Government achievement thread (PNM EDITION 2015-2025)

Re: Government achievement thread.

Postby RASC » December 5th, 2015, 12:03 am

Jwala hanging on for dear life... PNM achievement: Survival Skills :lol:

Can someone tell me what the OFFICIAL economic definition of a recession is please, and why has our central bank governor only NOW found his voice?

"Interesting" :arrow:

Postby desifemlove » December 5th, 2015, 1:20 am

two quarters of negative gdp growth. http://www.frbsf.org/education/publicat ... difference

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2015, 1:45 am

RASC wrote:Jwala hanging on for dear life... PNM achievement: Survival Skills :lol:

Can someone tell me what the OFFICIAL economic definition of a recession is please, and why has our central bank governor only NOW found his voice?

"Interesting" :arrow:

Expect Kaffa Kambon to take he wuk. PNM style

Postby De Dragon » December 5th, 2015, 2:03 am

shogun wrote:
De Dragon wrote:PNM so evil de recession happen when it know dey was coming........

Thaz the kind of extreme partisan rubbish i expect to hear from ZR and UML... I didn't look for you there.

Sarcasm meet shogun, shogun, sarcasm...............

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 5th, 2015, 1:46 pm

Wasn't there negative growth during Kamla's tenure? Just asking?

Now that we know who is taking the foreign exchange, could someone remind me what the problem was a few months ago?

Why was the business community making such a fuss now suddenly they are quiet.?

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 5th, 2015, 1:50 pm

As I remember the foreign exchange problem was the result of poor spending on the part of the government or so I was made to believe, now it seems that the problem was with the poor spending choices of the average consumer.

Could someone tell me if I am flawed in thinking this, or do my thoughts hold some gounding in reality.

Postby eliteauto » December 5th, 2015, 2:47 pm

foreign exchange became an issue after the allocation method was changed by the Central Bank two years ago, hence why the system was reverted by the current finance minister

Daran

Postby Daran » December 5th, 2015, 3:03 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:Wasn't there negative growth during Kamla's tenure? Just asking? I think there was consistent growth every quarter, but started to slow down in 2015.

Now that we know who is taking the foreign exchange, could someone remind me what the problem was a few months ago? Politician gonna politic

Why was the business community making such a fuss now suddenly they are quiet.?
Political bias, confusion, lack of information and now that PNM has 5 years of power they're waiting to see what happens. Not point clamouring for change yet.

Numb3r4 wrote:As I remember the foreign exchange problem was the result of poor spending on the part of the government or so I was made to believe, now it seems that the problem was with the poor spending choices of the average consumer. Was perhaps a combination of the two

Could someone tell me if I am flawed in thinking this, or do my thoughts hold some gounding in reality. You raise some prudent questions. Let RASC, Habit7 and rfari twist and inform us on the PNM spin

Postby shogun » December 5th, 2015, 3:40 pm

shogun wrote:
De Dragon wrote:PNM so evil de recession happen when it know dey was coming........

Thaz the kind of extreme partisan rubbish i expect to hear from ZR and UML... I didn't look for you there.

Sarcasm meet shogun, shogun, sarcasm...............

*reintroduces himself to sarcasm*

I swear your account geh hack.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 5th, 2015, 7:11 pm

What was the reason for changing it in the first place? What reason was given?

Does anyone have any details orpoints on the regulations?

Postby zoom rader » December 5th, 2015, 9:26 pm

Numb3r4 wrote:What was the reason for changing it in the first place? What reason was given?

If ur speaking about foreign exchange, it was due to big boys Hoarding and shipping US abroad. The last good government clamped down on it and the hoarders then supported this government , so its pay back time. Amazing that the foreign exchange is now lifted and recession is announced , you do the maths.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2015, 10:53 am

Numb3r4 wrote:What was the reason for changing it in the first place? What reason was given?

If ur speaking about foreign exchange, it was due to big boys Hoarding and shipping US abroad. The last good government clamped down on it and the hoarders then supported this government , so its pay back time. Amazing that the foreign exchange is now lifted and recession is announced , you do the maths.

I like well thought out propaganda even if it's evil cuz of the complexity of thought usually involved.

Your stuff however is just so dotish though. Surely you can do better?

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2015, 3:31 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

I like well thought out propaganda even if it's evil cuz of the complexity of thought usually involved.

You and most trins live the Trin media world .
Real Trin US currency in kept abroad by shady businesses and big individuals. Miami houses looking nice.
Government brings in US and businesses take them out and bank abroad.

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 6th, 2015, 3:36 pm

Allergic2BunnyEars wrote:

You and most trins live the Trin media world .
Real Trin US currency in kept abroad by shady businesses and big individuals. Miami houses looking nice.
Government brings in US and businesses take them out and bank abroad.

Wasn't even talking about that but I understand you can't help yourself.

Postby desifemlove » December 6th, 2015, 4:59 pm

zoom, UK is immaterial in dis discussion. Given time it tek to make and institute economic policy, how can PNM be at fault for this recession? http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150904 ... ntral-bank PNM's fault? or did Rowley shapeshift from a 6 foot plus black man to a 5'4" Indo woman?

Postby zoom rader » December 6th, 2015, 8:31 pm

desifemlove wrote:zoom, UK is immaterial in dis discussion. Given time it tek to make and institute economic policy, how can PNM be at fault for this recession? http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150904 ... ntral-bank PNM's fault? or did Rowley shapeshift from a 6 foot plus black man to a 5'4" Indo woman?

This government has never ran a recession economy before. They always running booms and busting that. You really think they can run a recession.

Postby Habit7 » December 9th, 2015, 7:33 pm

zoom rader wrote:This government has never ran a recession economy before. They always running booms and busting that. You really think they can run a recession.
Well PNM ran the country in 1993 and we were in recession and PNM reversed it. We had annual successive growth for 17 years until the Global Recession affected us.

Postby Habit7 » December 9th, 2015, 7:39 pm

ImageUploadedByTriniTuner1449704354.538343.jpg

Keeping Keith accountable

Postby rfari » December 9th, 2015, 8:31 pm

Like growley going rotti after kamala and dem kill the last one

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 9th, 2015, 11:00 pm

Habit7 wrote:
zoom rader wrote:This government has never ran a recession economy before. They always running booms and busting that. You really think they can run a recession.
Well PNM ran the country in 1993 and we were in recession and PNM reversed it. We had annual successive growth for 17 years until the Global Recession affected us.

They did this by privitization of the ammonia plants, not to mention the fact that they got foreign investors for the methanol industry.

Also Nucor set up a steel plant, those things helped too, however those things are not available options now.

Unless you're saying they should privitize Petrotrin?

Not to mention they left office 2 years after, then Panday took office amid some low oil prices.

Postby zoom rader » December 10th, 2015, 1:45 am

Numb3r4 wrote:
Habit7 wrote:

They did this by privitization of the ammonia plants, not to mention the fact that they got foreign investors for the methanol industry.

Also Nucor set up a steel plant, those things helped too, however those things are not available options now.

Unless you're saying they should privitize Petrotrin?

Not to mention they left office 2 years after, then Panday took office amid some low oil prices.

Privatisation is the only way to go. Govt should not be running any business.

Postby Chimera » December 10th, 2015, 5:36 am

desifemlove wrote:zoom, UK is immaterial in dis discussion. Given time it tek to make and institute economic policy, how can PNM be at fault for this recession? http://www.trinidadexpress.com/20150904 ... ntral-bank PNM's fault? or did Rowley shapeshift from a 6 foot plus black man to a 5'4" Indo woman?

This government has never ran a recession economy before. They always running booms and busting that. You really think they can run a recession.

Trinidad has never had a Rowley run government tho. Give the man a year or two to see what he doing na. You have no choice for five years anyway.

Postby Redman » December 10th, 2015, 6:55 am

I.say privatise the MANAGEMENT and OPERATIONS.of Petrotrin.
For a flat fee plus profit share.

Or we can sequester majority shareholding in a sovereign wealth fund.
Sell the rest to private sector interest.

Postby Habit7 » December 10th, 2015, 9:14 am

Redman wrote:I.say privatise the MANAGEMENT and OPERATIONS.of Petrotrin.

tu.png
tu.png (264.8 KiB) Viewed 2429 times

Postby Allergic2BunnyEars » December 10th, 2015, 9:35 am

This might be a discussion for another thread but what are your quick thoughts on most of the debt for Petrotrin being obtained via

a) bad investment (GTL - chosen by the board)
b) cost overruns due to bad project management (GTL, FCCU)
c) cost overruns due to bad contract type selection (board selected)
d) poor loan type selection (ULSD bullet payment type loan)

and not necessarily due to "plebs"?

Postby zoom rader » December 11th, 2015, 6:54 am

Nah just sell petrotrin outright and let the government collect the taxes.

Government should not be running businesses.

Postby Redman » December 11th, 2015, 7:05 am

But that's what I said...out source the running and OPERATIONS.
Running and ownership are 2 separate things.
We as a people should retain ownership of the producing assets.
I could own majority shareholding but by contract have no operational control and dividends can be distributed in a discrete proportion to the share holding.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 11th, 2015, 12:10 pm

Redman wrote:But that's what I said...out source the running and OPERATIONS.
Running and ownership are 2 separate things.
We as a people should retain ownership of the producing assets.
I could own majority shareholding but by contract have no operational control and dividends can be distributed in a discrete proportion to the share holding.

I am not knocking your idea pretty descent one but given the way we assign contracts and hire "consultants" not to mention who we hire I am left to wonder if we can even pull that off.

Postby De Dragon » December 11th, 2015, 11:24 pm

Roget and OWTU would never stand for any sort of privatization of PETROTRIN.

Numb3r4

Postby Numb3r4 » December 11th, 2015, 11:56 pm

^^^ Eventually things may progress to a point where their demands could be ignored or just won't matter. They may be so divorced from reality it may be impractical.