Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

kss2801

Re: Trinituner Fish Keepers, Aquarists & Aquascapers...

Postby kss2801 » July 21st, 2010, 6:54 pm

the fish are sold

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 21st, 2010, 7:39 pm

ppl hav sum saltwater and freshwater for sale...check it out...need d cash...

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=323728

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 22nd, 2010, 5:55 am

nobody have a nice venustus or borleyi to sell?

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » July 22nd, 2010, 6:41 am

2NR Smurf wrote:^would the meds have any -ve effect on the beneficial bacteria in my filter? i have a emperor 280 on the tank now and im not too sure if i should remove the bio-wheel along with the carbon cartridge.

Before I go further, anything that I mention here I'm telling you based on my personal exp. and not from any books etc. (just wanted to get that out of the way lol) but I normally run more than filters in my tanks and I just clean the sponge filters and remove the carbon from the powered ones and I've never had a problem.

chit8238

Postby chit8238 » July 22nd, 2010, 9:07 am

The ceramic shaft in my sub. pond pump broke. It is about the thickness of a pen refill or very slightly thicker and about 9 cm long. Where can I get a shaft or what can I substitute it with?

Postby Razkal » July 22nd, 2010, 9:14 am

^find the distributor for your pump brand and order a replacement impeller shaft!

there are guys selling most brands locally, little giant, resun, tetra etc..

Postby sharkman121 » July 23rd, 2010, 5:28 pm

Ok i swear ive called almost every pet shop... Can anyone tell me where i can get live sand to buy :?

Bought all the equipment needed for my marine setup now except this and the live rock.

haterforever

Postby haterforever » July 23rd, 2010, 5:34 pm

i have a fish tank, set up about three months ago. problem is every few weeks 1 dish dies. any idea? the fishes are different barbs

link

Postby link » July 23rd, 2010, 8:50 pm

yer right....it became a 'dish'...
but I think you need to add more relief ...places to move behind, set up territory, etc
thgd

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » July 23rd, 2010, 9:53 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Ok i swear ive called almost every pet shop... Can anyone tell me where i can get live sand to buy :?

Bought all the equipment needed for my marine setup now except this and the live rock.

you don't need live sand, especially if u are using live rock. you can get dry argonite sand from raj (7448768) or santoo (6897227)

Postby sharkman121 » July 23rd, 2010, 9:59 pm

^ Thanks man i got the numbers this evening, called Santoo an arranged to collect bags of sand Monday.

kss2801

Postby kss2801 » July 24th, 2010, 7:26 pm

cool.

link

Postby link » July 25th, 2010, 8:10 am

SUCCESS !!!!
got a double spawn..........calico orandas & blue orandas :D
struggling with the lionheads, though....both females refused to part with their roe...
rgds

2NR Smurf

Postby 2NR Smurf » July 25th, 2010, 5:00 pm

guys....one of my female yellow labs appears to be holding. how soon can i move her to a QT? or would she spit the eggs if i net her?

link

Postby link » July 25th, 2010, 6:29 pm

2NR Smurf wrote:guys....one of my female yellow labs appears to be holding. how soon can i move her to a QT? or would she spit the eggs if i net her?

she'll spit for sure. use an opaque container & gently (& quickly) move her out.
rgds

netsket

Postby netsket » July 29th, 2010, 10:50 am

Where sells saltwater equipment the cheapest in trinidad????

i want to buy a protein skimmer for a 4ft tank and a light

im new to this.

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » July 29th, 2010, 12:56 pm

chai have

netsket wrote:Where sells saltwater equipment the cheapest in trinidad????

im new to this.

link

Postby link » July 29th, 2010, 4:31 pm

rmtuner wrote:chai have

im new to this.

if i'm not mistaken, I saw a post f.s. complete marine setup (with fish too !!)
rgds

link

Postby link » July 30th, 2010, 10:47 am

ryan99tt

Postby ryan99tt » July 31st, 2010, 9:41 pm

fishes for sale ppl....

viewtopic.php?f=11&t=323728

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2010, 12:45 am

im new to this.

Chai does sell live rock also?

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2010, 12:53 pm

kss2801 wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Ok i swear ive called almost every pet shop... Can anyone tell me where i can get live sand to buy :?

you don't need live sand, especially if u are using live rock. you can get dry argonite sand from raj (7448768) or santoo (6897227)

my experience along with other people i know with santo and d live rock he uses is that he bleaches de rocks and when you put them in, the bleach leaches out an kills everything. i've still got about 40lbs or rock from him still that barely grow algae in a saltwater tub outside. i bought over 100lbs of rocks from Raj for my tanks and never had any problems. if you are buying a chiller, make sure you are getting service in case it breaks down, also make sure its de right size cause then you might just be overworking it. i'm collecting a 1/2hp chiller for my new tank this wk. raj also makes chillers and services them

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2010, 1:17 pm

AGENT RORO wrote:
rmtuner wrote:If yuh want a cheaper starter fish yuh could try the tomato clowns.
I think is about $50 average for them now. Rel hardy too.
Them nemo does be pricey.

Aren't Clown fish and "Nemo's" the same fish?

that name "NEMO" only came about because of the movie which was his name.

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2010, 6:01 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
kss2801 wrote:

my experience along with other people i know with santo and d live rock he uses is that he bleaches de rocks and when you put them in, the bleach leaches out an kills everything. i've still got about 40lbs or rock from him still that barely grow algae in a saltwater tub outside. i bought over 100lbs of rocks from Raj for my tanks and never had any problems. if you are buying a chiller, make sure you are getting service in case it breaks down, also make sure its de right size cause then you might just be overworking it. i'm collecting a 1/2hp chiller for my new tank this wk. raj also makes chillers and services them

Hmm this will def make me reconsider because i got a number for him an called him for some rock but he didnt have in stock, he said hed get in the next week.

but if its bleached, i dont want to buy rock thats dead with the organisms killed...its a reason its called LIVE ROCK. If thats the case ill give raj a call.

How much did he sell u for? per lb for eg.

Postby sharkman121 » August 1st, 2010, 6:02 pm

Question... is a chiller really necessary?

rmtuner

Postby rmtuner » August 1st, 2010, 6:50 pm

sharkman121 wrote:

im new to this.

Chai does sell live rock also?

nah Chai doh have d live rock.
Only Raj , Santoos.
Wazir in Aranguez have some live rock too.

AGENT RORO

Postby AGENT RORO » August 1st, 2010, 7:07 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
AGENT RORO wrote:
rmtuner wrote:If yuh want a cheaper starter fish yuh could try the tomato clowns.
I think is about $50 average for them now. Rel hardy too.
Them nemo does be pricey.

Aren't Clown fish and "Nemo's" the same fish?

that name "NEMO" only came about because of the movie which was his name.

I know honda fella, that's why I used " "...........Doh shoot meh :|

HondaB20B

Postby HondaB20B » August 1st, 2010, 7:28 pm

sharkman121 wrote:Question... is a chiller really necessary?

it all depends on what you going to do and what temps you get at home. my 4ft tank down stairs doesnt have one cause of de minimal coral it have and i didnt have d space. But then remember, the hotter d water, d less oxygen it have. D cooler temps also puts less stress on de fish so them getting any sickness is down to the minimal. Especially ich. With d temps i get at home i putting one upstairs cause i going with alot of coral and stuff. D tank down stairs gets to about 31c during the day. thank god the stuff in the tank going good. I also have a reasonable size protein skimmer in de 4ft. it took me real long on researching what to by for de 6ft. Google was my best friend :lol:

rossi

Postby rossi » August 1st, 2010, 8:06 pm

Looking for 2 Oscars. Must be young.
Also, I need a water circulation pump for a 30 Gallon tank.
Any links?

Postby UML » August 1st, 2010, 8:17 pm

HondaB20B wrote:
sharkman121 wrote:Question... is a chiller really necessary?

it all depends on what you going to do and what temps you get at home. my 4ft tank down stairs doesnt have one cause of de minimal coral it have and i didnt have d space. But then remember, the hotter d water, d less oxygen it have. D cooler temps also puts less stress on de fish so them getting any sickness is down to the minimal. Especially ich. With d temps i get at home i putting one upstairs cause i going with alot of coral and stuff. D tank down stairs gets to about 31c during the day. thank god the stuff in the tank going good. I also have a reasonable size protein skimmer in de 4ft. it took me real long on researching what to by for de 6ft. Google was my best friend :lol:

where u buying the chiller and what price?
also for the skimmer

i have a 4ft that i considering to do saltwater....would greatly appreciate some ideas