Former Prime Minister Basdeo Panday has died

FrankChag

Re: Former Prime Minister Basdeo Panday has died

Postby FrankChag » January 9th, 2024, 12:23 pm

maj. tom wrote:Dude, what?! What? Can you take your extremism down a notch on these forums?

Like it or not, dem's the rules kiddo.

Postby redmanjp » January 9th, 2024, 12:27 pm

death365 wrote:this is the 1st time ah seeing so much people watching any funeral, not ah 5 mins then it off , like watching.

Anil Bheem's funeral was averaging 20,000+ live viewers.
I didn't see that much on Panday's up to when I stopped watching (albeit that was around 10am so not sure how viwership went up after)

there is multiple live streams: TTT, Dass Funeral and another 1 i think.

Postby redmanjp » January 9th, 2024, 12:30 pm

Cremation Ceremony

Postby Monk BANzai » January 9th, 2024, 1:21 pm

when i grow up i wanna be like uncle Rohan yes.......Man does not Give.... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Man take the Mantle from Ganga Singh well!!! #AlwaysHaveBribeMoneyInTheTrunk

MicrosoftTeams-image (1).png

MicrosoftTeams-image.png

Postby mero » January 9th, 2024, 1:41 pm

RIP.

Funerals esp for ppl loved by many does always make me feel a type a way yes..

Postby maj. tom » January 9th, 2024, 1:41 pm

They're about to light the pyre. Ash to ash.
Earth to dust.

Postby redmanjp » January 9th, 2024, 1:56 pm

some good breeze was blowing - his ashes all over the south land now.

Postby j.o.e » January 9th, 2024, 2:12 pm

death365 wrote:this is the 1st time ah seeing so much people watching any funeral, not ah 5 mins then it off , like watching.

I didn't see that much on Panday's up to when I stopped watching (albeit that was around 10am so not sure how viwership went up after)

Basdeo was streamed on more platforms so you wouldn’t be able to get an accurate count.
TTT and CNN3 each had livestreams but also they are mainstream media so legacy TV would be showing it. Basdeo was more viewers by far

Postby j.o.e » January 9th, 2024, 2:14 pm

maj. tom wrote:They're about to light the pyre. Ash to ash.
Earth to dust.

Not a Hindu but is there a new way of building pyres ? This one looks so neat compared to what I remember as a child

Postby maj. tom » January 9th, 2024, 2:21 pm

Well it was a State Funeral. So I guess they make it look nice with finished lumber. Normally they use rough wood but the housing container for the body is about the same. At the end of the day everything is ash and gone back to the earthly elements from where we all came, and no physical monument remains for attachment of emotional lingering of family and friends. It done and gone. Next day they throw the ashes and flowers into the flowing river/sea to continue to the cycle of life on Earth.
Last edited by maj. tom on January 9th, 2024, 2:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Postby j.o.e » January 9th, 2024, 2:23 pm

maj. tom wrote:Well it was a State Funeral. So I guess they make it look nice with finished lumber. Normally they use rough wood but the housing container for the body is about the same.

Oh ok. So it was just for this occasion most likely. I thought over the years an upgrade happened that I wasn’t aware of.

Postby Rovin » January 9th, 2024, 2:43 pm

its a 1st for me to see this type of pyre, looks neater instead of rough sawn lumber & not elaborate as there are as far more fancy ones shaped like a house etc ... it show humility by d family to not choose d most expensive 1 because d state paying for it attitude, well done .... 1 day we will all end up on 1 or in d ground

Postby bluefete » January 9th, 2024, 2:46 pm

FrankChag wrote:Side note for Muslims: While condolences are permissible, it is not permissible to attend the funeral of a non-Muslim, nor assist in burial unless there is no one else to bury him. It is also not permissible to pray for him after he passed.

Imaam An-Nawawi (rahimahullah) said:
“The funeral prayer over the unbeliever; and supplicating for his forgiveness is forbidden by the text of Qur’an and by consensus (ijmaa’).” (Al-Majmu’ 5/144, 258)

https://abukhadeejah.com/an-nawawi-and- ... n-muslims/
https://abdurrahman.org/2016/01/28/atte ... -funerals/
https://salaficentre.com/2022/09/17/the ... rning-etc/

I never knew Islam and Jehovah's Witnesses had things in common.

Even in death .... well I will leave it so.

Postby bluefete » January 9th, 2024, 2:54 pm

This was good for people who never leave their bubble, to see and experience.

A very good sendoff for Uncle Bas. The circle of life continues.

Postby Rovin » January 9th, 2024, 2:54 pm

trinis on fb so immature & dotish making fun, jokes, memes, insults, bad comments of karen having to resort climbing over d barrier

imo a bunch of respect goes to her for making it her duty to attend to pay respect even if she had to do that whether she was specifically invited or not imo is not an issue cause afaik when its anybody funeral, d decease family heads does be hot with all d grief & preparations so they depend on word of mouth & nobody really makes a specific list of ppl to invite or deny so that is just silly talk ...

Postby j.o.e » January 9th, 2024, 2:57 pm

Rovin wrote:trinis on fb so immature & dotish making fun, jokes, memes, insults, bad comments of karen having to resort climbing over d barrier

imo a bunch of respect goes to her for making it her duty to attend to pay respect even if she had to do that whether she was specifically invited or not imo is not an issue cause afaik when its anybody funeral, d decease family heads does be hot with all d grief & preparations so they depend on word of mouth & nobody really makes a specific list of ppl to invite or deny so that is just silly talk ...

It was tactless but I feel sorry for her because she’s showing signs of mental illness, maybe dementia

Dohplaydat

Postby Dohplaydat » January 9th, 2024, 3:01 pm

FrankChag wrote:Side note for Muslims: While condolences are permissible, it is not permissible to attend the funeral of a non-Muslim, nor assist in burial unless there is no one else to bury him. It is also not permissible to pray for him after he passed.

“The funeral prayer over the unbeliever; and supplicating for his forgiveness is forbidden by the text of Qur’an and by consensus (ijmaa’).” (Al-Majmu’ 5/144, 258)

Most classless person alive rn

FrankChag

Postby FrankChag » January 9th, 2024, 3:11 pm

Dohplaydat wrote:

Most classless person alive rn

I liked the man a great deal idiot... Seeing Bas there reminds me of my own father who passed away (rahimullah). However, while scrubbing the vid I noticed a man in a `topee` speaking. Turned on the volume to realize he's reciting the Quran at a non-Muslim funeral.

Least anyone thinks that's permissible, it's not.
I'd rather not make a bigger deal of it if you don't mind.

It is what it is. We don't fear the blame of the blamers.
If you're not a Muslim, it wasn't meant for you anyway.

Postby Les Bain » January 9th, 2024, 3:13 pm

That's alright. It's no competition or else you'll be very upset when our Political Mandingo kicks the bucket.

Postby Dizzy28 » January 9th, 2024, 3:27 pm

j.o.e wrote:

Basdeo was streamed on more platforms so you wouldn’t be able to get an accurate count.
TTT and CNN3 each had livestreams but also they are mainstream media so legacy TV would be showing it. Basdeo was more viewers by far

Ahh Ok. Makes sense as I was watching on Youtube on some production company's channel.

AlphaMan

Postby AlphaMan » January 9th, 2024, 5:07 pm

Monk BANzai wrote:when i grow up i wanna be like uncle Rohan yes.......Man does not Give.... :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

Man take the Mantle from Ganga Singh well!!! #AlwaysHaveBribeMoneyInTheTrunk

MicrosoftTeams-image (1).png
MicrosoftTeams-image.png

Rohan around big boy contractors everyday so he got to have something unique to fit in.
He needs to feel special hence the reason for his ride.
Screenshot_20240107-191450.png
Screenshot_20240107-191550.png

Postby pugboy » January 9th, 2024, 5:09 pm

he does collect box of casino chips in vegas too?

Postby paid_influencer » January 9th, 2024, 5:49 pm

frank let me just thank you for this post. It was educational and I would not have been aware previously. I might have thought persons would not have attended due to some personal reason, and not even think there would have been a religious restriction.

You see this dialog we have, it is good. It builds understanding between people. Don't censor yourself become some kiddos on here can't handle that people have different beliefs than them.

Postby redmanjp » January 9th, 2024, 10:27 pm

so he coming back as a lion or what?

randolphinshan

Postby randolphinshan » January 9th, 2024, 10:43 pm

redmanjp wrote:so he coming back as a lion or what?

Ask Kamla :evilbat:

Postby The_Honourable » January 10th, 2024, 12:00 am

Don't know if anyone noticed but at the introduction of the eulogy, Mickela acknowledged everyone's name and their positions except guess who...

Introduction
Your Excellency President Kangaloo, thank you for that most wonderful tribute.
Mr. Kerwyn Garcia, Senior Counsel (President Husband),
Honourable Prime Minister, Dr. Keith Christopher Rowley, and Mrs. Sharon Rowley,
Honourable Chief Justice (Ivor) and Mrs. Archie,
Honourable Leader of the Opposition..............
Members of Parliament,
Distinguished guests,
Members of our protective services,
Sisters and brothers, both here and abroad,
Good morning.

Postby pugboy » January 10th, 2024, 5:53 am

the bitterness is real

Postby K74T » January 10th, 2024, 6:26 am

No issue there

Postby j.o.e » January 10th, 2024, 7:29 am

I think this situation has endeared the public to Mickela and not in the short term but someday she can become a force. I wish her well because I always liked her. Maybe we can have a Panday /Manning (the offspring) showdown again.

Postby MaxPower » January 10th, 2024, 10:04 am

K74T wrote:No issue there

Exactly