The *Official* LOCAL Election Thread (2013)

antonio12

Re: The *Official* Chaguanas West Election Thread

Postby antonio12 » July 18th, 2013, 2:27 am

thank god for this bye election in Chaguanas west, some pp ministers coming down from cloud 9 to meet the people, thought we would not see that until 2015

antonio12

Postby antonio12 » July 18th, 2013, 2:35 am

jack has pics of kpb on the roadside uri... in Tobago ????

Postby rfari » July 18th, 2013, 5:53 am

bluespeed wrote:
rfari wrote:Oh dear.
There goes that flag dragging again.
Whre is uml and zr when they are needed?

working....you must try it!

Promotion...you must work for it!

Postby eliteauto » July 18th, 2013, 7:47 am

I see the UNC is reverting to Us and Them politics, appealing to the baser racial nature of it's core

Postby nemisis » July 18th, 2013, 8:22 am

^^^ reverting? Their mantra was we will rise, their followers mantra is WTN....

Who is this we?

Postby pioneer » July 18th, 2013, 8:26 am

I have never seen a government in history who is so bent on creating elitism in society.

Their arrogance is gonna bring them to their knees.

Postby rfari » July 18th, 2013, 9:00 am

Sheep rell quiet today bai.

Postby Greypatch » July 18th, 2013, 9:25 am

lol..ent...

Postby VexXx Dogg » July 18th, 2013, 9:32 am

eliteauto wrote:I see the UNC is reverting to Us and Them politics, appealing to the baser racial nature of it's core

Normal firetrucking thing with those decrepit politicians....and the mindless sheep will lap it up.

Postby Habit7 » July 18th, 2013, 9:32 am

What are the ramifications of Jack losing the by-elections?

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » July 18th, 2013, 9:38 am

Jack: I gave up US green card
By Joel Julien joel.julien@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jul 17, 2013 at 11:19 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 17, 2013 at 11:19 PM ECT
INTERIM leader of the Independent Liberal Party (ILP), Jack Warner, yesterday said he has surrendered his green card and replaced it with a ten-year visa to the United States.
Warner said he only made the change because as a politician it was more feasible to have a visa than a green card.
The entire process lasted 15 minutes and took place at the United States Embassy in Port of Spain on December 28 last year, he said.
Warner said the only person who was with him at the time was his then adviser, Francis Joseph.
In June, Joseph was appointed Prime Minister Kamla Persad-Bissessar’s press secretary.
Persad-Bissessar raised the question about Warner’s green card in her speech at this week’s United National Congress (UNC) Monday Night Forum.
Warner said he could not believe Persad-Bissessar would raise such a “foolish story” on the political platform.
He responded to Persad-Bissessar following the opening of one of two ILP sub-offices yesterday.
The first sub-office is at 58 Jerningham Junction Road, Charlieville, and is the home of recently fired CEPEP contractor Simeon Mahabir.
Speaking following the official ribbon-cutting ceremony, Warner outlined the process used in surrendering his green card.
“I got a green card in 1991 when I used to travel all over the world and I was not in politics, that was good. Now in politics every six months I have to go in the States to keep it alive. Every six months and sometimes when I miss the date and so on and I go up there like in June (last year), they are of course very angry with me when that happens,” Warner said.
“So I went in June (last year). I renewed my green card. I went in November (last year), I renewed my green card, and by the way on both occasions the same prime minister approved my travel and appointed ministers in my absence. When I came back in November after renewing my green card, I said it doesn’t make sense, I have no intention of living in the States or of working in the States, so on December 28 I took Francis Joseph with me, who is now her chief media adviser, and time to come I will say more about Francis Joseph, he’s for a different time, not for now. I took him with me to the US Embassy and I told them I want to give up this green card for a visa,” he said.
“So with a visa I don’t have to go every six months, I can go anytime. In 15 minutes the US Embassy took my green card and gave me a ten-year visa,” Warner said.
“What have I done wrong, Suruj (Rambachan) had a green card, ent he gave it up too? Why am I hustling to leave people business and leave work unattended to go up to the States just to say I have a green card?” Warner said.
“What is the problem. I don’t want a US green card, the only green I want is the ILP green,” he said.
Warner yesterday chided Kamla Persad-Bissessar for labelling him and constituents of Chaguanas West as “lagahoos”.
“They calling me a lagahoo because I am out early in the morning. But I don’t be drunk that hour or have a hang­over so I can go and do the people’s work,” Warner said.

He said Persad-Bissessar was also being disrespectful to the constituents who come to see him for help at that hour.
He said people are running scared because of his intention to show a picture of UNC candidate Khadijah Ameen tomorrow night.
Warner said for the past 11 weeks he has been running a clean campaign and does not plan to change his modus operandi in the final week. Warner said he plans to show only one picture of Ameen, and it has nothing to do with her “morals and dignity as a woman”, but it will show “her incompetence”.
Warner said he doubts once people see this photograph they will vote for or even talk to Ameen.
The second ILP sub-office Warner opened yesterday was at 111 Cacandee Road, Felicity.
He also held a walkabout in Felicity after the opening of the second sub-office.

hehehe this is too funny!!

Postby sMASH » July 18th, 2013, 9:50 am

ent suruj give up he green card too?!

Postby pioneer » July 18th, 2013, 9:52 am

Visa more feasable than green card, the green card you have to live/work across there for some time each year not so?

Kamla is pretty desperate.

kual

Postby kual » July 18th, 2013, 9:56 am

all who going meeting in Matchin later?

Postby rfari » July 18th, 2013, 10:01 am

Kamla still jinking hard? Nah man! After that last episode diabetes+rum episode when the helichopper had to rush her to sando hospital and afterwards she was incognito in one of dem petrotrin houses that she woulda slow down a bit. Guess i was wrong

[X]~Outlaw

Postby [X]~Outlaw » July 18th, 2013, 10:02 am

Kamla: brb grasping at straws

Postby pioneer » July 18th, 2013, 10:04 am

Ministers travel too much. In this day and age of modern technology, video conferencing etc there is no need to attend "meetings" at the expense of the state.

Then they does carry wife, chiren, dog, cyat and neighbour.

Postby pete » July 18th, 2013, 10:04 am

pioneer wrote:Visa more feasable than green card, the green card you have to live/work across there for some time each year not so?

Kamla is pretty desperate.

A green card is supposed to be for permanent residents of the US. Simply going there for a day every six months is not really supposed to let you keep it, if they find you're not staying in the country they may take it away anyway but I guess his US savings account must be big so they used to give him a bligh. :lol:

Postby AllTrac » July 18th, 2013, 10:14 am

uncle sam needs his money, with that green card you better kerry yuh skunt in de US and give the man his taxes or just settle with a normal 10 year. Jack come out better with de 10 year cause immigration does real beatup when they see u pick up on de "6 month" check in

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » July 18th, 2013, 10:16 am

But it ent done lol look how have something to say now hehehe

No bribe for me
Prakash:
By Renuka Singh renuka.singh@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jul 17, 2013 at 11:16 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 17, 2013 at 11:16 PM ECT
Congress of the People (COP) leader Prakash Ramadhar has said he would die before accepting a bribe.
Ramadhar was speaking at the party’s campaign meeting in support of the United National Congress (UNC) Chaguanas West by-election candidate Khadijah Ameen at the Felicity Hindu Primary School on Tuesday night.
“When I collect my little salary at the end of the month, I need my every single dollar. I not going to fool people and tell them I only taking a dollar. I can’t afford it. I have no other income,” Ramadhar said, referring to Warner’s $1 ministerial pay cheque.
“There is a candidate that now puts himself forward, having crea­ted a new party which is very attractive because it is new and I am hearing on the platforms about integrity and character and truth and decency, and I say what a wonderful use of words.
“But words alone do not mean a thing,words are cheap and overly abundant in this nation,” he said.
He called on that candidate, interim leader of the Independent Liberal Party (ILP) Jack Warner, to respond to questions on his source of income.
“Those are the questions that need to be answered in this campaign. Not about who do this and who do that. Tell me about what you have done and what you intend to do, and I don’t mean paving road,” Ramadhar said, adding that road-paving was a “money-making racket”.
“They pave dead dog in the past, just so their percentage will come,” he said.
He said the COP will never condone the mentality of “freeness and gimme-gimme”.
He said he did not believe in the “today is today and yesterday was yesterday” type of politics, even if it meant going against the norm.
“I don’t mind being unpopular in the moment. Let us be unpopular sometimes, but for the good of our people, the good of our nation,” he said. “We are here because a battle has been called here.”
He described the COP support for Ameen as the COP’s “fulfilment” of both the agreement and its conscience.
“This is the business of the Congress of the People. Its ambition was to be rid of the old politics, of the racial divide, of corruption in politics, of the lack of trust in politics, in politicians,” he said.
Ramadhar said he did not believe in gifts without a cost. “Gifts are easy to come by, but do we ask the question: where did the money come from?” he said.
He dismissed politicians who pay for a vote.
“Payment for a vote is not just on that day, the vote that is paid for, you pay for it all of your life.”
Platform speakers including Minister of Arts and Multiculturalism Lincoln Douglas, Public Administration Minister Carolyn Seepersad-Bachan and Planning Minister Dr Bhoe Tewarie, who defended the COP’s independence within the coalition government.
Arima MP Rodger Samuel, who earlier this week said he was considering resigning as a minister, did not attend the meeting as advertised.
Tewarie said he walked with Ameen in her campaign and would continue to do so. He said the COP was not the same as it was from inception or even after the 2010 gene­ral election, but remained committed to the ideals of the coalition politics.
“(Prime Minister) Kamla Persad-Bissessar is the duly elected, agreed leader of the Partnership. And she is the duly constituted Prime Minister. I am going to support her unless something happens that makes me feel that I cannot,” he said.

the more i read this i know i cant trust Prak atall.. rel brownie fudge cake being eaten.. wipe ur nose prak wipe ur nose.. cause like somebody can't smell the sheit they spewin

Postby janfar » July 18th, 2013, 10:20 am

I still waiting for the benefits for the trip the PM and her 'delegation' made to India.

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » July 18th, 2013, 10:23 am

But i find it rel funny all of a sudden Chag West is the prodigal child!! everybody doing something in Chag West but it have nothing to do with the election eh.... in my Surju voice

Scores line up to see Moonilal in Felicity
By Carolyn Kissoon carolyn.kissoon@trinidadexpress.com

Story Created: Jul 17, 2013 at 11:15 PM ECT

Story Updated: Jul 17, 2013 at 11:15 PM ECT
AS the Chaguanas West by-election draws nearer, Housing Minister Dr Roodal Moonilal moved into the constituency yesterday, bearing goodies.
Moonilal spent the day at the United National Congress (UNC) sub-office at Cacandee Road, Feli­city, meeting residents regarding housing issues.
Scores of people lined up outside the office from early yesterday, hoping for an opportunity to meet Moonilal. The residents filled out forms for the People’s Partnership’s Land for the Landless programme and housing grants.
“What I discovered was when I came here and people knew I was here, they wanted to see me for their own problems. I told them on Wednesday morning I don’t mind seeing about 25 people, but from that it reached 150 people. The problems include housing, grants, WASA, T&T Foodcard and land issues,” Moonilal said.
Representatives of the National Commission for Self Help, Land Settlement Agency and Trinidad and Tobago Electricity Commission (T&TEC) were on hand to assist.
“Some of the problems (was) where people built houses, and all they require is a connection from T&TEC. In some cases T&TEC requires another agency to give permission. So if agencies are here they can do the letter and give permission right away. If people can afford they pay for poles but if they can’t there is a programme that can help,” Moonilal said.
Moonilal said he was disappointed former MP Jack Warner did not provide assistance to his consti­tuents.
“Mr Warner only sought HDC housing for 21 persons. We are happy when people get a home, but the way the system works is that you are elected to represent a constituency. When we look at the list we got about 21 persons were given homes from Chaguanas West. In this area of Felicity three persons got houses,” he said.
Moonilal said the matter was previously discussed with Warner. “He said he was seeing people from all over the country and I told him that when you are elected you are to serve the people who elected you,” he said.
Moonilal said he would continue to visit constituencies to meet residents on housing issues following the July 29 by-election. “I will ensure that the housing side of it is dealt with... I will try to come once a month to see the people. MPs do a referral to me. Many MPs, including PNM (People’s National Movement), will write letters and I will say to send them to my office in Debe to see them and I will try to help... this will continue,” he said.
Responding to an exclusive Sunday Express investigation which found Warner had solicited millions from businesses using ministerial office, Moonilal said, “These are serious matters. It is very improper and bordering on criminal practices. What would happen to a contractor if he did not give money? I think this requires the attention of the Integrity Commission, if not the police.”

Postby eliteauto » July 18th, 2013, 10:27 am

buh buh all de time it wasn't an issue in fact everything Jack did wasn't an issue, real ungratefulness and nastiness dey Prakash, this is the "New Politics"? oh goarr Prakie Kams now give yuh permission to speak?

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » July 18th, 2013, 10:30 am

elite same thing i sayin.... i feel pnm go win it just because... but my money on jackie boii.. lol with everything going on de man isa bo$$

dunno why Prak doh resign and join the unc... pure YES man talk he coming with after doing nothing .. wait wat de hell he does do in cabinet?
Last edited by JoeBama on July 18th, 2013, 10:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

Postby pioneer » July 18th, 2013, 10:46 am

yepp yepp chag west only dropped on the map recently

JoeBama

Postby JoeBama » July 18th, 2013, 10:52 am

all of a sudden you hearing kams talking how she went to school barefoot and ting...wtf that have to do with ameen and her skills to rep the ppl of chag west effectively and assiduously?? somebody tell me what kams story have to do with anything... play and prey on the weak emotions of the sheep's.... we definitely need a new Sheppard

Postby eliteauto » July 18th, 2013, 10:55 am

Roodal Moonilal said on Monday night Jack Warner was using his office as MP for Chaguanas West and his influence in government to work for opposition People's National Movement (PNM).

He said Warner's pre-dawn meetings to meet people were really to look after the interests of the 12 PNM MPs.

He said the evidence is in the allocation of homes from the Housing Development Corporation. Moonilal, who is the housing minister, said every MP makes recommendations for persons within their constituencies to get home and noted that Warner made 342 recommendations but the house did not go to people in Chaguanas West.

Moonilal produced a list, which he offered to show to anyone who wants to check it. He said it shows that of the 342 houses allocated to Chaguanas West, Warner gave only 21 to residents of Chaguanas West of which only three were for Felicity.

He read out a list of some of the locations that benefitted from the housing:

Mount Hope
Malabar
San Juan
Laventille
Arouca
Sangre Grande
Morvant
Point Fortin
Morvant
Marabella
Port of Spain
Trincity

Moonilal said when the UNC put Jack Warner in Chagunas West it was to represent the people. However he said Warner's focus was on representing the 12 PNM seats to build his constituency to later work against the government.

He promised that when Khadijah Ameen wins the election on July 29 she would represent the people in Chaguanas West and when she delivers homes they would all go to the people in her constituency.

http://jyoticommunication.blogspot.com/ ... r-pnm.html

somebody help this dodoy nah so someone in Chag West cannot want to move to another location for a myriad of reasons?

If the persons were helped by JW (UNC) and placed in PNM areas what is to say they won't vote UNC?

So in PNM areas the UNC has no supporters there, ent they does get votes there?

So Moonilal saying only help "WE" even though the Gov't supposed to represent everybody?

Postby pioneer » July 18th, 2013, 11:03 am

People with sense will LOL@ coonilal & co. backahday tactics

Sadly their cane cutter base knows no better, matter of fact some of them posting their rumshop talk right here.

Postby Habit7 » July 18th, 2013, 11:04 am

Yip government minister Jack Warner was against his party, that is why he helped ppl citizens who were not his constituents.

That is a more contemptuous statement than Jack labeling a murder, a PNM murder. They are all not fit for office and they will not take this country forward with that blatant tribalism.

Postby AllTrac » July 18th, 2013, 11:07 am

sing boy prakie, sing