Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Re: Property Tax in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2017, 10:30 am

Look a little harder: 41 requires cessation of "implementation and/or enforcement” the enforcement of a VRF. There is nothing that speaks to a person submitting a form.

toyolink wrote:I reviewed the decision and cannot concur with your pronouncement, in fact article 41 of the decision must be taken in the context prescribed by the previous articles presented in the decision.
The 'VRF' is treated by the judge as not only a form but part of a process which is the subject of the specified judicial review.
My utterances represent the basis of my previous statement and certainly any party to this matter I am sure can seek clarification from the court for appropriate and proper compliance.

Postby zoom rader » May 25th, 2017, 10:38 am

Most of the ppl that support this tax in on this chead don't even own a latrine.

Postby Chimera » May 25th, 2017, 10:39 am

what allyuh would do if they announce that due to the state of the country and the issue with not being able to collect property tax....
there will no longer be any free health care in our hospitals and health centers

because free medical care down here does cost the goverment REALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL money

a padna of mine was in a truck accident a year or two ago and he ended up going private (or else he would have lost his legs or died) and his bill was more than a million after 3 months or so in a private hospital

Postby Dizzy28 » May 25th, 2017, 11:06 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:what allyuh would do if they announce that due to the state of the country and the issue with not being able to collect property tax....
there will no longer be any free health care in our hospitals and health centers

because free medical care down here does cost the goverment REALLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL money

a padna of mine was in a truck accident a year or two ago and he ended up going private (or else he would have lost his legs or died) and his bill was more than a million after 3 months or so in a private hospital

Whilst still having subsidized diesel and free tertiary education??

Postby Chimera » May 25th, 2017, 11:15 am

What's the scene with tertiary education these days? It still free?

boxy

Postby boxy » May 25th, 2017, 11:16 am

Monkey Man wrote:younno. i to punder on it now. i actually frighten to think bout what they may try to impose on us next if this Tax doh come through for them.

thats easy, most likely the will be the removal of more subsidies on fuel & utilities, lower the tax allowance back to 60K, raise VAT back to 15%, increase the PAYE rate to 30%, further cut social programs, etc.

But the thing is, I'm mostly certain that they plan on doing at least 3 of those things anyway, regardless of if the assessment or collection phase of this tax is implemented or not, so you'll be paying more regardless, but without the added burden of this additional fraud of a property tax.

i hope allyuh happy what allyuh choose & still want to "let's do this"

https://youtu.be/zaq-iyYpI2I

Leaving this right here in direct response to your comments above for me dey fellas.. Thanks.

Postby Dizzy28 » May 25th, 2017, 11:21 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:What's the scene with tertiary education these days? It still free?

Once you were enrolled before 2017 it is free till you finish.

From Sep 2017
Students from households making under $10,000 per month would be eligible for 100 per cent funding.
Students from households earning over $10,000 would pay 25 per cent of tuition fees.
Students from households earning over $30,000 monthly will be required to pay 50 per cent of tuition fees.

Still involves money from State to schools.

boxy

Postby boxy » May 25th, 2017, 11:26 am

adnj wrote:
With the implementation of value-based property taxes, it is reasonable to expect that stamp duty rates should be significantly lowered.

you can reasonably expect anything you'd like to. Doesn't change the fact that you gonna be disappointed.

Do you really expect the state, to collect lets say $3000 p.a. in property tax alone, & abandon the option of collecting anywhere on average $15000 to $45000 up front, all the while still demanding that same $3000 from you every year thereafter as long as you maintain your residence?

not these local parasites that love to practice poly ticks. brace yourself to have your expectations disregarded & your pockets raped.

The only way the state will be collecting $3000 property tax from you per year is if the rental value of your home is $11,000TTD per month. and that value equals to $3564 approximately Save your hyperbolies for the UNC fan pages and other Facebook groups who will slurp that garbage up with a spoon and call for general elections now........

Postby The_Honourable » May 25th, 2017, 11:38 am

Phone Surgeon wrote:what allyuh would do if they announce that due to the state of the country and the issue with not being able to collect property tax....

I believe the government wants to move in that direction with public-private partnerships. They will start with the Couva hospital and see how it works out. If the public accepts, the government will slowly phase it in. Sangre Grande, Arima, Penal(?) and Point Fortin hospitals will be next when they are finished built. Port of Spain, San Fernando and Mt Hope will be the last after renovation works.

Postby RedVEVO » May 25th, 2017, 1:11 pm

zoom rader wrote:Most of the ppl that support this tax in on this chead don't even own a latrine.

The "latrine" is some old time ting .. I had to check wikipedia and ask my Great-Great-Grand Family
what is a "latrine." So you must be an old gringo :D

If latrine is attached to your home or some distance on your land , you will have to pay property
tax on said latrine. The larger it is - the more tax you will have to pay.

Now if you live in the "latrine" you may be able to apply for a tax exemption.
You will need to fill out Form VRF #1 and Form VRF #2.

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby RedVEVO » May 25th, 2017, 1:18 pm

adnj wrote:You're wrong again. Contempt indicates willful disregard for an order from the bench. I read the order and it speaks to the state requiring the use of the form only.
RedVEVO wrote:
toyolink wrote:The Minister Of Finance just looking for trouble.
If the minister sought an opinion on the court order from their legal team, rather than going to the court for clarification of the prescribed limits of the order, things could become further messed up.
The order as outlined in media reports directs The Commissioner to desist from any further activity which is in furtherance of the execution of the process.
Is a contempt of court possibility becoming apparent?
If the situation is as it seems, I am convinced the Minister is seriously being deliberate (under cover of ineptitude) about frustrating the implementation of the tax provisions.

It is Contempt of Court.

The VRF has been deemed illegal.

Mr Gov't want your money $$$ via Property Tax so much he turn Bandit.

And Landlords raising rent $$$ for no reason other than they fat, greasy , greedy and do not work .

Similar ting .

Again,

Axe TheTax

The Judge who issued the injunction will look at the pragmatic issue at hand
not the theory.

An injunction is basically a "stop action."

In order words, Gov't is telling the People break the Law and disregard the Injunction .
The People are the fools .... again .

Gov't f...ing with the People's Head ... again.

But if you rich - it does not matter .
Why ? Any way this plays out the rich can pay with no hurt.

But the middle class and poor like myself will be affected .

Again,

Axe The Tax

Postby adnj » May 25th, 2017, 2:09 pm

Troll alert.

Postby 88sins » May 25th, 2017, 2:34 pm

boxy wrote:The only way the state will be collecting $3000 property tax from you per year is if the rental value of your home is $11,000TTD per month. and that value equals to $3564 approximately Save your hyperbolies for the UNC fan pages and other Facebook groups who will slurp that garbage up with a spoon and call for general elections now........

ay, look. dis is trinituner, not trinituntun, so before yuh move yuh wetfoot grenadian inbred ass from in here, hold this & try to develop some sense.

1-There are some residential properties that actually do rent locally for USD$3000/month. Using a conservative valuation, those properties may well be tagged with a very high ARV that will put them in that bracket.
2-I do not side for or against any political party. I leave that solely to the mass of illiterate, inbred, ignorant, asinine, eat-ah-food, PNM/UNC/COP flag waving crowd. Persons such as yourself.
3-The plural of hyperbole, my fecal-brained friend, is hyperboles.

& this is probably the most important piece of insight I can give you. You'd do well to heed it.
4-Not everyone is like you, living in a old refrigerator box under a bridge praying d corporation clean d river otherwise yuh go drown when rainy season come.

Some people in this place worked VERY hard to have the things they possess, and invest all they can into their property. It's these people that will feel it most. If you can't understand that, I ain't go be too surprised, since you've successfully proven to us all that you are at best an idiot, & at worst, a party card carrying PNM/UNC/COP till yuh dead jackass.

but demz your problems :lol:

Postby Redman » May 25th, 2017, 4:14 pm

zoom rader wrote:Most of the ppl that support this tax in on this chead don't even own a latrine.

aye its we time now....we buy toilets

but not from UNC hardwares since allyuh so does mark up 40000% on allyuh procurement contracts

:D :D

Postby teems1 » May 25th, 2017, 4:40 pm

Phone Surgeon wrote:What's the scene with tertiary education these days? It still free?

From Sep 2017
Students from households making under $10,000 per month would be eligible for 100 per cent funding.
Students from households earning over $10,000 would pay 25 per cent of tuition fees.
Students from households earning over $30,000 monthly will be required to pay 50 per cent of tuition fees.

Those values or 10K and 30K are before tax or after tax?

Postby Dizzy28 » May 25th, 2017, 4:49 pm

teems1 wrote:

From Sep 2017

Those values or 10K and 30K are before tax or after tax?

Not sure but I would be surprised if its after tax they referring to.

Postby RedVEVO » May 25th, 2017, 10:59 pm

Redman wrote:

aye its we time now....we buy toilets

but not from UNC hardwares since allyuh so does mark up 40000% on allyuh procurement contracts

:D :D

We like it so :D

Again,

Axe the Tax

Postby RedVEVO » May 25th, 2017, 11:13 pm

matr1x wrote:I think the point made is, so many taxes are levied upon us, and there is so little to show for it. And MORE is being requested or demanded and for what exactly?

Tax $$$ as follows:

1. Build a " walk over " at Sea Lots - nobody going to use it - n o b o d y .

2. Buy a used ship to go to Tobago - then it will break down

3. Clear & Develop Caroni Lands - Golf Courses -Well I agree

4. Travel / Vacation expenses - Mr Scafy , Ms. Cujoe , Mr and Mrs Smith

Again,

Axe The Tax

Postby RedVEVO » May 26th, 2017, 10:08 am

" ... Imbert however said people did not have to file valuation return forms at all if they did not want to .. " [ Express 05/26/17 ]

The dishonesty , the fakeness, now that the People protesting ! And he in a "ketch ass" illegal situation .
Mr Gov't threaten the People and now he backpedaling ?

Again,

Axe The Tax.

Postby matr1x » May 26th, 2017, 11:49 am

Well I hear his niece no different

Postby RedVEVO » May 26th, 2017, 12:30 pm

Ok.

Again
Axe the Tax .

Because it is my money spending while Sharon and Baldy going
Chile on vacation and golfing .

Anybody here know what business we have in Chile ?
We have a Chilean Embassy in TT ?

Pinochet's Chile was a dictatorship - so maybe he going for classes
in how to f....k up a country and hold them hostage with tax, tax, tax.

Again,
Axe the Tax

Postby Ben_spanna » May 26th, 2017, 1:55 pm

RedVEVO wrote:
matr1x wrote:I think the point made is, so many taxes are levied upon us, and there is so little to show for it. And MORE is being requested or demanded and for what exactly?

Tax $$$ as follows:

1. Build a " walk over " at Sea Lots - and dem jarkkarse livign there running wild just below

2. Buy a used ship to go to Tobago - then it will break down

3. Clear & Develop Caroni Lands - Golf Courses -Well I agree

4. Travel / Vacation expenses - Mr Scafy , Ms. Cujoe , Mr Schizophrenic Smith ad some of he outside skenks

Again,

Axe The Tax

Postby RedVEVO » May 27th, 2017, 12:24 am

Ben_spanna wrote:
RedVEVO wrote:

Tax $$$ as follows:

1. Build a " walk over " at Sea Lots - and dem jarkkarse livign there running wild like yard fowl

2. Buy a used ship to go to Tobago - then it will break down and cost 10 million to fix

3. Clear & Develop Caroni Lands - Golf Courses -Watch

4. Travel / Vacation expenses - Mr Scafy , Ms. Cujoe , Mr Schizophrenic Smith ad some of he outside skunks like Marlene , Camille , Scoop Face.

Again,

Axe The Tax

drchaos

Postby drchaos » May 27th, 2017, 8:21 am

Redbimbo stop huffing and puffing your chest and show them the receipt you got when you submitted your valuation forms nah.

Postby RedVEVO » May 27th, 2017, 3:17 pm

I is a poor sufferer .. You back from Grenada ?
I have no receipt cause I gots no money .. no m o n a y

How your spanky new Ford Ranger 3.2 Limited running ?

Maybe one day I will able to afford such luxury ting :)

Again,

Be Strong, Protest and Protest !
We have the Power .

Axe the Tax

Postby adnj » May 27th, 2017, 7:03 pm

Postby matr1x » May 28th, 2017, 12:18 am

drchaos wrote:Redbimbo stop huffing and puffing your chest and show them the receipt you got when you submitted your valuation forms nah.

See folks, this is what red and ready looks like. Do not be like this. It's like an inverted erection.

pjfred

Postby pjfred » May 28th, 2017, 7:21 am

Like a soft centre erection

Postby Dizzy28 » May 28th, 2017, 7:23 am

RedVEVO wrote:^^^
Ok.

Again
Axe the Tax .

Because it is my money spending while Sharon and Baldy going
Chile on vacation and golfing .

Anybody here know what business we have in Chile ?
We have a Chilean Embassy in TT ?

Pinochet's Chile was a dictatorship - so maybe he going for classes
in how to f....k up a country and hold them hostage with tax, tax, tax.

Again,
Axe the Tax

They are our largest purchaser of LNG. And the #1 candidate for our next bilateral investment treaty and bilateral trade agreement.

Re:

Postby 88sins » May 28th, 2017, 8:24 am

Mini wrote:
ok let's see... how often does the garbage truck collect garbage in front of your house... 3 times a week? .. that's 156 times for the year...

how many street lights are on your street? 10? do they come on every night? who pays the bill?

is your road paved? who pays to maintain it and the drains around it?

my point is... everybody wants better services from the regional corps and government... but somebody has to pay for it...

if there's an improvement in the community based on the increase in taxes... then i'm all for it...

also you may see rental prices going down as a result... which I'm also in favor of...

give it a chance...

Seems you're​ a tad unclear on a few things so I'll clarify them for you..

You pay for the streetlights on your street, you an your neighbors, when you pay your electric bill. The cost of running them is included in your bill. Don't believe this? Ask T&TEC.

As to paved roads, all drivers pay for road paving, every time they pay for gas. A tax was added to fuel sales in this country over 20 years ago specifically for that purpose and it's never been removed or reduced.

Some ppl actually pay privately run companies for their waste removal. It's not as expensive as you'd think or some have you believe. The more collection sites on the route, the less you pay/month.

Drains and waterways belong to the state, they have to maintain those on their own. If you don't believe it, try to pump waste water from a drain to fill a pond, and see how fast WASA finds you and charges you for stealing water, and tells you that you need to pay for a permit to keep on doing so.

In its current state, the regional corporations won't see a black cent of any finances collected via this property tax. So no community will benefit from it. And this is only one of the issues people have with it.
Give it a chance? Sorry, but I am at present disinclined to acquiesce to your request, since I'm not in the habit or business of giving politicians​ a chance to gouge my wallet, or abuse my good nature, or demand that I pay them for something I alone paid for to buy or build, or to pay them money for doing very little or nothing just because they say so. Nor do I know anyone that is.

If you are one willing to entertain them with that nonsense, by all means, feel free. I wouldn't recommend you wait for people ​that share your perspective to join you. You'd be waiting a loooong time.