The official tropical weather thread 2017

Re: The official tropical weather thread 2017

Postby nervewrecker » June 20th, 2017, 6:57 am

Well, multiple trees across road on the way to santa flora.
Tree across t&tec HT lines on sudama junction, all 3 lines shorted, two insulators broken off.
Lines on ground in front NP station santa flora, not sure if pole fell..
Tree across road in wilson road penal.
Areas around police station in fyzabad under water. Neil fast food ok (main thing).

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 20th, 2017, 6:58 am

Any person in here care to explain the no thunderstorm activity with this storm..I have experienced bad weather in MIA and it was way worse than this...so my question..is it normal to have a storm without thunder and lightning???

Postby matr1x » June 20th, 2017, 6:59 am

In hurricanes and ts, it's normal not to have it plenty

ary1

Postby ary1 » June 20th, 2017, 7:12 am

Port of spain is a ghost town.First time in years there is parking on the road on Edward street after 6am.Only a little water infront the pos market east bound.

Postby Morpheus » June 20th, 2017, 7:23 am

Real rain Arouca. Ready to leave home about 30mins now but me eh looking forward to getting soaked nah...

eekipoo

Postby eekipoo » June 20th, 2017, 7:40 am

Still no current in Tabaquite since last night

Postby Dizzy28 » June 20th, 2017, 7:47 am

Flow cable down..... Apparently quite a while now.

Postby adnj » June 20th, 2017, 7:55 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:Any person in here care to explain the no thunderstorm activity with this storm..I have experienced bad weather in MIA and it was way worse than this...so my question..is it normal to have a storm without thunder and lightning???

All storms are not thunderstorms. You need a particular kind of cloud (Cumulonimbus) and a particular kind of air instability (vertical lift) to create the cloud. You can have thunder and lightning without rain.

Postby janfar » June 20th, 2017, 8:02 am

Torrential rain here in Mayaro now. I expect serious flooding this week. River rising fast.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 20th, 2017, 8:05 am

any pics of areas under water?

wx_klb

Postby wx_klb » June 20th, 2017, 8:50 am

shake d livin wake d dead wrote:any pics of areas under water?

Check TTWeatherCenter on twitter. Posting like every 10 minutes.

SRASC

The official tropical weather thread 2017

Postby SRASC » June 20th, 2017, 8:55 am

Back2Studio

Postby Back2Studio » June 20th, 2017, 8:57 am

South get it good. Debe Trace, Barrackpore, Gopaul Lands....all fooded.

SRASC

Postby SRASC » June 20th, 2017, 8:59 am

https://www.instagram.com/p/BVj9eV8jxfI ... ttguardian
Flooding at Caparo, Central Trinidad in the aftermath of Tropical Storm Bret

BUSHMASTER

Postby BUSHMASTER » June 20th, 2017, 9:52 am

tr1ad wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This storm had better happen, because I am sick of always hearing about a storm coming and it never happens. So for once I hope these people are right, its not like its going to be bad or anything we getting a lil breeze there is nothing to worry about.

how the lil breeze affect yuh dotish arse

Postby K74T » June 20th, 2017, 10:52 am

tr1ad wrote:
EFFECTIC DESIGNS wrote:This storm had better happen, because I am sick of always hearing about a storm coming and it never happens. So for once I hope these people are right, its not like its going to be bad or anything we getting a lil breeze there is nothing to worry about.

how the lil breeze affect yuh dotish arse

Ah doubt it clear de cobweb from he brain, looks like he will remain Effectively Dotish.

Postby Duane 3NE 2NR » June 20th, 2017, 11:00 am

SRASC wrote:https://www.instagram.com/p/BVj9eV8jxfI/?taken-by=ttguardian
Flooding at Caparo, Central Trinidad in the aftermath of Tropical Storm Bret

Real commendable this fella walking through flood with his lunch bag to go to work. Though I feel he saying "allyuh clean up that mess, I going to to work yes"

Postby janfar » June 20th, 2017, 11:14 am

Ortoire River WILL over flow soon and lock off Mayaro. Don't plan to come down this side today or tomorrow.

Postby Country_Bookie » June 20th, 2017, 11:32 am

so kfc open back? lunchtime beckons and me eh see no doubles man this morning.

Postby shake d livin wake d dead » June 20th, 2017, 11:32 am

Caroni on the verge as well....that's when ttpost and environs go feel it

Postby X_Factor » June 20th, 2017, 11:36 am

i read somewhere that high tide is 1pm today
that's gonna be pressure

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 20th, 2017, 11:56 am

well as long as it dont swing back riding the gulf coastlines i think we in the clear.

@pariaman next time dont stick your hand out the window. a more accurate test would be for you to stand on the roof of the car while it moving 65km/h without any braces or support.

Postby nervewrecker » June 20th, 2017, 1:19 pm

bluesclues wrote:well as long as it dont swing back riding the gulf coastlines i think we in the clear.

@pariaman next time dont stick your hand out the window. a more accurate test would be for you to stand on the roof of the car while it moving 65km/h without any braces or support.

De highway cause the flooding this time?

Real antics this morning yes. Now come back in.

Postby toyolink » June 20th, 2017, 1:29 pm

The impact of Bret could have been worse and I am thankful that all seem to be fixable.
We are not quite out of the woods yet but if we confront the challenges we now face constructively things are going to be okay.

Postby matr1x » June 20th, 2017, 1:38 pm

So, will 8 ball be visiting the flood affected areas in south?

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » June 20th, 2017, 1:49 pm

Heavy rains back in San Fernando

Postby matr1x » June 20th, 2017, 2:30 pm

Unverified ,but heard of 2 tornadoes. On in central, and another southeast

Postby hydroep » June 20th, 2017, 2:37 pm

Minister of Local Government Kazim Hosein says they're looking at probably 2-3 days for the waters to subside.

novastar1

Postby novastar1 » June 20th, 2017, 2:52 pm

janfar wrote:Ortoire River WILL over flow soon and lock off Mayaro. Don't plan to come down this side today or tomorrow.

River could take out the latrine?

But then all the faeces may float your way

bluesclues

Postby bluesclues » June 20th, 2017, 3:57 pm

bluesclues wrote:well as long as it dont swing back riding the gulf coastlines i think we in the clear.

De highway cause the flooding this time?

Real antics this morning yes. Now come back in.

Lol

2-4inches of rain with improper/inadequate/clogged drainage will create accumulation in certain areas resulting in 8 and 12inch+ water levels. Issue isnt the 2-4inches alone. Extended rainfall will test any country's drainage systems. That's why you need to do your best to make sure theyre clear before a storm to mitigate the effects.