Tuner Cooking Thread.

Re: Tuner Cooking Thread.

Postby Rovin » April 6th, 2020, 5:44 pm

abducted wrote:Subscribed to this topic, I figure I will have to learn to cook now

this lady has some good stuff u can try out ..... https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCr8MhU ... U_Ckb1582w

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 6th, 2020, 7:50 pm

Yeah KRONIK...daz the street...found out a while ago...

I see people asking about fry chicken methods...I have my own lil summn...works well for me and no need for KFC etc..

Season chicken with
Fresh seasoning(garlic, chadon beni, peppers, chive)
Paprika
Cayenne
Chilli powder
Salt
Black pepper
Soak in buttermilk

Flour: mix with spices listed above to get that spicy taste

Eggs: mix eggs with green seasoning

Barter and coat accordingly...fry in hot oil, slow heat at avg of 6min per side depending on how big the pieces are.

carluva

Postby carluva » April 7th, 2020, 9:15 am

"barter" the chicken. You goin to exchange it? Lol... J/K.

Wifey and I do a similar recipe. It does taste good. She does her version of a Cruncher using boneless thighs when we get them. Mmmmmmm!!!!!!! Even better than KFC.

Hear a lil twist. After you fry your chicken toss it in a wok with some fresh chives, red onion and Lee Kum Kee plum sauce and Hoisin sauce. If you want to as well, throw in some hot pepper. That takes the chicken to a next level.

If you want the Asian taste, marinate the chicken in soy sauce. A mix of normal soy sauce, dark soy sauce (which is a bit sweeter), sweet soy sauce (if you can get it) or honey if you can't get the latter. Then use the flour batter and fry. That's a next level of flavour.

Check YouTube for Marian Grasby. She's a Thai Australian cook who makes some simple but next level dishes...
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Yeah KRONIK...daz the street...found out a while ago...

I see people asking about fry chicken methods...I have my own lil summn...works well for me and no need for KFC etc..

Season chicken with
Fresh seasoning(garlic, chadon beni, peppers, chive)
Paprika
Cayenne
Chilli powder
Salt
Black pepper
Soak in buttermilk

Flour: mix with spices listed above to get that spicy taste

Eggs: mix eggs with green seasoning

Barter and coat accordingly...fry in hot oil, slow heat at avg of 6min per side depending on how big the pieces are.

Postby SMc » April 7th, 2020, 9:42 am

I feel I go make Buffalo wing later, I have out of date soured cream and blue cheese-it can only make the dipping sauce better I guess

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 9:48 am

I have a nice pepper chicken recipe too...Tastes good as sandwiches, with fries, rice etc...

Season chicken as normal...then deep fry pieces as is...cut up into smaller pieces then sautee with onions, hot peppers, sweet peppers and soy sauce...thank me later

Postby eliteauto » April 7th, 2020, 10:08 am

When this is over, many people will have changed buying habits, people are learning the value of home cooking

Postby rspann » April 7th, 2020, 11:19 am

eliteauto wrote:When this is over, many people will have changed buying habits, people are learning the value of home cooking

I accustomed to home cooking , but I showing my wife allyuh recipes and pics , so I getting a wider variety now.
Keep it coming .

Postby zoom rader » April 7th, 2020, 11:22 am

eliteauto wrote:When this is over, many people will have changed buying habits, people are learning the value of home cooking

1% Will not be pleased

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2020, 11:25 am

Yup!
most of us in this thread ahead of the curve :)

Postby nemisis » April 7th, 2020, 11:25 am

Not so sure a lot of this is possible because people can stay home, but factor in kids to get ready for school, work that to be on time you have be beating highway by 4.30, reaching home almost 7 at earliest most nights and you will see a fall back to fast food out of convenience

Postby maj. tom » April 7th, 2020, 11:34 am

If anything there will be a huge boom in fast food sales when it's over. KFC 1% eye shining all now.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 11:56 am

nemisis wrote:Not so sure a lot of this is possible because people can stay home, but factor in kids to get ready for school, work that to be on time you have be beating highway by 4.30, reaching home almost 7 at earliest most nights and you will see a fall back to fast food out of convenience

Learnt from my folks...no matter what time you reach home...you can prepare something simple...ah lil curry peas mixed with chicken and some rice...very simple....I usually cook for two days....I dont buy food during work times...if my mother see me buying food, the kinda hard clout she want to pass is no joking matter

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2020, 12:22 pm

have a duck to roast tomorrow

also some lamb neck and maybe oxtail to try a pepperpot
have to find some casareep i supposed to have years now in back of cupboard

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2020, 1:58 pm

Massy stores does have....

pugboy wrote:have to find some casareep i supposed to have years now in back of cupboard

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2020, 2:12 pm

lining up a veg meal for tomrw.
Gonna make a warm couscous salad, with channa, cranberries, and some fresh green peppers (ran out of olives)
Roasting tomato halves with olive oil, garlic, rosemary and parm to accompany the couscous.

I still have a lonely bbq pigtail in the fridge, might shred that in when I'm eating. We'll see

carluva

Postby carluva » April 7th, 2020, 2:12 pm

Yep. Correct. Cooking not hard. Once you have the ingredients and know what you are cooking, you tend to move fast. I have found that the most time consuming part of cooking is tryna figure out what to cook.

Also, proper pots and small appliances such as pressure cookers/slow cookers, rice cookers etc. all go a long way to helping cook a meal fast.
shake d livin wake d dead wrote:
nemisis wrote:Not so sure a lot of this is possible because people can stay home, but factor in kids to get ready for school, work that to be on time you have be beating highway by 4.30, reaching home almost 7 at earliest most nights and you will see a fall back to fast food out of convenience

Learnt from my folks...no matter what time you reach home...you can prepare something simple...ah lil curry peas mixed with chicken and some rice...very simple....I usually cook for two days....I dont buy food during work times...if my mother see me buying food, the kinda hard clout she want to pass is no joking matter

Postby eliteauto » April 7th, 2020, 2:14 pm

I now reach home, so potato salad and baked chicken legs is the order eh feeling to cook too much stuff right now

Postby Rovin » April 7th, 2020, 2:15 pm

well i learn a new word dey ....

cassareep

a thick brown syrup made by boiling down the juice of grated cassava with sugar and spices, used as a flavouring for the West Indian dish pepper pot.

Postby VexXx Dogg » April 7th, 2020, 2:18 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Massy stores does have....

pugboy wrote:have to find some casareep i supposed to have years now in back of cupboard

That doh spoil?

I had a bottle of homemade one from a friend in guyana. Was in the fridge for about 8 years. When the fridge died I rediscovered it, but was afraid to use it and ended up dumping the whole thing :(

Postby Rovin » April 7th, 2020, 2:19 pm

few will learn to appreciate d value of home cooked food but majority jes cyar do without d fast food addiction , it is not jes we alone but a problem worldwide

1% fast food owners jes taking a forced break but they eh have no worries cause i bet all my $ that d day they allowed to be back open d lines will reach out on d road , they will make back for d 3wks loss back in a matter of days ....

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 2:36 pm

pugboy wrote:have a duck to roast tomorrow

also some lamb neck and maybe oxtail to try a pepperpot
have to find some casareep i supposed to have years now in back of cupboard

Have homemade curry for that...still have the carapulay(however yuh spell it) leaf in it

Postby pugboy » April 7th, 2020, 3:05 pm

No, the homemade ones better, they make it with spices
The cheap ones look and taste like molasses.

VexXx Dogg wrote:
*KRONIK* wrote:Massy stores does have....

That doh spoil?

I had a bottle of homemade one from a friend in guyana. Was in the fridge for about 8 years. When the fridge died I rediscovered it, but was afraid to use it and ended up dumping the whole thing :(

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2020, 3:29 pm

Allyuh

I need coals

Postby Dizzy28 » April 7th, 2020, 3:37 pm

*KRONIK* wrote:Allyuh

I need coals

You not a Grande man??
There is probably the heartland for charcoals in Trinidad.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 3:53 pm

I need coals

Stretch after st.albans....yellow boarded structure, right hand side going out of grande

death365

Postby death365 » April 7th, 2020, 4:34 pm

Or the old pieces ah mango wood u have in d back... Light it... Let it burn down... Break up the coals

I need coals

Stretch after st.albans....yellow boarded structure, right hand side going out of grande

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2020, 4:51 pm

Yea....
But i aint going anywhere these days

Grande friggin scary right now.

Make a spin out the rd and EVERYBODY in masks
Place just looking like corona-town

I really trying to avoid the grocery

I need coals

You not a Grande man??
There is probably the heartland for charcoals in Trinidad.

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2020, 4:53 pm

I know the spot, if i making any runs, i go try to drop in and get some

I buy some guyanese hardwood coals from the chinee grocery, MC ting aint wanna light for nuttin.

I need coals

Postby *KRONIK* » April 7th, 2020, 4:53 pm

Me eh have no mango tree or place to burn nuttin...so pressure
death365 wrote:Or the old pieces ah mango wood u have in d back... Light it... Let it burn down... Break up the coals

I need coals

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » April 7th, 2020, 5:05 pm

Them chinee coals is d mc worsttttttt.I swear they does store it in a freezer or something