Mar, 2020

It is theoretically possible that Covid-19 could be damaging to men’s reproductive health, according to an article published on the Hubei government’s website on Thursday, only to be removed a few hours later.
Men who had contracted the disease and recovered from it should seek medical advice on whether it might have had a detrimental impact on their fertility, said the piece, which was produced by a team from the reproductive medicine centre at Tongji Hospital in Wuhan, the capital of Hubei.

While there was no evidence to suggest the infection could damage the male reproductive system, it was theoretically possible as the coronavirus was genetically similar to the one that caused Sars (severe acute respiratory syndrome), it said.
The infection could result in “impairment of immune homeostasis in the testes”, which could cause orchitis – an inflammation of the testicles – which in turn could reduce a man’s sperm count and possibly lead to infertility, it said.

Both Covid-19 and Sars invade cells by combining with an enzyme called Ace2, which exists in large amounts in the testicles, as well as in other organs like the kidneys and heart.
Men who had contracted the disease should seek medical advice “so that problems can be detected and treated as early as possible”, it said.
The Hubei government declined to say why the article – which was widely shared on Chinese social media before being removed – had been deleted.

Qi Guangchong, an andrologist at Yueyang Hospital of Integrated Traditional Chinese and Western Medicine in Shanghai, said is was not uncommon for viral infections to cause problems with the male reproductive system.
“Many viruses have been proved to affect male fertility, including those that cause hepatitis B and mumps. A third of mumps patients develop orchitis, and in some cases the testes get smaller, leading to infertility,” he said.
“I have received a few Sars patients with infertility over the years, but the sample is too small to draw any conclusion,” he said.
“For those who have contracted the new virus and plan to be fathers, I’d suggest they do a fertility test.”

According to a separate study by urologists at Suzhou Affiliated Hospital of Nanjing University that was published last month on MedRxiv.org – a platform for papers that have not been peer-reviewed – the novel coronavirus may directly bind to Ace2-positive cells and damage patients’ kidneys and testicular tissue.
Such damage to the testes may lead to infertility and testicular tumours, it said.
Purchase the China AI Report 2020 brought to you by SCMP Research and enjoy a 20% discount (original price US$400). This 60-page all new intelligence report gives you first-hand insights and analysis into the latest industry developments and intelligence about China AI. Get exclusive access to our webinars for continuous learning, and interact with China AI executives in live Q&A. Offer valid until 31 March 2020.

https://www.scmp.com/news/china/society/article/3074945/coronavirus-hubei-government-deletes-report-claiming-covid-19

Postby hydroep » March 14th, 2020, 3:05 pm

The virus is a stones killer yes...:|

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2020, 3:07 pm

sMASH wrote:contracting it isnt a problem statistically, if ur of reasonable health and age. but spreading it to persons susceptible to it, is the issue. do u really want to be the person who spread it to some old people and kill them?

If those "old people" that get infected are the ones that pound on tables and pretend to be a functional effective government this may not be a bad idea.

when u get it, if was only them blow hards in parliament, then probably yeah. but u not meeting them, u meeting tanty and uncle down the road, in the parlour, in the parks, in the pharmacy.

Postby K74T » March 14th, 2020, 3:14 pm

ImageImage

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2020, 3:16 pm

oh the irony of religion at this point!

Postby K74T » March 14th, 2020, 3:18 pm

Yup

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 14th, 2020, 3:21 pm

Where benny Hinn when you need him

Miktay

Postby Miktay » March 14th, 2020, 3:57 pm

Don’t know if thiz has been posted b4 but its one of the best vid clips on COVID19 I’ve seen....

Straight talk from infectious disease expert Dr. Michael Osterholm on the Joe Rogan show.

The news ain’t good. :(

Cantmis

Postby Cantmis » March 14th, 2020, 4:03 pm

FB_IMG_1584216192223.jpeg

Postby aaron17 » March 14th, 2020, 4:05 pm

4pm nothing

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2020, 4:05 pm

what time is the press conference? 4?

Postby aaron17 » March 14th, 2020, 4:07 pm

I thought so

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 14th, 2020, 4:09 pm

aaron17 wrote:4pm nothing

Trinidad time is 5....usual fackery

Postby aaron17 » March 14th, 2020, 4:09 pm

Curtms wrote:...
FB_IMG_1584216192223.jpeg
Well yes

Postby hydroep » March 14th, 2020, 4:13 pm

Canada suspends all existing visas except diplomatic visas
CNC3 Editor

Canada has quarantined itself by suspending all existing visas, except diplomatic, official and UN visas amid the coronavirus crisis.

After WHO declared COVID-19 a global pandemic, the Canadian Government announced a travel advisory for all air passengers travelling to and from Canada.

It was announced that from March 13, 2020, all existing visas to Canada will be suspended until May 15, 2020.

It was also announced that “visa free travel facility is kept in abeyance until April 15th 2020.”

In addition, all travellers arriving in Canada, including Canadian nationals, will be quarantined for a minimum period of 14 days, starting from tomorrow, March 13, 2020.

https://www.cnc3.co.tt/canada-suspends-all-existing-visas-except-diplomatic-visas/

Postby sMASH » March 14th, 2020, 4:13 pm

aaron17 wrote:
Curtms wrote:...FB_IMG_1584216192223.jpeg
Well yes

joshua 2:0 " buy toilet paper. jess buy, dont question my methods"

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » March 14th, 2020, 4:14 pm

89919413_3201687996527653_7841224098981085184_o.jpg

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » March 14th, 2020, 4:16 pm

About to start

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2020, 4:17 pm

Same fake news was posted here this morning. Obviously Kamla.

Postby redmanjp » March 14th, 2020, 4:18 pm

Postby maj. tom » March 14th, 2020, 4:21 pm

CNC3 cameraman is such a dumbass, cutting out the sign language person by zooming in to the Minister. So how deaf ppl home supposed to read it?