Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Premchand1976

Re: RE: Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby Premchand1976 » November 5th, 2016, 8:43 pm

pugboy wrote:once u past the bejucal rd and on the straight best to slow down until the caroni turnoff just to be safe

Why not just drive within the speed limit and obey the law man ???? Friday I saw in my rear view mirror, a guy with a civic northbound on the highway divali Nagar vicinity blinking his headlights all the way from Nagar to caroni.........guess to warn others of either speed trap or roadblock. I really thought we were out of the backward mentality days yes.....smh

Postby pugboy » November 5th, 2016, 8:51 pm

i do but it is always best to be certain you are below the speed limit in the trap areas
i know somebody who got a ticket for 82km

Premchand1976 wrote:
pugboy wrote:once u past the bejucal rd and on the straight best to slow down until the caroni turnoff just to be safe

Why not just drive within the speed limit and obey the law man ???? Friday I saw in my rear view mirror, a guy with a civic northbound on the highway divali Nagar vicinity blinking his headlights all the way from Nagar to caroni.........guess to warn others of either speed trap or roadblock. I really thought we were out of the backward mentality days yes.....smh

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 5th, 2016, 9:55 pm

Premchand1976 wrote:

Civil disobedience is necessary for unjust laws.

Thus far I have witnessed the Prime minister and his entourage, the prison service, the police, ambulances, pickups with official ministry badges breaking the speed limit (around 110 KPH and above) to which we are all supposed to adhere.

Re: Speed guns in effect in Trinidad & Tobago

Postby eliteauto » November 5th, 2016, 11:33 pm

Thus far civil disobedience has netted the State $8M and counting

Postby DVSTT » November 6th, 2016, 12:21 am

eliteauto wrote:Thus far civil disobedience has netted the State $8M and counting

How much pressure washing does 8 million buy?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 6th, 2016, 12:39 am

DVSTT wrote:
eliteauto wrote:Thus far civil disobedience has netted the State $8M and counting

How much pressure washing does 8 million buy?

cause they give the money to somebody wife

Postby A172 » November 6th, 2016, 3:24 am

radar detector ftw

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 6th, 2016, 9:54 am

That is real small money ... compared to the amount of us actually breaking the speed limit.

The number should be 100 times that. But thanks to many people flashing their lights (which is also illegal and what I was referring to as a form of civil disobedience) and posting on waze we good to go.

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 6th, 2016, 8:22 pm

It's illegal...I just hailing out my brethren in the other Lane... But like he didn't see me so I have to flash more...

Postby *$kїđž!™ » November 6th, 2016, 8:37 pm

How is it illegal to flash your lights..I didn't know that.....

Postby pugboy » November 6th, 2016, 8:42 pm

its not illegal but they will pull you over and ask a bunch of questions and waste your time

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 6th, 2016, 9:51 pm

Ahh ... didn't know it was legal cause I know someone who was pulled over and was given a warning, was probably all the popo's could do.

Postby sMASH » November 6th, 2016, 10:02 pm

If some one flashes lights, and the speed of cars go below 80kmph, isn't the objective achieved?

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 6th, 2016, 10:09 pm

kamakazi wrote:It's illegal...I just hailing out my brethren in the other Lane... But like he didn't see me so I have to flash more...

Should read it's illegal with a question mark. Kinda left it out

Postby BrotherHood » November 7th, 2016, 9:38 am

Had one there Saturday afternoon around 2pm. I was well over 80km/h and as I was about to overtake the Navara infront of me I saw the marked Grand Vitara on the shoulder. I ducked back in behind the Navara yes. Got away.

What I noticed too was that a couple hundred meters before the speed trap, a Police Jeep was doing about 120km/h which was just enough to pass me. Other motorists upon seeing that, felt it okay to increase their speed but not pass the police jeep, not knowing like the lone officer in the jeep luring you into a speed trap. He stopped at the trap. A guy with a M3 who overtook me pulled over without even being singled out, clearly not giving a firetruck.
Don't get caught with that.

Postby pete » November 7th, 2016, 10:08 am

Haha, so they trolling (fishing) for tickets now?

Postby redmanjp » November 7th, 2016, 8:03 pm

pete wrote:Haha, so they trolling (fishing) for tickets now?

oil money done... hadda compensate somehow

Postby sMASH » November 14th, 2016, 7:29 am

Postby BrotherHood » November 15th, 2016, 1:26 pm

Corinth NB.

Premchand1976

Postby Premchand1976 » November 18th, 2016, 12:49 pm

Just passed Grand bazaar and saw everyone on the southbound lane flashing lights to warn of speed trap ahead......everyone was flashing lights......thought to myself, look at us all.....prefer to contribute to breaking the laws and living " like ah trini " rather than try to support the safety and protective measures trying to be implemented. Sadly for an ad Wagon that passed me with fyaaz and slowed down about 200 metres before we could spot the trap gun / zone...he got pulled over at the lok jak roundabout and seemed puzzled as hell.......guess the gun picks up up about 3-400 metres away......I laughed at him. Instead of obeying the law.....it cost him some ham and grog money.....idiot

racedriverpro

Postby racedriverpro » November 19th, 2016, 11:01 pm

Have one to pay month end God's willing. Govt cyah say ah never give them nothing...

kamakazi

Postby kamakazi » November 19th, 2016, 11:39 pm

Where they spot speed you.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 20th, 2016, 12:50 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Just passed Grand bazaar and saw everyone on the southbound lane flashing lights to warn of speed trap ahead......everyone was flashing lights......thought to myself, look at us all.....prefer to contribute to breaking the laws and living " like ah trini " rather than try to support the safety and protective measures trying to be implemented. Sadly for an ad Wagon that passed me with fyaaz and slowed down about 200 metres before we could spot the trap gun / zone...he got pulled over at the lok jak roundabout and seemed puzzled as hell.......guess the gun picks up up about 3-400 metres away......I laughed at him. Instead of obeying the law.....it cost him some ham and grog money.....idiot

He didn't have to obey the law just pay attention to the brave citizens on the other lane who risking police harassment to warn us all

Safety and protective measures you say ... Then they should ban doubles, smoking, alcohol. With each one contributing a greater human cost and financial cost on the system than speeding (the evidence is wishy washy btw that speeding is the cause of accidents).

Postby DVSTT » November 20th, 2016, 11:56 am

Premchand1976 wrote:Just passed Grand bazaar and saw everyone on the southbound lane flashing lights to warn of speed trap ahead......everyone was flashing lights......thought to myself, look at us all.....prefer to contribute to breaking the laws and living " like ah trini " rather than try to support the safety and protective measures trying to be implemented. Sadly for an ad Wagon that passed me with fyaaz and slowed down about 200 metres before we could spot the trap gun / zone...he got pulled over at the lok jak roundabout and seemed puzzled as hell.......guess the gun picks up up about 3-400 metres away......I laughed at him. Instead of obeying the law.....it cost him some ham and grog money.....idiot

If they were on the median they could only clock you after you break the corner as the concrete barrier blocks your number plate as you make the corner. He should have seen them from before, I always slow down on that corner to make sure they aren't there.

Postby eliteauto » November 21st, 2016, 9:31 am

Works and Transport Minister Rohan Sinanan says police officers will soon have more speed guns to use as efforts continue to make T&T’s roads safer for motorists and pedestrians.

He said this measure will be supported by legislation to introduce a points system as an additional penalty for delinquent drivers.

The minster, who spoke at Arrive Alive’s Walk and Ride at the Queen’s Park Oval, Port-of-Spain, yesterday for World Day of Remembrance for Road Traffic Victims, revealed that he has lost relatives to road accidents.

“The grief and impact are long lasting, often permanent,” he said.

Sinanan said while statistics from the Traffic and Highway Patrol Branch show a decrease in fatal accidents, there is still a lot of work to do.”

If each driver in T&T pledged to always follow the rules of the road, that is no drinking and driving, no texting and talking on the phone and no speeding, we can overall decrease road accidents and fatalities,” he said.

Speaking in support of the UN’s proclamation of a decade of action for road safety, Sinanan said the Traffic Management Branch is involved in several projects to make the roads safer. These include additional features to assist at pedestrian crossings, including head signals, bells, improved signage and repainting of 180 km of road markings.

Further efforts will include redesigning highways with informational signs; placement of road studs in high risk areas to illuminate roadways for greater safety; placing New Jersey slip form barriers between Orange Grove and Piarco to separate traffic lanes; establishing uninterrupted power supply for traffic signals; red light enforcement legislation; and installing special accessible pedestrian signal devices to help visually impaired persons cross the streets.

Road safety advocate Brent Batson compared reckless drivers to criminals who is using use and knives to take innocent lives.

Yesterday’s event, which was sponsored by BHP Billiton, was supported by the T&T Police Service through DCP Deodath Dulalchan who assured that road safety is one of their strategic priority goals.

Batson said up to yesterday, 110 road deaths had been recorded—a 14 per cent decrease over last year’s figures. He appealed to motorists to act responsibly during the upcoming Christmas and Carnival seasons.

“The deployment of laser speed guns has had a considerable effect on raising the speed awareness of the motoring public and ensuring compliance” he said.

“From the police perspective, there are only so many tickets we can write.”

http://www.cnc3.co.tt/press-release/mor ... ion-coming

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 21st, 2016, 12:00 pm

And still no protest

Postby eliteauto » November 21st, 2016, 12:03 pm

what exactly are you going to protest? The enforcement of a decades old law?

hong kong phooey

Postby hong kong phooey » November 21st, 2016, 12:18 pm

well murder, illegal guns, robbery ,are also decade old laws but it seems like they not putting the same resources forward towards it .
I have no problem with the speed limit being 80 but the men doing the radar set up as u coming down the incline by claxton bay and want to give people ticket for 83 kms/hr
65 km for pickup is unreasonable

pick up men / truck men need to get together and drive 40 km /hr up the highway everyday for a while to protest this crap.
they are quick to change the laws in one direction but nothing in the other.

drchaos

Postby drchaos » November 21st, 2016, 8:48 pm

Every advanced/civilized country has a 10% rule. The police won't stop you driving 10% over the limit because that makes sense ... not this banana republic sheit with stopping people at 83 KPH.

That is just being purely vindictive and practicing an abuse of power.

Postby Rory Phoulorie » November 21st, 2016, 9:27 pm

drchaos wrote:Every advanced/civilized country has a 10% rule. The police won't stop you driving 10% over the limit because that makes sense. . .

Perhaps you would be kind enough to direct us to your source of this information.

What makes sense is to not charge people for going at a speed that is within the error of the apparatus. Somewhere in one of these speed limit related threads, someone posted up the error of the measuring device currently being used as +/- 2km/h. If that is information is correct, then the TTPS should not charge anyone who the radar gun had indicated is going 82km/h and below.

I still can't understand what all the beat up is over the speed limit. The politicians are not going to change it anytime soon. Deal with it.