18 (edit) babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS NICU

wing

Re: 18 (edit) babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS NICU

Postby wing » April 25th, 2024, 4:22 pm

Question: How did the babies die? Was it due to a lack of space or beds in the NICU? How would the Couva hospital have prevented that tragedy? If Deyalsingh and Parasaram resign, will all babies survive the NICU? Is it time to blame Kamla as yet?

Postby Habit7 » April 26th, 2024, 7:32 pm

Screenshot 2024-04-26 19.30.20.png

Postby matr1x » April 26th, 2024, 7:34 pm

Vote pnm if you want to half life expectancy

Postby pugboy » April 26th, 2024, 9:08 pm

we studying shark for the while

Re: 7 babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS hospital

Postby stev » April 26th, 2024, 10:19 pm

stev wrote:Trinidad hospitals yes...essay time / small rant:

Unfortunately, my mother in law (to be) is in sando hospital at the moment in bad condition due to complications following a routine gallbladder surgery. They discharged her too early with lack of post surgery monitoring and a bile leak poisoned her body.....kidneys shut down and now she got pneumonia in the ICU...yes.......pneumonia in the fkin ICU.

I visited her today......and there were pigeons sleeping under a hospital bed next to the elevator leading to the ICU...for those who don't know a pigeon is basically a rat with wings.....and the elevator is a good distance from the front doors.

she's healing very slowly (age 56) but the level of care in our hospitals is outrageous. even the evening / night nurses / doctors are filth. I had to threaten (I'm not even that type of person) a young, green and purple haired doctor yesterday because he literally called my GF illiterate to her face (full of arrogance) because she asked how come she got pneumonia in a polite manner....he basically said she won't understand and he don't have the time to explain it to illiterate people (she has a bachelor's). Even the senior doctor on-site had to dismiss him. And he sat down close by on a chair and was throwing talk like an uneducated fool. I threatened him with legal action btw...not anything malicious.

the nurse said that my mother in law taking up too much oxygen and she should just die to give younger people a chance.... I sh*t you not :| imagine the rage my GF felt when hearing that....the ICU had 2 people btw. The nurse complained that she have to be away from her family that hour because old people doh wanna die....people I can't make this sh*t up. Like, why are you even in the profession?

I had to buy B+ vials from St Augustine private and give it to the doctors in Sando because of no supplies....I have a list of other needed meds that they don't have that we have to source tomorrow...

That being said....this is another legal case Sando hospital will be dealing with. I know things were 'bad' but experiencing it does really open your eyes yes. the pigeon situation really had me saying "wtf" out loud though.

another thing that piss me off (not really medical staff related)....the security allowed a person to park ON THE PATHWAY for stretchers coming out of the helipad....sigh

the multi-story parking is great though....should be $5 an hour instead of $8 but hospitals and healthcare are a business at the end of the day.

/rant

Edit: so yeah.....not surprised that 7 babies died. It's unfortunate of course and my condolences goes out to the families. Trinidad and Tobago has gone to the rats (not even dogs) not because of Politics but the actions, laziness and doh care attitude of the people...."dah good so" ent people...lazy MC of a people. That's why we'll continue to fail as a nation.....it's ok though...we get to shake our half naked asses for 2 days of the year and force ourselves to believe we are the best thing in the Caribbean even though we can't get $1 USD from the bank.

She was cremated today...

Autopsy report: Sepsis which eventually led to cardiac arrest. 56 year old wife and mother of 3 (19, 33 and 34)

Postby maj. tom » April 26th, 2024, 10:38 pm

I'm so sorry man. My condolences. Everything else about this is unspeakable. Hope you and your girl will be able to pull through this grief with stronger bonds.

Postby sMASH » April 26th, 2024, 10:47 pm

stev wrote:
stev wrote:Trinidad hospitals yes...essay time / small rant:

Unfortunately, my mother in law (to be) is in sando hospital at the moment in bad condition due to complications following a routine gallbladder surgery. They discharged her too early with lack of post surgery monitoring and a bile leak poisoned her body.....kidneys shut down and now she got pneumonia in the ICU...yes.......pneumonia in the fkin ICU.

I visited her today......and there were pigeons sleeping under a hospital bed next to the elevator leading to the ICU...for those who don't know a pigeon is basically a rat with wings.....and the elevator is a good distance from the front doors.

she's healing very slowly (age 56) but the level of care in our hospitals is outrageous. even the evening / night nurses / doctors are filth. I had to threaten (I'm not even that type of person) a young, green and purple haired doctor yesterday because he literally called my GF illiterate to her face (full of arrogance) because she asked how come she got pneumonia in a polite manner....he basically said she won't understand and he don't have the time to explain it to illiterate people (she has a bachelor's). Even the senior doctor on-site had to dismiss him. And he sat down close by on a chair and was throwing talk like an uneducated fool. I threatened him with legal action btw...not anything malicious.

the nurse said that my mother in law taking up too much oxygen and she should just die to give younger people a chance.... I sh*t you not :| imagine the rage my GF felt when hearing that....the ICU had 2 people btw. The nurse complained that she have to be away from her family that hour because old people doh wanna die....people I can't make this sh*t up. Like, why are you even in the profession?

I had to buy B+ vials from St Augustine private and give it to the doctors in Sando because of no supplies....I have a list of other needed meds that they don't have that we have to source tomorrow...

That being said....this is another legal case Sando hospital will be dealing with. I know things were 'bad' but experiencing it does really open your eyes yes. the pigeon situation really had me saying "wtf" out loud though.

another thing that piss me off (not really medical staff related)....the security allowed a person to park ON THE PATHWAY for stretchers coming out of the helipad....sigh

the multi-story parking is great though....should be $5 an hour instead of $8 but hospitals and healthcare are a business at the end of the day.

/rant

Edit: so yeah.....not surprised that 7 babies died. It's unfortunate of course and my condolences goes out to the families. Trinidad and Tobago has gone to the rats (not even dogs) not because of Politics but the actions, laziness and doh care attitude of the people...."dah good so" ent people...lazy MC of a people. That's why we'll continue to fail as a nation.....it's ok though...we get to shake our half naked asses for 2 days of the year and force ourselves to believe we are the best thing in the Caribbean even though we can't get $1 USD from the bank.

She was cremated today...

Autopsy report: Sepsis which eventually led to cardiac arrest. 56 year old wife and mother of 3 (19, 33 and 34)
Talk to annand.
Srsly.
Thats malpractice by the doctors or sumting like dat. Or at least the management not enforcing proper sanitation.

And the nonsense will continue unless they get their socks pull up.

Basic hygiene we learn in primary school, seems to be rocket science for these square pegs

ProtonPowder

Postby ProtonPowder » April 26th, 2024, 11:28 pm

stev wrote:She was cremated today...

Condolences on her passing. You should really have your wife consider talking with a lawyer.

Postby stev » April 27th, 2024, 12:19 am

sMASH wrote:Talk to annand.
Srsly.
Thats malpractice by the doctors or sumting like dat. Or at least the management not enforcing proper sanitation.

Basic hygiene we learn in primary school, seems to be rocket science for these square pegs

Thanks all, one day at a time I guess.

Already planned to call his office on Monday. Even another lawyer that I was consulting earlier recommended I contact Anand and his team.

Imagine my cousin who is a frequent nurse at Sando said that if a doctor run the risk of being accused of malpractice, the entire medical team will try to cover up.

Imagine the ICU doctor working the shift when she passed indirectly told me to lawyer up..."situations like this are unfortunate but in these types of cases it all comes down to the surgeon that started it all and the series of doctors that took over based on the shift system, you should look into it".....something along those lines he said.

Postby matr1x » April 27th, 2024, 4:02 am

stev wrote:
sMASH wrote:Talk to annand.
Srsly.

Thanks all, one day at a time I guess.

Already planned to call his office on Monday. Even another lawyer that I was consulting earlier recommended I contact Anand and his team.

Imagine my cousin who is a frequent nurse at Sando said that if a doctor run the risk of being accused of malpractice, the entire medical team will try to cover up.

Imagine the ICU doctor working the shift when she passed indirectly told me to lawyer up..."situations like this are unfortunate but in these types of cases it all comes down to the surgeon that started it all and the series of doctors that took over based on the shift system, you should look into it".....something along those lines he said.

Man, I am really sorry for your loss.

The self righteous pricks on social media claiming all the so called bad practices by doctors is media sensationalism.

I know doctors who used to go to surgery inebriated.

Postby maj. tom » April 27th, 2024, 11:06 am

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/sick-baby-boy-discharged-dies-days-later/article_f8deea96-043e-11ef-83eb-63fefda93be6.html

‘Sick’ baby boy discharged, dies days later

Mt Hope Hospital is now being asked to account for its medical management of a baby boy who died at home after the parents claimed they were told the child was being released in good health, despite their objections.

Postby alfa » April 27th, 2024, 11:20 am

https://trinidadexpress.com/news/local/ ... 485ce.html
I think they decided to take in front by complaining

Postby aaron17 » April 27th, 2024, 11:29 am

Condolences......

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2024, 12:24 pm

hopefully this moh mess will bring transparency to the public health in general
too often when crap happens or when a minister is asked about patients sleeping on the ground days they casually semi deny and pass the buck to whoever the head of the rha is

almost as though the vids and pics of ppl suffering on the ground are fake

Postby Habit7 » April 27th, 2024, 7:54 pm

Postby aaron17 » April 27th, 2024, 8:57 pm

What was the rate before to what has transpired recently?

Postby pugboy » April 27th, 2024, 9:13 pm

manning sister who is a top pedo doc
say those infections were bacteria which weren’t around when she was working in posgh

Postby matr1x » April 28th, 2024, 5:39 pm

pugboy wrote:manning sister who is a top pedo doc
say those infections were bacteria which weren’t around when she was working in posgh

Man, that was an unfortunate shorting of words. Lol.

I met her, very good pediatric doctor

Postby maj. tom » April 28th, 2024, 5:56 pm

Peds Doc, not pedo doc.
Eg. https://pedsdoctalk.com/

Postby aaron17 » April 29th, 2024, 10:45 am

alleged>?
Capture.JPG

Mmoney607

Re: 11 (edit) babies die from bacterial outbreak at PoS hospital

Postby Mmoney607 » April 29th, 2024, 7:24 pm

Mmoney607 wrote:Why is the head of the nicu not on administrative leave?

Well, I get the answer, as I thought, he is a pnm. Pnm give him permission to do an interview on ttt, to defend and deflect

Postby stev » April 30th, 2024, 12:20 am

I had one thing to add to my experience when my mother in law was in the ICU: Their procedures are SH*T and there is no enforcement of any rules.

I'm forever grateful that the ICU doctor and nurses allowed myself and my family to be present at her bedside at her time of passing BUT.........

this is the ICU...a flimsy plastic apron was all I wore. there were other patients (alive) in there. Before I arrived, I was just on the public roads, pavement, pathways, my shoes were dirty, no mask and sweating like a pig. I'm 100% sure I brought something in that ICU that I should not have. My sister in law had a cold a few days before her mother's passing (no mask). They didn't even insist that we sanitize our hands; we just did it out of muscle memory from covid days.

Again, I'm grateful and I thanked the doctors and nurses for accommodating us in that difficult moment but they should have moved my mother in law to a less sensitive area for family. That thought crossed my mind as I was in there. We probably introduced bacteria that could possibly affect the other ICU patients. :\

how many parents visited their baby and introduced unwanted bacteria in the NICU just like I did in Sando's ICU? no governance, no enforcement, no care yes.

wing

Postby wing » April 30th, 2024, 7:33 am

pugboy wrote:manning sister who is a top pedo doc
Was that ALL she said?

Neonatal care expert: 'Vulgar' narrative on NICU deaths hurting babies' parents

NEONATOLOGIST Dr Petronella Manning-Alleyne has condemned what she described as a vulgar narrative being pursued in the media with respect to the babies who died at the neonatal intensive care unit (NICU) at the Port of Spain General Hospital (PosGH) and the NICU's staff.

She claimed this narrative is being pursued by people who are attempting to exploit the vulnerabilities of the babies' parents and the NICU staff, for their own benefit.

Seven babies died from a bacterial infection at the NICU between April 4 and 9.

The parents of these babies have since initiated legal action against the North West Regional Health Authority (NWRHA) over their babies' deaths.

They are being represented by Freedom Law Chambers, which is led by former attorney general Anand Ramlogan, SC.

The PosGH falls under the NWRHA's jurisdiction.

The parents of other babies who died at the NICU have also joined the lawsuit against the the NWRHA by Freedom Law Chambers.

In a video that was posted on her Facebook page and subsequently sent to Newsday, Manning-Alleyne said she had turned down requests from the media to be interviewed about the deaths of babies at the NICU and events related to that.

She gave her reason for declining these requests.

"I would like to suggest that the vulgar interest that we seem to have in what is going on in the neonatal unit at PosGH is just that. It's vulgar. It does not help anybody, and I would suggest that we should feel a little bit more for the parents who have lost children. They are angry because they have lost their children."

Manning-Alleyne had a message for anyone pushing such a narrative or trying to exploit the parties involved in this matter for their own benefit.

"I want them to stop it, because this is not how life works."

In addition to being a neonatologist, Manning-Alleyne is also experienced in death counselling.

She said there are stages of grief that people go through when someone close to them dies, and failure to come out of any stage of the grief process negatively affects one's ability to heal.

The first stage is denial and this is followed by anger.

Manning-Alleyne said these two stages of grief are what the babies' parents are going through now. The latter, she continued, will see the parents blaming everything and everyone for their babies' death.

Manning-Alleyne said it is wrong for anyone trying to keep the parents in this state of anger so they could benefit from it.

"We need to support them. We don't need to bury them in a big barrel of anger. When we do that. we hurt them to the extent that they are going to be having a lot of difficulty recovering from that."

Manning-Alleyne, who played a key role in the establishment of the PoSGH's NICU and worked there for 28 years, called for similar consideration to be given to the feelings of the unit's staff.

As a neonatologist, Manning-Alleyne said, "I have lost babies, and it is not a good feeling. It is not a good feeling for the parents."

She added it is also not a good feeling for the NICU staff who still have to care for the other babies in the unit.

Manning-Alleyne said it takes a particular type of person to work in neonatal intensive care.

"We who do intensive care and we who do neonatal intensive care, you have to have a certain kind of interest and and certain kind of expertise in order to work with children of that kind of age group."

Manning-Alleyne said it is a difficult thing for a doctor or nurse to tell a parent their child is dead.

She recalled one such case that was very traumatic for her.

"I had to go home and cry for the whole day and I had to get somebody to talk to me and I had to come back to the hospital and show the parent a straight face."

Manning-Alleyne left the PoSGH in 2008.

Referring to the bacterial infection the seven babies died from earlier this month, Manning-Alleyne said, "I don't know anything about those organisms. They did not exist when I was working in the hospital."

She added that certain things could have happened over the last 15 years when it came to certain bacteria and their evolution.

Manning-Alleyne made a comparison to the covid19 virus which developed a resistance to initial vaccines used to treat it and new vaccines had to be created to successfully combat the virus.

She said bacterial organisms could have developed a resistance to antibiotics initially used to treat them and different antibiotics have to be used on them now.

Manning Alleyne added that in situations such as this cluster problems happen and there is international literature on this subject which shows these problems are not unique or pertinent to PoSGH alone.

She reiterated her call for a proper understanding of matters happening at the NICU and for people seeking to benefit from this situation to desist immediately.

"I am asking for peace. I am asking that we be a little more considerate in how we look at these situations."

Ambulance chasers, but then the normal fall back, she's Manning sister so she taking for the PNM.

Postby matr1x » April 30th, 2024, 8:54 am

Nothing more vulgar than how nurses carry on. Marlene, nobody wants to know what you with you fren man

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 30th, 2024, 10:08 am

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=icHiKAo ... ZWVwZXI%3D

Idk about Manning, but this guy above, why you not on suspension and why you on a pnm propaganda programme doing an "interview".

Postby Habit7 » April 30th, 2024, 10:20 am

Mmoney607 wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=icHiKAoGO0k&pp=ygUORGVsdmluZyBkZWVwZXI%3D

Idk about Manning, but this guy above, why you not on suspension and why you on a pnm propaganda programme doing an "interview".

Well here is the former UNC Minister of Health doing an interview saying the situation has been sensationalised by lawyers and the media. He said the healthcare system has not collapsed.

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/morning_edi ... 0e92a.html

wing

Postby wing » April 30th, 2024, 10:58 am

Money just keeps walking into it... and look how quickly the Couva hospital beatup boil down. Totally disgusting how the UNC and the UNC lawyers using the parents for politics and money.
Last edited by wing on April 30th, 2024, 10:58 am, edited 1 time in total.

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 30th, 2024, 10:59 am

Habit7 wrote:
Mmoney607 wrote:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=icHiKAoGO0k&pp=ygUORGVsdmluZyBkZWVwZXI%3D

Well here is the former UNC Minister of Health doing an interview saying the situation has been sensationalised by lawyers and the media. He said the healthcare system has not collapsed.

https://www.tv6tnt.com/news/morning_edi ... 0e92a.html

Fuad Kahn not even working POS, I talking about the man who is the head of the dept that is being investigated being facilitated to put out propaganda to defend himself and his party

Mmoney607

Postby Mmoney607 » April 30th, 2024, 11:03 am

wing wrote:Money just keeps walking into it... and look how quickly the Couva hospital beatup boil down. Totally disgusting how the UNC and the UNC lawyers using the parents for politics and money.

I never said anything about couva.

How is the unc using parents, an attorney can't just start to represent someone just so, the person has to agree to representation.

Postby Chimera » April 30th, 2024, 12:10 pm

Lawyers will be lawyers but IF this didnt come to light and IF whoever didnt dig up and follow up and ask parents to come forward....u feel we wudda ever hear about this? we wudda know how lax the sterile environment is in POS?