The GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Swisha

Re: The *Official* GOOGLE | ANDROID Thread

Postby Swisha » June 15th, 2011, 7:33 pm

Leak: Google Nexus 4G Will Be an Absolute Monster

It may-or-may-not be called the Nexus 4G, but BGR has learnt that Google's next flagship will be a 4G LTE "beast" with a dual-core processor up to 1.5GHz, and 720p "monster-sized" screen. Intriguingly, there aren't any buttons on the phone.

This means the usual cues—home, menu, back and search—will be done purely in Android, which makes sense. Personally, the only soft-touch button I use on my phone is the "home" button. BGR has posted an alluring amount of detail about this Nexus 4G phone, saying it's running on an OMAP 4460 or low-power 28nm Krait-based Snapdragon processor, and has 1GB of RAM.

On the outside, the 1080p-shooting backwards-facing camera is "just" 5MP with an "advanced" sensor, and the forward-facing one is looking to be a 1MP effort.

The real show-stopper here is that it could be the reference Ice Cream Sandwich phone, as Google likes to work closely with different manufacturers for a new flagship with every updated Android version. Don't go cutting your contract early to pick this one up though, as it's not said to be available to us mere mortals until Thanksgiving (November.)

Engadget

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 15th, 2011, 7:37 pm

Google announces Search by Image and Voice Search for desktop, revamped mobile search

Google's done a ton of talking about search at its Inside Search event today, and two of the biggest new developments are on the desktop. It's just announced that Android-style Voice Search is headed to Chrome (with support for English only, initially), and that it will be joined by a new Search by Image feature (also available in Chrome, or Firefox with an extension). To use that latter feature, you simply drag and drop an image or cut and paste an image URL in the search box, and then Google tries its best to recognize it and deliver relevant results -- including identifying the location in an old vacation photo, for instance (though Google notes it isn't doing face recognition). Both features will be rolling out over the next few days, but you can get a glimpse of them now in the demo videos after the break.

In other news, Google's announced Instant Pages (also demoed after the break), which promises to speed up browsing by prerendering results when its "confident you're going to click them." It's available in the latest developer version of Chrome today, and will also be included in the next public beta. Lastly, Google took the wraps off a number of revisions to its mobile search offerings, including a new set of shortcut icons, enhanced search options, and faster local results when browsing on a phone, as well as some revamped search and image results that have been specifically tailored to tablets -- all of which are also rolling out today.

Engadget

Postby janfar » June 16th, 2011, 5:45 am

Running Cyanogenmod 7 with the latest nightly (that being build 101 right now) and its flawless... now i need a 32gb class10 SD card since my 16gb is maxed out...

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » June 16th, 2011, 1:17 pm

anyone having serious battery drain issues with their gingerbread update, my galaxy s would normally last 2 days easy with regular use, since the update, phone is dying overnight, last night i checked that it was at 80% before going to bed, this morning phone dead, it seems to be a problem across the various models. check the links. Anyone found a fix yet??

http://phandroid.com/2011/03/04/android ... tery-life/

http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy ... 3-3-a.html

http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/G ... 1d3e&hl=en

Postby r3iXmann » June 16th, 2011, 1:59 pm

~*SiLvA MeRa*~ wrote:anyone having serious battery drain issues with their gingerbread update, my galaxy s would normally last 2 days easy with regular use, since the update, phone is dying overnight, last night i checked that it was at 80% before going to bed, this morning phone dead, it seems to be a problem across the various models. check the links. Anyone found a fix yet??

http://phandroid.com/2011/03/04/android ... tery-life/

http://androidforums.com/samsung-galaxy ... 3-3-a.html

http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/G ... 1d3e&hl=en

plug it in before bed :|

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 16th, 2011, 6:00 pm

I running 2.3.4 and got 40+hrs out of my last charge.
Currently @ 82% with 12hrs uptime.

Postby M_2NR » June 16th, 2011, 6:37 pm

YES!!! no need to tineye.com!

2NR Smurf wrote:I running 2.3.4 and got 40+hrs out of my last charge.

:shock: :shock: :shock: :shock:

WOW! you have a data plan?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 16th, 2011, 6:41 pm

^yepp unlimited.

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » June 16th, 2011, 8:31 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:I running 2.3.4 and got 40+hrs out of my last charge.

That sounds incredible, so am mm where might one find this 2.3.4 version and would I need an IT degree to install same?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 16th, 2011, 10:28 pm

^I got the 2.3.4 from www.samfirmware.com

Flashing is really straight forward. There are step by step vids on youtube on how to flash roms onto this phone. Once you can access the 3 button download and recovery modes you should be set.
I only flashed this rom as a last resort though because after the 2.3.3 upgrade through kies my camera went dead, otherwise i wasnt interfering with leaked roms atall. If you install this, chances are you may not be able to get official kies updates for your galaxys afterwards.

Oh and download titanium backup and back up all your apps and data before you do this if you decide to try it.

currently 16hrs @ 72% after a night photoshoot with the phone lol. I've noticed that the focusing on the camera is a bit on the slow side though.

~*SiLvA MeRa*~

Postby ~*SiLvA MeRa*~ » June 17th, 2011, 9:16 am

hmm, ok i'll give samsung some more time to fix this issue before i try custom roms, as r3iXmann said, i'll plug it in every night if necessary...

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 17th, 2011, 6:18 pm

Transfer Open Apps Between a Computer and a Smartphone By Taking a Picture

This happens to me a lot: I'm doing something on my computer but want it on my phone too. It's such a hassle re-typing it! This new method of transferring info is as easy as taking a picture.

Here's how it works: You take a picture of the computer screen with your smartphone and the smartphone will automagically bring up the corresponding app and relevant info over. Oh my monkey cakes, this will save my thumbs from needless typing!

Developed by Tsung-Hsiang Chang (MIT Graduate Student and Google Intern) and Google's Yang Li, the ingenious system uses an algorithm to identify the application open (via the website's URI) on the computer and then uses their Deep Shot software to fire it up on the phone. Because all the work was done during their time at Google, Google owns the rights to it. They haven't made the system publicly available yet but here's hoping they will.

Gizmodo

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 17th, 2011, 6:24 pm

Alleged shot of Sony Ericsson Xperia Duo surfaces

There's not really much more than the image above to go on with this one, but what you're looking at is purported to be the as-yet-unannounced Xperia Duo, which may or may not be Sony Ericsson's first dual-core phone. As you can see, it bears some resemblance to the Xperia Arc, with what appears to be a large, edge-to-edge display and a UI that's apparently been tweaked a bit from what we've seen previously on SE phones, including a different weather widget and media player controls under the dock. Of course, it is still just a single image, so we'd recommend taking it with the usual grain of salt for the time being.

Engadget

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 17th, 2011, 8:06 pm

~*SiLvA MeRa*~ wrote:hmm, ok i'll give samsung some more time to fix this issue before i try custom roms, as r3iXmann said, i'll plug it in every night if necessary...

Yeh the rom does seem to have 1 or 2 little bugs. Since ive flashed it the android.phone process FC'd on me twice after ending a call. Also today i think the phone rebooted while in my pocket...not too sure what caused that one :?

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » June 18th, 2011, 1:58 pm

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 18th, 2011, 8:55 pm

How to unlock a mytouch 3G?

achillies

Postby achillies » June 19th, 2011, 1:51 am

Parvin wrote:How to unlock a mytouch 3G?

Are you talking about the SIM unlock?

Parvin

Postby Parvin » June 19th, 2011, 2:32 am

Network unlock if its possible

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 20th, 2011, 8:56 pm

got my Galaxy S II today! :twisted:

charging it up right now as i plan to play with it non stop for the next few days :mrgreen:

will post pics tom.

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 21st, 2011, 9:18 am

mitch wrote:got my Galaxy S II today! :twisted:

charging it up right now as i plan to play with it non stop for the next few days :mrgreen:

will post pics tom.

Sa-weeeet 8-)

Can't wait to see the pics.

For the DHD users, friend of mine forwarded this to me-

http://www.shop.power-skin.com/powerskin/desire-hd-inspire-4g

Looks like an interesting concept, haven't seen any reviews yet tho.

achillies

Postby achillies » June 21st, 2011, 7:01 pm

mitch wrote:got my Galaxy S II today! :twisted:

will post pics tom.

Sweet, man I have been doin a lot of research, think I am heading down this road also

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 21st, 2011, 7:52 pm

havent had time to take pics yet, been busy updating, rooting and customizing :lol:

cant believe how light this phone is for its size. the N1 feels like a brick compared to it!

Postby honda hoe » June 21st, 2011, 8:01 pm

u tell me buy the nexus s and u buy the galaxy s :|

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 21st, 2011, 8:49 pm

honda hoe wrote:u tell me buy the nexus s and u buy the galaxy s :|

lol i never tell u buy that. is u who say u only want official Google phones...

Postby r3iXmann » June 21st, 2011, 8:58 pm

mitch wrote:
honda hoe wrote:u tell me buy the nexus s and u buy the galaxy s :|

lol i never tell u buy that. is u who say u only want official Google phones...

yeah he a noob :|

achillies

Postby achillies » June 22nd, 2011, 1:27 pm

mitch wrote:havent had time to take pics yet, been busy updating, rooting and customizing :lol:

cant believe how light this phone is for its size. the N1 feels like a brick compared to it!

you loading roms already, how is the speed of the stock rom especially the browser compared to whatever rom u loaded

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 22nd, 2011, 1:51 pm

achillies wrote:
mitch wrote:havent had time to take pics yet, been busy updating, rooting and customizing :lol:

you loading roms already, how is the speed of the stock rom especially the browser compared to whatever rom u loaded

nah didnt load any custom roms yet. just updated the build version of Gingerbread to one of the latest versions...

Captainzaak

Postby Captainzaak » June 22nd, 2011, 8:03 pm

mitch wrote:
achillies wrote:

nah didnt load any custom roms yet. just updated the build version of Gingerbread to one of the latest versions...

How's the battery life?

Pics, yuh sticking! lol

nos_specialist

Postby nos_specialist » June 22nd, 2011, 9:58 pm

hello chuners....i jump in this thread, with...and doh sheit me up..

a Samsung Vibrant T959..

but it nice so far...waz some good apps/games?

Swisha

Postby Swisha » June 23rd, 2011, 9:40 am

say hello to the beast! (pics taken with the N1)